Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

True GAA Fans

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I wouldn't swear to the figure bruschi - but I think if you audited the DCC for all the paid up member/senior player/juveniles/and the fella with the associate membership for cheap pints on a Saturday you'd have around that number - the underage which is something I'm involved in is flourishing - but they've yet to discover beer and the associate membership ;)

so the point that the Dublin GAA population is comparable to all other counties is pretty much not the case so, which is what I was alluding to. The population of half of this countrys counties is less than the GAA population in Dublin.

Dublin have a support base to tap into, and this is shown at latter stages with big crowds and the fact that the GAA/Leinster council dont take them out of CP for championship games.
    Flukey wrote: »
    You may have not said it, but
    factors influence them nowadays, like TV.

to be honest, on this thread, no one said anything negative at all. The only thing said was
    Too many of Dublin's games are in Croker. Wouldn't do you any harm to see other parts of the country every now and again.
    and ye all were up in arms over it. Maybe a touchy subject? But the crux of it is right, and in fairness, it should be pretty obvious it is championship games that is being talked about. Anyone who thinks Dublin dont play league away isnt worth debating with.

but it isnt just a Dublin issue. There are games thrown on in Croke Park for no good reason. It should be a place to aspire to play in, not just an undercard for a double header to try cream as much out of it. Last weekends games were semi finals, and had an attendance of just shy of 48k. Wexford park can hold 25K, Portlaoise 27k, Navan 25k (but has this been reduced?), Carlow 20K, Nowlan Park 20+k. If both games were on in different grounds, the capacity wouldnt have been significantly affected, but the atmosphere and buzz for them would be much greater. I probably wouldnt bother moving the semi finals though, but games prior to that, definitley. The Dublin/Louth Wexford/Longford game had 30k at it I think? In croke park, it makes it awful from a supporters point of view, and that was a horrible weekend for getting to Croke Park too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Sorry bruschi I was just refuting the comment with regard to Dublin having potentially 100,000 suporters on any given day - they have about 15k they can rely upon and 120,000 directly affiliated with GAA.

Pairc Tailteann is a death trap by all accounts *cough* or so the safety report sez lol.. think they're down to 10,000 capacity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭milos

wind up thread is winding.

The OP reminds me of the type you get at turnstyles at dublin away matches saying that the price is cheaper than premiership football. Do they say that to supporters from other counties? He also forgets that a sizable amount of those who go to Old Trafford ect are not from dublin. head on down to Cork Airport any given Saturday, or climb abord the coach specials at 1am on a Wednesday morning out of Limerick and Galway to see the wum-ness of your point.

The GAA population in Dublin is small. Tommy Carr did a report on it, which is gatherin dust in GAA land. It more or less the same size as all the other counties. Dublin has almost half the LoI clubs in the country, it has many Rugby clubs, and the Leinster Rugby team, and it has hundreds of thousands who just dont give a toss either way.

Speaking as someone who regularly brings his kids to CP to see dublin play, I can tell you that whatever you make up for in the child ticket of €5 you instandly lose with the Hot-Dog and chips. Going to a double header, with two kids, is not cheap. Espicially wheh the GAA decides to leave almost a feckin hour between some matches.

The Leinster Council tells Dublin to play all their football matches in CP because they need the revenue. Kildare and Meath played there last week. Maybe that should have been in Newbridge or whats left of Navan. That may satisfy the purists of this forum but it will see the GAA go bankrupt.

The same argument, from a differnt angle, was made on twitter a few weeks back by a similarly enlightened person. Why was the Enthusiastic Congress on in CP and the hurling forced to play elsewhere.... The fact that the Munster Hurling Semi-final is never in CP did not occour to this chap, nor the fact that ourside of finals the Leinster Council doesnt use CP for Hurling either. As usual, internet people dont let facts get in the way of their pronouncements.

A ticket for Croke Park IS cheaper than a ticket to a premiership match and I NEVER singled out Dublin supporters who buy tickets for premiership matches.
    My point was about the price of the tickets NOT who buys them....
    PS "wum-ness" New word to me. What does it mean...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

milos wrote: »
    .........PS "wum-ness" New word to me. What does it mean...

Wind Up Merchant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

DoctaDee wrote: »
    so if yiz want us to travel get an airport and jedward !

Indeed. If Jedward are in Dublin, the place will clear and we'll get as far away from it as possible. You should have seen the thousands that left their seats (myself amongst them) when Jedward came on in Croke Park last year. After going to the loo and/or shops, people stood around and waited until they were gone before returning to their seats, unlike the way they'd normally go straight back. Even at All-Ireland finals, I have never seen such a large amount head for the loos and shops: men, women and children.
    bruschi wrote: »

to be honest, on this thread, no one said anything negative at all. The only thing said was and ye all were up in arms over it. Maybe a touchy subject?

but it isnt just a Dublin issue. There are games thrown on in Croke Park for no good reason. It should be a place to aspire to play in, not just an undercard for a double header to try cream as much out of it. Last weekends games were semi finals, and had an attendance of just shy of 48k. Wexford park can hold 25K, Portlaoise 27k, Navan 25k (but has this been reduced?), Carlow 20K, Nowlan Park 20+k. If both games were on in different grounds, the capacity wouldnt have been significantly affected, but the atmosphere and buzz for them would be much greater. I probably wouldnt bother moving the semi finals though, but games prior to that, definitley. The Dublin/Louth Wexford/Longford game had 30k at it I think? In croke park, it makes it awful from a supporters point of view, and that was a horrible weekend for getting to Croke Park too.

It is not a touchy subject, just one that comes up over and over again. I know there are always new people here who won't have seen it, but it and many other repetitive subjects do come up. You have a broader and more realistic view of it, but some don't.

Dublin football fans would like to travel more. Away league games are great and days like Thurles (x 2) in 2001 and Longford in 2006 were too, as are the days when the hurlers travel. Double headers are traditional in GAA and make for great value. There are no minor matches or curtain raisers in the Old Traffords of this world, and tickets can be close to All-Ireland Final day prices. While most come in for the bigger game, lots want to see both as their interest is not just in their own county. On that point, another spurious one that comes up is Dublin fans only come in for the second match which is also very far from the truth. Tourists coming to Croke Park are always surprised that they get 2 matches for their money, often thinking they need two tickets. Spreading the matches around too much, even in the early stages would dilute the crowds a bit, though Croke Park isn't always ideal for a first round Dublin match, depending on the opposition of course. We all remember Dublin v Meath in 1991. Even on the first day there was a big crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

so the point that the Dublin GAA population is comparable to all other counties is pretty much not the case so, which is what I was alluding to. The population of half of this countrys counties is less than the GAA population in Dublin.

no, you are missing the point. 120,000 includes all
    the lads who prop up bars in the clubs. that is about 10% of the population. there is easily more than 10% of the population involved in GAA in many other counties. the dublin GAA population is on a par with the Tipperary, Cork, KK, GAA populations.

my point, and i will say it very simply, is that i am sick of those who go "sure there are over a million people available to dublin gaa" is rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

There are games thrown on in Croke Park for no good reason. It should be a place to aspire to play in, not just an undercard for a double header to try cream as much out of it. Last weekends games were semi finals, and had an attendance of just shy of 48k. Wexford park can hold 25K, Portlaoise 27k, Navan 25k (but has this been reduced?), Carlow 20K, Nowlan Park 20+k. If both games were on in different grounds, the capacity wouldnt have been significantly affected, but the atmosphere and buzz for them would be much greater. I probably wouldnt bother moving the semi finals though, but games prior to that, definitley. The Dublin/Louth Wexford/Longford game had 30k at it I think? In croke park, it makes it awful from a supporters point of view, and that was a horrible weekend for getting to Croke Park too.

