Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another article on our Scumbag counterparts here in Australia

• 29-06-2012 5:20am
    Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0629/1224318966338.html?via=mr

At this stage there is not much left to be said aside from the fact that I think that every Irish person coming over should be means tested/have a minimum standard of education and references or something to keep the scumbags and lowlifes out.

Living in North Bondi my ventures through Bondi Junction at the weekend I notice more and more AirMax/Cap wearing scrotes about the place. Main reason I have not had a drink in the Junction in over a year now.

It is truly heart breaking to constantly have our nationality dragged through the mud over and over again. This whole, sure the English are doing it for years lines is not a valid justification in my book either. We have to take responsibility for our own and unfortunately now it seems like the vast majority are ruining it for the few who want to make a life here.

Yes unfortunately I do think it is the majority at this stage or maybe very close to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭manlad

I've came across similar in Melbourne. Met up with a friend in St Kilda on saturday and walking along the street were two girls still in pyjamas drinking bottles of VB. I felt like I was back home for a few minutes. I thought that they were maybe australian but turned out the were Irish after hearing their accents. Its very cringeworthy to be honest and embarassing to have people like this represent your country away from home.

The majority of Irish people are good at integrating but there are still a certain few who only hang around with Irish, drink in Irish pubs and make no attempt to integrate. Everyone to their own I guess but they also have to remember their in a different country.

I've enjoyed the experience so much more from making aussie and Kiwi friends and trying out different places every week instead of sticking to the norm.

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭markymark21

Its to be expected really. It takes 20 minutes to get a WHV, flights are cheap and with everyone hearing that the streets are paved with gold in OZ its fairly predictable that Oz will be full of no-hoper's from Ireland

But WHV spend a lot of money while over here so I don't see the Australian government changing its policy of handing out WHV like candy.

Although I'd wish they'd make it easier for someone who's job isn't on the skilled occupation list to stay longer :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭lippy11

We'll be all tarnished with the same brush soon :( Only takes a few scummers to take the whole nationality down!!

Some of us are over here to make a new life for ourselves because we can't see a future at home for ourselves.. Then you have that lot who just come over here because they think they're going to get an easy ride and work is just going to be thrown at them and they're all going to be millionaires in no time :/

Really think the WHV requirements need to be re-evaluated...

• Registered Users Posts: 665 ✭✭✭sponge_bob

Did anyone else read that article with an Australian accent?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

lippy11 wrote: »
    We'll be all tarnished with the same brush soon :( Only takes a few scummers to take the whole nationality down!!

Some of us are over here to make a new life for ourselves because we can't see a future at home for ourselves.. Then you have that lot who just come over here because they think they're going to get an easy ride and work is just going to be thrown at them and they're all going to be millionaires in no time :/

Really think the WHV requirements need to be re-evaluated...

Remember it's a working Holiday visa not a route to sponsorship visa (or something like that).

From the Oz visa website:
    "This visa allows you to supplement the cost of your holiday through short-term employment. However, if your primary reason for travelling to Australia is to participate in the work force, you should consider a visa designed for that purpose."
    http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/417/

I'm not condoning what these guys are doing and I'm glad the police have gotten involved here.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I wear airmax but don't have a cap so Im ok:p

We were staying in a real nice place in Northbridge, about 80% of people there are Iirsh. Then one day it took in a few scummers from all around Ireland. One lad in paticular was talking about rape and everything, the rest including him were on crack and E's or what ever. Messy people, they stayed for a week and were trouble. Scum!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Well, the Aussies are letting them in, so nothing can be done. They don't know a scumbag Paddy from a regular Paddy. They are as entitled as the next person to a WHV even though they are an embarrassment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

I've personally had to black list Northridge ( likewise with Bondi in Sydney ) as a place to stay in Perth when I go after hearing all the horror stories concerning Irish scummers in the area.

Among there not being much work where I live, I'm also going because it's a once in a lifetime thing I've put off for too long ( and one of my hobbies means I won't have a problem making Aussie friends. ) The fact the good guys are gotten tarnished by the scum bags irritates me a lot. :mad:

The best thing we can do is disassociate ourselves from these scum bags as much as possible. That's what I plan on doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭Nedbroy

I'm not going to worry about a bunch of idiots 'tarnishing' Ireland's reputation. At the end of the day the only person you can represent here is yourself and anyone who treats you differently because of what they've read or heard without giving you a chance is not worth getting to know imo. Don't understand why some people get so het up over these articles. Unfortunately idiots are a fact of life no matter where you are.

They are not my counterparts either

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Nedbroy wrote: »
    I'm not going to worry about a bunch of idiots 'tarnishing' Ireland's reputation. At the end of the day the only person you can represent here is yourself and anyone who treats you differently because of what they've read or heard without giving you a chance is not worth getting to know imo. Don't understand why some people get so het up over these articles. Unfortunately idiots are a fact of life no matter where you are.

Well said, agree 100%.

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭Cooperspale

It's a shame that negative news always grabs more headlines than the positive.

A scumbag will generally remain a scumbag whether he's in Bondi or Ballyfermot (I have just randomly picked these places, no insults intended)

As long as they leave when the WHV is up. I'll be happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭skipz

That man who put the add on Gumtree Perth "Bricklayer wanted , NO IRISH" had every right to I my mind.

