Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LOI Europe 2012/2013

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Won more games
    Wrong
    played more games
    Wrong
    and if it was not for us Rovers would not have been seeded the past few years and been knocked out sooner.
    Well done, you understand the coefficient system. If it wasnt for other clubs you wouldnt have been seeded in 2007 either and your run wouldnt have happened.
    Your achievement of making the first round proper is a good one, similar to what Pats done a few years ago in playing Hertha Berlin in the first round proper.
    Wrong. Rovers achievement was worth far more money and far more prestige.

Any club can build up a few coefficient points by finishing in the lowest euro place and jetting off to Iceland to play in a field or to Kazakhstan to play a bunch of shepards every year. Well stick to playing Juventus and Spurs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

What does Bohsboy think of all this malarkey, that's what I want to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

CiaranC wrote: »
    Wrong

8 wins in the last 5 years, what other team has won more in that space of time.
    Wrong

What other club has played 22 games in the past 5 years?

Wrong. Rovers achievement was worth far more money and far more prestige.

They both reached the same stage, Derry and Shels did too. The first round of the competition has changed over the past few years. The group stage used to be the second round. Fair play to Rovers for reaching it, and I dont begrudge them the money they made.
    Any club can build up a few coefficient points by finishing in the lowest euro place and jetting off to Iceland to play in a field or to Kazakhstan to play a bunch of shepards every year. Well stick to playing Juventus and Spurs

We'll stick to playing Shamrock Rovers and beating them 5-1 :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Generally poor my arse, its a slight step up from scoring last minute goals in Iceland to stay in the competition at the first qualifying round stage to playing against teams who bring on a sub whose transfer fee would run the entire LOI for ten years
    Em, ok.

I’m actually comparing Rovers’ performances in the group stage with their performances against Partizan.

Rovers’ achievement was in beating Partizan. That’s not a whole lot different to Pats beating Elfsborg or Krylia Sovetov.

8 wins in the last 5 years, what other team has won more in that space of time.
    Why are we talking about some random 5 years? Why not two years? Shels can pick their best 5 years and claim to be the "best Irish team in Europe ever (in that 5 years)".

First Irish team in Europe: Shamrock Rovers
    First Irish team to score in Europe: Shamrock Rovers
    First Irish team to win in Europe: Shamrock Rovers
    Most appearances in Europe: Shamrock Rovers
    Most wins in Europe: Shamrock Rovers
    Most goals in Europe: Shamrock Rovers
    First Irish team to qualify for group stages: Shamrock Rovers
    Irelands European team: Er, some junior club from Inchicore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Why are we talking about some random 5 years? Why not two years? Shels can pick their best 5 years and claim to be the "best Irish team in Europe ever (in that 5 years)".

Success in football is measured over recent history, not ancient history. Are Huddersfield Town or Preston North End more successful than Premier League teams that have not won the trophies they have.

Pats are better than Rovers over the past 25 years in Europe and have more league wins over that timeperiod too.

Recent as in "exactly how recent is required to show St Pats as statistically having the superior record, while completely ignoring the level of opposition" presumably? :pac:
    Pats are better than Rovers over the past 25 years in Europe and have more league wins over that timeperiod too.
    How many leagues have Pats won "recently" though :rolleyes:

Ill leave you to your fantasies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

First Irish team in Europe: Shamrock Rovers Glenavon
    First Irish team to Concede 6 in Europe: Shamrock Rovers
    First Irish team to win in Europe: Shamrock Rovers Dundalk
    Most losses in Europe: Shamrock Rovers
    Most meaningful wins in Europe: St Pats
    Most goals in Europe: Real Madrid
    Irelands European team: St Pats

Fyp:D

Jaysus, look...

