Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How to attract an Irish woman...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Or you could just lower your standards altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Ah lads stop takign the piss out of the poor fella and tell him the truth

OP - you need something called 'road frontage' :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Pedant wrote: »
    Man: "Hey, want to fuck? I'll tell you my name later."

Typical Irish woman: "Sounds great! My place or yours?"

Are homosexuals any different?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

lol

you have to have to have a few different tactic for irish women its all age dependant.
    18-23 cheeky chap, have laods of mates, get drunk, buy chips = laid
    24-29 be an asshole, treat them like ****e, they will flock liek seagulls
    30-35 cash,cash,cash oh and own ur own huse, they drip for that
    36 on they will take any combination of teh above desperation kicks in!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭crazyderk

now now we all you know you cant chat up a ginger because gingers dont have souls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

Well you could try to act like a drunken Irish man:

Approach your chosen woman from behind and maul her - this works particularly well if you have a beer belly to press against her back.
    When she turns around slur something incoherent - if you've vomited recently stand closer so she can smell it.
    Spill drink on her shoes.
    Continue to slur incoherently whilst looking at her boobs and make obscene gesture e.g. grind your hips, put your middle and index fingers either side of your mouth and move your tongue 'provocatively'.
    If this fails assume she is a lesbian, insult her and go laugh about her with your friends.

Or, you could try the non-Irish/ less drunken approach:
    Smile, make eye contact and have a normal conversation, be slighty cheeky, yet funny.

I recommend the second option;).

Hahaha if I could thank this I would!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

nbar12 wrote: »
    Hahaha if I could thank this I would!

'Tis sad, but true ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭deisebibo

Well you could try to act like a drunken Irish man:

Approach your chosen woman from behind and maul her - this works particularly well if you have a beer belly to press against her back.
    When she turns around slur something incoherent - if you've vomited recently stand closer so she can smell it.
    Spill drink on her shoes.
    Continue to slur incoherently whilst looking at her boobs and make obscene gesture e.g. grind your hips, put your middle and index fingers either side of your mouth and move your tongue 'provocatively'.
    If this fails assume she is a lesbian, insult her and go laugh about her with your friends.

Or, you could try the non-Irish/ less drunken approach:
    Smile, make eye contact and have a normal conversation, be slighty cheeky, yet funny.

I recommend the second option;).

I recommend it too, got a little bit sick in my mouth reading the above, at the sadness of how true it is lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Get yourself one of these

Kolido wrote: »
    Get yourself one of these

Did you find that successful yourself???? :P

deisebibo wrote: »
    Did you find that successful yourself???? :P

He's probably the man who got caught having sex with his dog:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

seanmc1980 wrote: »
    lol

you have to have to have a few different tactic for irish women its all age dependant.
    18-23 cheeky chap, have laods of mates, get drunk, buy chips = laid
    24-29 be an asshole, treat them like ****e, they will flock liek seagulls
    30-35 cash,cash,cash oh and own ur own huse, they drip for that
    36 on they will take any combination of teh above desperation kicks in!!

hahah, I probably shouldn't say this...but its kinda true!

sorry

He's probably the man who got caught having sex with his dog:D.

LMAO it takes all sorts I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

If you want an irish girl..You have to:

be a guard, carpenter, electrican
    MUST play GAA
    Wear a short sleave shirt and gold chain on a nite out and Catipilar boots
    Tell them a story of how you bet a guy up years ago.
    Ignore her general ugliness and the fact that she lets herself go during the week.
    Smile as she drinks pints on nites out
    dont look confused if you cant find the spare tyre in the boot, shes wearing it.
    listen to her bitch about her best friend
    ask her nicely to wash your Subaru rally jacket that you spilt coldslaw on last nite

I was going to start a 'How to attract an Irish man' thread, but I would have started and finished it myself:rolleyes:.

1. Display a certain amount (but not too much) of boob/leg etc.
    2. Look at him.
    3. Be bold and ask a guy if he wants to go home with you.

Pretty much it:cool:

I was going to start a 'How to attract an Irish man' thread, but I would have started and finished it myself:rolleyes:.

1. Display a certain amount (but not too much) of boob/leg etc.
    2. Look at him.
    3. Be bold and ask a guy if he wants to go home with you.

Pretty much it:cool:

Ya i agree

Carson10 wrote: »

MUST play GAA
    Ignore her general ugliness and the fact that she lets herself go during the week.
    dont look confused if you cant find the spare tyre in the boot, shes wearing it.
    ask her nicely to wash your Subaru rally jacket that you spilt coldslaw on last nite

Guess who's from a remote rural area:p?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Concentrate on the ugly lassie in the crowd first OP,the one you really want won't like this at all and will be striving for your attention at all costs.
    Do not buy her a drink at any stage,just so she knows you're in favor of equal rights tell her what your favorite tipple is.
    Tell her a sarcastic joke and explain it to her afterwards,but obviously not in too demeaning kind of way.Chuckle to yourself sporadically and when she asks what it was you were thinking,tell her she wouldn't understand.
    When the end of the night comes bid her farewell as you must return to your wife and kids.
    Carry cash to pay for the hotel room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Pedant

It's one thing to question the standards of Irish women, but homophobic!! That's totally uncalled for!!!

Carson10 wrote: »

MUST play GAA

I think you mean "How to attract a culchie" or "I was recently dumped and am bitter".

It's one thing to be misogynistic, but homophobic!! That's totally uncalled for!!!

What was homophobic about what I asked?

Don't be a stereotype, deep breaths, calm down, it was a basic and genuine question.

What was homophobic in what I asked?

Don't be a stereotype, deep breaths, calm down, it was a basic and genuine question.

Simple rule of thumb:

Questioning homosexuality = homophobic

Doesn't matter in what context.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Just do the opposite of what Irish guys do...you might have a chance then:p

Oh btw I don't think there are many red heads around with freckles anymore.

What was homophobic in what I asked?

Simple rule of thumb:

Well that statement is ridiculous. Don't be so heterophobic in future. :rolleyes:

You must be a teenager...

Simple rule of thumb:

It's acceptable to make reference to and question heterosexuality.

To say that you cannot question or make any reference to homosexuality is in essence treating gay people differently.
    That in itself is homophobic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

cover yourself in cheap beer and curse and say feck a lot.....no only kidding be yourself and have manners and that and no cheesy chat up lines ..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Chat them up sober an you're way ahead of the pack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Chat them up sober an you're way ahead of the pack.

Latin American men have no qualms about doing that anyway. They have balls and and that's attractive in itself.

To say that you cannot question or make any reference to homosexuality is in essence treating gay people differently.

Look up the definition of "homophobia", or indeed "phobia". It's the fear of or antipathy towards homosexuals. Treating someone differently doesn't mean you loathe that person, it could mean the exact opposite. You may reference homosexuality, but not question it.

Nobody fûcking questioned homosexuality. You made a generalisation about heterosexual people and the same thing re. being promiscuous, can be applied to homosexuals too.

On a side note, people can question whatever the hell they like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 181 ✭✭Dr.Strange

Are you a homosexual? Serious question.

Dr.Strange wrote: »

I am an oxymoron.

BunShopVoyeur wasn't questioning homosexuality - he/she simply asked if the method used to attract heterosexuals was any different to the method used to attract homosexuals. No homophobic sentiment was expressed or implied, nor was homosexuality questioned.

You replied that questioning homosexuality = homophobic.

I am well aware of what 'phobia' means, perhaps I should have used 'discrimination'.

Nobody fûcking questioned homosexuality. You made a generalisation about heterosexual people and the same thing re. being promiscuous, can be applied to homosexuals too.

On a side note, people can question whatever the hell they like.

It's different when questioning a marginalised group.

I am an oxymoron.

Your a lesbian that likes blokes?

Dr.Strange wrote: »

A quick look at post history says that he is. It's worrying that he believes that you cannot in any way reference homosexuality if it's not in a positive light.

Bizarre outlook.

So it's ok to question and ridicule the majority. That means you condone treating homosexuals differently.

You're right about one thing - you are an oxymoron.

A quick look at post history says that he is. It's worrying that he believes that you cannot in any way reference homosexuality if it's not in a positive light.

Bizarre outlook.

Probably hypersensitive when references to sexuality are concerned.

Understandable to certain extent when there is so much mocking and jeering of gays in society that is seemed to be acceptable.

Pedant wrote:

You're making yourself look foolish.

Can you explain to me please why it's fine for you to make a sweeping statement about the sexual habits of straight people yet the same statement when applied to your own social group is suddenly offensive?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 39 johnjoe7

Good-looking Man: "Hey, want to fuck? I'll tell you my name later."

FYP.

You're making yourself look foolish.

Can you explain to me please why it's fine for you to make a sweeping statement about the sexual habits of straight people yet the same statement when applied to your own social group is suddenly offensive?

He's actually marginalising himself.

I would just like to make it clear that I am not homophobic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,134 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

crfcaio wrote: »

So, my dear AH peeps, what are your advice on dating Irish women?

If you haven't got access to the birth certificate you have to resort to carbon-dating or the much messier tree-type dating technique.

Man: "Hey, want to fuck? I'll tell you my name later."

Pedant, I am an Irish heterosexual woman. You have implied that I am a slut who will have sex with any stranger who offers.

Do you have a problem with heterosexuality?

He's actually marginalising himself.

I would just like to make it clear that I am not homophobic.

Neither am I.

I just can't stand the double standards that he's spouting.

Pedant, I am an Irish heterosexual woman. You have implied that I am a slut who will have sex with any good-looking stranger who offers.

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Don't bother with Irish women mate
    They do nothing but argue and moan and bitch bout every other woman they know

Oh wait that women in general

johnjoe7 wrote: »
    FYP.

Heads up for you - it's usually the ugly men who think this.

johnjoe7 wrote: »
    Pedant, I am an Irish heterosexual woman. You have implied that I am a slut who will have sex with any good-looking stranger who offers.

FYP.

Well.........that's not true is it?

Have a good cry, you'll get over her.

Don't bother with Irish women mate
    They do nothing but argue and moan and bitch bout every other woman they know

Don't forget how they're obnoxious and have standards way above their own levels of attractiveness.
    Oh wait that women in general

True, but go anywhere outside of Ireland and you'll see a massive improvement.