Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ty vs 5th year

• 21-06-2012 7:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭

Are you doing transition year or 5th year next year and why ? If going to 5th year what subjects?

Im doing 5th year because in our school I feel ty is a waste of time. Lots of dossing and a year out of study. Also i prefer learning tbh. Whats ty like in your school? Next year im doing physics biology chemistry and applied maths. German also.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭whoopsadaisy

Straight to 5th. My school doesn't offer a great TY program but tbh, I'd rather not spend the year dossing, I'd rather finish school that year earlier :)

I'll be doing Biology, Chemistry, Business, French and LCVP.

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Layzerman

Our schools TY program looks good, but everyone who does it seems to regret it. I'll be doing 5th year with Biology Chemistry German Geography and LCVP.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,188 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

TY very much depends on the group of students in it. It's very much aimed at those who get up and do a bit for themselves, not those who wait for the teachers to organise everything.

Statistically, those who do TY perform better in the LC, though that is possibly as much to do with being a year older than the other students than the work done in TY.

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭missguided

I did TY because we didn't have a choice, but it really depends on the standard of the TY course in your school. Some schools do nothing, and the students just end up being not motivated and find it hard to settle into fifth year.

I found it good to have a break after Junior Cert, and we experienced a lot throughout the year as well as starting on bits of the LC course. If your school has a bad TY or you're not really bothered with it, I'd suggest just going straight to fifth, one less year in school and you'll probably be able to settle in easier.

I'm going into fifth and doing Biology, Home Ec, Geography and German.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Kmgirl

I'm going straight into fifth year!..I'm doing Religion, Home Ec, Spanish and Biology. I'm doing higher level Irish and English. Pass Maths!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Pen Rua

My school can't cope with TY. First, we just don't have the space to facilitate it (700 pupils in a school built for 500, I once hear). And, there's the financial cost, too! But if I had the choice, I still wouldn't do it. I don't like the idea of having an extra year in school, and I fear I might lose my study skills/routines from JC. It suits some, it probably just wouldn't suit me. I hope to do LCVP, though!

I am going in to 5th year and doing; Accounting, Business, Geography and French as well as the usual (and Religion, but not as an exam subject in my school).

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭sara16

I'm going straight into 5th year because i feel that i would be too old leaving school if i did TY (16 already so i would be 19 finishing if i did it).. Also after talking to a few people i figured it would be a waste of time..
    I chose : Business , accounting , geography , spanish +lcvp :)

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭ohsurelook

I'm doing TY basically cos it'd just be sickening to start the Leaving Cert course next year with no kind of break and cos it'd be brilliant to have a different kind of school life. break the monotony lioke

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭graeme157

Doing TY for no other reason than I'd be 16 leaving school if I don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 ciaran138

Doing 5th year. In my school it'll be a small group as 45 out of 76 JC students are doing TY meaning a class of 31 for fifth year.
    I'm doing History, Biology, Physics and Business. Taking a risk with business as I haven't done it before.

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭The House Of Wolves

I wanted to do TY - it's a new programme in my school so it's all very exciting and there have been positive reviews from current TYs. However, as only 20 could go in, I didn't manage to get in. So, 5th year it is. Taking English, Irish, maths, geography (wanted history but was the only one who did... :[), accounting, religion as a non-exam subject, biology and French. The only one of those that I am even remotely interested in is French. I'm not looking forward to 5th year :(

After that, it's looking to be a year working, as I'll be just shy of 17 when leaving school. Although the way the finances stretch, who knows even about uni?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Indiego

I'm just after finishing up TY, didn't enjoy it very much tbh, though that is completely down to the fact that I don't really enjoy the company of most of my year and I prefer academic based stuff cos I'm a big oul nerd B) It's compulsory in my school though, and I would have been 16 doing the leaving otherwise, so I didn't have a choice :(

Can't waiiiit for September tbh, I've missed being challenged in school (that seriously sounds so sad..:L) because we did feck all learning about anything this year XD

I shall be doing the troublesome three, business, biology, physics and Spanish :) Along with chemistry outside of school as a nonexam subject, just for the craic B)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Some schools have good ty program's. I agree with spurious however. You can't expect the teachers to do all the work. Also with the recession getting worse schools have access to less funding. This limits the program and what they can do with you. That's why I'm not doing it. I see the tys dossing and doing feck all every day. So I think it's not worth it. I have always preferred the academic side of school than socialising and work experience. I know it depends on the students as well. Some students need it. I don't necessarily agree that students who ty do better in the leaving cert thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 bigbang.

I'm skipping ty, though i'll only be 16 doing the leaving! My school has a pretty bad ty program, it's basically just work experience and then a spanish exchange for anyone who can afford it :( Its also compulsory, which is why I'm moving to new school! :eek:
    Im doing (all HL)-
    English, Irish, Maths, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Spanish and Japanese
    Im so nervous for September hahah!

bigbang. wrote: »
    I'm skipping ty, though i'll only be 16 doing the leaving! My school has a pretty bad ty program, it's basically just work experience and then a spanish exchange for anyone who can afford it :( Its also compulsory, which is why I'm moving to new school! :eek:
    Im doing (all HL)-
    English, Irish, Maths, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Spanish and Japanese
    Im so nervous for September hahah!
    Unfortunately my school only offer the really basic subjects. Is Japanese hard Does your school offer it or do you do it outside of school?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 bigbang.

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    Unfortunately my school only offer the really basic subjects. Is Japanese hard Does your school offer it or do you do it outside of school?

ill be doing it in school, they offer it as like an extra subject so ill be missing religion class (wooo!) well ive never done it before but the teacher who does it said its basically learning the alphabet and not much detail beyond that! Hopefully it won't be too bad! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭Cheerios

I'm doing TY but only because its compulsory. Although, I might have chosen it even if it wasn't. It seems TY in our school is pretty good. A lot of previous TY students recommend it. There is also a lot of trips and a lot of activities to do. There is even 2 trips organised already (1 week after we come back in September, another a week after).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭Troxck

I'm doing TY because my school does actually offer good activities. My year is full of dossers so I wouldn't be surprised if they were cancelled.
    Anyway, I have a chance of going to Zambia on an Immersion Project, you spend two weeks in Zambia helping the Christian Brothers. I also have a chance of a German exchange, I'd absolutely love this. I love German and two weeks there would be great. Unfortunately, these are very unlikely because my school is bias towards hurlers and sport players in general and my year's full of them.
    Work experience was a major factor too, I think it's great that we have a chance to see if a job we may be interested in is available for us. Throughout the year there are many other activities, but a break would be nice after the JC:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭paddyzk

Troxck wrote: »
    I'm doing TY because my school does actually offer good activities. My year is full of dossers so I wouldn't be surprised if they were cancelled.
    Anyway, I have a chance of going to Zambia on an Immersion Project, you spend two weeks in Zambia helping the Christian Brothers. I also have a chance of a German exchange, I'd absolutely love this. I love German and two weeks there would be great. Unfortunately, these are very unlikely because my school is bias towards hurlers and sport players in general and my year's full of them.
    Work experience was a major factor too, I think it's great that we have a chance to see if a job we may be interested in is available for us. Throughout the year there are many other activities, but a break would be nice after the JC:pac:

Mine is the exact same. :(

paddyzk wrote: »
    Mine is the exact same. :(

It's annoying but you can get off the radar of some teachers which is handy in certain situations...

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭ohsurelook

Mine is the exact same.

So is mine - the student who won most improved in rugby/basketball/football got a silver plaque with their name engraved on it. The student who got the best JC results got a book.

Pissed laughing when I heard though

ohsurelook wrote: »
    Mine is the exact same.

So is mine - the student who won most improved in rugby/basketball/football got a silver plaque with their name engraved on it. The student who got the best JC results got a book.

Pissed laughing when I heard though
    Ha my school is the same also. Huge into hurling and the gaa. Grinds my gears. School motto is committed to quality education. More like committed to quality hurling.

• Registered Users Posts: 447 ✭✭IrishLoriii

Im doing TY :D I Cant wait for it!
    TY In my school is great! You get to go to loads of places and have the craic! No messers from my year have got in and theres 100 of us doing it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

Im doing TY :D I Cant wait for it!
    TY In my school is great! You get to go to loads of places and have the craic! No messers from my year have got in and theres 100 of us doing it :)

100 :eek: There's only like 26 in my school doing it, that's all we could fit in the year :D

Honestly, I think it's down to the school and the group of TY's.

This years TY's got to go to France, had a ball! Got to help the community, take reqular trips and relax, they were a very very good year and they said they enjoyed it.

Last years TY'S were a bunch of ****holes and they did **** all! Went on maybe one trip and did nothing all year, it was a complete doss of a year and their opinions of it were horrible.

I'm doing it this year mainly because my friends are and it's a bit of a break. Also the rest of my group are the rather mature type and not a pack of idiots. I know it's an extra year, but hey, it'll only happen once in your life!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭dalta5billion

All rugby school.

Minority sports are my thing. Although Rugby takes precedence over every sport, even when they're not effing scheduled to use the gym.

Thankfully the rugby lads can't stop me kayaking - outside school time. :)

Who wants to spend another year in school ?
    ew.

ew.

Because of the opportunities you might get doing it. I have a chance of going to Germany and Zambia as well as the possibility of work experience in Dell! Tbh, I hate all my year bar a few and have more friends going into 5th but I wouldn't be able to handle 5th.

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭AnnaTorvFan

5th year for me. :)
    Doing Higher enlish and maths and ordinary irish,
    and then Accounting, Physics, French and geography.
    not going to bother with LCVP since i can get 3 study classes instead. :)

Troxck wrote: »
    ew.

Because of the opportunities you might get doing it. I have a chance of going to Germany and Zambia as well as the possibility of work experience in Dell! Tbh, I hate all my year bar a few and have more friends going into 5th but I wouldn't be able to handle 5th.
    I also hate the majority of my year bar 2 or 3 people. They are doing ty so I happy however. Why do people pick on the swots :(

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    I also hate the majority of my year bar 2 or 3 people. They are doing ty so I happy however. Why do people pick on the swots :(

You'll have the last laugh :D