Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LOI Europe 2012/2013

• 24-06-2012 3:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/news/newsid=1801892.html

Draws tomorrow:

Champions League Shamrock Rovers go into the 2nd round unseeded.
    Seeded teams                   coef.     Unseeded teams                 coef.
    ------------------------ --- -------     ------------------------ --- -------
    FC Basel                 Sui  53.360     Shamrock Rovers          Irl   4.475
    BATE Borisov             Bls  29.641     Hapoel Kiryat Shmona     Isr   4.400
    FC Salzburg              Aut  29.265     Molde FK                 Nor   3.935
    Dinamo Zagreb            Cro  24.774     Zeljeznicar Sarajevo     Bos   3.683
    MSK Zilina               Svk  14.974     KR Reykjavik             Isl   3.566
    Partizan Belgrade        Srb  14.350     Ludogorets Razgrad       Bul   2.850
    Helsingborg IF           Swe  12.680     The New Saints           Wal   2.799
    Sheriff Tiraspol         Mol   9.849     Linfield Belfast *       Nir   2.766
    DVSC Debrecen            Hun   7.950     F91 Dudelange *          Lux   2.716
    NK Maribor               Slo   6.424     Valletta FC *            Mlt   2.616
    FK Ventspils             Lat   5.674     Buducnost Podgorica      Mon   2.375
    Slovan Liberec           Cze   5.570     Flora Tallinn            Est   2.283
    Slask Wroclaw            Pol   5.483     Neftchi Baku             Azb   2.241
    HJK Helsinki             Fin   5.326     Shakhtyor Karaganda      Kaz   1.816
    AEL Limassol             Cyp   5.099     Skënderbeu Korçë         Alb   1.783
    Ekranas Panevezys        Lit   4.875     Vardar Skopje            Mac   1.133
    FC Zestafoni             Geo   4.733     Ulisses Yerevan          Arm   0.941

Europe league Pats Bohs and Sligo (sligo enter round 2 unseeded). Pats and Bohs both seeded.
    Seeded teams                   coef.     Unseeded teams                 coef.
    ------------------------ --- -------     ------------------------ --- -------
    FC Twente Enschede       Ned  57.103     MTK Budapest             Hun   1.950
    Lech Poznan              Pol  22.483     Metalurg Skopje          Mac   1.883
    Rosenborg BK             Nor  20.935     FK Siauliai              Lit   1.875
    IF Elfsborg              Swe  10.180     Zimbru Chisinau          Mol   1.849
    Kalmar FF                Swe   7.180     JJK Jyväskylä            Fin   1.826
    FK Aktobe                Kaz   5.066     KS Flamurtari Vlorë      Alb   1.783
    St. Patrick's Athletic   Irl   4.975     Cliftonville             Nir   1.766
    Stabæk IF                Nor   4.935     Torpedo Kutaisi          Geo   1.733
    FC Gomel                 Bls   4.641     FC Santa Coloma          And   1.700
    Olimpi Rustavi           Geo   4.233     Llanelli FC              Wal   1.549
    FK Sarajevo              Bos   4.183     Crusaders Belfast        Nir   1.516
    Bohemians Dublin         Irl   3.975     Jeunesse d'Esch          Lux   1.466
    FK Senica                Svk   3.974     Mura Murska Sobota       Slo   1.424
    NK Osijek                Cro   3.774     NK Celje                 Slo   1.424
    FH Hafnarfjardar         Isl   3.566     Daugava Daugavpils       Lat   1.424
    Levadia Tallinn          Est   3.533     Zeta Golubovci           Mon   1.375
    Pyunik Yerevan           Arm   3.441     IBV Vestmannaeyjar       Isl   1.316
    Dacia Chisinau           Mol   3.349     Trans Narva              Est   1.283
    FK Baku                  Azb   3.241     Hibernians FC            Mlt   1.116
    FK Borac Banja Luka      Bos   3.183     Floriana                 Mlt   1.116
    Metalurgs Liepaja        Lat   3.174     Thór Akureyri            Isl   1.066
    Bangor City              Wal   3.049     Ordabasy Shymkent        Kaz   1.066
    Differdange 03           Lux   2.966     Zhetysu Taldykorgan      Kaz   1.066
    Honvéd Budapest          Hun   2.950     Kalju Nomme              Est   1.033
    Suduva Marijampole       Lit   2.875     NSI Runavik              Far   1.033
    FK Jagodina              Srb   2.850     Portadown                Nir   1.016
    MyPa-47                  Fin   2.826     CS Grevenmacher          Lux   0.966
    SK Tirana                Alb   2.783     Gandzasar Kapan          Arm   0.941
    Olimpija Ljubljana       Slo   2.674     Celik Niksic             Mon   0.875
    Renova Dzepciste         Mac   2.633     USV Eschen-Mauren        Lie   0.800
    Inter Baku               Azb   2.491     Teuta Durrës             Alb   0.783
    Rudar Pljevlja           Mon   2.375     Víkingur                 Far   0.783
    KuPS Kuopio              Fin   2.326     UE Santa Coloma          And   0.700
    Shkendija Tetovo         Mac   2.133     Cefn Druids              Wal   0.549
    Birkirkara               Mlt   2.116     Shirak Gyumri            Arm   0.441
    EB Streymur              Far   2.033     La Fiorita               Sma   0.183
    Khazar Lenkoran          Azb   1.991     Libertas                 Sma   0.183

