Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

billyhead wrote: »
    I feel this deal will end up flat. Money talks as eveone knows in football and we can't compete with the likes of City and Juve. His head will be turned by his agent and the money flashed in front of him

Van Persie aint in it for the money apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Jame Gumb wrote: »
    I heard somewhere that Adebayor and RVP despise each other (Adebayor admittedly a peripheral figure). And doesn't Mancini have his hands tied by the board / Financial Fair Play? They've six strikers on huge money - Surely they can't accommodate Van Persie? And didn't Mancini publicly admit defeat (of course he could be spoofing)?

All in all, I'd be surprised if he goes to City.

One of the more reliable journalists imo, Daniel Taylor, says RVP does prefer a move to United over City but Wenger is very reluctant to sell to either Manchester club. He understands van Persie is keen on a move to United though, which these days, is the most important thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/manchester-united/9462693/Manchester-United-show-their-title-ambitions-by-offering-Robin-van-Persie-wage-parity-with-Wayne-Rooney.html

Telegraph going pretty strong on it.

Offering RVP the same salary as Rooney apparently.

Good to see Fergie advocating Financial Fair Play too...if it's applied properly, United can only prosper.

Wouldn't be sold on the journalist, Chris Bascombe, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭billyhead

Blatter wrote: »
    The Telegraph are reporting that we've offered van Persie £220k/week.

Wouldn't be sold on the journalist, Chris Bascombe, though.

Until I see RVP holding up a Utd jersey with Sir Alex I woudn't believe the ****e that the papers publish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,575 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Van Persie aint in it for the money apparently.

He IS very injury prone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

I heard somewhere that Adebayor and RVP despise each other (Adebayor admittedly a peripheral figure). And doesn't Mancini have his hands tied by the board / Financial Fair Play? They've six strikers on huge money - Surely they can't accommodate Van Persie? And didn't Mancini publicly admit defeat (of course he could be spoofing)?

Anybody remember the last time Mancini admitted defeat publicly?

:(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Quandary

Looks like our injury crisis is off to an early start too :(

Smalling, Evans and now Jones

Any ideas how serious Jones' injury is?

Mikeyt086 wrote: »

Anybody remember the last time Mancini admitted defeat publicly?

:(

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/4472987/Roberto-Mancini-admits-defeat-in-chase-for-Robin-van-Persie.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭TheFullDuck

Lads, even if it is just transfer muppetry is anyone else not very excited that we may be seeing Van Persie in a United shirt this season :D

Quandary wrote: »
    Looks like our injury crisis is off to an early start too :(

Smalling, Evans and now Jones

Any ideas how serious Jones' injury is?

Not just centre halves dropping like flies either...cover at fullback on both sides looking very thin.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,438 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

530 million before tax in total

Am I missing something?

250K per week over 4 years is 52 million

Most of that will be going to the Tax Man though, with the new 75% tax rate talked about for France, for earnings over 1 million a year.

That means 75% of 48million will be going in tax = 36mill

leaves 16 mill, so 4mill per year, 330k per month (obviously not exact as it ignores other taxes).

EDIT:Just saw its a 4 and a half year contract, but wouldn't change much.

Not just centre halves dropping like flies either...cover at fullback on both sides looking very thin.

How many teams have specialist full backs as back up for the first choice players?

Particularly experienced ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

DM-ICE wrote: »
    How many teams have specialist full backs as back up for the first choice players?

Particularly experienced ones.
    City have Kolarov/Clichy and Richards/Zabeleta, and considering they're the team that won the league, they are the team that we should be comparing ourselves with. Loaning out Fabio may prove to be a bad idea, a left-back must be bought this month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Basically SSN are just copying the article in the M.E.N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

I was making reference to Mancini's outright acceptance of losing the title to us last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

Am I missing something?

Most of that will be going to the Tax Man though, with the new 75% tax rate talked about for France, for earnings over 1 million a year.

leaves 16 mill, so 4mill per year, 330k per month (obviously not exact as it ignores other taxes).

ya i put an extra 0 in when mutliplying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Everything suggests RVP will soon be a UTD player. Fergies comments seem to be laying the blame at Arsenal for the deal not being completed. Seems RVP wants to go to Utd. If he wants to go to Utd, he will, regardless of Arsenal's reluctance to strengthen their rivals. Must piss Wenger off though.

http://m.mirror.co.uk/article?id=1238159/

Could be just paper bullsh1t, but the Mirror claiming its £20m for RVP if a non Premiership club buys him and £25m if it's United etc.

Owen_S wrote: »
    City have Kolarov/Clichy and Richards/Zabeleta, and considering they're the team that won the league, they are the team that we should be comparing ourselves with. Loaning out Fabio may prove to be a bad idea, a left-back must be bought this month.

I would compare Smalling with Richards as they can play full back or in the middle of defence. Neither are specialist full backs.

Clichy/Kolorov is a good example alright. Both only play one position and as a result Kolarov is linked with moves away. One of them is going to end up very unhappy so its hardly ideal imo.

A guy like Fabio is the perfect solution. His loan is odd as he covers both full back positions, I suppose the need for him to play is bigger than United need to have him in the squad at this stage of his career. Its a tough job to get the Squad balance right.

I agree with the idea United need another player who can play left back but I think a specialist player is a waste of money unless he is replacing Evra. I would want a player who can play at least two positions.

EDIT: A player like Ivanovic would be great, left back, right back, centre, he can play in them all. Actually Chelsea had plenty of right backs last season and still ended up playing Boswinga in the middle during the Champions league.

http://m.mirror.co.uk/article?id=1238159/

Could be just paper bullsh1t, but the Mirror claiming its £20m for RVP if a non Premiership club buys him and £25m if it's United etc.

Well it'd be logical enough that they'd charge a bit of a premium if they're selling to a direct PL rival, I'm sure pretty much any club would do the same in their position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,513 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

If i was Arsenal i`d want a player thrown into the mix.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Am I missing something?

Apparently it's 250k a month he's getting, not a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,803 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Fergie really has two faces hasn't he?
    "When somebody's paying £45m for a 19-year-old boy you have to say the game's gone mad.""
    From the article earlier.
    Fergie was willing to pay close to 30 million for an 18 year old boy eight years ago.....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Ah i missed a bit cutting and copying
    Defensive

---DDG---
    Val---Smalling---Vidic---Evans
    Rooney---Carrick---Cleverly---Nani
    ---Kagawa---
    ---RVP---

Attacking

---DDG---
    ---Smalling---Vidic---Evans---
    ---Carrick---Cleverly---
    ---Val---Kagawa---Nani---
    ---Rooney---RVP---

Better?

Much better. Didn't want to be a d1ck about it but we need to maintain standards. We have enough bizarre team selections coming from Fergie these days. ;)

If i was Arsenal i`d want a player thrown into the mix.

NO they can never have Bebe :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,803 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Lads, even if it is just transfer muppetry is anyone else not very excited that we may be seeing Van Persie in a United shirt this season :D

Not particularly.
    You get two things with RvP.
    An explosive season or one blighted by injury. I don't personally believe his injuries are behind him and I firmly believe United still need to strengthen in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

I really don't want to get excited.

kippy wrote: »
    "When somebody's paying £45m for a 19-year-old boy you have to say the game's gone mad.""
    Fergie was willing to pay close to 30 million for an 18 year old boy eight years ago.....

Rooney had just starred at Euro 2004 though.

Moura's not at that level yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

kippy wrote: »

Rooney had the tournament of his life in the Euros just months before and he had already played 67 games in the PL for Everton and around 20 for England.

Moura hasn't played outside of Brazil.

There's a huge difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

And of course there was the usual inflated fee for a talented young English player, Rooney being an exceptional talent for his age.

The two deals are worlds apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

I really don't want to get excited.

.....the actress said to the bishop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

adox wrote: »
    .....the actress said to the bishop.

What has this got to do with Manchester United?

Jeez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Rooney had the tournament of his life in the Euros just months before and he had already played 67 games in the PL for Everton and around 20 for England.

Moura hasn't played outside of Brazil.

There's a huge difference.

And Fergie was proved right. Rooney has worked out at roughly 3.75 million a year - bargain I reckon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭JaMarcus Hustle

NO they can never have Bebe :mad:

I never see the jersey in your signature.

It just looks like a De Gea head floating in mid air, with an even smaller one beside it. I'll be honest, it creeps me out.

I never see the jersey in your signature.

It just looks like a De Gea head floating in mid air, with an even smaller one beside it. I'll be honest, it creeps me out.

002MIB_Johnny_Knoxville_001.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

So first we bid for Edin Hazard and he wanted to come to us,
    then we bid for Lucas Moura and he wanted to come to us,
    now we bid for Van Persie and he wants to come to us...

