Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Polish street signs vs 30% unemployment

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Clareboy

I don't think I have even read such a load of typical middle-class, bleeding-heart, do-gooder, arse-licker codology from the Mayor of Limerick. Street signs in Polish indeed! I am sure that there are lot of street signs in Poland in English to help confused foreign tourists. The Mayor of Limerick should be promoting our native Irish language and not be spouting a load of codswallop.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

honestly this guy has got his priorities wrong he shouldnt be in politics..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

lads will ye relax, its never going to happen. it was a numpty comment made by a naive new mayor not a wet day in the job, and the media, as usual, picked it up and ran with it, blowing it completely out of all proportion... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

DOBBER112 wrote: »
    This is precisely why Ireland is in the state that it's in, one mans crusade is much more important than a decision that would benefit everybody.
    Complete and utter self important and self publicizing morons are the people who have power in this country. Just look at that moron Hogan with his house hold tax crusade and then sends his staff to Harvard for a management course costing over 250k of taxpayers money. I bet anybody who paid that farce of a tax feels right stupid now. People didn't stand together, people fear the government and that's why they walk all over the people. Laughing as they go, back slapping their friendly banker friends and European politicians. Ah shur it'll all be grand lads, we can tax our way out of this economic treason lark ;)
    Meanwhile morons all over the country, mayors, city planners, managers, politicians continue to come up with hair brained ideas on how to piss away tax payers cash, pictures in the papers of them smiling and grinning at each other without a care in their elite world. No accountability breeds this type of moron and shur not to worry aren't we trying to flog the aul electronic voting machines :D Its all scandal folks, these bastards are just helping out their elite friends while the tax payer gets shafted with yet more stealth taxes and now they are actually threatening people with fines and pretty soon jail sentences until they get what they want. Your pension, your kids college money, your small keep the wolves away from the door emergency fund and every spare cent you have as long as the bankers and investors are paid. Its a huge big fat ****ing farce, we've all been played like fiddles by the elite while they chink their champagne glasses from wherever country they've decided to run and hide out. Lets call a spade a spade and realize that most politicians don't give a fiddlers fart about any of you, they have a public service job and at the end when they walk away they get a lovely big fat golden handshake and the type of pension and comfort 95% of us can only dream about. We are no longer living in a democracy as the government do not fear the people. The people fear the government and that as I understand it is more of a dictatorship. They promised us change they promised us honesty but in reality they just wanted the power and the perks that are provided to those at the top and long after they are gone from power they will be more than comfortable for their efforts. Every single man and woman who gave their life for this country so we could run it ourselves must be turning in their grave at how much of the absolute financial raping or little country has endured and continues to endure. So the rich get richer and the poor get poorer...whats changed? Absolutely nothing, they just figured out a way of getting more money out of you to pay for the mistakes of the unaccountable elite. Economic treason and yet nobody is accountable. Shur it'll all be grand ;)

:eek::eek:

Throw in a few paragraphs there. I'm afraid to even have a go at reading that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

xsiborg wrote: »
    lads will ye relax, its never going to happen. it was a numpty comment made by a naive new mayor not a wet day in the job, and the media, as usual, picked it up and ran with it, blowing it completely out of all proportion... :rolleyes:

Would agree with that save for the fact that the "naive" mayor has gone on to repeat the same thing in a number of interviews since and gone into his usual routine, usual from what I have heard from him as a councillor, of trying to insult those that disagree with his idea.

I think it is not the talk of the street signs that is what gets people annoyed the most, rather the fact that this mayor, like many of those who came before him, just seems to be following the well worn track of trying to push a pretty stupid idea as soon as the chain of mayor goes on rather than trying to use the role to do something about the city centre that has become a joke during his watch as a councillor (and of course under the watch of many of his peers)

If people want to see why Limerick city centre is years behind the other Irish cities in many ways, then a look at the list of mayors, and a good look through the names of the councillors, makes it easy to figure things out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

Kess73 wrote: »

If people want to see why Limerick city centre is years behind the other Irish cities in many ways, then a look at the list of mayors, and a good look through the names of the councillors, makes it easy to figure things out.

It's the officials that have the power, Kess. The councillors have a very limited role. The reasons that Limerick is as it is is very little to do with the councillors and mayors, however embarrassing they are. There are plenty of factors but the main one is that there are three administrations, with three power structures, three plans and very little co-ordination between them. All of Limerick's difficulties, with the exception of the weather, can be traced to this issue, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein