Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ryanair to make ANOTHER take-over bid for Aer Lingus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭SugarCoat

how much do ye want for that boss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭Eurovisionmad

SugarCoat wrote: »
    how much do ye want for that!

Packet of Taytos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I hope it doesn't go through, if it does I'd miss those mother-like Air hostesses who'd be replaced by old retired SS officer if Ryanair had their way!

what? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭Archeron

An aer lingus hostess once accidentally hit me in the face with a muffin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

hondasam wrote: »
    what? :confused:

I know!

Sure doesn't Ryanair hire Czech pornstars.... Mmmm czech porn

BRB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Ryanair = a McDonalds with wings.

We need some dignity with what's left of out National Airline.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Good ol Michael O'Leary he's been told before he's not allowed to have the controlling stake in Aer Lingus, he's just shit stirring it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Yawn, this is Ryanair's last opportunity for free air-time as regards Aer Lingus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

I know!

Sure doesn't Ryanair hire Czech pornstars.... Mmmm czech porn

BRB

I've only ever been served by battleaxe air hostesses with Ryanair, to be fair to Aer Lingus they've got some stunners and they're generally more friendly too.

Got a rap on the head and told to lift up my tray when flying with Ryanair...lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,523 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Hopefully all the trouble we're in with Europe will mean the politicos can't ask for it to be blocked again for no good reason. We might finally get rid of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Hope they take that fuhken stoopid looking building down too. I'm not taking a car to get a bus to an airport that looks like an arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Archeron wrote: »

With her lady muffin or an actual muffin?

• Site Banned Posts: 222 ✭✭bee_keeper

Hopefully all the trouble we're in with Europe will mean the politicos can't ask for it to be blocked again for no good reason. We might finally get rid of them.

where do you see share prices going tomorrow in aer lingus ? , is it a runner or is mick o leary simply dipping his toe :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Pedant

Archeron wrote: »

I know, they've gotten a lot more plumper these days those air hostesses.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭bc dub

If this goes thru, does it mean we can emigrate our young, further, cheaper?

squod wrote: »
    Hope they take that fuhken stoopid looking building down too. I'm not taking a car to get a bus to an airport that looks like an arse.
    If you are talking about the new terminal 2, that building has absolutely nothing got to do with Aer Lingus, worse still it cost more to build than Aer lingus is currently worth so i don't think it will be a part of the deal. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

You're national airline was happy to rip people off for years to the extent that people who emigrated had to get the boat and coudn't get home as often as they might have.Flying with them was the preserve of the well heeled and government class.Or family of "workers" Meanwhile the national airline was being subsidised by the taxpayer to overpay its staff. It was a bastion of nepotism and entitlement.Like every other semi-state it existed for the benefit of its employees, no matter the cost.A parasite on the nation.
    They never gave a bollix about the ordinary punter before Ryanair came along.

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭maddragon

I don't think the bid was serious because Ryanair valued Aer Lingus at bout tree fiddy per share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Would hate to see it go through but I know it wont.
    I love not having to fight with someone for a seat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,523 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

you're right, both are massively successful companies who provide low cost, hassle free products to millions of people annually and do a very good job of it too.

• Site Banned Posts: 222 ✭✭bee_keeper

maddragon wrote: »
    I don't think the bid was serious because Ryanair valued Aer Lingus at bout tree fiddy per share.

how could aer lignus be worth three fifty when ryanair shares are themselves below four euro

the price offered is more than generous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭usernamegoes

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Good ol Michael O'Leary he's been told before he's not allowed to have the controlling stake in Aer Lingus, he's just shit stirring it again

Their statement to the ISE states that they are willing to put in place measures to avoid breaching competition rules (Article 102 TFEU for those interested) These things have been done before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,134 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Aer Lingus will sell out to Etihad out of spite.

You're national airline was happy to rip people off for years to the extent that people who emigrated had to get the boat and coudn't get home as often as they might have.Flying with them was the preserve of the well heeled and government class.Or family of "workers" Meanwhile the national airline was being subsidised by the taxpayer to overpay its staff. It was a bastion of nepotism and entitlement.Like every other semi-state it existed for the benefit of its employees, no matter the cost.A parasite on the nation.

It has been back to the Boat for me on cross channel hops. Flying has shot itself in the foot with all carriers at this stage with all the messing, expensive parking, baggage restrictions and security paranoia.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I worked for Aer Lingus back in 2003/2004 cleaning airplanes. We were paid for 8-hour shifts that were usually over after 6.5 hours. We typically cleaned about 8 planes during that shift. Each plane took around 10 minutes to clean (but the transatlantic planes could take an hour but there were less of those). If you include the time waiting on the apron for the plane to land in our "work-time", we probably worked around 4 hours a day. We spent a huge amount of our time playing pool, darts and watching sky-sports back at base.

Basically, we did feck-all work for around €500 nett a week. The worst part of it all when I look back was the outrage that greeted the suggestion that we spend more of our time working. The older staff members had been SIPTU-ised to the point of insanity. There was a genuine belief among them that they were "entitled" to a good wage for 4 hours of unskilled labour.

I have since heard from people who still work there that they do more work now but I don't imagine that they work as hard as Ryanair staff. I fly quite a lot and I've found Ryanair staff to be very good. That said, I travel with one bag and I'm not retarded so I haven't had to have any confrontations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

You can fly Aer Lingus these days for usually pretty much the same price as Ryanair - sometimes cheaper.

If Ryanair take over Aer Lingus, you can guarantee that the prices will rise across the board.

Ryanair are a brilliant airline for making international flights affordable, and by doing so, bringing down the prices of their competitors, but I'd be very worried if they started to get rid of their competition altogether. Monopolies are never a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

Jesus, I hope Aer Lingus aren't taken over by that shower of clowns. I'd rather be able to fly to my destination for a little more than some shed with a coat hanger on the roof in the arse end of nowhere at 6am.

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭big_heart_on

I'd always choose Aer Lingus over Ryanair, partly because O'Leary behaves like such a huge tool, a hugely successful tool and his competition is welcome but I still hate the "Bus to Butlins" feel of Ryanair flights, complete with attendants making jokes about women drivers and all that nonsense over the intercom. All thats missing is lads rolling joints down the back and the empty snack boxes on the floor. Its the 70's sitcom of air travel, "Carry on Luggage" if you will.

I'll happily pay more to land at my destination too rather than coach/train the rest of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,199 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Ryanair=Supermacs you surely mean.

A crappy overpriced Irish company trying and failing to compete with their better multinational competition while bitching about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Ryanair=Supermacs you surely mean.

A crappy overpriced Irish company trying and failing to compete with their better multinational competition while bitching about it.

Ryan are are one of the most profitable airlines in the world.

Are you mental?

Their business model is exemplary, they have thrived while other airlines are arses to the wall trying to survive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

DB21 wrote: »
    Jesus, I hope Aer Lingus aren't taken over by that shower of clowns. I'd rather be able to fly to my destination for a little more than some shed with a coat hanger on the roof in the arse end of nowhere at 6am.

A shed? I think you need to take that up with Boeing, not Ryanair! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

bee_keeper wrote: »
    how could aer lignus be worth three fifty when ryanair shares are themselves below four euro

the price offered is more than generous

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

It's got nothing at all to do with competition or the DAA or Aer Lingus or low air fares, rather its all about slots, the Heathrow airport slots, worth more than Aer Lingus IMHO.

Michael O'Leary once said that a time would come when there would be just four major carriers left operating on the planet him being one. (the rest being swallowed up by the bigger ones). Do you honestly think O'Leary is going to still charge €20 to fly across the channel when he has kicked out competition. He can charge what he wants to when he wants to as many have experienced.

You also never had Aer Lingus or any airline for that matter in the past charging you €40 to print out a sheet of A4 paper at a check in desk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Work for a semi state myself. Those who have never worked in one cannot comprehend the levels of entitlement culture, resistance to change, big wages for very little work, promotion based on service not ability. People who's gross incompetency, inefficiency and general retardation would have them sacked instantly from a private company are protected and promoted within semi states. Those who stepped above their station or thought outside the box or were innovative were blacklisted. It is changing slowly but the stuff going on in semi states over the last few decades is shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

I can't see how anyone could see this as a good thing - not that it's likely to go ahead. On routes where both carriers operate the prices tend to be lower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Aer Lingus will sell out to Etihad out of spite.
    Well that'd sort out the ugly air hostess debate immediately.

You also never had Aer Lingus or any airline for that matter in the past charging you €40 to print out a sheet of A4 paper at a check in desk.
    Not the same ole "boarding pass whinge" again. Jesus, at this stage, we are all aware of the requirement to print the thing in advance, surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Michael O'Leary once said that a time would come when there would be just four major carriers left operating on the planet him being one. (the rest being swallowed up by the bigger ones). Do you honestly think O'Leary is going to still charge €20 to fly across the channel when he has kicked out competition. He can charge what he wants to when he wants to as many have experienced.

If O'Leary takes over they might start to land some flights on schedule, would make a nice change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

This should not be allowed to happen. A monopoly in the hands of bully would be bad news for customers, very bad news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

My rubbish collector was taken over, I moved my business. My insurance broker was taken over, I moved my business. I've already made my mind up about mol, I do not want to deal with him. I'll take the ferry to England and fly BA if I have to.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Flying has shot itself in the foot with all carriers at this stage with all the messing, expensive parking, baggage restrictions and security paranoia.

It's not that I don't agree 87% with you but these words coming from you... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭Archeron

With her lady muffin or an actual muffin?

An actual muffin, And when it plopped onto the tray in front of me, she snorted at me and walked off.

Funny the things that stick in your mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,248 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

2 stroke wrote: »
    My rubbish collector was taken over, I moved my business. My insurance broker was taken over, I moved my business. I've already made my mind up about mol, I do not want to deal with him. I'll take the ferry to England and fly BA if I have to.

I have to ask, have you ever actually flown Ryanair or are you just buying into all the BS that's spoken about them?

If you do decide to fly with them it's quite simple:
    • Check in online
    • Print your boarding pass
    • Make sure your baggage is the correct size and weight
    • Enjoy spending your extra cash in the destination you are flying to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Enjoy spending your extra cash in the destination near where you are flying to.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

2 stroke wrote: »
    I'll take the ferry to England and fly BA if I have to.
    Fly BA ? More money than sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

I don't get the problem with Ryanair either..

If you have a head on you at all, you can get cheap flights. The only people who complain are the ones who book cheap flights, then have to change their name or dates, or arrive with the wrong size luggage, or complain because the sandwiches on board are so expensive. You can easily avoid all that stuff.

Me and my bird got 20 euro return flights (all in), to Prague one year. We were delighted! Couldn't get the train to Galway for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

They're cunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,248 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

They're cunts.

I'm beginning to believe this should be a question on the Census. People who think that Ryanair are c***ts obviously can't follow simple instructions and should be segregated from the rest of us. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I'm beginning to believe this should be a question on the Census. People who think that Ryanair are c***ts obviously can't follow simple instructions and should be segregated from the rest of us. :pac:

They are segregated - they fly other airlines

At the airport the other day, a women in front of me ripped the whole side of her massive LV suitcase trying to get it in to the thing they have for measuring bags - funniest thing I've seen in a while and I doubt she'll be flying with them again:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

FYP

Not everyone wants to fly to the nearest major city. If you're flying to Milton Keynes for example Luton is the closest airport, for Leicester the closest is East Mids both are served by Ryanair.