All that’s being said is that, over the last few years, Pats have a pretty good record in Europe – they’ve been consistently negotiating the early rounds to set up ties against the likes of Hertha Berlin, Steaua, Krylia Sovetov and Lviv. Now, they were well beaten by Lviv and Steaua, but they were unlucky to lose to Hertha and I suppose it could be argued they were lucky to beat Sovetov. And of course they beat Elfsborg - a pretty good result against a side with several Swedish internationals.

Then Rovers come along, get a good result against Partizan, get stuffed by Kazan, PAOK and Spurs’ B team, but are lauded for their achievement. You can surely understand why Pats fans would feel justified in rolling their eyes just a little bit? I’m sure you do understand, but will absolutely refuse to admit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

In your form you'll play Ekranas this year and that will be that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

To be fair, Shamrock Rovers benefited massively by the change of system that UEFA put in place for the last two or so years in the CL qualifying stages. Beforehand, once you lose int he 2nd round of CLQ you were gone. Out of Europe. There was no parachute into the EL that Shamrock Rovers got.

If the rules that are in place now were there for the last 10 or so years, Shels would have went straight into the group stages of the EL after losing to Deportivo. Drogheda almost certainly would have made the EL group stages too in 2008 after losing to Kiev in the 2nd round.

Not begrudging Shamrock Rovers of their feat, but they were in the right place at the right time for it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

djpbarry wrote: »
    Then Rovers come along, get a good result against Partizan, get stuffed by Kazan, PAOK and Spurs’ B team, but are lauded for their achievement. You can surely understand why Pats fans would feel justified in rolling their eyes just a little bit? I’m sure you do understand, but will absolutely refuse to admit it.

Rovers were really only stuffed in three of the games, the three home games. Rubin Kazan are by some distance the best side I've seen in Tallaght, including Madrid and Juventus and even Buckley's Pats. :eek:

dfx- wrote: »
    Rovers were really only stuffed in three of the games, the three home games.
    Ok, I exaggerated slightly, but you see my point.

For me, the difference is Pats' awful away record. Rovers have set up their big ties by winning outright, on the night, on the road in Tel Aviv and Belgrade. The away games in the groups were close enough, especially away to PAOK and a fair portion of the game away to Rubin.

Pats have now lost twice in Iceland and once in Kazakhstan and until that changes they will always go out to the next layer up, the Lvivs of the competition.
    dsmythy wrote: »
    In your form you'll play Ekranas this year and that will be that.

Heard in college today that some of their players are being released because they haven't been paid.

Maybe they watched the Bohs game and realised they've no need to play strikers..

For me, the difference is Pats' awful away record.
    If we could combine Pats home form with Rovers' away form, then we'd be onto something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Fans of Irelands European Clubs next opponents.

Seem to have a liking for other teams flags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Dreamers, I wanna strangle you through the computer screen each time you sign off with 'Irelands European Club'.

It's hard to argue against it though. Plus the air miles have been clocked up including stop offs in Dubai (wtf!?) and being within a stone's throw of China for god's sake!

I think Syringey-core needs a new flag courtesy of Mr. 75

Omackeral wrote: »
    Dreamers, I wanna strangle you through the computer screen each time you sign off with 'Irelands European Club'.

It's hard to argue against it though. Plus the air miles have been clocked up including stop offs in Dubai (wtf!?) and being within a stone's throw of China for god's sake!

I think Syringey-core needs a new flag courtesy of Mr. 75

haters gonna hate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Same old Pats nonsense, pick some irrelevant obscure fact to champion to pretend they arent very much the junior club behind Rovers, Bohs and Shels.

Oh from March 2005 to April 2005 we were unbeaten on days starting with "W", only team in HISTORY to do it. Never relegated only reelected. Etc.

CiaranC having a go at Pat's!! We must be having a decent season so!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Can Pat's fans post about their achievements in Europe's premier club competition?

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Can Pat's fans post about their achievements in Europe's premier club competition?

Drew with some Irish club away seemingly we deadly for it.

Great trip, shame about the home game.

