Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

This turf cutting row - will Europe ever know?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

NIMAN wrote: »
    And can't see officials from Europe standing around these bogs all over the country to see if anyone is cutting on them.
    FWIW the EU won't actually check if people are cutting turf or not. They simply insist that the government put effective measures in place to prevent turf cutting, and then fine them if measures are not put in place. They may occasionally audit what ever measures are put in place to to ensure that they are considered sufficient, but they're unlikely to actually stake out a bog and see if anybody turns up (altough the measure that the government put in place may include that).

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bastados

A lot of countries openly refuse to go along with EU regulations...do we have to play the model example of shining bureaucratic bullshiite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,510 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

dmcronin wrote: »
    Why doesn't anyone stop Bord na Mona then????? They've been doing it for donkeys years with fcuk-off sized machinery.

The protected bogs are raised bogs, of which we have a large proportion compared to the rest of Europe - they make up about 1% of the bogs in Ireland though. BNM cuts on blanket bogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Helium

Anybody else think it's a bit ironic that we now may have too smuggle turf inside a trailer load of beer or firearms instead of other way around:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

Lima Golf wrote: »
    it's invaluable, not worthless which is why it's being protected in the first place. To think it's only use is to be raped for cheap fuel is a pretty awful attitude too tbh.

That actually made me laugh. It is totally worthless. When you can't cut turf, graze animals, build a house or grow crops on a piece of land you own it's of no value to you! You can't use it and you cant sell it. If that's not worthless piece of ground to own, I don't know what is.

And as for "raping" the bog for cheap fuel, where do you think your oil/gas/coal or whatever you use comes from? Do you not think the oil/gas resevoirs are being "raped". Maybe we should preserve all types of fuel sources in this country and pray for a tropical winter.[/QUOTE]

whats amazing to me is that they only want "some bogs". They have no problem "swopping" a person's bog on their own land for a bog halfway across Ireland.

So please don't pretend they are "protecting" anything. If the were, they wouldn't be offering an alternative bog 100 miles away, now would they.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

More than half of the antibiotics and anti-cancer drugs known to man are produced by bacteria that usually grow in delicate places like shallow coastal water or bogs. Biodiversity sites are kind of a big deal, and worth a metric f*cktonne more when they're not sliced up and burned.

robp wrote: »
    The BBC have picked on this. The only moral and economic option left is to start enforcing Irish law and protect these sites. The bog cutters would have you believe they know more about ecology than the authorities on this. Nothing whatsoever to back their claims that bog cutting is not damaging. Are we supposed to ignore the litany of findings against their activities E.G. the EPA's report Boglands or the Fernandez report which condemn bog cutting and simply trust them? That simply won't wash outside Ireland lads.

you do know that it is only CERTAIN bogs that they want protected. Not All - kind of defeats that argument doesn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Cool Mo D

you do know that it is only CERTAIN bogs that they want protected. Not All - kind of defeats that argument doesn't it.

No, it makes it stronger. Only a small fraction of bogs need to be protected, turf cutter have been compensated for them, and they still won't stop ruining them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

And can't see officials from Europe standing around these bogs all over the country to see if anyone is cutting on them.

Daily satellite images will show up the cutting progress.

On good days it will show the actual people working; if they take an interest in it they can request military scans that will give the reg number of vehicles on the bog.

Cool Mo D wrote: »
    No, it makes it stronger. Only a small fraction of bogs need to be protected, turf cutter have been compensated for them, and they still won't stop ruining them.

all of a sudden this 1% of bogs needs to be "protected" because somebody in german says so? :roll eyes: after millions of years with no problem.

how convenient.

The scariest thing is the little runt kenny, who just so happens to come from bog country himself has no problem selling out his neighbors to get a thumbs up from angela and her cronies. Shameful.

So thats the fishing tradition gone, the bog tradition gone, - what will be the next irish tradition to suffer.

all of a sudden this 1% of bogs needs to be "protected" because somebody in german says so? :roll eyes: after millions of years with no problem.

how convenient.

The scariest thing is the little runt kenny, who just so happens to come from bog country himself has no problem selling out his neighbors to get a thumbs up from angela and her cronies. Shameful.

So thats the fishing tradition gone, the bog tradition gone, - what will be the next irish tradition to suffer.

