Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things you just don't get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Fig Rolls...biscuits are supposed to be a treat, how could eating floor sweepings from a fruit warehouse wrapped in squidgy shít be a treat???

Conan O'Brien....He's not funny and he looks like a complete knobend with his stupid big red quiff but then again it is americans that find him humourous...says it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Smoking, 'celebrities', religion and The Cleveland Show :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

You realize Conan O'Brien was a writer on the Simpsons when it was at its peak?

The man clearly has talent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

For me? Twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

RVP 11 wrote: »
    Missing out on a brown dick and athletes cock
    You're allright thanks.:pac:

For those who understand, no explanation is necessary. For those who do not understand no explanation is possible.

CJC999 wrote: »
    Conan O'Brien....He's not funny and he looks like a complete knobend with his stupid big red quiff but then again it is americans that find him humourous...says it all.

Gotta disagree with you there. He's a very sharp guy who wrote some classic Simpsons episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭falabo

"property ladder" still being used

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I don't get:

Going out for drinks every weekend and a night or two during the week.

How can people live, while knowing that their visa credit card maxed out at least 5k eu for the last 4 years.

People who call them selfs gamers, but the only game they ever played is FIFA.

Eastenders.

Where all woman's shoes and clothes disappearing, because every week I hear same story: I don't have any shoes/pants/dresses to wear! Must be those fecking underpants gnomes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Pherekydes wrote: »
    When athletes are under par they're sick.

When golfers are under par they're playing well.
    sick is good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

RTE news fascination on reporting on the Egyptian elections, Syrian uprising etc. They never reported on it before the Arab Spring now it's on every fecking day! I'm sure when it comes to political upheaval in the war-torn continent of Africa, that I'm not the only one who couldn't give a ****e! It's not like we're a world power and need to be worried about what's going on.

Oh and Aung San Suu Kyi. I'm sorry but I just don't get the global fixation surrounding her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,318 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

I don't get:
    People who call them selfs gamers, but the only game they ever played is FIFA.

Or people who call themselves hardcore gamers because they just play CoD, Battlefield, etc all day but won't give a second look at non mainstream games or games on a Nintendo console.

I don't get why if you like something like movies (or tv or games) and can maybe name a few actors or directors and other films they've done, then you're a movie geek or nerd. But if you like sports such as football, being able to name loads of players from multiple teams(not just the team you like) from the past 20 years then you're just a fan. Why aren't they called football geeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Soaps, gaelic football, soccer, people who don't read, fashion, modern art, celebrity, text speak while using a keyboard, text speak, marijuana (give me a bundle of pints any day) religion, bad grammar and poor spelling. There's more, lots more....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

7 religion forums on boards.ie but they may as well not exist, hey debate it all in after hours

I know most any topic could be moved out of here

But if you were realy looking for an answer and not just a rant you wouldn't have posted it here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Or people who call themselves hardcore gamers because they just play CoD, Battlefield, etc all day but won't give a second look at non mainstream games or games on a Nintendo console.

I don't get why if you like something like movies (or tv or games) and can maybe name a few actors or directors and other films they've done, then you're a movie geek or nerd. But if you like sports such as football, being able to name loads of players from multiple teams(not just the team you like) from the past 20 years then you're just a fan. Why aren't they called football geeks?

I needed go put cod with FIFA together to be honest.

As for football geeks. Well geek was an offensive discription before, now days people can say they are nerds and geeks with pride. Everyone who loved/loves football now cannot be mixed with those peasant geeks/nerds.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

RTE news fascination on reporting on the Egyptian elections, Syrian uprising etc. They never reported on it before the Arab Spring now it's on every fecking day! I'm sure when it comes to political upheaval in the war-torn continent of Africa, that I'm not the only one who couldn't give a ****e! It's not like we're a world power and need to be worried about what's going on.

Oh and Aung San Suu Kyi. I'm sorry but I just don't get the global fixation surrounding her.

I don't get smalltown mentality or those who aren't interested in world affairs... as for Aung San Suu Kyi, I recommend this inspiring book;
    Letters from Burma by the great lady herself. Maybe then you might understand. Or maybe not.

Egypt and Syria have been in the news for decades but obviously more now because of current upheavals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

CJC999 wrote: »

disagree, he was one of the writers of The Simpsons when it was amazing, the man is partly responsible for some of the best tv ever.

Likewise, Twitter.

I don't get how anyone could find Family Guy funny.

twitter is brilliant if you use it properly and follow people worth reading, I dont get why people read newspapers, you pay to read day old news. same as waiting for 6 and 9 to watch the news, its online 24/7 and free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,367 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Twink

• Registered Users Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Cars. I can't get why so many guys have such a huge interest in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    Soaps, gaelic football, soccer, people who don't read, fashion, modern art, celebrity, text speak while using a keyboard, text speak, marijuana (give me a bundle of pints any day) religion, bad grammar and poor spelling. There's more, lots more....

Don't you ever wash yourself?:rolleyes:

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    I dont get why people like RnB music. (Lil wayne and that crap.)

Lil Wayne isn't R&B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Shoes. I can't get why so many girls have such a huge interest in them.

• Registered Users Posts: 248 ✭✭ratsam

Pineapple on Pizza...! I mean would ye put cabbage in your desert...???

I also dont get Renée Zellweger. In fact I cant watch a film with her in it. :mad:

Rats

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭Dub Ste

Des Bishop and Michael McIntyre,they're supposed to be comedians right,so why are they so painfully unfunny??

