Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Banned From After Hours- My Appeal For Justice

Options
  • 20-06-2012 9:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭

Recently I was banned from AH permanently. I think my ban is unjustified and it should either be revoked or reduced. I messaged the Mod who gave me the ban but he dismissed my appeal.

I'm relatively new to boards and the internet and such, so on joining this forum I decided to study the Boards Guidelines extensively to avoid any possible problems arising. I have adhered to all of the rules as outlined.

The ban came about over a number of disingenuous threads that I created designed to amuse and provide a break from the hard lives the people of Ireland are facing. The content of the threads in question was harmless and unoffensive.

I was unaware that what I was doing would result in me getting a ban as it was not detailed in the guidelines as being illegal. After receiving my ban I decided to do some research via the internet and discovered that what I was doing was in fact a commonly known internet phenomena known as "trolling", which is generally frowned upon by the online community.

I apologize for any inconvenience caused and assure you I will not make the same error again. I believe my ban should be at the very least reduced as I followed the Guidelines exactly, and technically did not break any rules. I was unaware that what I was doing was prohibited.

I hope my situation can be seen for what it is, a big misunderstanding. I've been very impressed with all of the mods on boards and I would hate for this experience to spoil my opinion of the site.