Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV3 GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,743 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Hayes just tries to be the Eamon Dunphy of the GAA - say something controversial for the hell of it and build a profile.
    At least with Dunphy and Brolly they don't appear to take themselves particularly seriously and have a rogue-like character that allows them to get away with frequently being completely wrong.

Hayes however has a personality that's about as attractive as Marty Morissey's backside so can't really pull it off. He picked a great day to have a go at Kevin McManamon.

Ciaran Whelan was also particularly inaccurate in his forecasting of how the Dublin Wexford game would go when he confidently predicted an easy 10 point win for Dublin. In fact is there anyone in GAA punditry that is able to call results before the match with any accuracy?

Maybe TV3 or RTE could find out if Paul the Octupus has any surviving offspring that they could add to their punditry panel? The predictions could only get more accurate.

what ever you think about Hayes he sticks to his guns

He really took Jack O' Connor to task on Newstalk back in 2007

Hayes wrote an article to say that the Kerry team were average and not a patch on the guys from the 70s/80s

Jack came on Newstalk with Hayes asking him to take back what he said.

But Hayes refused, and got a dig in at Jack over Jack's autobiography
    He (Jack) said he left school at lunchtime and the rest of the day was for GAA, but then denied it all, once accusations of 'payment for management' started to be made against him.

Spillane is no better
    After the Connaught final 'If Connaught football was a bond, Standard and Poors should have it at junk status'
    Then when Mayo beat Cork in the QF , 'No upset here, a Div 1 and a provincial champion beating a team that came through the qualifiers'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

what ever you think about Hayes he sticks to his guns
    Sure he'd have to. The last thing he could say is "I've been completely pig-headed, stupid and wrong". :pac:
    Hayes wrote an article to say that the Kerry team were average and not a patch on the guys from the 70s/80s
    IIRC Kerry then promptly went out and won the All-Ireland. Every time they were in a final and Hayes predicted they'd lose they won.
    Eventually he realised he couldn't keep backing them to lose so predicted they'd win - they promptly lost.

A GAA pundit is a great job. You can be hopeless at it and still get paid. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Younger posters might not remember Hayes the journalist of yesteryear. He used to write for a now defunct newspaper called The Sunday Press, and was actually one of the better sports journalists around. He was a genuinely good writer. Should have stuck to that. He's not suited to tv and has tried to adopt an antagonistic, controversial approach which just makes him sound like a crank at times.

I'd still have him ahead of the useless David Brady or Senan Connell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭DublinGAA96

I can't remember what match it was in the Euro's but Ger Canning said in the commentary "they have to put the ball long in on top of the full forward"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Local_Chap

I can't remember what match it was in the Euro's but Ger Canning said in the commentary "they have to put the ball long in on top of the full forward"...

What has that got to do with TV3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

ColHol wrote: »
    During one of the matches he actually said "....and now its Ronaldo to take the free in for Portugal" :D
    Whats wrong with that??

How would you describe it??

:confused::confused:

Stevecw wrote: »
    He is the man that promised us in Carlow when he took over that he'd win us a Leinster within 3 years!!

Won 1 qualifier match in his 2 years, tried blame the jerseys! Never managed anybody since!!
    He has managed to beat a serious illness since!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭DublinGAA96

Local_Chap wrote: »

What has that got to do with TV3?

The conversation drifted a bit to bad commentators and thought I'd share my opinion, smart arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Younger posters might not remember Hayes the journalist of yesteryear. He used to write for a now defunct newspaper called The Sunday Press, and was actually one of the better sports journalists around. He was a genuinely good writer. Should have stuck to that. He's not suited to tv and has tried to adopt an antagonistic, controversial approach which just makes him sound like a crank at times.

I'd still have him ahead of the useless David Brady or Senan Connell.

Balls i think Senan made a better representation of himself than hayes tried to achieve throughout the coverage. Theres no way anyone in their right mind would choose hayes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,485 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

some dose for RTE and TV3 that the Cavan vs Kildare got fixed for 3.00pm on Sunday 15th July. Thats mean none of them can show it live.

RTE have the Munster Hurling Final at 4pm
    TV3 have the Connacht Football Final at 2pm.

on Saturday 14th July Id imagine RTE will show Roscommon vs Tyrone at 2pm and TV3 will show one of the Phase 3 Hurling Quilfers.

intresting is that the Round 2 Football Quilfer Tipperary vs Wexford got fixed for 5pm on the 14th.

If the gaa had any sense they would do this on the 14th July in Semple Stadium.