We haven't been cutting turf for millions of years though. This is about protecting our environment. If your tradition involves the rape of my country then I don't really give a **** how much you'd like to keep doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

The traditional inferiority complex perhaps, along with the traditional notion that "no-one gets to tell me what to do, so I will spoil everything for everyone, that will show em."

Chips on shoulders to be banned next I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Cool Mo D

how convenient.

It's not 'all of a sudden' - we've known this is coming for 20 years. And it has nothing to do with Germany. Raised bogs are a very rare ecosystem, and Ireland is very quickly losing them. Cutting, including hand cutting have destroyed most of them, it's hardly a huge imposition to try and save a few.

And lets point out - our fishing tradition is gone because the sea has been drained of fish, to the extent that cod, which was once one of the most plentiful animals on the planet is now endangered. Our bogs are almost gone the same way.

But yes, it's clearly a plot by the cackling Germans to force us to give up a handful of fuel save some of our national heritage. The horror!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,036 ✭✭✭✭bnt

There's another reason to be careful about where and what you cut: landslides. The peat is a thin layer, often on top of clay, and if you remove a critical bit of turf, half a hillside comes down on your head next time it rains. Landslides are pretty common in Ireland - see this report for details.

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

bnt wrote: »
    There's another reason to be careful about where and what you cut: landslides. The peat is a thin layer, often on top of clay, and if you remove a critical bit of turf, half a hillside comes down on your head next time it rains. Landslides are pretty common in Ireland - see this report for details.

The bogs also soak up tonnes of water. A few years back a group of locals drained around their bogs so they could more easily get the cutters in which resulted in the land around the bogs becoming flooded - you can imagine how happy the people that owned the surrounding land were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Conspiracy theory.

There was an incident involving either US or UK nuclear bomber that lost it's packages and the eggs are believed not to have been recovered.

Some think the eggs may be still buried in a bog somewhere in Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭robp

This level of protection is being enforced on these bogs because these are unusually pristine examples. Bogs are not like forests, once their hydrology is changed often it cannot be restored and they dry out and oxidise. Inference with bog hydrology varies on a scale depending on method. Peat moss for compost extraction by Bord na Mona is the most destructive while hopper extraction is somewhere in the middle. This is why Bord na Mona bogs simply cannot be restored as active peat forming wetlands. Bord na Mona has committed to restoring about 50-70% of its land to nature once the peat is gone but the ecosystems which will be created will be utterly different to those that was there before Bord na Mona was there. Different species and different habitats.

Cool Mo D wrote: »
    It's not 'all of a sudden' - we've known this is coming for 20 years. And it has nothing to do with Germany. Raised bogs are a very rare ecosystem, and Ireland is very quickly losing them. Cutting, including hand cutting have destroyed most of them, it's hardly a huge imposition to try and save a few.

And lets point out - our fishing tradition is gone because the sea has been drained of fish, to the extent that cod, which was once one of the most plentiful animals on the planet is now endangered. Our bogs are almost gone the same way.

But yes, it's clearly a plot by the cackling Germans to force us to give up a handful of fuel save some of our national heritage. The horror!

you really should check out the fishing issue - it may surprise you that while you have been convinced that the sea has been drained of fish, it was only the IRISH fisherman that suffered - in fact they could sit in the little boats and watch the European fisherman catch as much as they liked. Why - because Irish had sold their fishing quota down the swanny.

Someday people will understand but by then we won't have a pot left to p*ss in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Bogs are a natural carbon sink so will be a key part of our carbon trading credits in the future. Cutting them will ruin this so they should be protected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

I was listening to it on the radio today. Someone put forward the argument that they deserve to cut the turf because it fuels their fires and keeps their family warm.

If this is their argument then I'm fully behind banning it. I don't have a bog in my back yard, I have to buy turf.

I dont see your point.
    Kinda hard to buy turf, if the people you buy it off cant cut it.

As an ex Bora na Mona employee, it sickens me that people cant cut turf to heat their homes, however, Bord na Mona (semi state company) are able to harvest literally millions of tones of peat every year

I dont see your point.
    Kinda hard to buy turf, if the people you buy it off cant cut it.

As an ex Bora na Mona employee, it sickens me that people cant cut turf to heat their homes, however, Bord na Mona (semi state company) are able to harvest literally millions of tones of peat every year

ah sure we sold off our gas and oil rights as well - just gave them away - this country is just like an idiot that has been out all night on the p*ss - buying rounds for everyone, being the "big man" - then waking up in the morning and wondering where all the money went, and why are all our best "friends" from last night laughing their ar*ses off at us.

softtouch.com

Wise up people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

how convenient.

