Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Italy v Ireland, Poznan, KO 7:45pm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

gandalf wrote: »
    Do you honestly believe that Westwood instead of Given would have changed the results with that porous defence in front of him?

I actually do, he would have stopped one if not two of the goals. And givens kickouts have been 80% of what they usually are, but in distance and accurracy.

Instead of the opponents starting from the half way line they wouuld have been put under pressure when we played our route 1 long kickouts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Lapin wrote: »
    The Fans

We'll sing when we want,
    Fúck you Keano,
    We'll sing when we want.

Who exactly is supposed to be impressed by that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Xavi6 wrote: »
    As good as the ex-Bohs lad was he's never a winger ;)

You mean Stephen, and yes he should be given a run here.

Sorry, yeah Stephen! :D Only club football I occasionally take an interest in is league of Ireland, but I'm a Shels fan (despite my appauling attendance record).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Lucky Duff.

It's a joke that McGeady got taken off and keane is left on the pitch.

Get Gibson on for whelan

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭the realpigiron

Dunne is winning nearly all those set pieces being put in the Italian box, he might get one yet. Really should have put McClean on here.

Grab an equalizer here and you never know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

We're gonna sneak a goal.
    I can feel it......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,304 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

I think it is perfect for McClean out there now, he will get time and space on the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,229 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Lapin wrote: »
    The Fans

We'll sing when we want,
    Fúck you Keano,
    We'll sing when we want.

Did they actually sing that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

kryogen wrote: »

But Keane was criticising the fans for singing don't you know! Well that's what they heard and ran with it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,511 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Samich wrote: »
    Lol, Once again, Clark plays for Villa, Duffy plays for Everton.

Does this mean St Ledger shouldn't be in the team as he can't get a game for Leicester?? :rolleyes:

You just don't get it.

St Ledger does not need to be replaced so Clarke starting doesn't come into it.

You are also ignoring the fact Westwood just isn't as good as Given - that is the primary point.

Instead, you are focusing on the secondary point which is Westwood's inability to play club football in 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

love to see Buffon get sent off now with all the subs used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,907 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Mario! \o/

Me some leap on long

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Ah ffs, Keane is still on the pitch!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

great leap there by Long, shows how we have missed that aerial threat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Walters better be coming on for Keane!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

kryogen wrote: »

Someone asked what one of the chants was earlier ? I forget who and can't be arsed finding out.

I'm not one bit f'king impressed with it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

Xavi6 wrote: »
    If it's that obvious then either Trap should be a good enough manager to recognise it or Given should, with all his experience, know that he should be putting the team before himself.

great and all as given is he will always play if he can.. Threw the toys out of the pram before in a friendly cos the manager had the temerity to give someone else a game.

Corholio wrote: »
    But Keane was criticising the fans for singing don't you know! Well that's what they heard and ran with it anyway.

Oh I know, and I also know what he said, but who actually cares whether the fans sing **** roy keane? I can assure you all, he certainly doesnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

FFS Keane still on !!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Barr

Hopefully Walters will improve things.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Kevin Doyle off. That is shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

WTF, Robbie still on?

noodler wrote: »
    You just don't get it.

St Ledger does not need to be replaced so Clarke starting doesn't come into it.

You are also ignoring the fact Westwood just isn't as good as Given - that is the primary point.

Instead, you are focusing on the secondary point which is Westwood's inability to play club football in 2012.

Your main point was Given is better than Westwood as he can't get games for Sunderland. Ah.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Rezident

Lot of our players can't control the ball. I know it's harder than it looks on tv but at this level the lack of basic skills really shows.

Ref giving them a free kick for every cross we put in us pathetic though. You expect Italians to dive but you expect a ref who has a clue about what goes on in the box during crosses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Does Keane have pictures of Trap and Delaney in a compromising position?

****ing hell trapatoni is a clueless wanker. Robbie keane is still on the ****ing pitch

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

J. Marston wrote: »
    Did they actually sing that?

Apperantly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

**** off Keane. Reputation players rule the roost in this team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

WTF, Robbie still on?

Trap must want him to get a touch before he takes him off

We're gonna score here. You heard it here first.

Your main point was Given is better than Westwood as he can't get games for Sunderland. Ah.

Any chance ye could take this to pm?

I dont think many people care in the match thread, no offense

Walters wins a free in a dangerous position after only a few mins. Keane, has done nothing all game and Doyle who was doing well gets taken off. Sigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

No it wasn't. It was part of his point. He clearly said he thought Given was a better keeper.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

If doyle is taking off before keane I'll crack up

So did you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Italians complaining about playacting

RGDATA! wrote: »
    WTF, Robbie still on?

Lola

Arse. Great effort though.

RGDATA! wrote: »

I did laugh at that :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

I can only hope trap knows this is keanes last game so is giving him a send off

Anyone appreciate we have been camped in the Italian half for a while now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,229 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

The right back was playing him on.

Robbie stepping on the gas. lol

Honestly how trapatoni can justify his subs this tournament is beyond me

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Given is 36 though so we should be looking for a keeper and this game could have been good for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,511 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Absolute liar.

A liar of the highest order ladies and gentleman.

Given is simply better than Westwood.

Westwood's lack of club football is a serious issue at the moment but it is not the reason, as you bizarrely seem to think, that Given is a better keeper than him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

What exactly did walters do wrong there ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,524 ✭✭✭tigger123

Much better in the last 15 minutes from Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Rezident

Giving a free kick for that is risible.