Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wicklow man James Nolan MISSING in Poland since Saturday

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

RIP
    Whomever it is

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Awful news. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Awful news, my heart goes out to his family and friends. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,665 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

My thoughts and prayers are with his family and friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Hope it isn't him. Very sad news. Every parents nightmare.

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭Twinkleboots

That's awful news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

My thoughts are with his family. Desperate no matter who it turns out to be... RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭shizz

http://www.tvn24.pl/w-rzece-w-bydgoszczy-znaleziono-cialo-zaginionego-irlandczyka,259500,s.html

Can anyone polish please tell me if the news are saying it is him? I can't make sense of it really even in english but I think it is saying it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

RIP and condolences to the lads family and friends

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

they found him in the river just now.. very sad rip

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Tragic, RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

shizz wrote: »
    http://www.tvn24.pl/w-rzece-w-bydgoszczy-znaleziono-cialo-zaginionego-irlandczyka,259500,s.html

Can anyone polish please tell me if the news are saying it is him? I can't make sense of it really even in english but I think it is saying it.

Open the page in google chrome and it'll auto translate, basically they say that he was found with documents, so it's him

I did this but the english wasn't too easy to read. I pretty much got the jist of it but I suppose was hoping I read it wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Sad news. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭blingrhino

absolutely tragic,his father was heartbroken on the radio yesterday
    dont know how people cope with this sort of tragedy
    really puts life into perspective-all our lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,907 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Horrible news, RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Im speechless. Give gratitude for all that you have. Thoughts go out to his family.

RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭john why

Sad day r.i.p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

R.I.P James

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

Condolences to his family and friends. RIP James Nolan x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,665 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

RIP and my condolences to his family and friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

So sad. Thoughts and condolences to his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

THE BODY found in a Polish river earlier today has been identified as James Nolan – the 21-year-old Irish student missing in the city of Bydgoszcz – Polish media reported this afternoon.
    More than 100 officers and specialist divers have been searching the Brda river for the last three days.
    Environmental engineering student James, who travelled to Euro 2012 with a group of friends in a campervan, was last seen in the early hours of Sunday morning.
    TVN24 in Poland and other media outlets reported that police had confirmed that the body was that of James Nolan.
    Police spokeswoman Monika Chlebicz said that the body was found early Wednesday in the waters of a channel flowing through the city of Bydgoszcz, between Poznan and Gdansk where James and his fans watched the Ireland games.
    The Blessington, Co Wicklow man was in Poland since June 7 for the European Championships.
    Gardai said today that they were aware of local reports that a body had been found could not confirm further.
    The Department of Foreign Affairs confirmed that Polish police had informed it that a body had been found.
    A massive search operation to locate missing James resumed this morning with the Polish police commissioner making it one of his force's top priorities.
    It is understood James and his Irish friends may have been involved in an altercation with Polish locals in the hours before he disappeared.
    Bydgoszcz is halfway between Poznan and Gdansk, where Ireland played their Euro 2012 games, and the Irish friends stopped off on Saturday night on their way back to Poznan to watch Ireland's game against Italy.
    Police divers searched the River Brda, which runs through the city, on Monday and yesterday and were doing so again today when the body was found. More than 100 officers are working on the case, and they are being assisted by top gardai.
    Six of Mr Nolan's friends were in a police station yesterday to give statements, DNA samples and review CCTV footage.
    And the friends who were the last to see Mr Nolan last night added their voices to appeals for information that could help locate him.
    "We've have been watching CCTV all day," said Eoin Burke.
    "They are helping us out as much as they can, you can see they're putting serious resources into it. You can see the signs up around town and it's on crimecall tonight."
    Others in the group included Aidan Willoughby, Aaron Eustace and Adam Cullen and the local police last night said they were free to go.
    Mr Eustace has said he will stay until Mr Nolan is found, although it is understood a number of the wider group of around 15 are considering leaving in the coming days because they have rented camper vans to return.
    Monika Chlebicz, the spokeswoman for the regional police force, said around 100 officers were working on the case on Monday, but this had increased even further by last night. "Everything is under scrutiny," she said. "But we can't say what happened on the night."
    Chief Superintendent Michael O'Sullivan is leading the delegation of gardai to Poland for the Euros, and he arrived in Bydgoszcz last night to help out Polish police with their inquiries.
    "We're just liaising with the police here in terms of what assistance we can give them from Ireland."
    A Twitter campaign aimed at finding Nolan, who studies environment engineering at Tallaght Institute of Technology in Dublin, was launched in Ireland with #FindJames and #JamesNolan.
    - Independent.ie reporters and Fiach Kelly
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/euro-2012-body-in-polish-river-is-james-nolan-3144796.html

RIP James. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Threads merged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭kenkin

Very Sad, RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Awful news. :( Thoughts are with his family and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

humanji wrote: »
    Threads merged.

Apologies for starting a duplicate - didn't see the sticky.

Again, RIP James and condolences to friends and family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Awful this.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Absolutely tragic. RIP.

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Teangalad

Dammit, Tragic end to another young life...

Only wanted to enjoy the Euro's. It's an awful day. I used to play football with him, didn't know him that well but he was a great footballer and friends with everyone. All round great guy. RIP Jam

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭drumlover22

Horrible news, thoughts are obviously with the family. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

R.I.P., James

My thoughts are with his family and friends

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭cusackd

Tragic news http://bit.ly/KTxdEA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Ah no.
    I was hoping it wasn't him when I saw the news earlier.
    Very sad.
    Fair play to all those searching for him - they did a great job.
    Most missing people are never heard of again.
    Just a pity that he wasn't found sooner.
    Although he was probably dead before he was even reported missing.
    Condolences to the family x

Terrible.
    Hope the family find a way of coping.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,986 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

I went to school with his brother and my brother is friends with James, it's horrible news can't imagine how the family must be feeling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Preliminary report also said that there were no signs of foul play. Seems to have been a tragic accident similar to the one in the river Lagan a few months ago. Terrible news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭abacus120

RIP James,such a sad end,thinking of all his family and friends:(

RIP sad very sad news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

R.I.P. James.

RIP
    Awful news :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭dcfc

RIP, thoughts with his family and friends at this time, so so sad!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Cassidy28

RIP James, I can't bear to think how James's family are feeling at this moment.

All our thoughts are with the family, so sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭CL7

Very sad. RIP James.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

I was just checking the rte news site but they still havn't updated their story to say identity was confirmed..

I wish his family strength for the things to come. May he rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

I was just checking the rte news site but they still havn't updated their story to say identity was confirmed..

I wish his family strength for the things to come. May he rest in peace.

I think the family have to formally identify him, his bank card or passport in his pocket won't be enough.