This was agreed back in the early 90's by your Government, not imposed by some German! :rolleyes:

Such a big deal over 53/54 bogs, something like 2% of our bogs.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

Big difference between clearing land to grow beefburgers for fat Americans and cutting turf to heat your home!

In terms of the reasons that you want to do it, not in terms of the destruction of affected habitats/systems.

Yeah & they're telling us that the environment needs to be "protected" too, after we've been safely burning coal for ~250 years. What nonsense will those wacko bureaucrats come up with next, eh? :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

prinz wrote: »
    Most of which are urban myths and total bollix. There was never a bendy banana law, or a curved cucumber law. What there was was an EU wide approved system of grading certain products so that Joe Bloggs in Ireland knew approximately what he'd be getting if he ordered an artic full of cucumbers from Portugal.

http://ec.europa.eu/dgs/communication/take_part/myths/fact_033_en.htm

Strange that for an urban myth and bollix - they had to look again at the the laws then!
    Number 3:
    In a win for weirdly shaped vegetables across Europe, the majority of EU states voted to repeal laws which banned "free of abnormal curvature" in cucumbers and bananas three years ago.
    http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2011/11/25/top-5-crazy-eu-demands_n_1112685.html#s498233&title=Bananas_

A bunch of euro-MPs tried to bring back old "uniform standardization parameters" (Google it - don't take my word for it - myth? No.) which would forbid the sale of straight bananas and curly cucumbers. Fortunately this proposal was eventually defeated in the European Parliament by non-foolish heads.
    Too tired to google it - here is one more helpful link which DOES clear up other myths also: http://www.businessinsider.com/eu-directives-law-2011-12?op=1

...Plus a few others including a fore mentioned!

* EU rules ban sale of 'too small' kiwis. A wholesaler was banned from selling a consignment of kiwis due to the fact that based on EU laws they were too small. The wholesaler said that he wasn't even permitted to give away the 5,000 Chilean fruits. The required minimum kiwi weight is 62g, but his were mostly 58g. Read more about that at http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2199214/EU-rules-ban-sale-of-too-small-kiwis.html.

* EU bans claim that water can prevent dehydration: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/eu/8897662/EU-bans-claim-that-water-can-prevent-dehydration.html

Thousands of passengers are being forced to hop off buses midway through journeys to comply with crazy EU laws. A Brussels ruling has banned local services longer than 30 miles to ensure drivers don’t spend too long at the wheel. As a result, drivers have to pull in as they hit that limit and order everyone off their bus.

They then change the route number on the front and invite passengers to jump back on before resuming the trip. Western Greyhound has split its Newquay to Plymouth route in three — even though it uses a single driver throughout. Passengers must buy three tickets and break their journey twice.
    Managing director Mark Howarth said: “It’s a farce. We have to kick customers off as soon as the driver hits the 30-mile limit. “Often it’s in the middle of nowhere. Passengers think we’re crazy.”
    Ssee: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-545010/EU-forces-bus-company-dump-passengers-half-hour.html

The EU like everything else, is not perfect - but don't just accept that all you hear against the EU is a myth.
    You know sometimes it is not.

On a lighter side - here is some more Europe (and world) daftness!
    http://www.funnyordie.com/lists/66030f8b50/weirdest-laws-from-europe

Want more?

* The latest really crazy policy was issued by the Greek government. They have decided to add the following “occupations” to the list of state-recognized disability categories: exhibitionists, pedophiles and kleptomaniacs. The list also includes pyromaniacs, compulsive gamblers, fetishists and sadomasochists. They are now qualified to receive up to 35% in disability benefits.
    See: http://www.washingtonpost.com/world/europe/greek-disabled-unions-aghast-at-inclusion-of-pedophiles-pyromaniacs-on-disability-list/2012/01/09/gIQAmJbllP_story.html
    1. The head of any dead whale found on the British coast is legally the property of the King. The tail, on the other hand, belongs to the Queen - in case she needs the bones for her corset!

2. In London it is illegal to flag down a taxi if you have the plague

3. In Florida, unmarried women who parachute on Sundays can be jailed

4. In the UK, a man who feels compelled to urinate in public can do so only if he aims for the rear wheel of his car, and keeps his right hand firmly on his vehicle

5. The European Parliament has banned the terms 'Miss' and 'Mrs' in case they offend female MEPs

6. There is an EU directive stating that every pair of rubber boots must be supplied with a user's manual in 12 languages!