FWIW I think we have a good chance of getting Van P but then again I really thought Moura was in the bag at one stage. (Probably would have been were it not for those pesky French)

Do United have another young player to chase?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Pj! wrote: »
    Do United have another young player to chase?

pedobear.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

What is annoying is that the players we have bid for (Hazard, RVP and Moura) though they would all be good acquisitions to the team imo, they are not where the priorities should lie for me. If there is 50-60million+ in the bank to spend why are we not testing Madrid for Sahin? testing Bilbao? if we are looking to raid Arsenal why not Song? Casemiro? a whole host of central midfield players that would certainly add something to the middle.

I am not pushed about Hazard as we signed Kagawa, think we got the better deal, I am not overly crazy about signing RVP because we signed Kagawa, Moura I would love to see in a United jersey but if Im honest he is not urgently needed right now and the money is ridiculous, I have said that if Chelsea got Oscar for 25mil then we should be paying no more for Lucas.

Gonna be fun watching PSG try to balance the books soon, but good luck to them, they want to make a name for themselves let them off, not the first club to do it, probably wont be the last.

Pre season has not been great, Rooney has been very poor, hopefully this picks up but the attitude on display from some players troubles me, I know, you can say its only pre season and that but these are games that can be used to set a tone and the reactions of for example Rooney and Nani to missing their penalties earlier bugged me.

Positives have been there too of course, Kagawa obviously, looks like he is already bedded in amazingly! such an intelligent player, delighted with him, Vidic getting games is brilliant, the youngsters have gotten some good game time too and a few have impressed, hopefully they keep going with the development and try to force themselves onto the scene.

The defensive injuries are already starting to mount too unfortunately and I don't think I can take another season like the last few on that front! The issue for me is clear though, United need two top class central midfielders to be signed this window, if at least one is not signed I will have a minor meltdown this year, it is all well and good beating the majority of the premier league, they are ****e, but the team will not be winning the big occasions against the biggest teams with the current first team options imo.

I would like to see the club try to reach the standards set by Madrid, Barca, City etc, not just be happy to qualify for the CL comfortbaly each year and reach the quarters or semis, I don't think the manager is happy with that either so his attitude to the main problem area of the team is ridiculously puzzling.

Back to bed............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

**Trys not to get too exited about RVP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

why oh why havnt we signed a cm or left back? RVP great player by all means but we dont exactly need him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,231 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

AzzEyOXCEAA0CCd.jpg:large

If looks could kill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

J. Marston wrote: »
    AzzEyOXCEAA0CCd.jpg:large

If looks could kill.

Arsene, reaching for a weapon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Winston Payne

I hope that's a fold in his shorts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Is it just me or has RVP gone very grey recently?!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

It was great to see Scholes playing so well against Barca. He was very comfortable on the ball, won few tackles and never looked like a 37 year old player. Anderson also played well, surprisingly he didn't try hollywood passes every second time. Kept it simple and worked hard in the midfield.

Also it was obvious how technically brilliant Nani and kagawa are compared to rest of the team (except Scholes). Valenica doing fancy stuff was great, looks like #7 is something special :D

It is bit worrying that we have scored 3 goals in 5 games(?). Last preseason we scored for fun, this season we are struggling to score even a goal a game. I know this is just preseason and main purpose is to build fitness but still the quality of opponents was poor so expected lot more goals.

Re transfers, I don't understand why we are trying to sign RVP. He is 29, injury prone, will have to pay over 20Million and as much as Rooney wages. Odd to see Fergie saying no value in the market and then trying to sign a 29 year old for big money.

We need a CM and a LB more than a striker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

"We have made a bid and they (Arsenal) have been trying to negotiate with other clubs. We just have to persevere.

"Hopefully it will come our way. We are trying our best but there is no progress at this moment in time.

"I do not have a gut feeling on it at the moment, I must admit. We are not getting any breakthrough with Arsenal.

"It is difficult to say why they are operating this way. I do not know what their thoughts are because they are not giving anything away."

Why is Ferguson doing this via the press?

If any club/Manager made those quotes about a United player this thread would be up in arms, and no question.

They are absolutely disgraceful quotes from Alex Ferguson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,447 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Des wrote: »

If any club/Manager made those quotes about a United player this thread would be up in arms, and no question.

In fairness, Arsenal are the ones that made United's interest in the player completely public, so why should United play the game differently to them.

I don't like it but I'm far less annoyed given that it is Arsenal that wanted it out in the open.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Des wrote: »

All he's basically saying is Arsenal are keeping their cards close to their chest.

What's the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Wow Des. Thats a very strong over reaction. He is making a comment about a player who himself and his club have admitted is for sale.
    I cannot see the disgrace in it.