Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beat 102-103

• Registered Users Posts: 15 drumpusher

I doubt anyone with even a vague interest in music doesn't listen to much mass media, let alone feel the need to start a thread whinging about it. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1 NiallPower

Hey guys,

I'm never sure whether to respond to threads like this. There are a lot of issues brought up, but I feel it's probably only right to put a couple of things on the record.

I am Head of Station Sound with Beat so am responsible for most of the programming output. Firstly, I should point out that Beat has very strict contractual obligations with the BAI. We have very clear details of the type of music we should play and how much of it. For example, 85% of our playlist must be from the past two years, and 50% of it from the past six months. Some posters have mentioned a Zane Lowe type show in the evening. Today FM are actually contracted to do that after 7 in the evening, and we are contracted to do the opposite - play hit music.

Our high rotation of music has also been mentioned. That's always a tough one. The research suggests most people only catch 20 minutes of radio at a time. You'd be amazed how quickly after you play the big song that it's requested afterwards. We've tried to help out those who listen at work by introducing the no-repeat workday - you won't hear the same song between 10am and 4pm. It should be pointed out that other successful stations like Capital in London and the much-reminisced Atlantic 252 have/had a 90 minute repeat on songs.

It's completely understandable that what we do and play is not to everyone's taste. We are the iTunes chart station. That's not choice - it's what we are licensed and contracted to do. Despite some of the comments here, it's important to point out that according to the last JNLR listenership figures, Beat is now the best performing youth or regional station in Ireland, with a higher daily listenership reach percentage and higher market share percentage than Spin 1038, Iradio, Red or Spin South West.

Another illusion is that we are a station solely listened to by teenagers. Whilst we are Number 1 in the South East for 15-34 year-olds, it's also fact that we beat 2FM and Today FM in 20-44 year-olds, and we also are ahead in the same category of WLR, KCLR and South East Radio in their respective counties. The point being.... we are a successful hit music station targetting young adults. Our latest listenership figures were our highest in our nine-year history, so we're doing something right.

As a broadcaster and manager, I know I have to have a tough skin and I can take the criticism levied here, once it's fair. We're not to everyone's taste, but we're never going to be. I do think that five pages of rants is probably unfair to our talented young team. We are a small company with no government funding that employs 18 people full-time in Waterford and 20 seasonal staff. 18 people in programming, management and sales to turn out 24 hours of programming seven days a week - I can assure you everyone works very hard.

There has also been some criticism of new staff. Of all the stations broadcasting in the Waterford franchise area, we have a responsibility that we take very seriously in growing and nurturing new young talent. We have a strong track record in it - Darren Rice and Teresanne O'Reilly had never worked in radio before - but they were both highly commended at the PPI Radio Awards last October. We try our utmost to give full training and iron out mistakes before we put new talent on air, but like any job, the only way to really mould someone into the role is to give them flying hours and in our case, that means putting them on-air and allowing them to make some mistakes and learn from them.

To finish, I appreciate any of the constructive criticism. We spend a lot of time engaging with listeners about what they want, and one of the things we want to do more is engage with non-listeners about what you feel we're doing wrong. I also hope you'll appreciate the difference between "not to my taste" and "crap". I'm not going to post again on this thread, but I'm genuinely happy to engage with anyone on a one-to-one basis about criticisms, praise, suggestions or whatever. My email is niall.power@beat102103.com

Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

You did yourself and your station proud with that response Niall. I've always believed that more people should stand out from the shadows of anonymity and speak up for their businesses.

I believe that my personal gripe now is actually with the Legislators who seem to keep a very tight reign on originality and an even tighter grip on creativity.

Unfortunately Beat has had to become way too formulaic and that's the reason why you see comments like the ones in the previous few pages.

Kudos to you though for coming on and giving your thoughts in neither a defensive or offensive way. If more people did that, you would see a lot less anonymous bashing on the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭chargerman

I must say I am impressed with that message from Niall Power. I like some of the shows and just tune out for the rest. Love Mary on beat breakfast - by far the best presenter imo (sorry Niall).
    One negative thing I will say about beat is we were holding a charity event in Waterford a few months ago. We sent Beat, TCRfm and WLRfm an email asking them to mention the event.
    Both TCR and WLR gave us loads of mentions - went over and beyond. Beat didnt even respond to the email. 3 days later, one of the organisers rang beat and they said they were not allowed to mention it. It was a community event and everyone at work was disgusted with Beat.
    I do find the news a bit awful at times. The news readers are all grand, just the style is a bit yawn. I like the fact that they employ a small young team. All in all it offers a good service and as I say am impressed niall responded

• Registered Users Posts: 14,658 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

NiallPower wrote: »
    Hey guys,

I'm never sure whether to respond to threads like this. There are a lot of issues brought up, but I feel it's probably only right to put a couple of things on the record.

I am Head of Station Sound with Beat so am responsible for most of the programming output. Firstly, I should point out that Beat has very strict contractual obligations with the BAI. We have very clear details of the type of music we should play and how much of it. For example, 85% of our playlist must be from the past two years, and 50% of it from the past six months. Some posters have mentioned a Zane Lowe type show in the evening. Today FM are actually contracted to do that after 7 in the evening, and we are contracted to do the opposite - play hit music.

Our high rotation of music has also been mentioned. That's always a tough one. The research suggests most people only catch 20 minutes of radio at a time. You'd be amazed how quickly after you play the big song that it's requested afterwards. We've tried to help out those who listen at work by introducing the no-repeat workday - you won't hear the same song between 10am and 4pm. It should be pointed out that other successful stations like Capital in London and the much-reminisced Atlantic 252 have/had a 90 minute repeat on songs.

It's completely understandable that what we do and play is not to everyone's taste. We are the iTunes chart station. That's not choice - it's what we are licensed and contracted to do. Despite some of the comments here, it's important to point out that according to the last JNLR listenership figures, Beat is now the best performing youth or regional station in Ireland, with a higher daily listenership reach percentage and higher market share percentage than Spin 1038, Iradio, Red or Spin South West.

Another illusion is that we are a station solely listened to by teenagers. Whilst we are Number 1 in the South East for 15-34 year-olds, it's also fact that we beat 2FM and Today FM in 20-44 year-olds, and we also are ahead in the same category of WLR, KCLR and South East Radio in their respective counties. The point being.... we are a successful hit music station targetting young adults. Our latest listenership figures were our highest in our nine-year history, so we're doing something right.

As a broadcaster and manager, I know I have to have a tough skin and I can take the criticism levied here, once it's fair. We're not to everyone's taste, but we're never going to be. I do think that five pages of rants is probably unfair to our talented young team. We are a small company with no government funding that employs 18 people full-time in Waterford and 20 seasonal staff. 18 people in programming, management and sales to turn out 24 hours of programming seven days a week - I can assure you everyone works very hard.

There has also been some criticism of new staff. Of all the stations broadcasting in the Waterford franchise area, we have a responsibility that we take very seriously in growing and nurturing new young talent. We have a strong track record in it - Darren Rice and Teresanne O'Reilly had never worked in radio before - but they were both highly commended at the PPI Radio Awards last October. We try our utmost to give full training and iron out mistakes before we put new talent on air, but like any job, the only way to really mould someone into the role is to give them flying hours and in our case, that means putting them on-air and allowing them to make some mistakes and learn from them.

To finish, I appreciate any of the constructive criticism. We spend a lot of time engaging with listeners about what they want, and one of the things we want to do more is engage with non-listeners about what you feel we're doing wrong. I also hope you'll appreciate the difference between "not to my taste" and "crap". I'm not going to post again on this thread, but I'm genuinely happy to engage with anyone on a one-to-one basis about criticisms, praise, suggestions or whatever. My email is niall.power@beat102103.com

Cheers.

ZnqQ5.gif

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Fair play to Niall, delighted someone can come in on a factual basis and knock the moaners of their pedestals who will quickly retreat, back track and have no return. Those who try defend it who are not official got nowhere, which is a shame for a discussion board.

