Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LOI Europe 2012/2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Mushy wrote: »
    Well IBV have a MvVeggie and a McFlurry playing...good pre-work. Its hilarious.

Same lad :D

Maweijje is his name.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

I'm Stephen O'Flynn. Fcuk you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭BKC

If you're injured, get on the ****ing pitch and roll around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,501 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

He looks like a McFlurry

"Sorry I didn't mean to say that."

:P

Pats fans will be dancing on the streets of Íþróttabandalag Vestmannaeyja tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,379 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

I heard a crash and then a silence.

Did they kill Hano? :(

Well done pats.

Get in :D

nervy **** in the end, well from the start but more so towards the end :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Moist Bread

Pats fans will be dancing on the streets of Íþróttabandalag Vestmannaeyja tonight.

They have no choice, cause they missed the ferry back to the mainland.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Jaysus the commentator must've gotten jumped with the abrupt end to the commentary :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,379 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

If they manage to get back to the streets. The bastard with the boat wouldn't wait for them :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Ah great news.

Chuck Norris is afraid of Stephen O'Flynn.

Yeah, cause they missed the ferry back to the mainland.

No night time and bar is open 24 hours, do yah think they give a monkey :pac:

Get in :D

Irelands European Club

Oatesy23 wrote: »
    I heard a crash and then a silence.

Did they kill Hano? :(

Well done pats.

He's back and sounding fairly panned!

Gone again! :(

BKC wrote: »
    He's back and sounding fairly panned!

Gone again! :(

Whatever happened in those few minutes of silence must have changed him forever.

Pats Players jumped on him :pac:

seriously :D

Genius stuff really. STEHEN O' flynn must've heard him when going off the pitch.

Who do Sligo have next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Bad night for Irish football

Bad night for Bohemians. St. Pat's qualified.

ahh jaysus hano got player interviews :)

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=3724346060716

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

dreamers75 wrote: »
    ahh jaysus hano got player interviews :)

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=3724346060716

Says unavailable for me mate.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Des wrote: »
    Ah shut up, it's a nonsense argument.

We've all had terrible days in Europe over the years, having a smallest penis competition doesn't need to be done.

There has been so many bad ones that inevitably leads itself to be a spectrum. From Thor to Belgrade, say.

5-1:)

When was the last time Pats drew or won away in Europe - Krylya Sovetov Samara - was that 3-2 or 3-3.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

well done pats at least your in the next round could have done with better results though boost the coefficients and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Pat's commentators on that stream are fucking hilarious! And I've only been listening for 5 minutes.

He asked one of the local reporters in the box something but he didn't get a reply (that time)

"Fúck yis anyway... fúckin' Icelanders"

Also...

"Ah for fúck sake Stevo (or whoever it was) if yer fúckin injured roll onto the fúckin pitch and fúckin roll around for fúck sake"

And... a lad he was talkin shyte about in the box turned out not to be a local, but an Englishman. :cool:

Good entertainment. There was something every couple of minutes. Have to say though, fairplay to him for doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Pat's have played 22 games in Europe since 2007, the next 2 will mean at least 24. They truly have been Ireland's best club in Europe over the past 5 years. Does any other team have such a good record ever? I cannot remember myself. Maybe Shels in the early 2000's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Pat's have played 22 games in Europe since 2007, the next 2 will mean at least 24. They truly have been Ireland's best club in Europe over the past 5 years.
    lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Pat's have played 22 games in Europe since 2007, the next 2 will mean at least 24. They truly have been Ireland's best club in Europe over the past 5 years. Does any other team have such a good record ever? I cannot remember myself. Maybe Shels in the early 2000's.

Dundalk went five years unbeaten at home. Drawing with PSV, Porto, Spurs, Celtic, Linfield and beating Hadjuk Split, Hibernians of Malta and Fram.

Porto, Spurs and Celtic only went through by a single goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

Well done to Pat's.

