Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UCD Pool Admission?

• 02-07-2012 8:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭

Hello,

Been searching on-line, but have been unable to discover the admission fee, and opening hours of the new pool and gym, are once off entry fee's available? anybody know the score?

Snako,

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭F.R.

Snako wrote: »
    Hello,

Been searching on-line, but have been unable to discover the admission fee, and opening hours of the new pool and gym, are once off entry fee's available? anybody know the score?

Snako,

Answers to all of your questions in this thread. Once off entry is only available for UCD students.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭Snako

Noice won Brov,

Anybody not bothered visiting the above thread, and sifting through endless discussions and reviews of a gym that' barely opened, here the scoop from my half hearted skim through:

Price: No idea, students seem to be getting in free till September, gate keeper seems lax at the moment! Student card or just the number seems to suffice.

Opening Hours: Apparently you may visit from 7-11, with the exception of the hours between 6-8pm, as they have deemed this the exclusive privileged hours for those high priority paying customers.

I primarily just want a shot in the pool, I will visit shortly, and document my trip appropriately, find out the fee and the hours, without having to use the word apparently.

Peace & Love boards people

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ruski

Noice won Brov

"NOICE WAN BRUVVAAA!" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭annieoburns

I posted this in 'swimming' forum

I checked out this place yesterday.
    Parking was nearby difficult even tho it was 'quiet' time of year. Later I discovered new and underused car park to rear of new complex. Plenty of bike places in front.

Different membership packages:
    Students of UCD, free to use gym but extra 100 Euro for pool access
    Staff of UCD .. c 450 ?
    Alumni of UCD ...c 500+?
    All others.... 800?

Also an extra payment to avail of private changing area (no need to mingle in communal areas with students) and to have reserved parking spot.

Changing areas are mixed, male and female, with individual cubicles for changing and showering. Lockers for clothes that need a padlock.

Membership is for 7 days a week and all day. No restricted times save for students who are not allowed in between 6 and 8 pm. I am not sure how pool can be used for water polo etc and allow for casual swimmers at the same time. Depth of pool is variable up to 2 metres but not suitable for diving.

There was no 'pay as you go' access and no 'one month/three month' etc deals. No mention of deal for changing from membership of another facility, no 'aged' discount, no off peak rate. With the amount of visitors even tourists using the accommodation blocks and conferences, I think some short term deal should be worked out.

Pool is lovely but not overly impressed by spa like features alongside, bit over the top and could live without them. More suitable for 5* hotel.

Gym is included in membership and swimming use cannot be separated. Access to Gym is via stairs/lift in main entrance area so not internally connected to pool. There will be a coffee area in few months near main door. Wifi available.

They seem busy enough with enquiries. I guess no need to advertise generally as pent up interest and word of mouth sufficent?

Noice won annieoburns,

You reckon I will be able to stroll in for a shot today without complication, have no intention of buying a membership, just fancy a length of the pool, bin watching the bloody thing go up for the last four years,

Snakolicious,

Sorry don't think it will be that straightforward to get a 'pass'. I was there with my kit and did not manage to get one tho asked.... seemed to be another rigmarole of filling out form etc and had to go thru hoops to get a tour of complex... had to be escorted and could not stroll about. There were a few 'pin numbered' doors. I had spent enough time there in the end teasing out details of membership etc .... hour of parking time 'up' etc. There is a temporary building in front of the complex to which you will be directed.

Good luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Different membership packages:
    Students of UCD, free to use gym but extra 100 Euro for pool access
    Staff of UCD .. c 450 ?
    Alumni of UCD ...c 500+?
    All others.... 800?

Are these prices serious?

per year ? That's MENTAL...

its Bull that Alumni cant just pop in for a swim. Considering they raised our student union fees to help pay for the centre.

Agreed Korvanica,

Think I'm gonna buzz up there later and demand a free swim, get proper mental and indignant, give them a proper speech on what a travesty it is that I am denied one simple length of the pool after having been massively put out for the last four years!!!! Although in all reality I haven't visited that end of campus in a long time. Eventually I will just break down crying at the desk and cause a dramatic scene, it will be so awkward they will have no choice but to give me a quick go!!

Yep me not impressed....and annoyed that there were some better 'early bird' deals that I was not aware of in time yet on the look out for info on new set up... even posted on their 'facebook' page.... no answer.

I was one of first batch of students to suffer the muddy windswept wastelands that defined the place in 1970 when Arts etc moved from city centre location. There were a precious few 'facilities', no library building, a prefab student bar etc. So I have been waiting patiently for 40 years.....:mad:

Meanwhile I am member of a different pool and sub not due for renewal til next spring. But other places would take that into account and offer you a deal based on how much you had to lose by changing club.

Just rang my boss in UCD and apparently a quick visit to that prefab yoke outside can result in a once off free pass for students or alumni of one year, and other than that I was told those blessed with UCD student cards could pay E4 for once off entry during specific time periods, please don't confirm this as fact!!! But I will go in later and conduct a rigorous investigation of the hours facilities and prices, I may even treat myself to a little sit down in the sauna,

snako out,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

The prices are pretty reasonable for what they're offering. Compare it to Riverview just up the road; a gym and pool membership there is about €1200 pa, so a private membership fee in UCD of €800 pa is quite good. The pool is far far better, but the gym isn't as good so €800 is fair imo.

Not many fitness centres offer free passes to interested people anymore. I do agree that any alumni who contributed towards the pool in the form of the student levy fee should be entitled to a day pass. Only offering it to the recently graduated is a little unfair imo.

Overall though I think the pricing is very fair.

Just rang my boss in UCD and apparently a quick visit to that prefab yoke outside can result in a once off free pass for students or alumni of one year, and other than that I was told those blessed with UCD student cards could pay E4 for once off entry during specific time periods, please don't confirm this as fact!!! But I will go in later and conduct a rigorous investigation of the hours facilities and prices, I may even treat myself to a little sit down in the sauna,

snako out,

Yup, students are able to use the pool for €4 payg, whenever the gym is open to students (ie all day bar 6 - 8).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I'd certainly wait until term starts before buying a membership if your Alumni/staff/randomer. Interesting to see how busy it gets so unless you go when students aren't allowed it could be very busy and almost pointless in going. I'm not sure €800 is a fair price either. Westwood charge about that afaik for most people and you get more facilities and better ones by all accounts.

Ladies and gentlemen boys and girls, I have now been to the pool, I'v seen touched and smelled all,

So here's the 'DL' for those of us 'privileged' enough to be part of the exclusive group, that is UCD student card holders:

1)The Gym is FREE for the coming academic year, with the exception of the hour between 6 & 8pm, Mon-Fri, which as mentioned before will be for those 'platinum' members who have forked out the guts of a grand, fair play to yas.

2)If one with a student card wishes to impulsively use the pool, they man pay at at pay as you go rate of €4 or subscribe for the whole year at €100 Boom.

3)Unfortunately I have no information for all of you who are not in the possession of a card, but I can tell you there was definitely non students in there, and if you are bold enough and just fancy a once off shot of the pool or gym, just give an eight digit number, roughly starting with the year you did your leaving e.g 09567768 doesn't matter if your a mature they barely look, then proceed to fill out the form: 123 Bothar An Tra, etc.

As far as my humble opinion on the facilities, great!!! Had a cheeky look in the gym seems fresh and full of pimped out equipment, pool was sweet, had a delish sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, saw some harsh criticisms on other pages, from possibly, either more fussy or more knowledgeable people than I, but all in all it gets my thumbs up!!

1)The Gym is FREE for the coming academic year, with the exception of the hour between 6 & 8pm, Mon-Fri, which as mentioned before will be for those 'platinum' members who have forked out the guts of a grand, fair play to yas.

I'm pretty sure it's Mon-Thurs but I'm open to correction.

Aristotle, think you are right, my sincerest apologies

• Registered Users Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pingi

Called in about joining up today was quoted €800 as a private member, my BF who was with me is a UCC grad and we were quoted €1050 for the year as a grad couple despite me never attending UCD. The membership sales guy said it was an offer until Sunday and anybody can join with a partner/freind/housemate as long as 1 is a UCD grad for this price. It includes all the private membership perks too.

EDIT: Just saw in the other thread that grad couple should be €900 and grad family is €1050 I'll have to look into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,612 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Aristotle, think you are right, my sincerest apologies

Right about the pool, wrong about the universe. Its your call which is more important.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭dajaffa

Just joined there today, there are some special offers which apparently end tomorrow which are:

€525 pre 2007 graduate basic membership.
    €600 all graduates private membership (changing rooms, car park etc).
    €1050 couple (one being a graduate) private membership.

I'm pretty sure you can opt for direct debit and the last one is €95/month.