Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Would an aul apparition work

• 23-06-2012 8:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭

After being to Lourdes a few times I got to thinking...they're on to something...and it ain't all religious.

It's a very peaceful place around the sanctuary but once you leave there, it's a little gold mine of everything from baby grows to to keyrings printed with the Virgin Lady.

The hotels are very basic as you are reminded you are a pilgrim when you book, the food is basic but generally good, and the chemists are very expensive. €21 for some hairspray, talc and earplugs for the person I was escorting there.

Anyway, how would an aul apparition go here to boost the economy, we got an airport in Knock the last time.

Where should it be?
    Who should it b?
    What would the message be?
    It could be classed as blasphemy, but it's a tough world these days

I was thinking of having one in our local village to boost tourism.

I'II see The Man Himself, and his message will be to bring religion up to date, marraige, women priests, no obscene riches for the church and maybe a few others.
    If it really took off, it might create a few jobs and local enterprise.
    If my cover was blown, then people might visit the place where that eejit pretended to have the apparitions..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Wouldn't have to be complicated...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

You have been to Lourdes a few times?? You obviously have little respect for your religion when you can speak so flippantly about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭shuridunno

Goin off to get the chainsaw revved up..

You have been to Lourdes a few times?? You obviously have little respect for your religion when you can speak so flippantly about it

Never said I was religious, I went as a helper. I have my faith but i'm not too interested in the church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I,ve never been to Lourdes, no believing in that sort of thing, but I hear from regulers that that the craic in the bars is mighty.
    With regard to local apparitions a friend of mine made a lot of money with a chip van in Ballinspittal when the statue was moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

shuridunno wrote: »
    After being to Lourdes a few times I got to thinking...they're on to something...and it ain't all religious.
    Done before...Knock...Bishop Eamonn Casey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Behind every idol there is a daemon.

Roman Catholicism is to blame for all these apparition crazes and superstitions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Behind every idol there is a daemon.

Roman Catholicism is to blame for all these apparition crazes and superstitions.
    All religious belief is essentially a superstition, you can't condemn Catholics just because they are more inventive.

Since it's 1879 since Knock, maybe another one would create a bit of a stir.

I'm not saying I believe in them, I'm just wondering in a light hearted way, if one would boost the economy.

It would boost the economy by bringing truckloads of eejits in.. But I think it would be the very opposite to getting the church out which would boost the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Seriously I know that maybe years ago of was different but nowadays if someone ran into the local pub or wherever and said that Mary was appearing or something, Id say even the local priest would be all for sending them to the psych ward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sh__93

We get Papa J-Rizzle (the Pope) over by telling him his face appeared in a skirting board in coppers.
    Then when he's bending over to look at it we get Marty Morrisey in to give him the boot up the arse he deserves.

Pilgrims will be coming from Gdansk to see where this happened.
    Ker-Ching