Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Are you happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Pottler wrote: »
    Funny one this. I work, really hard. I've had a fair few lads come to work for me that were pretty depressed for one reason or another, one lad was according to his family, "suicidal". I tend to have a great cure, I work the bollix out of them:) I've had neighbours kids (teens) come work with us that were considered "problem kids" and have become totally different, good manners, good attitude after a week of being with us. My own eldest had a severe attitude problem before I threw him in at the deep end and made him work and be polite at work etc. I think people get a new self respect and a new attitude to life if they are kept so busy they don't have time to be miserable. They also realise they are a lot tougher and more rescourceful than they thought and because they are in an environment with pretty hard men who are respectful but also demand respect in return, their attitude changes for the better.
    Me, I'm happy, I do work I love, I work with great people, I have good, loyal friends. Arbeits macht man frei.:D I've had so many wives ring me and say their man is a totally changed for the better that I've lost count at this stage. Too much thinking is not good, and too much free time leads to too much thinking.:)

Perchance, would you be a producer of pornographic films, sir ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

My computer broke down again. I did a fresh install as it was so close to the last breakdown. I'm not happy, I'm not happy at all.

ScumLord wrote: »
    My computer broke down again. I did a fresh install as it was so close to the last breakdown. I'm not happy, I'm not happy at all.

I think people who are a bit dim are generally more happier, life seems to pass them by leaving them in a trail of contentment.

p.s. what's a computer ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭RumDrinker

Yeah, I am happy. Just today got myself a fishing rod and all the gear and I'm waiting for Friday afternoon when I head off do some fishing.
    Silly? Perhaps, but as long as it makes me happy I don't give a toss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

mattjack wrote: »
    Perchance, would you be a producer of pornographic films, sir ?
    Indeed I am, tis I, Uncle Sorbo, the man who made your very own mother famous in certain circles. Do you not recognise me young Matt?? You yourself were accidentally concieved on one of my shoots, some day perchance we will discover by whom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

right now i can say i'm happy.

i have a job i like (not paid a lot but a job is a job and the people i work with are sound)
    i am seeing a wonderful boardsie
    i'm healthier than i was a few years ago
    i'm not living at home with the ould pair
    i have no outstanding loans
    i am no longer feeling depressed (i was very depressed a few years ago)
    i have plenty of really good friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭prettyrestless

Shryke wrote: »
    That's what I say about depression and illness in general. You never realize how bad you are until you're out the other side.

And what about those who never come out the other side?

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

looking back i class the happiest time of my life my 25th year, i know this now in hindsight, at the time it was good but i never stopped to think my god, im having the time of my life!
    alot of posters here seem to be confusing real happiness with mere contentment. but being content is a great thing too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Are you happy?

Yes I am.

I'm approaching 50 but I'm in good health. I have been fortunate that I have never yet suffered any serious illness. My wife and children are also in excellent health, and our relationship as a family is in good condition.

I am not rich; I never will be. I have a good job and no money issues of note. I still find time to practise and teach karate several times a week, and this gives me a great deal of satisfaction.

Of course like everyone else I've had my share of unhappy times; buried my own and my wife's parents, lost friends to illness, lost friends because our lives have moved apart, lost money because I bought shares in the full knowledge that they might lose their value. This is simply the noise that goes on in the background of life, and it is the sound of a world that continues to change at an ever-increasing rate. Without change there is no joy, without death there is no challenge, and these things are at the very core of a good life.

Happiness is not a cigar called Hamlet, nor any other trite sound-bite that our media waves in our faces. Happiness for me is knowing that I have tried my best to make my own life, and the lives of my loved ones a better experience. Happiness is the friendship and love that I have earned from those who have bestowed it upon me, and that I have given to others. It is the contentment that my life has made a difference to others. I have not achieved all I want, nor will I ever. This is not a bad thing, it is simply the fuel that keeps my motor running.

I am saddened that so many other people live lives of sadness, fear, poverty or illness. In my own small way I do what I can to aid these people, but ultimately I recognise that I cannot change this on my own. I find it tragic that people who have excellent health and good friends trouble themselves over the minutiae and fail to recognise how wonderful their lives are. I feel sorry for those people who suffer from mental health problems which blind them to the joy that is there for the taking. I feel sorry also for those people who have so much, in terms of wealth and good fortune, but who obsess about how to increase their wealth, without any appreciation of how fortunate they are to live as they do. They may as well be poor.

Sorry if my reply is too long-winded. I thought it merited more than as yes/no answer.

