Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worth getting a PC for gaming ?

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 20,643 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

photo3hus.jpg

photo2rms.jpg

photozje.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

what does the remote do then? :p

what do you control on it btw, just music/video?
    Outside of media centre it basically controls volume and start stop on videos. It would be very handy if it had some sort of mouse control but I have the phone for that anyway.

2smiggy wrote: »
    it will only be for gaming though. i'm a bit of a tech/game whore , and have spent a fortune in gadgets in the past so why not !?! i'll throw up a few pics in a minute to show my tech-whoredum
    The thing about using a PC though is you can consolidate all your gadgets into one piece of technology and have one box instead of several. I spent years building up to the PC I have now but it's replaced everything else.

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

2smiggy wrote: »
    it been 7/8 years since i played games on the PC
    Same here, saved for 16 months and got an i7 last year, well worth the wait and money. Using an old CRT and waiting to save for a projector, well worth picking up a PC-xbox gaming pad, then best of both worlds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭oxo_

Remotes are so old fashioned. What you want to do is get dragon naturally speaking, set your mic sensitivity to high-ish, sit back and tell, no, Command! Your computer to do stuff ! :)

Saying that, I dropped a 250gb HD into my Linux sat box and now use it instead for watching downloaded stuff. PC downloads direct to it too.