Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Who is your seamus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

kowloon wrote: »
    That's just what I'd expect a machine to say.
    Yes, but I promise. A machine couldn't promise :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

I just googled 'circle jerk' coz I didn't know what it meant.
    I'm sorry I did now :(

Never be sorry you have learnt something new. It's all part of lifelong learning. :):)

One day you'll be ready to learn all about the soggy biscuit. :D:D

And never knock anything until you've tried it. ;);)

I'll never recognise anyone as my seamus, because that way I'll never become totally disappointed in someone I greatly respect. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

There's a few in niche topics who pretty much sum up what I want to say, but more eloquently. However I have enough unpopular opinions that make the dream of a 'seamus' unattainable
    Boards I usually (but not always as that would be boring), agree with Bluewolf, Wibbs, Khannie, and the former Dudess (:().
    She closed her account :(
    Damm, she was an excellent poster, why do the good die young?:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Well if you must know; my first name is called Séamus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

How did I miss this thread earlier?
    Pighead wrote: »
    Can be used as a verb as well eg I thought today's exam was going to be tough but I absolutely seamused it.
    I actually work with seamus. In honour of this thread, I'm tempted to try to drop 'I seamused it' into a conversation at some point tomorrow ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

feck seamus PIGHEAD is back!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

sheesh wrote: »
    feck seamus PIGHEAD is back!!!

With a boner for a guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭PC CDROM

seamus has always had a way of articulating things in a way most of us wish we could. Non confrontational, explanatory but firm when needed.

I wish he could have written this for me. Would have been miles better. Also a nice chap in real life. I used to see him cycling a lot :D

I also <3 Pighead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Cliques are cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Blondini wrote: »
    Cliques are cool.

/dabs dripping venom from chin

You're making a mess of yourself dear.

Does everyone on boards work/live in the same place:D

I never see any of you!

Does everyone on boards work/live in the same place:D

I never see any of you!

You still have a job!? After what you did!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭carolinespring

In real life, my husband and my brother.

What is this you speak of:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭neemish

Strangely, I dropped into see the thread because I have long since decided to name my first born James after the many James/Seamus I have known - all great guys! And yes, I agree we all need a seamus.

Boards - DeVore. Probably has never heard of me but his posts all make perfect sense. Wish I could be so articulate. And now Pighead and seamus - a new found admiration:)

In the alternate reality that is my life - a friend named Mary. Always right on the mark and can be relied on for good advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

It has always been Pighead for me - brilliant :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Well if you must know; my first name is called Séamus.
    As a nickname like? My Mammys my seamus, she's old, contrary and swears a lot, hates everything and everyone and scares small children, but she's always right about everything and everyone(except my youngest lad, she hates him, and he's lovely really - she loves my eldest, and he's a bit of a bollix tbf):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

The only person I trust, is myself. It just prevents me from being cheated by others ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

I don't think i have one, i tend to disagree with a lot of peoples opinions. One of the few posters who's opinions i dont disagree with would be Boom_Bap, the mod of the hip hop forum and mufcboy1999, i just tend to agree with the majority of the stuff they say, 2 very level headed posters. Very intelligent lads when it comes to music as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

I need to get rid of my Jerry Springer collection, I read that so badly :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

It was that javaboy fella.

Wonder what ever happened to him?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 104 ✭✭PBroderick

Pighead wrote: »
    Everybody has a seamus. That person whose opinion you trust 100%. The person who you'd nominate as your phone a friend if you ever went on 'Who wants to be a milionaire'. Your own personal Yoda.

When Pighead first started posting here his first opinion of the place was that it was populated by nerdlingers with awful opinions and awful clothes. But after a while he began to notice a diamond in the rough. A diamond that went by the name of seamus. seamus with a small s.

His posts were frequent but unusually the quantity was matched by the quality. He was right about everything. His opinions were forthright but generally bang on the money. He was like the boards version of James Bond. Men wanted to be him, women wanted to be with him.

Whenever there's a thorny subject brought up in After Hours that splits opinion, Pighead waits until seamus posts and then follows his opinion safe in the knowledge it is the right one.

Pighead has had thee dogs since he started posting on boards and he's called them all seamus. His first born will also be called seamus(boy or girl) and probably his second one too.