Its not to everyone's taste - hence why Ireland has many radio stations people can select. But it is to many peoples taste - hence the high and continually growing listenership figures.

Its great to have such a successful regional radio station in Waterford employing a range of people here in Waterford, giving Waterford a good PR spin across the region while they go about their daily business making a top radio station and an award winning radio station at that.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

MP3 killed the radio star.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I agree,

Fair play Niall. I'm going to be honest that my biggest gripe with Boards is the barriers put in place that stop businesses doing just what Niall did there. I can fully understand why they have to have the commercial accounts but it would be great in a discussion sense.

Sully wrote: »
    Fair play to Niall, delighted someone can come in on a factual basis and knock the moaners of their pedestals who will quickly retreat, back track and have no return. Those who try defend it who are not official got nowhere, which is a shame for a discussion board.

Its not to everyone's taste - hence why Ireland has many radio stations people can select. But it is to many peoples taste - hence the high and continually growing listenership figures.

Its great to have such a successful regional radio station in Waterford employing a range of people here in Waterford, giving Waterford a good PR spin across the region while they go about their daily business making a top radio station and an award winning radio station at that.

You'll be a politician alright...

You have some cheek calling people "moaners on their pedestals" just because, on a discussion board, they voiced their opinion about something they don't like. And they have every reason not to like it - for the most part it's a very hard to listen to station, regardless of your age and all Niall has done is explain to us the unfortunate reasons why that is the case.

You were nowhere to be seen on this thread until niall appeared and then, like all "good" politicians you hop on the bandwagon and pose for pictures with the triumphant beat represetative.

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭ComfyKnickers

Fair play Niall, good post. Last paragraph echoed my own sentiment, "not to your taste" doesn't mean "crap". And fair play to abouttobebanned too, as OP, for responding! Now, what about a nice cup of tea for everyone??

No sugars, plenty of milk please...any jaffa cakes going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Great reply Niall, a couple of points there myself and ComfyKnickers were making. Interesting stuff about the BAI etc though.

That's that taken care of... now to ride Mrs. O'Reilly :D

3859271924_24af790d82_o.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Nice to see someone from Beat respond.
    I should point out that Beat has very strict contractual obligations with the BAI. We have very clear details of the type of music we should play and how much of it. For example, 85% of our playlist must be from the past two years, and 50% of it from the past six months. Some posters have mentioned a Zane Lowe type show in the evening. Today FM are actually contracted to do that after 7 in the evening, and we are contracted to do the opposite - play hit music.

That's just about the most depressing thing I've read today, while the BAI are of course entitled to lay down contract parameters, the above seems wilfully narrow. You really would need to have the memory of a goldfish not to be driven to distraction (I pity the staff now!).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Trick of the Tail

Good post by Niall, fair play. However I feel its only fair to point out a few things.

(Before I do, I in no way mean any of this as criticism of Beat - its the 'system' that has them the way they are and anyone who knows me will know that I deeply believe the system is flawed).

The thing about the contractual obligations is of course true, but those obligations were largely volunteered by Beat themselves when they applied for a licence.

The BAI didn't say "right, who wants to run a youth-station that plays 80% music from the past 6 months and 50% from the last 2 years?", they said "Who wants to run a youth station, and what are you proposing to do?"

Beat applied and suggested that that is what they would do. The BAI liked the idea and said "OK, you gt it, now sign a contract that ensures that you do actually do what you say you'll do".

So Beat, effectively, made their bed and now have to lie in it.

(Insert arguments here about other stations that have wildly deviated from their promises when licence awarded, like Today FM, Sunshine (neé Dublin's Country), NewsTalk etc. The BAI can be immovable in some cases and ambivalent in others, it seems).

However that choice Beat made, and now have to stick to, is working. They have a decent and loyal listenership. They actually should be commended for sticking to their guns and making it work when many said a youth station wouldn't do the business, when they started in 2003.

In the same way we have a youth station in the area, and a classical music station (Lyric) we should also have other targetted, specialist stations. We should be able to have, in the South East, a country music station, an adult music station and - ahem - a classic rock station.