Bohs yet again have disappointed when representing our country and our league in Europe. I don't want to be too critical they do have a young squad. When Derry were refused entry the writing was on the wall. We need our better teams in Europe. Pat's have been great at getting through rounds in Europe in recent years. Bohs sadly have not.

doncarlos wrote: »
    Dundalk went five years unbeaten at home. Drawing with PSV, Porto, Spurs, Celtic, Linfield and beating Hadjuk Split, Hibernians of Malta and Fram.

Porto, Spurs and Celtic only went through by a single goal.

Forgot about that great Dundalk team of the late 70's early 80's.

Shame an Irish team will probably never make the last 16 of the European Cup ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Say Pats be gone against the Bosnians. One problem with summer football is the team who qualified for Europe the year previous is often a completely different team come the qualifiers. Bohs an extreme case this time.

Forgot about that great Dundalk team of the late 70's early 80's.
    Are you on a wind up? Rovers have played 16 games in Europe in the last two years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

CiaranC wrote: »
    Are you on a wind up? Rovers have played 16 games in Europe in the last two years...

Different era lad, would the current Rovers side be able to pull off results against sides like I've listed above? Whole different kettle of fish to going through on away goals against a team from Estonia.

That's not knocking Rovers achievement and hopefully the same can be done again this year.

doncarlos wrote: »
    Different era lad, would the current Rovers side be able to pull off results against sides like I've listed above? Whole different kettle of fish to going through on away goals against a team from Estonia.

That's not knocking Rovers achievement and hopefully the same can be done again this year.

Sorry wasnt talking about Dundalk, was referring to the claim that Pats playing 22 times in Europe in 5 years makes them Irelands best club in European competition over that period. If Rovers get past Ekranas we will be at 22 games in two years.

*Also, the current Rovers side will struggle against the current Dundalk side tonight, which tells you all you need to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Didn't see the Bohs game last night unfortunately. Anyone care to explain what the fúck happened?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

That_Guy wrote: »
    Didn't see the Bohs game last night unfortunately. Anyone care to explain what the fúck happened?

First half hour Bohs did very well apparently, 1-0 up. Then either just before or after the 2nd half, we conceded a bad goal, then after about 50 mins another bad one (an own goal no less) and after that the lads probably lost spirit. Good luck to the Icelandic team, must be cool to be in Div 2 and going on to another round in the Europa.

I don't mind so much we are out of Europe, though going out 5-1 is a bit harsh but that's football. Finishing in the upper half of the league and a good cup run is more important. I just hope we keep the same manager for next season and the young squad we have can build up some experience and begin to gel together.

Easily the best irish euro club ever, its not even close tbh. Unbeaten in Richmond in our last 10 games in Europe is some record.

And W L D out of those 16?

Pats have played 14 in the last 2 years, including the recent 2 and more in the last 5 years. They have consistently been the most consistent Irish club side for the past 5 years. How can anyone dispute that? The results speak for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Augmerson wrote: »
    I don't mind so much we are out of Europe, though going out 5-1 is a bit harsh but that's football. Finishing in the upper half of the league and a good cup run is more important.

While finishing as high as possible in the league is important, this would have been a big pay day for the club had they gone through. Bohs were never gonna get to the group stages but 100K is nothing to be sniffed at.

Best of luck to Thor though. Their (7) fans were brilliant at Dalymount last week.

• Registered Users Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Alias G

Pats manage to sneak through against Icelandic opposition on away goals after extra time. Irelands european club for sure.

Get a hold of yourself.

Which Irish club is highest in the club co-efficient?

http://www.uefa.com/memberassociations/uefarankings/club/index.html

Pats have played 14 in the last 2 years, including the recent 2 and more in the last 5 years. They have consistently been the most consistent Irish club side for the past 5 years. How can anyone dispute that? The results speak for themselves.