Groups will be made so each team can only be drawn agaisnt 1 of 5. Generally we get the poxiest draw ever then win the game and get another poxy draw. Our last 5 games Ukraine, Kazaksthan, Iceland, Romania , Russia

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Hopefully Armenia or back to Kazakhstan for Pats

Hopefully not BATE for Rovers. However Flora could probably score against Rovers this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I think it will be a bleak year in Europe this year. Sligo havent seem to taken to European football over the last few years, Shamrock cant defend, Pats are inconsistent and and no disrespect intended but Bohs are probably just happy to be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Pats are inconsistent

Theres a reason we are seeded. And its for being consistent in Europe.

Infantino owes us Wales tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The way we are leaking goals at the moment I would be worried about some of the decent seeds in the pot. Europe was where MON really proved his mettle and we don't seem to be that team at the moment.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

but Bohs are probably just happy to be there.
    All hope and no expectation, hopefully it's not in the middle of nowhere so we can make some money out of it.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,379 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Sligo havent seem to taken to European football over the last few years

We've only played 2 ties in Europe in recent history. Against Vllaznia which was shocking I'll give you, we should have beaten them but we didn't. It was our first game in Europe since the 90s.

Last year we were drawn against a much better team, and if we had converted those 2 excellent chances for Kirby and then Raf in Ukraine it could have been a different story. They showed their class in the return leg, but not taking us seriously in the first leg could have came back to bite them in the arse.

I think we can get to the 3rd round this season if we get a decent draw. Our defense is better than ever and Danny North is the best striker we have had for a long time. I'm a little concerned about the midfield but the transfer window hasn't even opened yet so maybe someone will come in. Problem is, there is not many decent draws in the second round for unseeded teams. We could beat Aktobe I think but feck travelling to Kazakhstan. FC Admira from Austria are recently promoted and got in by winning the cup, it would be a competitive enough game too I think. If we are going to get a team that we cannot beat I hope it's Anzhi - Eto'o and Roberto Carlos (as sport director) in the Showgrounds :).

Forgot to ask - Will we have video for the draw tomorrow or will it just be that thing where the names appear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Wow. Shams can get quite a tough draw at this early stage. Just shows how vital seeding is.

Best of luck to all teams, hopefully all of the Irish teams will get winnable ties over ties that are more convenient to travel to.

and if anyone finds a link to the draw via video/media presentation etc. please put it on here. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Champions League 1/4 Finalists APOEL are in the UEFA Cup 2nd qualifying round :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Theres a reason we are seeded. And its for being consistent in Europe.

Infantino owes us Wales tbh.

Careful what you wish for ;)

TNS spanked us 4-0 over there only a couple of years ago. Has us in the sh*t we're in now I reckon. That's the lowest I've ever felt as a Bohs fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Omackeral wrote: »
    Careful what you wish for ;)

TNS spanked us 4-0 over there only a couple of years ago. Has us in the sh*t we're in now I reckon. That's the lowest I've ever felt as a Bohs fan.

No, no it doesn't. Liquid lunches with property developers and keeping up with Ollie is what has us where we are. Hopefully Powell has some more nightmares like that game over the next few months, got ripped apart in both legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

Any mention of a time for the draw? It's probably in plain sight but I havnt seen it anywhere.

Ill be booking the trip anyway...I am sure it will be a rather short stint in europe this year.

Ebbs wrote: »
    Any mention of a time for the draw? It's probably in plain sight but I havnt seen it anywhere.

Ill be booking the trip anyway...I am sure it will be a rather short stint in europe this year.

you should be on at 11, live cast at 10:30 on UEFA website.

We should be on around 1.

Not sure what way to take this draw, we have been brilliant in Europe last 5 years. Pretty much sorting out the Leagues coefficent on our own but all of those wins in countries that possible dont exist anymore were down to sheer wanting it more than the other team. And most importantly bringing a decent result back to Richmond.

Now with Liam (no team of mine will get beat 5-0 again) Buckley and the style of play i dunno how its going to work out. Kinda hoping for Cefn Druids simply for the trip as i will be possibly the only one i can afford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Champions League draw latest: Rovers in pot to play either of following: Our opponents will be either of Basel, Salzburg, Helsingborg, Ventspils, Ekranas or Helsinki. Draw at 11am Irish time today.

Could be a VERY short European season :(

Brutal pot to be in, especially with the way we're playing. Being on the cusp of seed/non-seed is really going to hurt us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

stovelid wrote: »
    Brutal pot to be in, especially with the way we're playing. Being on the cusp of seed/non-seed is really going to hurt us.

Not great alright, although I reckon yous can beat the Finish or Latvian sides.

Ventspils or Akranes definitely the only chance.

Basel would be a nightmare. They're ranked well above PAOK and Kazan who were on another planet against us in the EL last season.

Fcuk you UEFA .....**** you real good!!!!

Zimbru
    JJK
    IBV
    portadown
    Gandzasar
    sp la Fiorita.

Fcuk you UEFA .....**** you real good!!!!

Zimbru
    JJK
    IBV
    portadown
    Gandzasar
    sp la Fiorita.

Thats not too bad?

I'd feckin love a trip to Moldova. That is a pretty good pot to be honest! Let's hope ye get Portadown for the easy trip, no suprises with them.

Ha I just copped who Zimbru are

CiaranC wrote: »
    Ha I just copped who Zimbru are

I'm trying not to laugh too much in case we draw Basel in a couple of minutes.

Is the CL stream on uefa.com working for anyone yet?

No

Whos in Sligo and Bohs pots?

Rovers got Ekranas apparently.

Best possible draw.

Rovers vs Ekranas

Great draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Oatesy23 wrote: »
    Is the CL stream on uefa.com working for anyone yet?

No:-

"The video you are trying to watch is currently unavailable.

Please try again later"

That's great. They are ranked 231 in the club coefficients. Ye are ranked 240.

Great success as Borat would say.

Fantastic draw for Rovers.

We're guaranteed to get Zimbru or Armenia or some bollocks like that now.

They are no mugs, have been reasonably competitive in Europe the last few years, but weve a strong chance if we can sort our defence out.

Our pot is not gauranteed, no idea whats going on. But if it is that pot, 1st time an LOI side has previously played 3 of the possible 6 opponents in various competitions.

Watching flights to Lithuania shoot up on Ryanair now, lad beside me sweating trying to book them :D

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭bonescap

what dates are the home and away legs for rovers?

Are the 1st and 2nd Round draws for the Europa League both on today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Yep

http://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=2013/draws/round=2000352/index.html

June 25, 2012 draw for 1st and 2nd qualifying round Champions League
    draw for 1st and 2nd qualifying round Europa League
    July 3/4 2012 1st qualifying round Champions League, 1st leg
    July 5, 2012 1st qualifying round Europa League, 1st leg
    July 10/11, 2012 1st qualifying round Champions League, 2nd leg
    July 12, 2012 1st qualifying round Europa League, 2nd leg
    July 17/18, 2012 2nd qualifying round Champions League, 1st leg
    July 19, 2012 2nd qualifying round Europa League, 1st leg
    July 20, 2012 draw for 3rd qualifying round Champions League
    draw for 3rd qualifying round Europa League
    July 24/25, 2012 2nd qualifying round Champions League, 2nd leg
    July 26, 2012 2nd qualifying round Europa League, 2nd leg
    July 31/August 1, 2012 3rd qualifying round Champions League, 1st leg
    August 2, 2012 3rd qualifying round Europa League, 1st leg
    August 7/8, 2012 3rd qualifying round Champions League, 2nd leg
    August 9, 2012 3rd qualifying round Europa League, 2nd leg

Dates

F**k UEFA anyway. Stream isn't working for the Europa league either, still says error.

Watching flights to Lithuania shoot up on Ryanair now, lad beside me sweating trying to book them :D

Home and away legs not officially confirmed yet. :)

stovelid wrote: »
    Home and away legs not officially confirmed yet. :)

Unlikely to change but his problem :p

UEFA have taken down the draw page.

EDIT.....ahh jaysis...... we may have gotten Zimbru!

Unlikely to change but his problem :p

UEFA have taken down the draw page.

EDIT.....ahh jaysis...... we may have gotten Zimbru!

Here's the draw mate
    http://www.uefa.com/uefachampionsleague/news/newsid=1833516.html

Cliftonville vs Kalmar (swe)
    Crusaders vs Rosenborg (nor)

All from twitter

Europa league not CL.

IBV vs St Pats.

Home 1st leg even tho we seeded.

Iceland again. Jaysus.

Europa league not CL.

Oh sorry mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

so whats the full draw for all the irish teams?

bohemians.ie ‏@bfcdublin
    Bohs to face 1 of following in Europa quals: Siauliai (Lith), Crusaders (NIrl), Thor Akureyri (Ice), NSI Runavik (Far I), Cefn Druids (Wal).

bohemians.ie ‏@bfcdublin
    Bohs to face 1 of following in Europa quals: Siauliai (Lith), Crusaders (NIrl), Thor Akureyri (Ice), NSI Runavik (Far I), Cefn Druids (Wal).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

Europa league not CL.

IBV vs St Pats.

Home 1st leg even tho we seeded.

Pat's were very lucky last year. The last minute of the second leg in Richmond, IBV either hit the post or it whistled past the post. But that came after a 1-0 defeat in Iceland, so there is room to improve.

Vestmann is an old name for the Irish.

CiaranC wrote: »
    Thor Akureyri

Great name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭kksaints