Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gyms in limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

ronanc15 wrote: »

And most interestingly an extensive Crossfit style Military fit section.

I see pics of "Corssfit Limerick" floating around the bookface as well

Is this a separate venture or the same place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭ronanc15

I see pics of "Corssfit Limerick" floating around the bookface as well

Is this a separate venture or the same place?

Separate as far as I know...linky to some pics and I could prob tell from them

P.s. Planet Health will be cheaper in Limerick than cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,448 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Joined UL for 3 months to suss it out but not too impressed with it..
    Jampacked at 4pm and people falling over each other..
    Also you can't adjust the shower temps so hot showers after cardio :(
    Find the lockers extremely small etc so will either go with the Strand/Woodlands if JJB's doesn't re-open in the New Year..would be nice if someone took it over as it's in a prime location and extremely handy for users with the other shops around.

Blazer wrote: »
    Joined UL for 3 months to suss it out but not too impressed with it..
    Jampacked at 4pm and people falling over each other..
    Also you can't adjust the shower temps so hot showers after cardio :(
    Find the lockers extremely small etc so will either go with the Strand/Woodlands if JJB's doesn't re-open in the New Year..would be nice if someone took it over as it's in a prime location and extremely handy for users with the other shops around.

JJB is open in the next few weeks as Planet Health

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭moby2101

Hi

Just spoke to someone in jj...Planet Health!!

They are opening on Friday.

Initial offering of 300 Annual memberships @ €299, this will include December for free!

Therafter Annual Membership will be €349.
    Tere will be NO Direct Debit Payment option until January because(their words not mine!!) they wont have their Banking Facilities set up until then!!!!!

Great that it will be reopening..... but... meh I dont think Ill be paying upfront for anything like this again in the current economic climate, these places will come and go and DD option is the best option I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭L.T.P.

moby2101 wrote: »
    Hi

Just spoke to someone in jj...Planet Health!!

They are opening on Friday.

Initial offering of 300 Annual memberships @ €299, this will include December for free!

Therafter Annual Membership will be €349.
    Tere will be NO Direct Debit Payment option until January because(their words not mine!!) they wont have their Banking Facilities set up until then!!!!!

Great that it will be reopening..... but... meh I dont think Ill be paying upfront for anything like this again in the current economic climate, these places will come and go and DD option is the best option I think.

I'd be very wary of forking out for a years membership upfront. As you mentioned, in the current economic climate, they may not be there in 6 months time and your hard earned money would be gone :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,699 ✭✭✭Cartman78

L.T.P. wrote: »
    I'd be very wary of forking out for a years membership upfront. As you mentioned, in the current economic climate, they may not be there in 6 months time and your hard earned money would be gone :mad:

Agreed....they'll need to knock another 50 quid or so off that if they're not offering DD.

I assume they're keeping the pool open to justify that cost??

How are things in Beefit these days? Had noticed the start of overcrowding before I left a few weeks ago.

(Should say that I didn't leave due to the overcrowding - have a 5 wk old baby so my 'gym' now consists of a couple of dumbells and an exercise ball in the kitchen:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭moby2101

Just a quick update...

Planet Health ARE now taking members on a Direct Debit basis...
    €26 joining fee and €39 per month!

A little bit saucy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

Thats very expensive alright, fine gym but too much.

Blue shinners is costing 23 euro a month I think,

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭L.T.P.

shaka wrote: »
    Thats very expensive alright, fine gym but too much.

Blue shinners is costing 23 euro a month I think,

Pimping himself out now is he :D

39 is too spicy for me im afraid and that 26 joining fee is just annoying.

Eastway is 250 per annum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

joining fee? what is it 90s again?

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭judosean2005

Hey all,
    Not sure this is where i should post but.Ye all seem to be well on on Limerick gyms.
    Im looking for a gym for me and the family.
    For me: important to have good working equiptment air-con that works and not too crowded.
    For the wife: Same as above, but a nice swimming pool also.
    For kids a nice kiddy pool would be great.

Obviously u want to have a clean gym,with good lockers and showers.

Too much to ask??maybe but wat do ye recommend is close to it???

Cheers Sean

Hey all,
    Not sure this is where i should post but.Ye all seem to be well on on Limerick gyms.
    For me: important to have good working equiptment air-con that works and not too crowded.

Cheers Sean

With those type of requirements im going to say its probably a hotel facility you need. I would check out the Strand maybe?

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Beaver1

Hey all,

Cheers Sean

see if the gyms in Limerick will let you pay for a week or even a month in advance and see if it suits you, remember the gyms will be packed for the month of Jan, people with new years resolutions and all that so might be bette to start in Feb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

Interesting times in limerick bee fit and blue shinners gym very close togetherand OFP nearby too ,that seems to be more performance orientated but looks good. Can't see how they wil all stay open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭aN.Droid

Joined beefit this week. Really great gym and seems to not be busy at all in the afternoon when I will be there mostly.

I was there from 4-5 yesterday and it started to pack out alright, all threadmills where full but plenty of space on the bikes and cross country runners.

|Only gripe is that the changing area including the lockers are shared throughout the whole complex including the in door soccer and classes that go on in the complex. I think it may be shared with kids aswell but I am not 100% sure about that as I have yet to see kids in there.

Would prefer the showers where not on big unit aswell. I prefer privacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,448 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Hey all,

Cheers Sean

For a family I'd definitely recommend UL..there always seems to be a portion of the pool cordoned off for kids to play in.
    Starting to revise my opinion on UL...it's clean, nice air conditioned and there's always lockers available.
    Have gone in a few times now after work and it's not too crowded at all.
    3 months to decide will I stay or not.

page 20 of latest Limerick Post has a small ad of King's Gym which is supposedly located somewhere off O'Connell St.
    anyone know the place?

fl4pj4ck wrote: »
    first page of latest Limerick Post has a small ad of King's Gym which is supposedly located somewhere off O'Connell St.
    anyone know the place?

Never heard of it myself, couldnt imagine anywhere round there having a huge amount of space

that's what I figured. only asking because it's e2/day or e15/month

Wow! Seriously cheap!

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Inerd

page 20 of latest Limerick Post has a small ad of King's Gym which is supposedly located somewhere off O'Connell St.
    anyone know the place?

It is on St.Josephs Street on the right. (approx 100 metres from O'Connel Av.). They have a big banner on it. There is O'Sulivan pharmacy and the church on the other side, and it is 15 e/month, 2e/day. It was a garage before of something, it's quite spacious, they have a lots of equipment also bikes, treadmills, rowing machines and so on, inconvenience: no shower

I found their Facebook too: https://www.facebook.com/KINGSGYMLIMERICK

• Registered Users Posts: 9 salty69

moby2101 wrote: »
    Just a quick update...

Planet Health ARE now taking members on a Direct Debit basis...
    €26 joining fee and €39 per month!

A little bit saucy!!

Thats 494 a year through dd. The Charlton hotel in Castletroy is cheaper than that. And that's a 4 star hotel. They can stick that were the sun doesn't shine.

ronanc15 wrote: »

Never heard of it myself, couldnt imagine anywhere round there having a huge amount of space

Yes at the end of St Joseph Street

salty69 wrote: »

Yes at the end of St Joseph Street

Saw it on Facebook alright. From pics it wouldn't be my cup of tea.

Just phoned Planet Health regarding membership.
    349 a year or 39 euro a month with no joining fee if you join before 16 January. Still a bit saucy at 468 through dd.

You're really paying the extra for the wet facilities imo

29/month in Clarion, including sauna, steam room and pool

Fairly small gym though in comparison