7. The ban on ugly vegetables and fruits was overturned by the EU, but there is one product that did not escape EU regulation - bananas remain subject to rules which stipulate, among other things, that they must be at least 14cm long and 27mm thick in the middle!

8. According to EU legislation, eggs can’t be sold by the dozen. Eggs join other products, such as oranges and bread rolls, and will be sold by weight instead of by the number contained in a packet

9. Under the UK’s Tax Avoidance Schemes Regulations 2006, it is illegal not to tell the taxman anything you don’t want him to know - though you don’t have to tell him anything you don’t mind him knowing

10. North Carolina has made it illegal to swear in front of dead people

11. In Alexandria, Minneapolis, it is illegal for a man to have sexual intercourse with a woman with sardines on his breath

12. In Illinois, giving a lighted cigar to a pet is illegal

13. In 1837 Egypt banned male belly dancing as it caused mass rioting

14. In parts of Switzerland, it is illegal to flush the toilet after 10 pm

15. Chewing gum is illegal in Singapore (except for therapeutic reasons)

16. In Scotland, if someone knocks on your door and requires the use of your toilet, it is illegal to refuse them

17. In Cambodia, water guns may not be used in New Year’s celebrations
    http://hereisthecity.com/2011/09/27/17-strange-laws-across-the-world/

LOL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Biggins wrote: »
    The EU like everything else, is not perfect - but don't just accept that all you hear against the EU is a myth. You know sometimes it is not.

Not everything is a myth. Claiming they were banning the sale of bendy bananas and cucumbers clearly is. It's no major coincidence that the majority of the "EU to ban....:eek:" codology originates in the UK.

As for the water/hydration thing... the EU didn't come up one day and decide to come up with something daft..

http://www.independent.ie/world-news/europe/looney-rules-eu-bans-claim-that-water-can-prevent-dehydration-2939196.html
    They applied for the right to state that “regular consumption of significant amounts of water can reduce the risk of development of dehydration” as well as preventing a decrease in performance.
    However, last February, the European Food Standards Authority (EFSA) refused to approve the statement.
    A meeting of 21 scientists in Parma, Italy, concluded that reduced water content in the body was a symptom of dehydration and not something that drinking water could subsequently control. Prof Brian Ratcliffe, spokesman for the Nutrition Society, said dehydration was usually caused by a clinical condition and that one could remain adequately hydrated without drinking water.
    He said: “The EU is saying that this does not reduce the risk of dehydration and that is correct.
    “This claim is trying to imply that there is something special about bottled water which is not a reasonable claim.”

Read here for a decent appraisal of the issue..

http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/the-lay-scientist/2011/nov/18/1
    The Commission followed this up with a directive on the matter.

K-9 wrote: »
    This was agreed back in the early 90's by your Government, not imposed by some German! :rolleyes:

Such a big deal over 53/54 bogs, something like 2% of our bogs.

"our government" ah yes, still haven't changed tho - still looking out for the neighbors instead of their own.

re. you second comment - I don't understand. If it is only 2% of our bogs, leave it to the people who have bought and made their livelihood from them....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

[...] re. you second comment - I don't understand. If it is only 2% of our bogs, leave it to the people who have bought and made their livelihood from them....

Oh FFS... it's those 1-2% of bogs that need to be protected! The point is that the bogs that need protecting make up only 1-2% of the total bogs in the country.

twinQuins wrote: »
    Oh FFS... it's those 1-2% of bogs that need to be protected! The point is that the bogs that need protecting make up only 1-2% of the total bogs in the country.

sure it is :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Feathers wrote: »
    What if you bought the forest specifically so you'd have firewood & were then banned from getting it?

If the government doesn't want people cutting turf, they should buy their land off them for what's worth.

Are you seriously trying to tell us that there is no restriction on how much wood you can take from any piece of forest you own, and no legislation forcing you to re-plant the trees you cut down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

...Plus a few others including a fore mentioned!

* EU rules ban sale of 'too small' kiwis. A wholesaler was banned from selling a consignment of kiwis due to the fact that based on EU laws they were too small. The wholesaler said that he wasn't even permitted to give away the 5,000 Chilean fruits. The required minimum kiwi weight is 62g, but his were mostly 58g. Read more about that at http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2199214/EU-rules-ban-sale-of-too-small-kiwis.html.
    Actually true.
    Holy fucking wow.

Prinz has demonstrated why this is correct and the telegraph are full of shit

Utter lies.
    Firstly, no such regulation as described by the mail, exists.
    Secondly, the actual regulation on drivers working hours are measured, unsurprisingly, in units of time rather than distance.
    Thirdly, here are the actual regulations in an easy to understand way.
    Nothing in there matches up to lies you've regurgitated unquestioningly.
    The EU like everything else, is not perfect - but don't just accept that all you hear against the EU is a myth.

Yes, we should clearly look to ape the stunning work you've done here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

There's bound to be some complacent government supporting puppet, willing to grass them up, you can be sure of!
    Ya their neighbour that's at it themselves but wants to put one over on their families mortal enemies.

I don't know where I stand on this one. I can see the reasoning behind making bog cutting illegal, it is a unique environment and if we continue to burn it, it'll disappear just like it has in all the other European countries who've already gone through their bogs.

At the same time I come from bogland and know well there's plenty of it out there and the people cutting turf for their own use aren't making to much of a dent in the boglands. Small groups don't do too much damage it's big corporations and businesses interests that destroy environments.

I also know there's plenty of Irish land owners that seem to think their entitled to treat the patch of land their on with contempt for as long as their alive. But the EU seem to be treating Ireland as their own little nature reserve with no consideration for the lifes of people that live there.

The bottom line is though if there is a cost effective alternative people will use it. Taking from them won't change their minds and will only create a conflict, which Europe seems intent at creating at this stage.

Can someone explain the bog cutting process?

I mean (and I ask 'cos I really don't know - so sorry for what might be a stupid question), when the bog is dug into and turf is extracted, how is the then hole filled (is it filled again?) and further bog/turf can come again in the same spot for the next time around, for extraction?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Fuck Europe lads. I say we take the loan and put it towards a giant fan to be built along the East Coast. Then we default on our loans, turn the fan on which will propell us over to America. Our neighbour can then be America and our island can just be off Boston and New York. They'll look after us :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Lima Golf

It amazes me to read all the comments from people this doesnt directly affect saying how we shouldn't be allowed to cut turf and we should basically lie down, let the government walk all over us.

Yet when the governments actions affects ye personally, take for example the €100 household charge, theres uproar over a feckin €100. It just goes to show how self centred people are.

agreed - its the typical "i'm alright jack" syndrome that has seeped into this country with the pretend celtic tiger.

not a word being said about bord na mona and what they are doing to the bogs....oh and before people go spouting about them using a blanket bog instead of a raised bog I'd say look it up and see exactly what bog they are exploiting....oh wait, but thats okay - its a big corporation ....carry on then :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

ah sure we sold off our gas and oil rights as well - just gave them away - this country is just like an idiot that has been out all night on the p*ss - buying rounds for everyone, being the "big man" - then waking up in the morning and wondering where all the money went, and why are all our best "friends" from last night laughing their ar*ses off at us.

softtouch.com

Wise up people.

Not this "gave away our oil and gas" shíte again. We never gave it away, stop reading indiemedia

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭robp

agreed - its the typical "i'm alright jack" syndrome that has seeped into this country with the pretend celtic tiger.

not a word being said about bord na mona and what they are doing to the bogs....oh and before people go spouting about them using a blanket bog instead of a raised bog I'd say look it up and see exactly what bog they are exploiting....oh wait, but thats okay - its a big corporation ....carry on then :rolleyes:

I dismissed this argument already but as it is still mentioned I will say it again.

Peat extraction carried out by Bord na Mona is certainly the most destructive while the hopper and sausage machine extraction which this ban is affecting is somewhere in the middle. Hand cutting would create the least impact but this is no longer favoured as its hard to make a profit from hand cutting. The Bord na Mona bogs simply cannot be restored as active peat forming wetlands as they are drained. Drainage ultimately changes the bog beyond repair.
    Bord na Mona has committed to restoring about 50-70% of its land to nature once the peat is gone but the ecosystems which will be created will be utterly different to those that was there before Bord na Mona was there. Different species and different habitats. If raised bogs form again on these sites it will be in a scale of thousands of years. Hopper turf cutting is a slower way to destroy a bog but the result is no different.
    Biggins Can someone explain the bog cutting process?

I mean (and I ask 'cos I really don't know - so sorry for what might be a stupid question), when the bog is dug into and turf is extracted, how is the then hole filled (is it filled again?) and further bog/turn can come again in the same spot for the next time around, for extraction?