A.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

You'll be a politician alright...

You have some cheek calling people "moaners on their pedestals" just because, on a discussion board, they voiced their opinion about something they don't like. And they have every reason not to like it - for the most part it's a very hard to listen to station, regardless of your age and all Niall has done is explain to us the unfortunate reasons why that is the case.

You were nowhere to be seen on this thread until niall appeared and then, like all "good" politicians you hop on the bandwagon and pose for pictures with the triumphant beat represetative.

Thanks, but I have been away for just under a month so I haven't been online much. Forgive me for not expressing my opinion before Niall did, but it would have remained the same.

I am all for people expressing their views, and having a decent debate and discussion. But seeing peoples views being dismissed immediately, until the professional comes in and sums it up again, and people just moaning without listening to other is infuriating.

You were around to thank a fair few posts sully...

And I don't think anyone's views were dismissed immediately in any instance. Was just a case of people having differing opinions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

I'm in my early 40s and I quite like Beat. As someone who appreciates a song on its own merits rather than only tolerating a specific genre, I think it's the best station to have on in the background. The only time I turn off Beat is when Electric Disco or Friday Night 80s is on 2FM and Today FM. Oh, I also turn it off when I hear that scanger shower of cnuts from Dublin. Honestly Beat, what is with the Original Rudeboys love-in?

One thing I will praise Beat for is for having the news bulletins at a time when others aren't. Nothing worse than getting in the car for a short drive on the hour if all you want is some music. Well done Beat.

As for the ads, I do love the new advert for Limerick Institute of Technology. The punchline cracks me up every time: "See L I T .ie for details". You may have to think about that one ;)

Niall, is Mary single?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Hey guys,

The research suggests most people only catch 20 minutes of radio at a time. You'd be amazed how quickly after you play the big song that it's requested afterwards. We've tried to help out those who listen at work by introducing the no-repeat workday - you won't hear the same song between 10am and 4pm. It should be pointed out that other successful stations like Capital in London and the much-reminisced Atlantic 252 have/had a 90 minute repeat on songs.

Niall, If you had the no-repeat workday that would be fantastic. Your station is on at work all day. All day. And i feel i'm listening to the same dozen songs all day with the occasional song from the 90s/00s.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Hey guys,

The research suggests most people only catch 20 minutes of radio at a time. You'd be amazed how quickly after you play the big song that it's requested afterwards. We've tried to help out those who listen at work by introducing the no-repeat workday - you won't hear the same song between 10am and 4pm. It should be pointed out that other successful stations like Capital in London and the much-reminisced Atlantic 252 have/had a 90 minute repeat on songs.

Niall, If you had the no-repeat workday that would be fantastic. Your station is on at work all day. All day. And i feel i'm listening to the same dozen songs all day with the occasional song from the 90s/00s.

When did the no repeat work day thing come in ? Honestly now, genuine question as we listen all day in work and often hear same songs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭7upfree

Never listened to 4fm
    None of us has. For some unknown reason, the south -East was excluded from its licenced area. Hmmm, wonder what caused that............................

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭7upfree

Fair play to Niall, delighted someone can come in on a factual basis and knock the moaners of their pedestals

So someone who has a different opinion and hates the fare on offer is now a "moaner" Sully?

7upfree wrote: »
    So someone who has a different opinion and hates the fare on offer is now a "moaner" Sully?

There is a habit online of people complaining and giving out , i.e. moaning. There was a big bitchfest about Beat and as soon as someone came in and clarified the place went dead and those complaining either were all loving and caring for Beat all of a sudden or stopped posting.

Iv noticed on the Radio forum people giving out about Ray Foley or Ray Darcy (TodayFM DJs). Some may know that the Ray Foley thread caused a big stir with Mr Foley ending up removed from the site. He still mentions Boards on air. Yet, both of these shows continue to grow and the presenters remain very popular.

Likewise with Beat, it continues to grow and the presenters remain very popular. Beat Breakfast is, in my opinion, one of the best shows in the morning on radio and a lot of people agree. But people wont agree with me, as they have stated here, which is fine. Fully entitled to opinion, as someone said here "people liking different things shocker". But since Niall came on with all the facts and pointers, the whole thread just went quiet and died away. It was mostly full of people moaning.

That's what I meant. Nothing to do with people having different opinions than me or others.

The thread went dead because the points had already been made. What was the point in going on about it? The station is rubbish. Plays the same terrible songs over and over again and some pretty amateur broadcasters on its books. If we said this over and over again you'd just lock the thread.

We praised Niall for coming on and giving his perspective on things but tbh the way he announced that he wouldn't be back on the thread then just told me that he looks down his nose at forums like this so that took the shine off the post for me.

But just to clarify, people not liking something is not akin to moaning. That's just a ridiculous thing to say.

The thread went dead because the points had already been made. What was the point in going on about it? The station is rubbish. Plays the same terrible songs over and over again and some pretty amateur broadcasters on its books. If we said this over and over again you'd just lock the thread.

We praised Niall for coming on and giving his perspective on things but tbh the way he announced that he wouldn't be back on the thread then just told me that he looks down his nose at forums like this so that took the shine off the post for me.

But just to clarify, people not liking something is not akin to moaning. That's just a ridiculous thing to say.

I cant say I agree with you there, based on how threads normally go. University thread being a fine example - both sides kept battling out for ages. Here, people stopped as soon as Niall came. The topic could have continued if people were able to challenge him, call him out etc. if they could.

You completely copped out when he posted and backed down blaming the legislators and applauding him for excellent post. But its not the legislators that cause the poor presenting or bad management, as you pointed out for example. That's purely down to how Beat operates.

I think you know me slightly better than that Sully.
    I should point out that Beat has very strict contractual obligations with the BAI. We have very clear details of the type of music we should play and how much of it. For example, 85% of our playlist must be from the past two years, and 50% of it from the past six months.

This is the quote that addressed the main problem I have with Beat. And, I will thank, and acknowledge anyone on boards who will shed the mask of anonymity and speak, as themselves, in defence of negativity about them or their business. Whether I agree or disagree with what is being said, I have the utmost respect for those that will engage in the discussion.

I had made my point and didn't feel the need to drill it home. You on the otherhand were nowhere to be found in the thread until Niall arrived. Much like i'd imagine Claire Conway would if she was a Boards user. :pac:

I think you know me slightly better than that Sully.

This is the quote that addressed the main problem I have with Beat. And, I will thank, and acknowledge anyone on boards who will shed the mask of anonymity and speak, as themselves, in defence of negativity about them or their business. Whether I agree or disagree with what is being said, I have the utmost respect for those that will engage in the discussion.

I had made my point and didn't feel the need to drill it home. You on the otherhand were nowhere to be found in the thread until Niall arrived. Much like i'd imagine Claire Conway would if she was a Boards user. :pac:

You had a fair list of rants, that was one of them. Convenient that it was the most important one on the list allowing you throw in the towel :p

I was away on holidays when this thread came up and while I used Boards a few times, I didn't post until I returned. You know me well enough by now, I would have no reason not to contribute here. :D

Curious though, if Ciara came online and clarified her position. Would you post her a lovely message like you did with Niall? :P

I just hate when people try and hide who they are. I have defended Claire multiple times on this forum, usually when people are just attacking her for the sake of it. Niall deserved the praise he got because so many people shy away from defending themselves against the BOARDS MASSIVE.

I assume you mean Ciara?! But what if Ciara came online and put her neck out to the whole site, would you back down then?

Claire Conway is a friend of mine on the bookface, I hope she's not a Boardsie.

I don't get what you mean about backing down...Do you think I have an axe to grind with Ms Conway? Have I misunderstood?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

It's an interesting point on a wider scale though. Say we removed our anonymity from this forum and we used our facebooks or whatever do you think people would complain as much or gun for the likes of Ciara Conway?

Similarly if the businesses and people who constantly get called out for poor service or whatever if they had the opportunity to defend themselves would they get less stick?