Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kasabian/Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds - Marley Park - 23 August 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Ted!

Any young lads had bags searched just walking near Marlay, so yeah .. impossible to have drinks before, in public at least.

That's not the worst of it though; no drink whatsoever was allowed into the Pit, nor even food, madness.

Doubt Tom Jones fans will be treated so abismily, one hopes not anyway.

Although, in saying all that, scumbag element is sky high, so perhaps the annoying security procedures and alcohol restrictions are an unfortunate necessity these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Looks like they had some fairly serious techincal issues tonight

http://dlremergencyupdates.blogspot.ie/2012/08/marlay-park-concert-curfew-extension.html?m=1

Is curfew normally 11 for Marley park?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭xxyyxx

Kasabian were awesome.

Security was tight and there was lots of Gardai about. Only seen two arrests.

Thankfully the weather behaved for the most part and no mud :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 27,324 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Kasabian we're amazing, Noel Gallagher was grumpy - understandable given the circumstances and getting into the gig was like going to visit someone in prison.

As good as it was, if this is the future of open air gigs in Ireland, I'm done.

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Avox

Kasabian we're amazing, Noel Gallagher was grumpy - understandable given the circumstances and getting into the gig was like going to visit someone in prison.

As good as it was, if this is the future of open air gigs in Ireland, I'm done.

Did it take long to get through the searches etc?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 817 ✭✭✭audman

I'm going to the Guetta gig tomorrow! Any advice? Will I need wellies? Is it next to or near impossible to have a few cans outside the concert site beforehand or is there places to... hide I suppose?! :) Anything else worth knowing? Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

Great night. Was fuming that Noel's set was cut short by a half an hour due to the sound problems. I would've thought they would just let him do the full set (afterall that is how it was advertised) and then have Kasabian go over the curfew. Noel was only on stage for an hour and didn't get to play his usual 20 song setlist - only did 13.

Kasabian put on a great and energetic performance and really got the crowd going. 'Fire' at the end in particular was epic. Security did a great job and broke up a number of fights in the area I was in especially with the mosh pits.

Searches on the way in was over the top but understandable. Was like being at JFK.

I wonder will the sound problems happen again during Sinead O'Connor's set on Saturday. I bet she will explode.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭tedobrien98

SB-08 wrote: »
    I wonder will the sound problems happen again during Sinead O'Connor's set on Saturday. I bet she will explode.:D

She's not playing at it any more (thanks be to jaysus) althought that would be kinda funny to see!! :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

MCD once again f up with the shuttle buses . We went to get the shuttle bus at 6 only to be told that tickets were sold out????? They said we could get them on the day so we had to get the 16 which meant it took us over an hour to get to Marlay and missed most of Noels set . Getting into the venue took forever with the searches . We noticed the sound was'nt great with Noel especially when he was talking we could barely make out what he was saying . Apart from that Kasabian were brilliant as usual and get better and better live

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

MCD once again prove themselves to be utter incompetent pricks.

Millions spent on security, and they can't even manage to rig the sound right, HALF AN HOUR cut from Noels set while the Mr Bean squad tried to sort it out, then when Kasabian came on the fun patrol kick me out of the whole gig for standing beside a guy who got on his mates shoulders!

Spent the forth song listening to a garda apologise about the heavy handed security,and heard the rest of the gig from the three rock smoking area.

MCD, you've outdone yourselves again. I hate you with a raw unbridled passion.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

That was an experience of sorts!!

Getting to Marley Park was a bit of a chore, the shuttle buses were sold out, so had to get a taxi. Ended up car pooling with a girl going out that way on her own, so it wasn't too bad.

We got to the gates at 7:20 and figured we'd get in for Noel, but the searching went on forever! In a queue to get into a queue for plastic bags, to get into the ticket queue for a queue to be searched and finally allowed in.

Even in the airport, I've never had a metal detector over my bum so much :eek: :pac:

Finally got in at around 8:15/8:20 and figured Noel was over... then realised he must have blown the amps and lights to make sure that all the people being frisked could get in to see him ;)

Noel and Kasabian were amazing!! I won't be forgetting Noels set for a long time. And Kasabian were just full of energy and good vibes!
    Overall good tunes!

I am curious though, how did one guy manage to get a flare light/firework thing in to light for the last song, Fire? I was impressed he got it in :D (must not have put it down by his bum) :pac:

Then afterwards... Seven Dublin buses to get back to town... Needless to say, ended up walking half an hour and snaring a taxi with a few other people walking that direction.

I'm surprised Dublin bus didn't put on buses for it, I'm sure they would have gotten €5 nitelink fare to get into town :confused::confused:

A strange, enjoyable and frustrating experience overall.

Best of luck to anyone trying to get into Guetta, you may have to be there 5 hours before just to get in on time :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭xxyyxx

I did wonder how somebody got a flare in. Went in there at 5 and there was no queue. Got a wrist band for the pit too which was great.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭mutley18

Despite Noel's set being cut short and not being able to get into the pit which was half empty, I had a great night. Kasabian were immense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭the_doctor199

Wasn't at the gig but you can't blame the security for the OTT searches after the last month or so's news. I'd prefer it took a little longer to be searched than to become a news story the next day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Joekers

Unreal gig, I know the security was a bit OTT but if it makes the gig more enjoyable once you get in im all for it, was raging about the sound for Noels set.
    Then just before Kasabian came on I managed to blag me and a mate into the pit without wristbands, was delighted.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭aodhan2

Mcd are inept . The security are jumped up little wa nkers on a power trip. My mate in the queue to be searched for the second time said to one , come on for f sake the gig will be over . Gone , police escort . Another had a Capri sun with vodka in his waist band and it fell out been searched . Gone aswell. That to me is ott . They are both 30 and not trouble makers. And I saw others been thrown out for very little . I think a middle ground is needed . But kasabian were unreal . We hired a bus traffic out was bad , coming back was ok. Better than slane anyway !

Zwillinge wrote: »
    That was an experience of sorts!!

Getting to Marley Park was a bit of a chore, the shuttle buses were sold out, so had to get a taxi. Ended up car pooling with a girl going out that way on her own, so it wasn't too bad.

We got to the gates at 7:20 and figured we'd get in for Noel, but the searching went on forever! In a queue to get into a queue for plastic bags, to get into the ticket queue for a queue to be searched and finally allowed in.

Even in the airport, I've never had a metal detector over my bum so much :eek: :pac:

Finally got in at around 8:15/8:20 and figured Noel was over... then realised he must have blown the amps and lights to make sure that all the people being frisked could get in to see him ;)

Noel and Kasabian were amazing!! I won't be forgetting Noels set for a long time. And Kasabian were just full of energy and good vibes!
    Overall good tunes!

I am curious though, how did one guy manage to get a flare light/firework thing in to light for the last song, Fire? I was impressed he got it in :D (must not have put it down by his bum) :pac:

Then afterwards... Seven Dublin buses to get back to town... Needless to say, ended up walking half an hour and snaring a taxi with a few other people walking that direction.

I'm surprised Dublin bus didn't put on buses for it, I'm sure they would have gotten €5 nitelink fare to get into town :confused::confused:

A strange, enjoyable and frustrating experience overall.

Best of luck to anyone trying to get into Guetta, you may have to be there 5 hours before just to get in on time :p

Me and my friend asked a taxi driver on o connell bridge how much it would be to get to Marlay Park and he turned around and said "its too short of a journey and not worth is while":confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Bringbackrafa

aodhan2 wrote: »
    Mcd are inept . The security are jumped up little wa nkers on a power trip. My mate in the queue to be searched for the second time said to one , come on for f sake the gig will be over . Gone , police escort . Another had a Capri sun with vodka in his waist band and it fell out been searched . Gone aswell. That to me is ott . They are both 30 and not trouble makers. And I saw others been thrown out for very little . I think a middle ground is needed . But kasabian were unreal . We hired a bus traffic out was bad , coming back was ok. Better than slane anyway !

kicked out for having drink? shocking. every1 is going to chance their arm bringing in a little bit of drink. Doesn't mean your a trouble maker.

Kasabian

Thanks Marlay Park! Mega

558738_10151021290327045_1715477385_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5 time for tea

anyone want some video of last night gig
    check them out

If this is the wrong section maybe a mod can move it.

What a gig!!

http://www.youtube.com/user/GeniusNoelGallagher

aodhan2 wrote: »

kicked out for having drink? shocking. every1 is going to chance their arm bringing in a little bit of drink. Doesn't mean your a trouble maker.

A Capri sun with vodka in it. I can't understand why a small amount of drink in a plastic container brought in would be a problem . Four pints of piss was 20 euro . Then the holder gets soggy and you carry them , and sure the plastic glasses wobble and you end up with maybe two and half pints for 20 !

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Bringbackrafa

ye shocking beer at concerts tastes rotten. What beer is being sold inside?

Heineken and wine

• Registered Users Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

Great gig once they both got going, was expecting Noel to come out on stage with Kasabian at some point which never materialized.

The random singalong with just Tom on stage at the end of She Loves You by The Beatles was quality.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Kasabian wer epic as always, Noel brilliant.

Guards on a power trip, understand they are follwoing orders and had to show force after last month but there has to be a middle ground. having a can was treated like you were carrying heroin.

Little sign of public drinking as gardai were confiscating everything and taking names in the process. I get that most of these people wouldn't cause trouble but I think its a case of all or nothing. We were 30 mins waiting to get in on the grange road side. The worst of it was they seemed to have some lanes closed. Missed a good chuck of Gallagher.
    Security was really on the ball. I saw a fight near the front and both involved were hauled off by gardai and security despite the packed crowd.
    Enjoyed the gig apart from the long queues to get in.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭DoctorGonzo08

df1985 wrote: »
    Kasabian wer epic as always, Noel brilliant.

Guards on a power trip, understand they are follwoing orders and had to show force after last month but there has to be a middle ground. having a can was treated like you were carrying heroin.

I thought the guards were quite good last night. My mate got his eye split open, and a guy was kicked out for it, but it wasn't the one that hit him. I got the guards and evetually pointed out the guy that did it. The guards, fair play to them, were very patient about the whole thing. What I couldn't understand though was 15 minutes later, both were back in and circling our group. Nothing more happened, but why the hell were they let back in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Kasabain and Noel were epic! Security was tighter than Fort Knox. Seemed to be a lot of Gardaí drafted in from Mayo for some reason?

Didn't transpire to be a muckfest either even though some of the women looked well in their wellies :D

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

Kasabian and Noel both usually play a 20 song setlist each. Due to the technical isssues, Noel only got to do 13 and Kasabian did 16. The gig was still great and well worth 50 quid but it is nonetheless annoying that we missed out on so many songs we should have heard. Only 12,000 tickets sold for the gig which is very surprising. Would've thought there was alot more there last night. Seeing as both have sold out the O2 which holds 14,000 it is a surprise both didn't sell the 22,000. But I suppose Noel has played 4 times in the past year.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Well done security, marine flares, yeah, they're not on the prohibited list, no not at all.

Interesting how the gardai raided the mosh pit in the main crowd at one point but the MCD staff(well, really Sword) never ever go over the rail.