Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do we really want from dogs?

• 25-06-2012 11:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭

So theres been quite a lot of threadslately about unfortunate dog bite incidents.
    I've been quite surprised by the amount of "the dog must be destroyed" type responses, and by some poeple views on how exactly a dog should behave.

So what I wanted to discuss was, what do we really expect/want from dogs? It would seem a lot of people want them to be the perfect loyal companion, no questions asked. They cant show any frustration or anger, they simply have to be happy with whatever situation they are in. For if they do react in a way deemed not appropriate by the owner, or public, then it "must be destroyed".

How are dogs supposed to understand this very thin line we draw between being a fully fledged member of the family, and simply a pet that should know its place.

I sometimes think people expect a bit too much from dogs. God forbid a child be involved, as then the situation always seem to fly off the handle.

Anyone else have any thoughts on this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

I just want my dog to be a dog.

He gives me love, affection, loyalty (until my husband comes in from work! :D), companionship and the odd bit of naughtiness.

I give him love, love, affection, loyalty (even when my husband comes in from work! :D), food, warmth, shelter, and generally spoil him rotten.

I don't ask for much and neither does he...

Forgot to add: He's now waiting patiently for my bacon sarnie to cook. He graciously allows me to share my sandwich with him...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭maggiepip

I too just want my dogs to be dogs. I want them to be happy carefree and as free as is possible. They are a full member of the family. They have the run of the house, sleep in the beds, share our human food, play with each other, irritate the cats (all 4 of them) and come everywhere with us, holidays, trips etc.

I always look on the situation as what can I do for them to make them happier? - and not what can they do for me.

I continue to do my absolute best to understand them, their language, their moods and their needs.

The thing is I have never had any behavioural problems with them (apart from the collie having a bit of a chase drive :rolleyes:) its like if I do my best to understand them - then we all understand each other and all respect is mutual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

To be themselves.

And they are more so now we have a more settled home and a better routine.

Safe and not being overloaded with what they do not need.

NB collies are like that.. I walk ours in the small hours so she cannot take off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭spur

I want mine to have a good life - they're both rescues. I often look at them balmed out on the floor and think to myself "are you happy"!!!
    But I know I have a responsibility to them to teach them what behaviour is acceptable and not. I have an added responsibility to ensure they're not put in a dangerous situation. (I have a car-chasing collie too!)
    That's not a big investment for what I get back. Complete and total adoraton and devotion!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

dogs can get angry too,it is unfair that dogs cannot express all their emotions without being put down or destroyed..i think we expect too much from our dogs,to be impeccable trained to always have a good day,and a dopey playful smile for you,etc..but when out in public with people put on the lead,if theres no one around for miles its okay to leave them off the lead,as long as they are responsive to you to come back if somebody is there and they are having an off day..

I upset our wee dog the other day. I was calling them in from the garden before going out. Collie came at once, but so sign of wee dog so I bellowed for her to come in NOW.

Something made me turn round and she was behind me all the time. The look on her face was...
    The bassett in her makes her face totally expressive.

Needless to say she got a long cuddle.

PS are there any collies who are not car chasers...

dogs can get angry too,it is unfair that dogs cannot express all their emotions without being put down or destroyed..i think we expect too much from our dogs,to be impeccable trained to always have a good day,and a dopey playful smile for you,etc..but when out in public with people put on the lead,if theres no one around for miles its okay to leave them off the lead,as long as they are responsive to you to come back if somebody is there and they are having an off day..

Amen to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I think it is so easy to humanize dogs and forget that they are dogs. I want him to be first and foremost a dog, with all the complications, frustrations, laughter, craziness and fun that entails. Many who get a dog looking for the perfect companion will be disappointed, because a perfect companion doesn't sometimes practice selective hearing when called, or steal food from the counter tops and so on which will drive you mad, but they also won't get the cuddles and the slobbery kisses when all is forgiven. But for many others they will find their perfect companion in learning from their pet, by truly accepting the good and the bad and still loving with every fibre of their being all the same, to me that is the perfect companion.

I do believe that when dogs do turn more often than not there is a reason, in fact I would say there is a reason all the time but I can't prove that it is just my belief. I think poor socialisation plays a large role, and like said in the OP I also think expecting too much of a dog. Sadly though it is the dogs who pay the price for what is in many cases the owners mistakes. I currently know a Rottie who is a ticking time bomb, he has an issue with men, has bitten three and tried to go for many others, he will end up being put to sleep and I just hope that no one gets seriously hurt in the process, I blame the owner, no trainers and behaviourists have been called, no attempts have been made to relocate the dog as he is in a housing estate and the dog was poorly socialised in the first place, I think anyone who gets dog should take it with them as many places as possible for at least the first month. It really does wonders and I think would save many dogs lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

i want my dog primarily as a family pet for my son and myself, be friendly with other dogs and always be good with people.

given her breed i also want her to be a hard worker, to push herself in agility etc. it keeps the typical staffie frustration at bay but she's highly driven and loves it so this isnt a problem.

My collies biggest vice is trailers and trucks are a close second - she doesnt mind cars! Obviously she is never off the lead when near moving vehicles (we go to a safe field area for off lead walks) She also has a thing for other dogs, but once she gets to say hello she looses interest. Shes always giving hugs as well - thats a collie thing too!:D

Can I just add for a long time, even in quite areas, I had to use a very long lead with her as I didnt quite 100% trust her, but she has improved a lot and I can now let her off lead and trust her - but only in quiet safe areas.

maggiepip wrote: »
    My collies biggest vice is trailers and trucks are a close second - she doesnt mind cars! Obviously she is never off the lead when near moving vehicles (we go to a safe field area for off lead walks) She also has a thing for other dogs, but once she gets to say hello she looses interest. Shes always giving hugs as well - thats a collie thing too!:D

Can I just add for a long time, even in quite areas, I had to use a very long lead with her as I didnt quite 100% trust her, but she has improved a lot and I can now let her off lead and trust her - but only in quiet safe areas.

I know collie hears me when she is glued to the hedge (that she cannot get through) but she puts it on hold. I used to go after her with a lead but then I decided to try leaving her. So I call, home, food and bye bye, and go, and within a minute she realises I have vanished and races in.

Given the choice of chasing a car, of food and losing me? No contest.

We are blessed with fields to run them in and early on there are few cars or lorries.

Just now she is in collie heaven as there are cattle in one field so she goes into hiding sheep dog mode on our side of the electric fence,

One of the most touching sights in our life with her was finding her there, lying flat, with ten large cows lined up to meet her on the other side.

These are her golden years.

You know its really lovely reading these posts from people who really understand and care so much about their dogs and dogs in general.....cheers me up no end!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

i want my dog primarily as a family pet for my son and myself, be friendly with other dogs and always be good with people.

given her breed i also want her to be a hard worker, to push herself in agility etc. it keeps the typical staffie frustration at bay but she's highly driven and loves it so this isnt a problem.

You cant expect her to always be good with people though. What is she's having an off day and snaps at someone? You wouldnt immediately want her put down, but a lot of people would.

Your responses have restored my faith a little. I was beginning to think dogs were becoming disposable!

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭noddyone2

I just want my dog to be a dog.

He gives me love, affection, loyalty (until my husband comes in from work! :D), companionship and the odd bit of naughtiness.

I give him love, love, affection, loyalty (even when my husband comes in from work! :D), food, warmth, shelter, and generally spoil him rotten.

I don't ask for much and neither does he...
    That's it exactly! Same as our two. One is a 15 year old fox terrier, the other a 3 year old terrier type, whose ma was friendly. As in all things in life, you get out what you put in - affection, loyalty, fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Shhh

I never knew it was possible to fall in love with a dog. I thought "he's just such a cute little a puppy, I will surely get over this once he grows up".. well that didn't happen and four years later i am just as smitten.. I hope and think he is happy living with us as part of our little family. No doubt we have 'humanised' him a bit too much but we still understand his need to run free for at least an hour a day rain or shine, to sniff other dogs bums, chase seagulls at the beach, protect his balls / toys from other dogs with a firm growl, protect the perimeter and bark at magpies.

He gives us more than we could expect, a warm welcome when we come home, crazy excitement before every single walk, a warm cosy body to cuddle up to lying on the sofa.. He even scared away certain burglars who had gotten as far as opening the window one night when we were fast asleep!

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

I was at a dog show yesterday and we took our fella along for a look.
    I was going to enter him in for the craic but was really put off it by the attitude of some of the competitors.
    The snobbery was unreal,finding fault with other peoples dogs,being critical and big upping their own dogs.
    Dogs are lovely big or small,it does not matter if you won't find this special type of dog here or you paid so much for a dog from a certain breeder but any other type that comes from a different breeder is just not good enough.
    Our fella is a member of the family and as we don't have kids he probably thinks he is our son and we let him live such a happy life but he gives way more back in return,end of the day though he has little moments and after all we all have these you got to live and learn and understand he needs direction not punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

We take these animals, we take away their freedom, we expect them to behave in ways that are not natural to them, we make them live to suit us, we separate them from their mammy and daddy ,brothers and sisters, we put them in cages, we tie them up, we operate on them to stop them reproducing, we expect them to protect us, work for us, respect us and obey us. In many cases we abuse them and hurt them.
    It always amazes me when someone goes nuts when a dog growls or bites, if you done all that to me Id peel your skin off and roll you in salt....

What do the dogs do in response ? they wag their tails, they lick you all over, they play and keep you company. They never hold a grudge and are always your friend....

Train the humans not the dogs...

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

2qk4u wrote: »
    We take these animals, we take away their freedom, we expect them to behave in ways that are not natural to them, we make them live to suit us, we separate them from their mammy and daddy ,brothers and sisters, we put them in cages, we tie them up, we operate on them to stop them reproducing, we expect them to protect us, work for us, respect us and obey us. In many cases we abuse them and hurt them.
    It always amazes me when someone goes nuts when a dog growls or bites, if you done all that to me Id peel your skin off and roll you in salt....

What do the dogs do in response ? they wag their tails, they lick you all over, they play and keep you company. They never hold a grudge and are always your friend....

Train the humans not the dogs...
    One of the best posts I have read on boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

Sappa wrote: »
    I was going to enter him in for the craic but was really put off it by the attitude of some of the competitors.
    The snobbery was unreal,finding fault with other peoples dogs,being critical and big upping their own dogs.

you'll usually find that they are the people that have a lot more invested in their dogs than love. winning can mean big bucks in stud prices or litters.

those of us that do it for fun are usually found going around and having the craic with others, not spending every spare second making sure the dog looks perfect :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

I'd be happy if my elderly JR (she'll be 16 tomorrow) would give me a minute or so to respond to her clearly communicated demands before she starts giving out and acting the martyr.

Example include I want :

to get on/off the sofa/ bed NOW,
    to go up/down the stairs NOW,
    10% of whatever you are eating NOW,
    go outside/inside NOW,
    walk/go home NOW.
    Rubs and scratchings/left alone NOW.

:(

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    I'd be happy if my elderly JR (she'll be 16 tomorrow) would give me a minute or so to respond to her clearly communicated demands before she starts giving out and acting the martyr.

Example include I want :

to get on/off the sofa/ bed NOW,
    to go up/down the stairs NOW,
    10% of whatever you are eating NOW,
    go outside/inside NOW,
    walk/go home NOW.
    Rubs and scratchings/left alone NOW.

:(

Only 10%?? Your dog's price is too cheap. Mine demands at least 50%!! :D (Not that he gets that)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Only 10%?? Your dog's price is too cheap. Mine demands at least 50%!! :D (Not that he gets that)

10% is the price for waiting. I am expect to provide the remaining 40% when I have 'finished'. Unless it's an omelette. She's mad for omelettes lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Cruel Sun

I know people won't believe this but a friend of mine trained his dog to drive his motorbike.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Salt001

My dog is so totally part of my life I don't know what we would do with her.
    My hubby feels the same way.
    We had had some sadness in our lives and then we decided to rescue a dog.
    It was the best thing we have every done.She is part of the family, eats with us,steals sorry I mean shares our food :D,sleeps in our bedroom,we don't go anywhere without her unless we have to.
    If we can make her as happy as she has made us then that would be a good thing.
    She also drives me insane with the shedding thing and the muddy paws all over the floor and the sofa and the chairs and us but thats all part of the joy of having a dog in our lives :)