Kolido wrote: »
    Don't you ever wash yourself?:rolleyes:

Nope, I have psoriasis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

Irish People who think that the Ireland is the centre of the universe. Who pass negative comment on those Irish people that decide to marry a foreigner. "Sure whats wrong with our own, we have plenty of lovely girls/lads here."

Irish people who believe they are superior to foreigners. You know because foreigners never done anything good for the world, never invented anything, or made breakthrough scientific discovery's, or improved medical technology etc etc. No no, this tiny rock at the end of Europe is the centre of culture, democracy and science for the universe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭PandaX9

People that don't close the door behind them when they leave a room..

Especially if they opened the door in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Dub Ste wrote: »
    Des Bishop and Michael McIntyre,they're supposed to be comedians right,so why are they so painfully unfunny??

Maybe that's the joke? :p

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

krudler wrote: »
    twitter is brilliant if you use it properly and follow people worth reading, I dont get why people read newspapers, you pay to read day old news. same as waiting for 6 and 9 to watch the news, its online 24/7 and free

But some people have lives that exist away from their keyboard and cant sit on the internet all day.

phone? smartphones are more common than non smartphones now and its going to keep going that way.

oh on that, people who have smartphones who still ring 11811, you have the entire internet in the palm of your hand, 2 seconds of googling will get you a number you're paying a quid a minute to get, makes no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Rasheed wrote: »
    Completely disagree with you here! I think soccer should be banned in Ireland, including domestic.

Waste of time and money for nothing but disappointment. It's an incredibility boring game, purely money driven and disgusting to see all the diving and rolling around on the ground after a soft tackle. Hardly a good example for young people.

Ireland as a nation seem to be just ****e at it.
    In my opinion, it is better to have a genuine interest in a sport that encourages talent and hard work with a genuine possibility of representing your county with fellow county men or women, which I think is an honour of the highest degree.

This is in contrast to supporting a foreign team with players from countries that are hard to pronounce, playing for massive amounts of money.

On the contrary, for the playing pool we have in ireland, we're actually very good at soccer.
    As for diving being a bad example, punching the heads off players, crowd invading the pitch, refs constantly getting a police escort and mass brawls being part of the game isn't exactly a good example.
    And surely representing your country is better than representing your county?

krudler wrote: »
    I dont get why people read newspapers, you pay to read day old news.

Well, you can get in-depth analysis, which you most definitely won't get on Twitter with its gimmicky character limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

People who think others actually give a f*ck about their banal Facebook status updates.

Look, I couldn't give a bollox how far your ran today!

No Country for Old Men - it's rubbish!

Gaelic handball football - 5 yards out and can't put it in the back of the net with your fcuking hands!

Curling - not a sport.

Vegans - Seriously, why!?

Airsoft - grown men playing soldiers.

Astrology, psychics and the people who believe that shíte.

"there has to be something to it!" no, there isnt, now can I interest you in some magic beans?

Sea Filly wrote: »
    Well, you can get in-depth analysis, which you most definitely won't get on Twitter with its gimmicky character limit.

If you follow the right people you'll get a link to the news story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Or you could just read the news. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I don't get why women flip out if the toilet seat is left up
    Fine we men forget but it ain't exactly hard for a woman to just put the seat down
    And vegans I don't get them at all

Why do you need Twitter for that? You can just run a Google search.

Or you could just read the news. :p

...a day after it happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

On the contrary, for the playing pool we have in ireland, we're actually very good at soccer.
    As for diving being a bad example, punching the heads off players, crowd invading the pitch, refs constantly getting a police escort and mass brawls being part of the game isn't exactly a good example.
    And surely representing your country is better than representing your county?

Ya it's a honour to represent your country too but when ya haven't a hope in he'll of going anywhere with your country, I'd rather represent my county with my peers and give my heart and soul.

As regards the refs getting a Garda escort off the pitch , this is extremely rare as is mass brawls. Pitch invasion is now less and less and rarely happens negatively, usually only to celebrate. When you think of all the matches played on a weekly basis, all over the country, both sexes, and how little the incidences of unruly behaviour is, it's quite something. No hooliganism, just good old fashioned rivalry, 30 players on a pitch playing for the love of the sport, not financial gains.

Rasheed wrote: »
    Ya it's a honour to represent your country too but when ya haven't a hope in he'll of going anywhere with your country, I'd rather represent my county with my peers and give my heart and soul.
    Ah, so you play it because you might win a trophy. So if you're from Leitrim, Carlow, Louth, Laois, Antrim, Wicklow or one of the many teams that don't have a hope, you wouldn't bother playing because you don't have a hope of going anywhere with them.
    But you play for the love of the game....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

The shift :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Belief in god, ghosts and other myths. I'm not saying all believers are idiots I just dont understand it. Makes zero sense to me to believe the loch ness monster still exists or crop circles. Popular myth a one time, evidence since has been proven to be nonsense but some people just wont accept it. Why ?

For a second I thought you said astronomy and physics. :D

The ride - haven't had that in ages. :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I don't get the obsession with the soaps, every last one of them is full of doom and gloom and depression.
    Don't get the likes of Paolo Nutini, and Michael Buble, young men singing old fart style music.
    I'm female, but I don't get the whole getting the nails and hair done. I guess it's meant to be a treat, but I hate all the small talk at the hairdressers. Just want to get in and out as quickly as possible, with the least fuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭vumpireofkid

Fake Tan.
    Soccer.
    GAA.
    Smoking.
    Some people.
    and Mushrooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Southpark, I just don't think it's funny.