Btw Chukinyere was his name, without doubt the greatest "swings and roundabouts" ever you got our league title.....got beaten in CL by Malta hibs....and we got our 1st ever round win in Europe.

the lad was a ****ing postman :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Drew with some Irish club away seemingly we deadly for it.

Great trip, shame about the home game.

Btw Chukinyere was his name, without doubt the greatest "swings and roundabouts" ever you got our league title.....got beaten in CL by Malta hibs....and we got our 1st ever round win in Europe.

the lad was a ****ing postman :pac:

"Your" league title? Nice way to distarct attention from the fact that you've never done anything in Europe's premier club competiton.

Pats fans talking themselves up in Europe is a bit like when Bohs fans used to boast about their record number of Leinster Senior Cup wins. :D

"Your" league title? Nice way to distarct attention from the fact that you've never done anything in Europe's premier club competiton.

Pats fans talking themselves up in Europe is a bit like when Bohs fans used to boast about their record number of Leinster Senior Cup wins. :D

Is it, yeah?? See this arrogance you're portraying? That has a lot to do with Pat's record in Europe over the last few seasons. We've raised the coefficient points to allow the likes of Shams have favourable draws (you're welcome btw, CiaranC).

Pat's talking themselves up in Europe!! :rolleyes::rolleyes: Ten years ago, LOI clubs were doing well to get any sort of victory!

Again haters gonna hate, ireland has something called a coefficent. Seems to be based entirely on us. Not sure what shels fans have to do with anything really but they they have an opinion on Europe.......

But ireland is where it is in this coeffeicent thingie.....simply because of Irelands European Club. Seemingly this coeficent thing is important. not so sure myself i want my fecking trip away ......but Infantino keeps ****ing us over and we keep beating these ***** he pulls out.

So anyway Irelands European Club, its really not up for debate when the entire leagues european ranking is based on us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭BKC

So anyway Irelands European Club, its really not up for debate when the entire leagues european ranking is based on us.

It's not though. It's based on all the Irish teams who play in Europe.

BKC wrote: »

Exactly!! :cool: We've done more than our bit!! If that helps the Shams out, than the more the merrier!

How much better would the league's ranking be if Pats didn't lose every other European game that takes place beyond Emmet Rd.:)

Not that much better, i suppose!! Like yourselves, we had to pay the SDCC rent for a loan of Tallaght Stadium for the third qualifying round last year! A bit like the way you's have to pay rent the whole year round in order to play your 'home' games up in the Wicklow mountains. The main thing is getting through the rounds.

Once again, you're welcome Shams! Good luck on tuesday and remember, there's only one Stephen Kenny!!

BKC wrote: »

yup the rest are ****, not our problem tbh.

Dunno but you wouldnt be seeded in any round ever if it didnt, actually your heroics at being **** in the Europa League last season we were directly responsible for you being seeded in that round.

Im sure you will do us proud and get us .250 on wednesday seems according to CiaranC you are the real European club......

Sorry i actually laughed out loud at that :D but hey thats for the Champions League thread....giggle.....

Ironically enough if Pats do manage to finish second they will be dropped into the EL straight at the stage where they get tonked every year instead of getting to jaunt off with 10 fans to play some amateur side in the 1st qualifying round, scraping past them and proclaiming themselves Irelands greatest heroes. Ah those junkies - dont like the reality that your club is the minnows of Dublin? Just invent your own reality then, sorted :pac:

I think you'll find it was yourselves getting tonked on a regular basis last year! At least you got yourselves a decent manager this season.

