Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Renting: place doesn't feel like our own, so thinking of buying.

Options
  • 21-06-2012 4:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭

I've been renting hither and yon in Dublin city centre for around seven years now, and my partner and I are now talking about living somewhere just us again after a few years of house sharing. (No problems with the houseshare, I have to add. Have been living very happily with some dear friends, but it's time to have our own place.)

We are probably going to try to buy in the next few years. I've been warned off buying, and I know having to pay almost as much for a mortgage as we would have for rent and having to maintain a house on top of it won't be easy, not to mention increased commuting costs.

But I am sick to death of not being able to paint or paper the walls or put up paintings or change fittings. I'm sick of moving into places with cupboards full of other people's left-behind stuff, and of being stuck with whatever furniture is there because we have nowhere to store it if we replace it. I'm sick of being denied permission to install an antenna for broadband, and of not being allowed to have a pet if we decided to get one.

I'm sick, in short, of not feeling like a place is our own, (because in a very real sense it's not.)

Are there any renters out there who have managed to make a place their own? Any advice?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 17,852 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim