Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do you have to spell your name to Garda?

• 20-06-2012 2:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭

I know the Garda can ask you your name and you have to give it but do you have to spell it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    I know the Garda can ask you your name and you have to give it but do you have to spell it?

yes, very slowly and loudly ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Yeah, but you have to do it really sarcastically.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

if they ask you to.

</stupidthread>

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

What? Unless they ask you to then why would you? Silly question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

R
    A
    Y

P
    A
    L
    M
    E
    R

Just show em this thread, if you're having difficulty spelling it yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

MacLovin with an A, Garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

if he mispels ur name it can get thrown out of court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Yes, why? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

Yes,
    but give your surname first, it makes you seem mysterious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

cocoshovel wrote: »
    What? Unless they ask you to then why would you? Silly question.
    Yes they asked and I didn't. He got mad but never claimed I actually had to. Friend said he has no right for a spelling other said he did. I walked away so seems you don't.
    I did identify myself not my problem he can't spell my name.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Driver (smiling): Yes, Garda, its Prawo Jazdy (Loudly) Pee-orr-aye-doubleuu-ooo -- empty space -- Jay-aye-zed-dee-wyyy --

Look, it's here on my driving licence,on the top right.

(Thinks): What a thick cnut!

http://www.thirdreichmedals.com/pictures/pawel.jpg

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/7899171.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,207 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Why would you give your real name? :confused:

Sure, if you got ID on you and the gardai is looking to check your pockets ... you gotta say your real name. But if you are randomly stopped (or there abouts) why say your real name? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Vayhickle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Blaszczykowski :D

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭kopfan77

Fuinseog wrote: »

wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Only if he doesn't have his hat on:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If they ask, I think so.
    Not to do so, if they ask, is tantamount to not complying with their request.

I spell is as:

J
    a
    c
    k

B
    a
    u
    e
    r

I've no idea why they crap themselves afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Yes but slur your speech and hiccup while your doing it.they love that.

Sure, if you got ID on you and the gardai is looking to check your pockets ... you gotta say your real name. But if you are randomly stopped (or there abouts) why say your real name? :confused:
    Because lying to them is an offense. They also have to have a reason to check your pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Because it's an offence to give a false name. Also sometimes guards will ask you your name even if they already know it just to catch you out. I've been asked my name and address dozens, if not hundreds, of times over the years and often by a guard who knows rightly who I am.

kopfan77 wrote: »

wrong
    Not sure on that multiple fines and tickets avoided due to misspelling of surname. Thrown out of court indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Certainly,
    Robert Loggia,

R as in Robert Loggia.
    O as in oh my god, it's Robert Loggia.
    B as in by god, that's Robert Loggia.
    E as in everyone loves Robert Loggia.
    R as in Robert Loggia.
    T as in "Tim look, it's Robert Loggia!"
    SPACE.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

F
    U
    C
    K

Y
    O
    U

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Garda: Can I take your name please?
    Robert Losure: Certainly, it's Robert Losure.
    Garda: Can you spell that for me?
    Robert Losure: Certainly, thats Robert Losure.
    R as in Robert Losure
    O as in oh my god its Robert Losure
    B as in by god thats Robert Losure
    E as in everybody loves Robert Losure
    R as in Robert Losure
    T as in Tim look over there its Robert Losure.
    Space.
    L as in look its Robert Losure.

Edit: Damn you Kev_2012!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,207 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Because it's an offence to give a false name. Also sometimes guards will ask you your name even if they already know it just to catch you out. I've been asked my name and address dozens, if not hundreds, of times over the years and often by a guard who knows rightly who I am.

It would definitely be a problem lying if they know who you are :pac:

But lets say in general. You just get stopped for whatever reason (as most of us have) ... I just think its stupid to say your real name if you are in a position not too. Offence or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Nobody say 123 Fake St

That's my address!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Sykk wrote: »
    Garda: Can I take your name please?
    Robert Losure: Certainly, it's Robert Losure.
    Garda: Can you spell that for me?
    Robert Losure: Certainly, thats Robert Losure.
    R as in Robert Losure
    O as in oh my god its Robert Losure
    B as in by god thats Robert Losure
    E as in everybody loves Robert Losure
    R as in Robert Losure
    T as in Tim look over there its Robert Losure.
    Space.
    L as in look its Robert Losure.

Sound it out why don't ye...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,134 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

akura wrote: »
    Yes,
    but give your surname first, it makes you seem mysterious

Not if it's Kuntz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I just think its stupid to say your real name if you are in a position not too.
    And I just think it's stupid to obstruct a Garda who is just doing his job because you've got some bizarre chip on your shoulder.

Seriously, what are you afraid of? That he'll commit identity fraud?

If a Garda lawfully asks you to identify yourself, what possible harm could you come to by doing so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Why would you have to spell 'it'

I'm sure they are not that stupid.

It's the like the smart man who insists the Garda deals with you in Irish

Fair enough, that's your right

They'll bring you to the station and leave you waiting for a few hours until they bother to bring a garda to speak to you

Being a smart ass gets you nowhere ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

mikemac1 wrote: »

They'll bring you to the station and leave you waiting for a few hours until they bother to bring a garda to speak to you

Yea but being a dick head of a garda seems to get you every where.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,810 ✭✭✭Calibos

Stop slumping in your car seat like a gangsta, dressing like a skanger, take the fcuking xenon bulbs out of your bog standard mirrored headlight housings (Theres a reason Xenons need a projector housing) and maybe, just maybe you won't have a chip on your shoulder because the guards stop you in the car every other week. :rolleyes:

mikemac1 wrote: »

Didn't think they could do that as the Garda has to speak Irish to you not another one back at the station.

They got rid of the Irish exams

They are a good few non nationals recruited too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I have to spell my surname for everybody!

And it ain't a difficult one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Didn't think they could do that as the Garda has to speak Irish to you not another one back at the station.
    If they're going to arrest you, they can just take you back to the station and let anothe Garda do the arrest.

If they're just trying to talk to you at the roadside, they can't take you down the station, however they can leave you standing at the roadside for 30 minutes while they "wait" for an Irish-speaking Garda to turn up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Pherekydes wrote: »
    I have to spell my surname for everybody!

And it ain't a difficult one.
    only after noticing your name ISNT Phere-dykes:eek:

So you are well known to the gardai then ;)

only after noticing your name ISNT Phere-dykes:eek:

You're not the first. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I always thought you were a dyke too :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭BRAIN FEEDs

all the guard will do is seek to have the summons amended.

saw a girl today in the district court,charged under the name cathriona,guard asked it to be amended to Catherine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

Spell it out to them, sure i just point ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

I really pity any Garda having to deal with a smart arse like the OP. You should be proud of yourself, you really got one over on 'the man'.

Ffs any garda can ask to see ID. No need to be silly if asked to spell your name, you are just being a pr1ck.

I always thought you were a dyke too :confused:

I think I'll change my username to an overtly feminine one after this. :o

Pherekydes was one of the ancient Greek muses, and was thought to be one of western civilization's first philosophers and a teacher of Pythagoras.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Unavailable for Comment

Yes, you absolutely have to spell it out if required.

In certain situations a Garda can demand your name and you are legally obliged to obey and inform him of what your name is. If the Garda is then unable to understand your accent or indeed unable to spell the name himself he is entitled to ask that you spell it for him. The duty lies with you to ensure he comprehends therefore refusing to comply would be the exact same as refusing to give it in the first place.

However you are under no obligation to spell it out unless requested. It doesn't matter much anyway as an incorrectly titled summons is rarely enough to have a case thrown out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Ffs any garda can ask to see ID. No need to be silly if asked to spell your name, you are just being a pr1ck.
    They can ask for ID but you don't have to show it (unless you're driving a car that is). Not everyone has ID anyway.