Be at peace,

Z

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

Yeah, man

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭validusername1

Not really, spose I'm content but I just feel like there's loads more that I could be doing to fulfill my life and be properly happy.. I'm only young though, I have loads of time so I'm not worried. I know I'll be happy some time. Just gotta get a few things sorted first.. won't bother with the details but it's probably gonna take longer than a while but I'll get there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Sindri wrote: »
    We are an odd bunch. If you consider that we covet what he have once had as well as what we have not had becuase of what we have had you should notice that really happiness is entirely subjective and in fact our predication of happiness is really one we have decided upon or have handed ourselves due to our experiences in life. You decide what makes you happy. Isn't that very odd given how it alludes so many?

Even then I find many people, through lets say pride, are incapable of attaining happiness yet they do this to themselves becuase one notion they have of happiness takes precedence over another, their self-vindication perhaps as an example. Such conflict. Why? (An actual recognized disorder, Narcissistic Personality Disorder, can lead to things such as the above though to be more accurate in that case it's to protect the ego and self esteem).

What's even worse, given our capability to imagine, we may imagine a situation or occurrence that to us is ideal. Yet it may be something that is impossible or near impossible to attain. Yet it is something we ourselves have chosen. You could say why not imagine something else, or nothing at all but part of the happiness we feel is the actual imagining of this fantasy.

Worst of all though is our actual ability to be sad and the fact that you cannot remain happy indefinitely for many many reasons but mainly our capability to be sad as well as neurochemical realities and what's worse that some people are predisposed to the likes of depression. You see things will not always remain in a homeostasis, you will not always be content, things will change, things could always be better as you can imagine it thus, you could suffer from over-entitlement (or some variation of it which you would be likely to do if you were always happy), or things could happen beyond your control.

And what's worse than all that if you consider a fixation one may have that causes them distress, for instance a behavior that happens to be ego-dystonic. A behavior that one is compelled to exhibit but also causes them distress. What do they do? It really is a very sad state of affairs; our conscious intellect and our inherent capability to never be content. It's handed to us at birth; in an already difficult situation.

What what may be worse than that (I know I've said that a lot :P) we demand happiness and our self esteem demands it. It MUST have it, no if or buts. And the only way out of that is depression. Or a fairly competent level of introspection and self awareness.

TL;DR - I've no willy. :D

Well that's fairly ****ing of topic (and a load of shite to boot)...don't mind me ladies and gentlemen I'll just take this thread, it's MY thread, my thread, and I'll do what I want with it...in fact you probably shouldn't read any more of my posts. :pac:

You're my Sheamus.

Indeed I am, tis I, Uncle Sorbo, the man who made your very own mother famous in certain circles. Do you not recognise me young Matt?? You yourself were accidentally concieved on one of my shoots, some day perchance we will discover by whom.
    You're my Sheamus.

Sorbo , the Greek for Sheamus...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

tunedout wrote: »
    what's this sh*t all about? "i take people on and make them happy and mannerly". wtf are you talking about?

He's a sort of modern day Oscar Schlindler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Zen65 wrote: »
    Yes I am.

I'm approaching 50 but I'm in good health. I have been fortunate that I have never yet suffered any serious illness. My wife and children are also in excellent health, and our relationship as a family is in good condition.

I am not rich; I never will be. I have a good job and no money issues of note. I still find time to practise and teach karate several times a week, and this gives me a great deal of satisfaction.

Of course like everyone else I've had my share of unhappy times; buried my own and my wife's parents, lost friends to illness, lost friends because our lives have moved apart, lost money because I bought shares in the full knowledge that they might lose their value. This is simply the noise that goes on in the background of life, and it is the sound of a world that continues to change at an ever-increasing rate. Without change there is no joy, without death there is no challenge, and these things are at the very core of a good life.

Happiness is not a cigar called Hamlet, nor any other trite sound-bite that our media waves in our faces. Happiness for me is knowing that I have tried my best to make my own life, and the lives of my loved ones a better experience. Happiness is the friendship and love that I have earned from those who have bestowed it upon me, and that I have given to others. It is the contentment that my life has made a difference to others. I have not achieved all I want, nor will I ever. This is not a bad thing, it is simply the fuel that keeps my motor running.

I am saddened that so many other people live lives of sadness, fear, poverty or illness. In my own small way I do what I can to aid these people, but ultimately I recognise that I cannot change this on my own. I find it tragic that people who have excellent health and good friends trouble themselves over the minutiae and fail to recognise how wonderful their lives are. I feel sorry for those people who suffer from mental health problems which blind them to the joy that is there for the taking. I feel sorry also for those people who have so much, in terms of wealth and good fortune, but who obsess about how to increase their wealth, without any appreciation of how fortunate they are to live as they do. They may as well be poor.

Sorry if my reply is too long-winded. I thought it merited more than as yes/no answer.

Be at peace,

Z

You're my seamus (os should I say you're shopaholic01's seamus?).

Excellent post - it's amazing how we overlook the simple things in life and yearn for material things we think will make us happy, instead of appreciating what we already have. Now, if I could only follow your logic I'd be delirious.

I'm with Happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

blacklilly wrote: »
    Im turning 26 in 37 minutes,this makes me unhappy

I hate to break it to you but you're going to have between 30-50+ other big disappointments in your life after this birthday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭mongdesade

No...I'm a miserable cúnt, but I'm happy being that way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Very very happy currently although more than aware how tenuous a predicament that can be...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

The happiest I've been has been the last 8 months thanks to 1 special person. Unfortunately they have gone away now and will be gone for quite sometime and this month I've lost a family member so I'm finding it very hard at the moment.

It's always been a rollercoaster for me in regards to happiness and sadness and I always remind myself that there are people out there who have had to deal with much much worse, these are the people I admire for being so mentally strong that they not just cope but learn to be happy again.

Now I just have to ride out the next 6 months in the hope of things returning back to the way they have been the last 8 months.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Am I happy - No

Why am I not happy, because I spend 90% of my life doing things I don't want to do, Work, etc...

I spend my life making money for someone else.

I will NEVER be happy unless I am snorting cocaine off hookers knockers, basically I want to be Charlie Sheen, he is my idle.

Also very few ppl are true to themselves, Charlie is though

I am following what society expects of me, to work in middle class, pay my taxes and keep my mouth shut

• Registered Users Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭ronjo

Although I turned 40 this year I am as happy as I have ever been.

Beautiful wife, beautiful daughter, all have our health thankfully, ok job, mortgage free house and a few quid in my pocket..... Plus I get to play golf every week in decent weather :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Not happy no, but im trying to change it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

I'm happy however i'm (as always) looking forward to see what crappy situation is coming down the road to throw a wabbly however that wabbly should be overcome.

Something bad is coming though I can sense it the last couple of months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

Not happy but not overly miserable.

I'll be happy when I've all the bull**** cut out of my life. Just recently fell into the trap but I'll be grand once I get busy and get out with my mates again. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

As Lady Gaga puts it "Happy in the club with a bottle of red wine" :D always helps :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Yes, I'm happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

"The pursuit for happiness" is a myth. A mass delusion perpetuated by the self-indulgent middle-classes. You're better off settling for a tolerable level of misery, dulling your senses with substance abuse and hope every day it doesn't get any worse. Though it will anyway.

When I was a kid the world was a bucket of feckin rainbows....then I grew up

It's grand though. For me it's actually getting better!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

I hadn't been happy for about a year and was definitely miserable since Christmas. I worked up the courage to visit a GP recently and was prescribed a course of anti-depressants. Honestly, I think this was the best thing I've done for myself in years. My outlook has completely changed; I'm not pi$$ed off all the time, tired or feeling wretched anymore. I can focus on tasks and have started to make big changes in my life. I'm annoyed with myself for not seeking help sooner but I'm so glad that I've done it now.

Despite my apparently outgoing personality, I'm actually very private and I haven't told any of my friends or family about this. It took me a long, long time to reach out and I can understand someone else feeling like it's too daunting but I would really encourage you to do it if things are just becoming too much. GPs are really understanding and you don't need to "convince them" (like I thought I would have to) by telling them all the gory details.

Maybe AH isn't the place for a post like this (and I certainly thought a long time before submitting it to the thread) but I think I would have benefited from reading it several months ago and I hope it will strike a chord with another user who might need some encouragement.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Funny one this. I work, really hard. I've had a fair few lads come to work for me that were pretty depressed for one reason or another, one lad was according to his family, "suicidal". I tend to have a great cure, I work the bollix out of them:) I've had neighbours kids (teens) come work with us that were considered "problem kids" and have become totally different, good manners, good attitude after a week of being with us. My own eldest had a severe attitude problem before I threw him in at the deep end and made him work and be polite at work etc. I think people get a new self respect and a new attitude to life if they are kept so busy they don't have time to be miserable. They also realise they are a lot tougher and more rescourceful than they thought and because they are in an environment with pretty hard men who are respectful but also demand respect in return, their attitude changes for the better.
    Me, I'm happy, I do work I love, I work with great people, I have good, loyal friends. Arbeits macht man frei.:D I've had so many wives ring me and say their man is a totally changed for the better that I've lost count at this stage. Too much thinking is not good, and too much free time leads to too much thinking.:)

Herr Kommandant, where is your 'work camp'?

No. I haven't been happy for most of my life actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Cheers now I feel depressed

This should cheer you up :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Captain Graphite

I wouldn't say I'm happy but I am definitely less unhappy now than I have been for a long time. Which is nice. :) Had been on anti-depressant medication since late 2009 but have been off them nearly two months now!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Syllabus

Im turning 26 in 37 minutes,this makes me unhappy

when i was 26 there was no recession and i was skinnier

this makes me unhappy:mad: