Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shortts Pub Waterford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 CurlyJefferson

Shut up Kitty_ears you absolute dole scum bag sponge.:P

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭Kitty_Ears

Wanna buy me a drink bbz?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

Kitty_Ears wrote: »
    Anytime I've been in shorts I buy a grand heap of drink :L
    Usually have the 2 vodka and monster for 10e and i'd buy 3 or 4 of them.

Theres been nights where I haven't drank at all for health reasons and would only be getting water or cranberry juice (not in shorts granted) but no pub has ever given out to me for it.

I wouldn't go out with out the money for a pint though and as I said I was about the get a drink but wasn't arsed after the way they approached us. We'd be in there a lot and always buying drinks. If they're smart enough to know who has and hasn't bought a drink in a packed bar they should be smart enough to know returning customers I think.

Though ye are all right in regards to going to a pub and spending nothing, obviously they have their own overheads and I respect that. Just don't like the thought of going in to a bar and being watched and scolded in to buying a drink.

Show them who is boss, go to a different club and don't buy drinks lets see how they like that. :p

Aha!
    They'll be sorry then :L

We don't bring the mon but we bring the fun ;) haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

I used to hate seeing people go into pubs to watch soccer and sit there with a pint of water. Most bar staff wouldn't have the nerve to kick em out but to me it's worse than going into a shop and reading all the papers.

Is buying soft drinks okay in your opinion ?

deisedave wrote: »
    Is buying soft drinks okay in your opinion ?

Yep. If the bar sell em, it's fair game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 CurlyJefferson

I love the fact that everybody is avoiding the point that we were barely in the door when we were heckled. Also the fact of the way we were spoken to and the point that one of us was going to get a drink then was completely put off due to the way we were spoken to.

Yep. If the bar sell em, it's fair game.

I agree with that, I just hate when barmen gives you dirty looks for buying a non-alcoholic drink when they are nearly dearer than a pint sometimes.

But what if you want coke and all they have is pepsi? :(

I agree with that, I just hate when barmen gives you dirty looks for buying a non-alcoholic drink when they are nearly dearer than a pint sometimes.

They probably think your chuckin vodka in it in the jacks haha

I love the fact that everybody is avoiding the point that we were barely in the door when we were heckled. Also the fact of the way we were spoken to and the point that one of us was going to get a drink then was completely put off due to the way we were spoken to.

I have drank in the club that the girl thrown you out worked in for years, I think she was in Rubys Lounge before Shortts and I always found her good at her job and polite.

In all honesty just because you drank there before does not mean you can come in and not spend any money when you want. If you can't afford a pint then you should not be out in town.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 See_Air_ran

The way I see it not everyone can afford to go out and spend money on drink for the entire night. People go out for atmosphere as well as drink, if they had a one drink minimum they should have put it on the Facebook event for that night. The fact that they've gone their before and spent money and then this happens is just going to lose the place money as it'll put them off from going in the future because of the way they were treated, so I do think kicking them out was a bad move on their part.

I have not been out in months because I can't afford too. Why do people have the feeling of entitlement if you can not afford to go out and buy a drink in a place someone has to pay to keep open and run then just don't go out simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

I think there should be a "one purchase minimum" sign up somewhere, for people like me and my mates to see. Just sayin'.

Its kind of an unwritten rule that you should already be aware of if you are old enough to go to a pub.

Exaclty how long were you in the pub?

A normal thing to do when you go to a pub is, go to the bar and purchase your drinks, then find your corner, seat, lean against the wall or whatever you want.

If you walk in and have no intention of going to the bar normally you would be asked within a few minutes whether you intend to buy a drink or not.

Edit: saw you said ye were there 45 minutes? No way you were approached straight after getting in the door so, more likely ye were there 25-30 minutes without making an attempt to buy something.

I'd have asked you alot quicker then that I must say so ye did well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

Now you're assuming we do this often? No we don't actually. Hence the shock.

Well your friend said 'we usually have at least the one'. I would interpret that as meaning there are also times when ye don't have one.

Also you said you were surprised by how quickly it happened, earlier in the thread you said ye were asked once, went for a smoke outside, asked again and left. You also said you were there 45 minutes so ye must have been there at least 25 mins before it was mentioned. Personally, I would have said something after ten minutes at the most.

kryogen wrote: »
    Exaclty how long were you in the pub?

A normal thing to do when you go to a pub is, go to the bar and purchase your drinks, then find your corner, seat, lean against the wall or whatever you want.

If you walk in and have no intention of going to the bar normally you would be asked within a few minutes whether you intend to buy a drink or not.

Exactly a bar's main purpose is it sells drinks where people go to socialise. Not buying a drink would be like sitting in a restaurant and getting annoyed when they ask you to leave for not ordering anything.

I explained what that actually meant after :L Should have been clearer haha

I have drank in the club that the girl thrown you out worked in for years, I think she was in Rubys Lounge before Shortts and I always found her good at her job and polite.

In all honesty just because you drank there before does not mean you can come in and not spend any money when you want. If you can't afford a pint then you should not be out in town.

I think you may be mixing the girls up...

Foreign short blonde hair and always wears glasses.

Pretty sure the OP meant the woman who runs Shortts, the girl you are talking about used to work in Ruby Lounge and Rubys yes?

• Registered Users Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Nypd

It all sounds very juvenile to me,
    Pubs in Waterford are struggling (as they are everywhere)
    Venues like Shortts are making an effort to get some good bands in as is the front lounge, why you think you have the right to take up space in places like this is beyond me.
    Their free gigs are for their customers,
    Definition of a customer is someone who purchases a product ie refreshments.

The fact that you state you would have rather paid is a very hollow statement !
    At least if they put a cover charge for their next gig you will have another excuse to start a thread.
    I hope the next one goes a bit better for you.

That's Ingrid (does she still work in Shortts?), I don't think she would have asked anyone to leave tbh. Lovely girl though :)

Nah this was an aulone not a girl :)

kryogen wrote: »
    Pretty sure the OP meant the woman who runs Shortts, the girl you are talking about used to work in Ruby Lounge and Rubys yes?

My mistake I was thinking of Ingrid apparently, but point still the same don't go into a bar and not drink lol

What if I go in and just buy a pack of nuts or something. Is that alright :P

Kitty_Ears wrote: »
    What if I go in and just buy a pack of nuts or something. Is that alright :P

I suppose do they sell nuts in clubs ????

Yeah they usually have nuts and crisps in pubs haha.
    I'm only gowling anyways, I hate nuts :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Dr.Sanchez

I was supposed to have an interview for this place last week but had to turn it down due to me leaving the country.

Sounds a bit blunt how the staff went about it. I would've had a "one drink minimum" sign or something up. Cause some people need to have it spelled out to them.

Personally, I don't drink myself but when I'm out I usually buy two bottles of still water in a pint glass which actually costs more than a pint. Wouldn't dream of going in just to dance around like a pratt!