Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

101 things Irish mammys and daddys say..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Kamjana wrote: »
    That fella in the video is a right dope.

My mum says that all the time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

AH->Cool vids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,592 ✭✭✭patmac

Surprised no one mentioned this yet.
    'Have you clean underwear on, what happens if you get knocked over by a car?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Naid23

Gerrrup them stairs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,600 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

"You'll eat that dinner before it eats you"

"Why are you not wearing your coat, is it an ornament"

"Bless yourself before you leave the house"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭I_smell_fear

"Get up that yard and help your father"

When watching The Simpsons at six the father walks: "is the news on yet?" as if he didn't know

"Go easy on that salt/ketchup, you'll poison yourself"

"You'd swear it was a hotel ye were living in!"

"Have ye nothing better to be doing?"

"Ye're dinner is on the table" when they want to help serve it or set the table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Naid23

My dad still says this...

'do you see a taxi sign on top of the car... Swear i was a taxi'
    Funny thing is that he was a taxi driver... Cracks himself up when he says it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ilyana

'You're getting on my last nerve'

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Don't answer me while I'm interrupting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

"I'm giving you til the count of 3, ONE.............TWO...........TWO AND A HALF!"

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

One , Two ......Smack!!!!:eek:

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,929 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

gara wrote: »
    My mother is a great fan of doing endless loads of washing when there's "right drying out" :)

Oh god, I do that too :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭snoopmadra

'keep goin,go on keep goin..............THATS IT' *whack*

'I'm warning you now boy'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

" eat your feckin dinner, there's childer starvin' in Biafra "

" get up that yard "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

'Do you mean to tell me that you think that that's acceptable behaviour in this house ? Do you ? Well ? Do You ? What do you have to say for yourself DON'T INTERRUPT ME"

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

DA : Xbox 360??? I'll XBox 360 you!!!

Me : :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Greenduck

Tis mad weather, you wouldnt know what to be wearin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

"Get off that Playstation!!"

I dont own a playstation, it's an xbox.

He has a face like a bulldog chewing a wasp.

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭trinz23

walk inside "take off that coat or you won't get the benefit of it when you get out"

walk outside "put on that coat, you'll catch your death"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

dont go straight out after a shower, you'll catch your death...your pores are open

ye curr ye

is there a money tree out in the back garden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭snoopmadra

'shut up ya fool'

dont go straight out after a shower, you'll catch your death...your pores are open

ye curr ye

is there a money tree out in the back garden?

That reminds me...
    Do ya think money comes out of a hole in the wall??
    Ehhh yeah!
    Unless your worth Ulster Bank ofcourse.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Wibbles19

When you would run to Mammy to sort out the latest fight with a sibling
    "I'll give you who began it"

For years I thought "whobeganit" was an actual word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,765 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

My friend told me a good one after he came back from a week up at his cousins in Belfast. It was pissing rain all week and his auntie was getting fed up with having her own kids as well as another one from Clare hanging around inside the house all week. She finally flipped after a few days and told the kids to get out of her sight.

Her eldest said
    "But Ma, it's raining ootside and there's nawtin' to do!"

She replied
    "Can ye not think of anything? just g'way ootside and throw some stones at the R.U.C or somethin!!!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

never put anything smaller than your elbow in your ear(but thats to make sure you dont get anything stuck in your ear lol)

another parental classic is dont do that youll lose an eye,which in many cases you probably could have

or come back to me and stay right there dont move be a statue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭thinks too much

me: Man can i go out to the teenage disco tonight
    mam: go ask your dad
    me: dad can i go out to the teenage disco tonight
    dad: go ask your mam

look at the cut of you, your dirtier than a back arab

did you wash behind your ears

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

I'm loving this thread, nice to know it's not just my parents that are nuts!

The most confusing one I ever heard from my mother was:
    "Don't you dare look at me in that tone of voice..."

I still can't figure it out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Elbow

Mam: "what have we reared john"

Dad: "tramps Mary.....tramps"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭confusticated

Simply Red wrote: »
    Me: Can i go/get/have............
    Mam: no
    Me: Please!
    Me: pleeeeeeeeeeease!
    Me: pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeasssssse!
    Mam: We'll see
    Me: yesssssssssssssssss!

My brother: We'll see means no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I'll box the ears of ye and throw you out de window!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Cocolola

"Drink some flat 7up"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

"You might sweep the floor..."

"You might wash the saucepans..."

"You might put the clothes out on the line..."

I might not. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭kkelly77

Oul wan sayings:

"Sure this is ish"

"You can't go out with nothing but a shift on ye"

De fuq is a shift?!!

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭HandsomeDivil

I plugged out the iron didn't I?

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭Rich11

"back in my day.................................."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

Wibbles19 wrote: »
    When you would run to Mammy to sort out the latest fight with a sibling
    "I'll give you who began it"

For years I thought "whobeganit" was an actual word

the awkward moment when I realise my mother wasn't saying 'whoopy gannet'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

If you were misbehaving or being an annoying little bollox in general "quick, come over here the guards are walking down, dont let them see ya!".

I was also lead to believe that "the guards have eyes in the back of their heads". Which to me, a child, took it as they actually had eyes hidden behind their hair on the back and it terrified me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Instead of just recounting some event, spending a full five minutes at the beginning figuring out in which year it happened, even though it's not important to the story whatsoever.

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Den_M

You're not leaving the house looking like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

In our house, we had a variation on the "Do you know who died?" line.

Ma (or Da): Do you know who died?

Me: No, who?

Ma: Niall Butterley.

Me: Sorry Ma, don't remember him.

Ma: You do, you do. [unspoken thought at back of my head: no Ma, I really, really don't...] He was married to a Corbett from Rush - you know the Corbetts? The Grandda Corbett was caught nicking coal just after the war and did six months in the 'Joy. Anyhow, Niall Butterley married Maureen Corbett - she was the second eldest I think - and they had that young wan with the lazy eye and the ginger hair. He used to work in the dairy in Laytown until he got laid off, so Maureen got a job with the hosiery factory which didn't pay well, but she never wanted for nylon surgical supports a day in her life. That Niall Butterley. You do remember him.

Me: [still no idea who Niall Butterley is, but admitting defeat and slowly losing will to live] Yeah ma, I remember him.

Ma: Well he's dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

If the wind changes you'll be stuck like that.

Your hand will stick up in the grave, young lady.

Tell me now, if everyone else went and jumped off the bridge, would you have to go too?

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ItAintMeBabe

"Come here and fix that hair/change that jumper/wash your face....YOU'RE LIKE NO ONE'S CHILD!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ilyana

'You can pierce whatever you want, but not when you're under my roof'

My house my rules.
    Do as I say not as I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

'It's a great day for drying'
    'Go to blaze's'
    'Giving me the scour'
    Various conversations of her contemplating whether to put the clothes out on the line.
    'If I put the clothes out now it'll surely rain'
    'As x used to say'
    'Go play in the traffic'
    'You've had a tough day have you créatúr?
    'What's the bread situation'
    'You might do 'x' for me' - nothing to do with might......:pac:
    Listening carefully to the death notices on the radio to check if she knows anyone who has died.
    There are loads more that I just can't think of at the moment!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

"He can't be dead, I only saw him last week!"

• Registered Users Posts: 1 deiseaj

"get away from that thing (computer) it'll make you sick"
    "ahhh.... people can't actually catch computer virus's mam"...
    "how do you know that???"

"too much of that (computer/beer/mobile phone) will blow your brains"

"its true, I heard it on Billy McCarthy / Joe Duffy"

"its true, I heard it in town....no I don't know who from, it doesn't matter" (random strangers never tell you lies like........)

(after listening to the deaths on the radio) " I suppose I better get up and do a bit since I wasn't on it today"

(sees you doing something she doesn't understand or has no interest in) "sure you're not doing anything there you could do ..... for me"

(looking for a discount on something) "she's just an orphan I found somewhere,and me a poor widow woman"

"I don't know anything about that, there was none of that in our time.. that's a new fangled invention" (covers everything from lesbians to remote controls)

"are you wearing a coat?" (do I look like I'm wearing a... oh Jesus,never mind....."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

deiseaj wrote: »
    (after listening to the deaths on the radio) " I suppose I better get up and do a bit since I wasn't on it today"

Thanked purely for that one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,600 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

My father used to say "You can't be got into bed at night and can't be got out of it in the mornings".