croke park is expensive to run, and the corporate ticket/long term ticket people need to know they will get as many games as possible for their money.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

no, you are missing the point. 120,000 includes all
    the lads who prop up bars in the clubs. that is about 10% of the population. there is easily more than 10% of the population involved in GAA in many other counties. the dublin GAA population is on a par with the Tipperary, Cork, KK, GAA populations.

my point, and i will say it very simply, is that i am sick of those who go "sure there are over a million people available to dublin gaa" is rubbish.

you are going by percentages now? your original quote was
    The GAA population in Dublin is small. Tommy Carr did a report on it, which is gatherin dust in GAA land. It more or less the same size as all the other counties

and I said that wasnt true. if you want to go on percentages, then fire away. but its not an accurate representation of comparing actual members that other counties have. the Dublin GAA population as compared to other sports and as a percentage of its quite large population might be small, but it is not small or in any way comparable to other counties.

also no one here as said anything of over a million people available to Dublin GAA. I dont know why its even debatable. Its good that Dublin has a large involvement, and especially in hurling. The turn around they have had in the last 10 years has been great, and as I mentioned earlier, the support for their hurlers has drastically improved. Its good for Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Stevecw wrote: »
    I spent last Saturday from 12.15 travelling from Carlow to Wexford, wexford back to Carlow. Bit of food, off to Portlaoise at 5.45 for 2nd game. Home from Portlaoise at 9.45.

Went to see Carlow hurlers away to Wexford in a game they were 20/1 to win. Never stood a chance, down 7 regulars but I go to all league games...so no matter how hopeless it seemed I had to be in Wexford Park Saturday anyway. At ht only 3 pts down with strong wind behind us I felt like I might be there to witness a miracle. But 3 early 2nd half wex goals killed us off. Still tho 4-12 to 14 was not bad.

Made trip home, got there around 5.25. Food, quick check on other scores, toilet....out the door again at 5.45 heading to Portlaoise. Same jersey does the job again.

Got to Portlaoise around 6.40....big carlow support made it which surprised me. was about 60/40 for Laois which for home game wasn't much.
    Terrible game, Laois won....carlow kicked 14 wides and really should have won it well. Our 14 wides included a free from in front of posts which was kicked 5 yards left :(

Seriously frustrating as that was a bad Laois team, as Monaghan will show in next round.

Yea got outta there and home for around 9.45. After seeing 2 expected defeats.

Thats it for co till Jan 2013 and more div 4 games v Kilkenny & London to enjoy :(

Now the above is a true GAA fan. I went down to see Dublin play Kilkenny in the minor and senior matches 2 weeks ago.Although Kilkenny had the game wrapped up after 30 minutes, we stayed until the bitter end in the cold and the rain. Took 40 minutes just to get out of Portlaoise GAA club but I would never walk out on Dublin again whatever the result.

Did that in the quarter final replay in 2005 after being disgusted, turned out I felt more disgusted with myself later. I go to a lot of club matches too with my Parnell Park Pass and usually bring a friend with my referees pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Attending championship in Croke Park is no indication of being a true GAA fan.

I follow Dublin...
    As for the Hurling I go to Dublin Hurling when they are playing as part of a double header with the footballers..

As regards a club match...I follow Dublin

153.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

Are you a Dubs fan.?
    Where were you on Sunday?
    TRUE Dubs are in Croker every time they play.
    TRUE Dubs are at every match no matter where or when.
    Amazing to see all the Irish colours around the city and suburbs during the soccer
    matches but when Dublin play we only see a handful of houses with Dub colours.
    Come on SUPPORT YOUR COUNTY. SUPPORT YOUR TEAM. TURN UP AND YELL...
    PS
    €35 for 4 hours of top class sport in a world class clean and friendly stadium with food and drink readily available is NOT EXPENSIVE.
    Family tickets are even cheaper.
    How much is a ticket to Old Trafford, Anfield, Stamford Bridge, Emirates Stadium...

No one would disagree with your call to support your county, but, what makes you think all the residents in those houses are Dubliners. They might live in Dublin but it does not mean that they forgot about their own counties.

Did you use to go to the games in Parnell Park by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭milos

I did indeed