You said they were the best, now they are the most consistent, which is it? They are consistent because their recent results have come in the early rounds of the EL and fair play to them for that. But to suggest they have achieved anything like the success of SRFC in Europe (or in any competition for that matter) is laughable.

They arent even "Dublins European team"
    Rovers
    Played	Won	Drawn	Lost	For	Against
    64	13	11	40	55	117

Bohs
    59	13	12	34	47	104

Shels
    53	9	14	30	47	88

Pats
    26	5	5	16	22	59

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Bad night for Bohemians. St. Pat's qualified.
    Losing two games against Icelandic opposition has to be considered a poor return.
    dfx- wrote: »
    When was the last time Pats drew or won away in Europe - Krylya Sovetov Samara - was that 3-2 or 3-3.
    Pats beat Olimps and Valletta 1-0 away in 2008 and 2009 respectively – not a great return. It’s the very good home record that’s been winning ties.
    dsmythy wrote: »
    Say Pats be gone against the Bosnians.
    I don’t know about that – the Bosnian league is a similar standard to the LOI. Pats haven’t played terribly well since the break – hopefully they’ll hit some form in time for the next round.
    And lost how many of those? Qualifying for the group stages last year was a great achievement, but their performances in the group stage were generally poor.
    That_Guy wrote: »
    Started well. Controlled the game for the first 30 minutes and got the away goal. Comedy of errors ensued.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

djpbarry wrote: »
    And lost how many of those? Qualifying for the group stages last year was a great achievement, but their performances in the group stage were generally poor.

To be fair, the gulf in class is absolutely massive. You can only learn from such an experience.

Remember, Bohs beat BATE Borisov 10 years ago in a qualifier. Borisov made the CL groups last year.

Generally poor my arse, its a slight step up from scoring last minute goals in Iceland to stay in the competition at the first qualifying round stage to playing against teams who bring on a sub whose transfer fee would run the entire LOI for ten years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,592 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Generally poor my arse, its a slight step up from scoring last minute goals in Iceland to stay in the competition at the first qualifying round stage to playing against teams who bring on a sub whose transfer fee would run the entire LOI for ten years
    This is it, Rovers' achievement last season was the most impressive by miles.

CSF wrote: »

Same old Pats nonsense, pick some irrelevant obscure fact to champion to pretend they arent very much the junior club behind Rovers, Bohs and Shels.

Oh from March 2005 to April 2005 we were unbeaten on days starting with "W", only team in HISTORY to do it. Never relegated only reelected. Etc.

Same old Pats nonsense, pick some irrelevant obscure fact to champion to pretend they arent very much the junior club behind Rovers, Bohs and Shels.

Oh from March 2005 to April 2005 we were unbeaten on days starting with "W", only team in HISTORY to do it. Never relegated only reelected. Etc.

Dont know why you have a chip on your shoulder. Pats are the best Irish club in Europe. Won more games, played more games and if it was not for us Rovers would not have been seeded the past few years and been knocked out sooner. Your achievement of making the first round proper is a good one, similar to what Pats done a few years ago in playing Hertha Berlin in the first round proper.

I have done nothing but state facts. As have others on this thread. Dont get your anger at all.

So is that another banner we cant bring to Tallaght because it offends you?

Jaysis lads just accept it, without us you would all be ****ed in Europe.

Irelands European club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

CSF wrote: »

Yup getting past Partizan Belgrade was a good result.

You said they were the best, now they are the most consistent, which is it? They are consistent because their recent results have come in the early rounds of the EL and fair play to them for that. But to suggest they have achieved anything like the success of SRFC in Europe (or in any competition for that matter) is laughable.

They arent even "Dublins European team"
    Rovers
    64	13	11	40	55	117

Bohs
    59	13	12	34	47	104

Shels
    53	9	14	30	47	88

Pats
    26	5	5	16	22	59

Pats in Europe have played 40, won 11 drawn 6 and lost 23. Seems to me they have a better win percentage than any Dublin club.