3pm- Phase 3 Hurling Qulifer- Wexford vs Clare/Dublin or Cork
    5pm- Football Round 2 Qulifer- Tipperary vs Wexford
    7pm- Phase 3 Hurling Qulifer- Limerick vs Clare/Dublin/Cork or Offaly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

The vast majority of criticism in this thread has been as banal and low brow as anything you could accuse TV3 of.

[X] "Matt Cooper should stick to current affairs"
    [X] "Commentators using clichés"
    [X] "They're biased against Dublin"
    [X] "They're biased in favour of Dublin"
    [X] "They look like fools with their headphones"

I gave up at this stage because I was getting dumber reading the thread and started skimming. Props to deepblue and a few others for actually stringing a couple of coherent sentences together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

keane2097 wrote: »
    The vast majority of criticism in this thread has been as banal and low brow as anything you could accuse TV3 of.

I gave up at this stage because I was getting dumber reading the thread and started skimming. Props to deepblue and a few others for actually stringing a couple of coherent sentences together.

I thought the vast majority of complaints were to do with the number of ad breaks and the quality of the picture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

I don't really mind the TV 3 coverage. I haven't see them yet this Summer but i remember last Summer I liked the way they used stats to inform their halftime analysis. I think GAA sports actually lend themselves quite well to statistical analysis - eg the number of times a particular player played the ball, the number of times he wins an aerial duel vs his man etc etc. Would like to see both channels making the effort to incorporate this.

And with regards the TV3 pundits, its not as if the likes of Brolly are there to do anyhting other than a bit of Dunphy-lite trolling. I remember the likes of Canavan being decent last year on TV 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

I thought the vast majority of complaints were to do with the number of ad breaks and the quality of the picture

Exactly. I mean I couldn't care less what Cooper and his cronies whine on about at the end of the day. If the picture was better then we could watch the match. Don't really have to listen to those fellas rambling but it would be nice if they could get someone good to do the analysis as well.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

are there different cameras used for the different stations? I was under the impression that TV3 and RTE both used the same camera feeds in the grounds, and that they would each then control editorial of that during games. And its RTE2 that shows in HD. Much in the same way that I was finding RTEs game coverage of the Euros better because I had it in HD, rather than BBCs which I didnt have in HD, but both were using the same feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

Unfortunately you didnt. You moaned about the moaners which makes you the biggest moaner of all!:D

bruschi wrote: »
    are there different cameras used for the different stations? I was under the impression that TV3 and RTE both used the same camera feeds in the grounds, and that they would each then control editorial of that during games. And its RTE2 that shows in HD. Much in the same way that I was finding RTEs game coverage of the Euros better because I had it in HD, rather than BBCs which I didnt have in HD, but both were using the same feed.

RTEHD is often not real HD, usually just upscaled with a clearer picture.

Neeson wrote: »
    RTEHD is often not real HD, usually just upscaled with a clearer picture.

I know that. I'm asking do they use the same camera feed for games, which I thought they did. RTE2 HD is obviously then going to have better picture quality than a station that does not broadcast in HD. Dont know why people are complaining about the quality of the cameras and the picture when its obvious that one is going to be better than the other. They are not state funded, like RTE, so obviously need to have more adverts. Considering some of the dirge that RTE are throwing at us constantly, its good to have competition in the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭Steven81

Dont know why tv3 commentators were giving out about Mcmanomon at halt time, he scored 1-3 from play and won the all ireland for them last year.

Just shows you what they know

Steven81 wrote: »
    Dont know why tv3 commentators were giving out about Mcmanomon at halt time, he scored 1-3 from play and won the all ireland for them last year.

Just shows you what they know

they werent :confused:

Liam Hayes said he was an average intercounty player, and the others completely disagreed with him and took the piss out of him for the rest of their analysis, and took delight in proving him wrong and seeing him awarded the TV3 man of the match award. They were actually arguing over it, Senan Connell couldnt emphasis how much he disagreed with Hayes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

They obviously ought to be derided for hiring Liam Hayes, but besides that they're probably euro for euro a mile ahead of RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

They obviously ought to be derided for hiring Liam Hayes, but besides that they're probably euro for euro a mile ahead of RTE.

Except the obvious elephant in the room...... the picture quality. ;)

Which kind of smashes your euro for euro hypothesis

And they could do with a better presenter as well. Just give Matt Cooper tickets to the game and let him sit in the stand if he's so enthusiastic about Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 peasncarrots

well i think that at least tv3 have fresher analysts im tired of the cosy club of spillane brolley loughnane davis and mulcahy every year every week on rte and canning and marty morrissey commentating thay are dire

Serves the eejits right now-stuck with a load of fans on the pitch with their headphones on!!