No they are never filled in. To cut it wetness of the bog is drained, if the wetness is restored bog can grow back at about 1mm a year so its not considered renewable. However this turf cutting group is against restoring wetness in many cases ..:(

Thanks for that.
    Its very details like that which help further how to take a position on the matter.
    Its details like above that a lot of people (definitely me to begin with) should really know before they jump into a position/opinion half-cocked. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Hand cutting would create the least impact but this is no longer favoured as its hard to make a profit from hand cutting.
    The people who cut by hand aren't really looking for profit though, they're just trying to be cheap. Get the relations in, put the big lad cutting, women bring the hang sangwedges.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

bastados wrote: »
    A lot of countries openly refuse to go along with EU regulations...do we have to play the model example of shining bureaucratic bullshiite?
    No the UK are the shining example of implementing stuff they've agreed to.

Our record is abysmal , unclean beaches, septic tanks, junior doctors.

We've taken the píss for far too long to continue.

If the turfcutters agree to pay the EU fine and prove they have funds to do so then maybe we can begin to talk. Otherwise they will endup costing the country far more money than they can generate from the bogs.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Bogs are a natural carbon sink so will be a key part of our carbon trading credits in the future. Cutting them will ruin this so they should be protected.
    clearing bogs to grow 'renewable' palm oil has a break even time of about 120 years,

Feathers wrote: »
    Yeah & they're telling us that the environment needs to be "protected" too, after we've been safely burning coal for ~250 years. What nonsense will those wacko bureaucrats come up with next, eh? :rolleyes:
    It's important to note that half of the CO2 has been released in the last 50 years and the rate continues to increase exponentially.

Compare it to logging the rainforest , or taking water from the Aral Sea. Both have been going on for ages, but the drastic changes are recent.

Fuck Europe lads. I say we take the loan and put it towards a giant fan to be built along the East Coast. Then we default on our loans, turn the fan on which will propell us over to America. Our neighbour can then be America and our island can just be off Boston and New York. They'll look after us :cool:
    How are things in Puerto Rico these days ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Leave that sod down, put your hands up and step away from the turf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Unbelievable! Somebody who is backing the right to do what they want to these bogs, moaning about the "i'm alright jack" mentality!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

It amazes me to read all the comments from people this doesnt directly affect saying how we shouldn't be allowed to cut turf and we should basically lie down, let the government walk all over us.

Yet when the governments actions affects ye personally, take for example the €100 household charge, theres uproar over a feckin €100. It just goes to show how self centred people are.
    While it doesn't effect directly it does effect us. The fine and environmental effect.
    The selfish nature is actually by those continuing to cut. Looking out for themselves regardless of everyone else.
    It is very close to cutting down a oak forest. You can't knock down a protected structure either. Lots of people in urban environments are also restricted by planning laws way above those in rural environments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

Ive grown up with a turf fire in the range in the kitchen every day and our little country cottage won't be the same without it! It heats our water, our radiators and we even use the range for cooking. We own our bog, why should we be banned from using the land for its intended purpose?

Turf cutting is an Irish tradition, part of our heritage and culture in many areas of the country. If a certain minority group stated that it was part of their heritage and culture there'd practically be TDs there with wellies on, ready to foot it for them.

Sure, use briquettes instead:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Lima Golf

While it doesn't effect directly it does effect us. The fine and environmental effect.
    The selfish nature is actually by those continuing to cut. Looking out for themselves regardless of everyone

I do understand that the fine affects others not just the bog owners. Every penny spent by the government affects everybody in the state. Just because it is costing money at the moment doesn't mean people should accept it and move on. I dont believe the people cutting bog are being selfish. They are trying to stand up and challenge a decision which they feel is wrong. Ireland isn't a dictatorship. We have the right to protest and challenge decisions.

Also that's a very broad statement to make that people in urban environments are restricted by planning laws way above those in rural areas. Where is the evidence to support that? Just because you live in the country doesn't mean you can build what you like where you like. We obviously go through the same planning permission procedure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

You could if you owned owned the forest. And many people do in fact cut their own trees for firewood. Mad isn't it?
    Anyway, these people own their bogs, either by buying it with their own money or inheriting it.

Aren't there rules preventing you cutting down trees indiscriminately, even on your own property?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

They might employ bog marshals :o Taxi...