If seamus is reading this, Pighead prays that he takes the following in the right spirit. (ie it's a sign of admiration rather than obsession)

Sometimes Pighead parts his hair to the side (always imagined seamus had a cool side parting, left to right) wears cool chino's and smart trainers and pretends that he's the great man himself all whilst sing singing the Billy Joel classic 'Well I'm seamus, seamus as a man can be, you can make a total fool of me, I just wanted you to know'.

So who is your seamus?

<sound of toilet flushing and vomiting>

nothing more to see here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Lady von Purple

Love this thread. And people should stop telling Pighead to speak in the regular first person. Then he wouldn't sound like Pighead and everyone would be confused and mildly disconcerted. Lastly, I also have a Seamus whose name is Seamus. :D I know several Seamus', all of whom are excellent people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

PBroderick wrote: »
    <sound of toilet flushing and vomiting>

nothing more to see here

Why did you flush the toilet first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭southcentralts

I know a real Seamus, but he is not much of a seamus tbh.

Why did you flush the toilet first?

I put my head in the toilet and flushed, hoping to drown myself after reading this drivel.

But all the flush did was refresh my memory of this turgid, unimaginative, hackneyed excrement and I vomited.

Only Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall could make something of this pighead....even then I would prefer beef.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I put my head in the toilet and flushed, hoping to drown myself after reading this drivel.

But all the flush did was refresh my memory of this turgid, unimaginative, hackneyed excrement and I vomited.

Only Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall could make something of this pighead....even then I would prefer beef.

I'm flattered and sure, maybe a little tempted, but the answer's no.

85 people thanked his post. 85 people.

A frightening statistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

A frightening statistic.
    Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Earthhorse wrote: »
    It was that javaboy fella.

Wonder what ever happened to him?

He is leaping through time, righting what once went wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

I usually enjoy reading kingofmoo, scofflaw, dudess(RIP) and meglome. There are many others I just can't remember them now. I changed my name, but no one really liked me anyway so it wasn't much of a loss :(

:P

I am my own seamus, It's my name, well the Irish version anyways.:D

Edit: Add Wibbs, hairyprincess and Mikemac1 to my list of fweinds.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

A frightening statistic.

Maybe, you know, 85 people liked it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,523 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I've met the guy, we went cycling, I must be cool by association right?

Maybe, you know, 85 people liked it.

85 people that need shooting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

What a seamus of a thread this is. Well done Pighead, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭seenitall

Zombrex, nozzferrahhttoo, Ickle Magoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭are you serious

du Maurier wrote: »
    http://www.panoramio.com/photo/56548491

Is this one of your dogs?

for a second there I thought the laptop was a white box blocking out something dirty...!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I have strongly disagreed with seamus in the past, where does this leave the whole thing of naming my seamus..well..seamus.

Das Kitty, Des, AlekSmart, Will, Dudess, LuckyLloyd..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

My best mate's called Seamus. That's weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I've met the guy, we went cycling, I must be cool by association right?
    I don't recall seeing the word "cool" anywhere in the OP ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

seamus wrote: »
    I don't recall seeing the word "cool" anywhere in the OP ;)

Look again...

;):p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

You're not as cool as a "fishes fart" though. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

seamus wrote: »
    Mind. Blown. DeVore is Pighead. It all makes sense now.

I always thought Keith M89 was Pighead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

This made me laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

ahhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

hi! my name is patrycja. I am look for the wonderful boy from Ireland.I met him in Poland in Poznań in the club "22".he was dressed in the light blue shirt and beige 3/4 trousers.he had fair hair and beautiful eyes.I fell in love with him.I don't remember his name.I met him from Sunday for Monday. 17 / 18 June.

Please, help me to find him! ;)
    Sounds like you fell in love with a seamus, pattrycja. Pighead has put the word out to his wide circle of friends and he guarantees* you that your love will be found by close of business today.

*If you're pregnant the above guarantee should be disregarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

And I thought this fncking thread couldn't get any more bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I'm chuffed not to appear anywhere on this love-in of a thread, I must be doing something right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,029 ✭✭✭Wossack

seamus is my seamus

/lights another candle on seamus shrine

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Dudess was my seamus. :(

I need a new seamus.