Christ, matt must've called the gardai to keep all the kids away from him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Whats this crap about them broadcasting the Munster and Connacht football finals?

I don't mind letting them have a few qualifiers or early round games but they're overstepping the mark here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭crackity_jones

For those of you bemoaning the number of advertisements during TV3's GAA coverage, please bear in mind that they have to finance themselves solely through those same advertisements. They are not funded by a substantial license fee that RTE enjoys.

A license fee each and every household in this country has to pay, or face fines and possible jailtime. And many people fund that very same ad-free RTE coverage who have no interest in sport at all! Such is the beauty of an obligatory license fee, that amounts to little more than tax, in many respects.

People should be supporting companies like TV3 that are attempting to introduce a little variety into a broadcasting climate that is dominated by RTE. Certainly, their GAA coverage has its faults, but they've only been in this game a handful of years. It will improve, if they get the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Chibodee

Are the matches shown on the tv3 player afterwards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

For those of you bemoaning the number of advertisements during TV3's GAA coverage, please bear in mind that they have to finance themselves solely through those same advertisements. They are not funded by a substantial license fee that RTE enjoys.

A license fee each and every household in this country has to pay, or face fines and possible jailtime. And many people fund that very same ad-free RTE coverage who have no interest in sport at all! Such is the beauty of an obligatory license fee, that amounts to little more than tax, in many respects.

People should be supporting companies like TV3 that are attempting to introduce a little variety into a broadcasting climate that is dominated by RTE. Certainly, their GAA coverage has its faults, but they've only been in this game a handful of years. It will improve, if they get the chance.

fair enough but tonights game i am sure there was a great atmosphere at the ground but the sound from from tv3 was low and dull....the commentators sounded as if they were commentating from a studio elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Don't mind TV3 coverage at all except for David Brady and his stupid analogies when they broadcast football.

Lets be honest here, if it were not for TV3, we would have less GAA coverage on tv as the GAA also wanted to reduce the number of games and the Director of sports coverage in RTE Ryle Nugent does not care about GAA or any other sport except for rugby and competitive Irish soccer matches.RTE refused to pay for all the packages,letting TV3 come in to buy what was available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

The biggest isue i have is the picture quality. Last nights game in particular was very poor, very ard too follow the flight of the ball.
    I can ignore most of the pre/post/half time stuff like too many ads, crappy cliched analysis etc, as i am able to use a remote control and change the channel if i don't like it. In fairness Peter Canavan last year was quite interesting and enjoyable, as is Eugene McGee. They would benefit though with an anchorman who understands the game and is able to get more from the panel, but the format and time constraints don't allow for anything other than the most basic comments.But having a fuzzy picture nowadays is not acceptable really.....HD be it upscaled or real HD is becoming the norm and even TG4 which is SD is way ahead in pictire quality to what was on last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

TV3 get plenty of government funding and most programs are partly-financed by IFB funding, TV3 aren't the little engine that could.

The reason they have more adverts is because RTE are mandated to have less.

The biggest isue i have is the picture quality. Last nights game in particular was very poor, very ard too follow the flight of the ball.......
    ...even TG4 which is SD is way ahead in pictire quality to what was on last night.
    Presumably you're watching on Saorview.
    I would imagine the difference between TV3 and TG4 is the amount of bitrate allocated to the channel by RTÉNL. The higher the bitrate the better the picture.
    Since TV3 are always bitchin' n' moanin' about RTE I'd say RTÉNL (a wholly owned subsidiary of RTÉ) are unlikely to be doing them any favours on bitrate.*

* I've no evidence of that but it wouldn't seem outlandishly unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭jupiterjack

cant see the problem with tv3 coverage, commentators and the panel seem to be very refreshing.seems to me that people have been over conditioned to the rte monopoly.

cant see the problem with tv3 coverage, commentators and the panel seem to be very refreshing.

Commentators don't even seem to be paying attention to game. Cork got a goal and then scored a point afterwards. Then Clare get a point. Commentator says how it is always important to get the next score after conceding a goal. Clare clearly didn't get the next score. God give us Darragh or Ger please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,616 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

blackbelt wrote: »
    Don't mind TV3 coverage at all except for David Brady and his stupid analogies when they broadcast football.

Lets be honest here, if it were not for TV3, we would have less GAA coverage on tv as the GAA also wanted to reduce the number of games and the Director of sports coverage in RTE Ryle Nugent does not care about GAA or any other sport except for rugby and competitive Irish soccer matches.RTE refused to pay for all the packages,letting TV3 come in to buy what was available.

Thats a bit 'gaa paranoid' there - RTE show about on average 5 Irish soccer internationals a year, plus 13 Champions League matches and 20 LOI games.
    And in rugby they show around 15 Magners League matches, + the 5 Six Nations games.

GAA is hardly a poor relation to that in terms of the coverage it gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

Neeson wrote: »
    Commentators don't even seem to be paying attention to game. Cork got a goal and then scored a point afterwards. Then Clare get a point. Commentator says how it is always important to get the next score after conceding a goal. Clare clearly didn't get the next score. God give us Darragh or Ger please.

RTE have Marty Morrisey commentating today.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Black Suir

TV3 should sack their commentators, and maybe do a simocast with Newstalk, using their lads on the mic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Black Suir wrote: »
    TV3 should sack their commentators, and maybe do a simocast with Newstalk, using their lads on the mic.

I haven't listened to Newstalk's 'live' sporting coverage recently but do they still have the lads in the studio with fake crowd noise playing in the background to make it sound like they're there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Black Suir

I haven't listened to Newstalk's 'live' sporting coverage recently but do they still have the lads in the studio with fake crowd noise playing in the background to make it sound like they're there?

The last time i listen to a soccer match they had it anyway, and Ken Early thinking he was the new John Motson. For the G.A.A. Coverage the lads are at the games and do an excellent job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭shockframe

Black Suir wrote: »
    The last time i listen to a soccer match they had it anyway, and Ken Early thinking he was the new John Motson. For the G.A.A. Coverage the lads are at the games and do an excellent job.

The GAA coverage on RTE is embarrasing.

The likes of Brolly,loughnane and Darragh Moloney I could make a case for but nearly everything else i find hard to listen to.

Ger Canning who gets more things wrong than right, Spillane who knocks football at every opportunity despite games being no worse than when he played. a phenominally cliched hurling pundit line up and worse marty morrissey bluffing his way through every game.no score is just a score with our marty.player handpasses ball over the bar - "that is a beautiful point".forward scores goal in empty net 'magnificent goal'.RTE is going down the Jamie Redknapp road of punditry with any controversy ignored.

So fair play to TV3/TG4 and its coverage.Consider that before 1996 when tg4 started you would get only the senior championship with the minor and club all ireland series only compared with the provincial club/under 21/schools and colleges on now theres a lot more good to say about either of those stations than RTE.

And I say this as someone who thought Matt Cooper would be the wrong man to front TV3's GAA coverage.It is miles ahead of RTE in lots of ways.

Re: the ad breaks.

For the Clare vs Dublin match, if you exclude the match itself TV3 had 68 minutes 21 seconds available for analysis.
    During that time 38mn 20 seconds were spent on actual analysis.
    30mn 01 seconds were spent on ad breaks.

So almost 44% of the available time was spent on adverts. Too much imo.

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Re: the ad breaks.

For the Clare vs Dublin match, if you exclude the match itself TV3 had 68 minutes 21 seconds available for analysis.
    During that time 38mn 20 seconds were spent on actual analysis.
    30mn 01 seconds were spent on ad breaks.

So almost 44% of the available time was spent on adverts. Too much imo.
    Thats 10 3 minute add breaks, as you say, too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,485 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

So no tv coverage for the Football or hurling on Saturday 14th July.

Really want to see the Limerick vs Clare game but cant afford to go as im going to the munster final on sunday :mad::mad::mad::mad::(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

PTH2009 wrote: »
    So no tv coverage for the Football or hurling on Saturday 14th July.

Really want to see the Limerick vs Clare game but cant afford to go as im going to the munster final on sunday :mad::mad::mad::mad::(:(
    limerick v clare IS on TV.

Its on RTE

limerick v clare IS on TV.

Its on RTE

yeah but this is a TV3 bashing thread. they have nothing on so surely it only makes sense to keep harping on about them showing too many ads and having poor picture quality as well as not showing games now too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭allimac

All I can say is thank God that tv3 don't have the Limerick vs Clare hurling match this weekend. They totally spoilt my enjoyment of last Saturday nights game with their amateurism. While I am willing to put up with any amount of ads, there is no excuse for showing meaningless replays of lads putting the ball over bar while the live action is ongoing. I don't think that they showed 1 puckout in the first half, don't they realise that this is a vital part of the game. Where in the hell were their microphones placed, it sounded like a training session rather than the atmospheric full blooded game with a big partisan Clare crowd that I know was there. As for the 2 commentators the less said the better.Hope the GAA give no more games to this bunch of chancers next year.

Making their usual shambles today with the Connaught final. The cheek of them to take it upon themselves to have the ulster final next week as well. And of course they're on a break...again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭buckwheat

Picture quality is brutal as usual.