Ah those junkies - dont like the reality that your club is the minnows of Dublin? Just invent your own reality then, sorted :pac:
    Team|P|Pts
    Sligo Rovers | 16 | 35
    St. Patrick's Athletic | 15 | 28
    Drogheda United | 15 | 26
    Shamrock Rovers | 16 | 25
    Shelbourne | 17 | 24
    Derry City | 17 | 22
    Cork City | 16 | 19
    Bohemians | 16 | 19
    Bray Wanderers | 17 | 16
    Dundalk | 16 | 13
    UCD | 15 | 10

monkey9 wrote: »

Not that much better, i suppose!! Like yourselves, we had to pay the SDCC rent for a loan of Tallaght Stadium for the third qualifying round last year! A bit like the way you's have to pay rent the whole year round in order to play your 'home' games up in the Wicklow mountains.!

One day we'll play in a ground with soul like you. I won't rest until I do. The toilets in Tallaght are a particular affront to this dream. The running water and jacks roll therein is a betrayal of the soul of football.

stovelid wrote: »
    One day we'll play in a ground with soul like you. I won't rest until I do. The toilets in Tallaght are a particular affront to this dream. The running water and jacks roll therein is a betrayal of the soul of football.

With the amount of sh!te being served up at the Council house this season, these are essentials in fairness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,379 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

I wasn't very impressed with Trnava in their game earlier. I think we are definitely in with a chance.

Then again, it was their first game of the season so you never know..

monkey9 wrote: »
    With the amount of sh!te being served up at the Council house this season, these are essentials in fairness!

Essentials for the league at whole mate.

I can't argue on the football front: fair cop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,501 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Working late on Tuesday so can't make it out to the match in Tallaght. Think may have a mate heading out, he doesn't go normal matches but wants to make an effort so hopefully he does.

Forget the ****e of who has the best results over the last X seasons, I just hope the Irish teams do well in Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Can't seem to find TV coverage of the Ekranas game - is it on anywhere at all?

geeky wrote: »
    Doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,379 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

geeky wrote: »

srfc.tv will be doing audio and video coverage of the first leg. Second leg will be on Setanta.

Ekranas drifting out to 5/1 to win..:eek:

Hopefully they are going to throw the game by scoring 3 OGs

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

I'm heading to my first LOI European game tonight.

Rumours that I'll be singing the Fields of Athenry in the Square car park from 2pm today have been greatly exaggerated :D

Howd you get on Lumbo?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

Howd you get on Lumbo?

Not my first match in Tallaght but I haven't seen them win there yet :rolleyes:. It wasn't a bad match and Rovers showed they can play ball when they want to. Pity that they couldn't put their chances away and there were some good performances as well.

The lads are putting me under pressure to go to the Bray match on Friday but my wife informed me that we already have plans. Between work and the wife Friday evenings aren't that suitable for me to go to the match on a regular basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,501 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Lumbo wrote: »
    Not my first match in Tallaght but I haven't seen them win there yet :rolleyes:. It wasn't a bad match and Rovers showed they can play ball when they want to. Pity that they couldn't put their chances away and there were some good performances as well.

The lads are putting me under pressure to go to the Bray match on Friday but my wife informed me that we already have plans. Between work and the wife Friday evenings aren't that suitable for me to go to the match on a regular basis.

Please go to the Bray match. Please please go.

Or at least watch it on tv.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

Oatesy23 wrote: »
    srfc.tv will be doing audio and video coverage of the first leg. Second leg will be on Setanta.

theres something on that saying they're not streaming live games due to pressure from he fai or something. if the fai dont want that going on why dont they negotiate a deal with setanta or tv3 or even tg4 ffs on behalf of whatever club in question.

i swear with sh1te like that and the likes of not letting limerick play barcelona anbody would think they didnt want the league to succeed in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

theres something on that saying they're not streaming live games due to pressure from he fai or something.

Like a lot of people I've very little love for the FAI, but I'd be sceptical of this being true at all. This level of idiocy hasn't been seen in a while from them.

Yep, Fran Gavin told them to stop after streaming the Shels match. They can't stream league games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Yep, Fran Gavin told them to stop after streaming the Shels match. They can't stream league games.

Yeah because god forbid people will want to watch the LOI...I often used to watch the games they streamed