But its just a small group people and the media again blowing things up again really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Nedbroy wrote: »

This

Very poorly written article. Sadly that reflects the standard of journalism in Ireland these days. I love the bit about the guy saying "no Europeans. Only Koreans". Yeh good man, lets tar about a billion people with the one brush. Swedes, Italians, Swiss, the full shabang!. How can anybody take this article seriously after reading that. To be honest "no Europeans" is a bit racist. Speaking of racism, I was chilling out watching a local footy match today (just happened to be in the area, not through any love of the sport) and I overheard a conversation between some middle aged Aussies. One person referred to his sister in law as "Ping Pong". 30 seconds later he mentioned she was Chinese. I could just as easily tar all Aussies as racist, but I wont as it is not true. The same way that all Irish aren't scumbags wrecking the joint. Minority of people in all countries are just pricks. Nothing you can do about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭markymark21

Pisco Sour wrote: »
    This

Very poorly written article. Sadly that reflects the standard of journalism in Ireland these days. I love the bit about the guy saying "no Europeans. Only Koreans". Yeh good man, lets tar about a billion people with the one brush. Swedes, Italians, Swiss, the full shabang!.

I was looking for work down the Margaret River on the vineyards last week. One of the lads who has work said his vineyard will now only take Koreans or other Asians as they'll work harder, longer and probably for less money...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

This thread is like Anti-Social behaviour in Perth Mark II .....remember that thread and the accusations of tar brushing, bit of a sweeping generalisation to say that these people are scumbags. They are probably not scumbags at all but just young Irish people having the craic, scumbags are house breakers, drug dealers, muggers, rapists. I wouldn't class a bunch of rowdy backpackers as scumbags.

Last month it was Northbridge this month it's Prosperpine, same old story it wasn't us... It was the scumbags.

skipz wrote: »
    That man who put the add on Gumtree Perth "Bricklayer wanted , NO IRISH" had every right to I my mind.

But its just a small group people and the media again blowing things up again really.

Wonder how many Irish lads rang him for the craic when the add appeared:D

• Registered Users Posts: 11 RonnieLimerick

How would i go about starting a thread about all the eastern european and african scumbags who have descended on Ireland , would that be allowed ? how about my Asiatic neighbor who used to sell drugs to 50 people a day and the moment the census lady arrived he vanished without filling in the form , we didn't need mass immigration to fill up my local park with homeless drunks who spend all day begging fighting and pissing in public , we used to have Irish people to fill that situation ,

are all these stories about drunken Celtic pups , just to deflect attention from all the eastern european crime gangs , african drug cartels ?

seems like a cover story to me !

• Registered Users Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

How would i go about starting a thread about all the eastern european and african scumbags who have descended on Ireland , would that be allowed ? how about my Asiatic neighbor who used to sell drugs to 50 people a day and the moment the census lady arrived he vanished without filling in the form , we didn't need mass immigration to fill up my local park with homeless drunks who spend all day begging fighting and pissing in public , we used to have Irish people to fill that situation ,

are all these stories about drunken Celtic pups , just to deflect attention from all the eastern european crime gangs , african drug cartels ?

seems like a cover story to me !

I agree it is being spouted in general media like OMG look at this. We have never seen the like. The Irish go over to Aus, take all the jobs then destroy the place. Damn them all to hell. Like the same thing hasn't happened in every bloody country with different nationalities.

And it is the same story. The Aussies were delighted with Irish backpackers coming over to do the shítty jobs they didn't want to do. Now they want the jobs so they squeal the Irish are taking them all. They are complaining about the few Irish who behave disgracefully by saying that it is all Irish the same.

Jeez we have done the same thing here. We were grateful to the Poles etc to come over and do our menial jobs at the height of the boom, now we complain that they have taken over!! (I am not complaining here just comparing).

But you would think the way the media report it that the Irish doing it is the first instance of it ever happening and that we are a disgrace to our national identity. FFS.

sponge_bob wrote: »
    Wonder how many Irish lads rang him for the craic when the add appeared:D

I phoned it and the man who answered was English.

mandrake04 wrote: »
    I phoned it and the man who answered was English.

Did he get really pissed off when he heard you'r irish accent:D
    you could go on to tell him that you don't mind putting in a good solid 4 days a week if you have too.:D

sponge_bob wrote: »
    Did he get really pissed off when he heard you'r irish accent:D
    you could go on to tell him that you don't mind putting in a good solid 4 days a week if you have too.:D

I phoned and asked for Chris, he said there was no Chris here and hung up.

I didn't even get a chance to tell him I had his address.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

hdowney wrote: »
    The Aussies were delighted with Irish backpackers coming over to do the shítty jobs they didn't want to do. Now they want the jobs so they squeal the Irish are taking them all. .

They do in my hole. Rather than focusing all their energy on who can deal with the handful of boat people, most of whom would work their socks off if admitted and given legal status, the Australian public should be asking their leaders why the taxpayer is supporting the 5% of the potential Australian workforce who, because the benefit system is so easy, point blank refuse to work. Politics in this country is like something from a Chris Morris skit.

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭raymann

Diddler82 wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/0629/1224318966338.html?via=mr This whole, sure the English are doing it for years lines is not a valid justification in my book either.

they dont seem to have a bad reputation at all in oz from my experience. they certainly didnt send the type of people that we are sending over en mass. do we have to blame them for everything...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Its true that its not everybody and that they aren't necessarily scumbags, but fact of the matter is, its going to make getting employment more difficult for everybody if there are a load of little fcukers running around in the streets pis$ing and fighting and making eejits out of themselves.
    The upside is that they won't last too long out here, they'll drink their cash and go somewhere else, or get escorted to the departure gate or get the living sh1t kicked out of them if they try that on in any of the more rural areas.
    The downside is every negative experience an Aussie has feeds back to about ten other people, and sooner or later it causes some ill will against people on the basis of nationality. it was no different for the Eastern Europeans who came to Ireland, a few of them were clowns, and it made life difficult for a large number of them. Its not an impression that will change overnight either, it will continue on for years.
    What can you do about it though ?