Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Would a private police force work in Ireland?

• 05-07-2012 10:19am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 41

Firstly mods, sorry if a thread on this exists already.
    Secondly, feel free to shift to another forum if you see fit.

The Garda Síochana are a state agency and as such are overpaid and under worked. The Gardaí, are for the most part incompetent. Mostly due to lack of resources and funding. If I phone the Gardaí, it can take up to an hour for some issues, which are often quite serious. Many Garda stations around the country are closing down and some towns don't have a Garda Station for several miles. If someone is in the process of breaking into my home while I am in it, I want immediate Garda response. Particularly if it is my elderly neighbour, grandmother, great-grandmother etc. who are in peril.

I am suggesting that a private police force be set up in Ireland which will be funded partly from state aid, donations and other enterprising activity. Money for this police force could be generated by fines or other entrepreneurial activity. This could be run as a for profit organisation and villagers and towns people could pay an annual fee of €100 a year per household to each new police station to fund it. I know I would pay it for peace of mind.

So would a private vigilante force work in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

Goafer wrote: »

The Garda Síochana are a state agency and as such are overpaid and under worked. The Gardaí, are for the most part incompetent. Mostly due to lack of resources and funding. If I phone the Gardaí, it can take up to an hour for some issues, which are often quite serious. Many Garda stations around the country are closing down and some towns don't have a Garda Station for several miles. If someone is in the process of breaking into my home while I am in it, I want immediate Garda response. Particularly if it is my elderly neighbour, grandmother, great-grandmother etc. who are in peril.

I am suggesting that a private police force be set up in Ireland which will be funded partly from state aid, donations and other enterprising activity. Money for this police force could be generated by fines or other entrepreneurial activity. This could be run as a for profit organisation and villagers and towns people could pay an annual fee of €100 a year per household to each new police station to fund it. I know I would pay it for peace of mind.

NO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

This could be run as a for profit organisation and villagers and towns people could pay an annual fee of €100 a year per household to each new police station to fund it.?

So the response from this new police station is guaranteed to be immediate is it? Are you going to live in it too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Why not just arm the Neighbourhood watch?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 41 Goafer

ColeTrain wrote: »

They have no legal powers. Most are a farce anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

But OP, if you are broken into you can get immediate response, technical staff, people picked up from the streets and detectives to interview them

All you need is connections and to be important

Alan Shatters house was burgled in March

They have no legal powers. Most are a farce anyway.

As opposed to private police forces and vigilantes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

ColeTrain wrote: »

can you swing a sack of door knobs ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

So would a private vigilante force work in Ireland?[/QUOTE]
    I think you will find vigilantism is illigeal, hopefully it will stay that way, as will private police forces for the rich to enforce their private laws.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

2 threads started in AH.

2 absolutely fucking ridiculous suggestions.

Go for the hat-trick, OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,024 ✭✭✭bren2001

I got two lines in and stopped. They get paid too much yet need more money....alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

The Garda Síochana are a state agency and as such are overpaid and under worked.

1/10

Poor effort, weak fundamentals, lacks grasp of basic trolling.
    Must try harder.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

prinz wrote: »
    As opposed to private police forces and vigilantes.

their kind of already is one
    you wont find any public files on it or anything
    but if you know a garda ask them about it

apparently they recruit only 1-2 people every year, they raid houses which have drugs and gangs if they believe they have weopens

my mate was applying for a garda, he knew basicly everyone in the garda
    so he didnt have to wait for the applications to re open, he said one of his mates in the garda told him this, their suppose to be real elite,

then again could be all bullsh*t for i know
    youd never know anyway unless theirs a leak so no one would believe this story

i kind of do and dont but not bothered either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

private ploice force = bad idea

saiint wrote: »
    youd never know anyway unless theirs a leak so no one would believe this story

A leak? What from every garda, and everyone who asks a garda about it? Couldn't imagine a leak at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

..... funded partly from state aid...... This could be run as a for profit organisation and villagers and towns people could pay an annual fee of €100 a year per household to each new police station to fund it. I know I would pay it for peace of mind.

Eh, so you want to use state money, i.e. the money we all pay in taxes to provide funding for a company which is going to charge the tax payers money to make a profit. Where will these profits go?

Also, if i choose not to pay the 100 euro charge, i assume that means i don't get this private protection. How happy do you think people will be paying taxes for a security service that only protects the ones who pay the extra charge?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

A leak? What from every garda, and everyone who asks a garda about it? Couldn't imagine a leak at all.

nope me mate said the garda who told him wasnt suppose to know, if you get recruited by them ( bare in my he said their still the garda just more or less badass gardas with guns and were balacalvas) your not suppose to tell anyone not even your family

i find it hard to believe but i cant say its not real either
    to each their own

your not suppose to tell anyone not even your family

Then advising me to ask any gardaí I know is a bit of a waste of time isn't it. Are you sure your mate isn't referring to the ERU?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Jesus no! The last thing this country needs is more jumped up thugs with an inflated sense of their own importance. Bouncers, security guards etc... All fuckin assholes.
    Agree with you on the Gardai being incompetent though. Had to call them out to a situation last month and if anything they made it worse.

Does a police force work in ireland .......

No

Traffic police doing a terrific job though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

no...when the gov privatised, traffic wardens we got those bloody clampers, when they privatised speed cameras we got those bloody vans.

if they privatise cops we will end up with the russian mafia running black markets and serious corruption.

a better solution would be to give gardaí more funding... lol half the police cars they have are knackered. http://www.herald.ie/news/burgled-woman-has-to-collect-garda-in-her-car-3158605.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...So would a private vigilante force work in Ireland?

No - as others have said.
    Why?
    Well just look at the operations of the now infamous "Blackwater" business which was so bad in doing just as you suggest and other army type operations that they have had to change their name a number of times to try shake off their world terrible gained reputation (they are failing so far).
    (They are now this time known as "Academi" - previously known as Xe Services LLC, Blackwater USA and Blackwater Worldwide)

There is many reasons why the answer should be "No" - but a study of them alone is enough to convince a sane person.
    A read of this is shocking reading too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

Then advising me to ask any gardaí I know is a bit of a waste of time isn't it. Are you sure your mate isn't referring to the ERU?

From the ERU wiki page:
    The Emergency Response Unit is responsible for handling the following operations in service of the Garda Síochána:

1. Armed response in anti-criminal/subversive operations
    2. Implementation of search techniques, including use of forced entry
    3. Execution of high-risk warrants
    4. VIP Protection
    5. Provide specialist patrols as directed
    6. Provide ground and air regional patrols
    7. Hostage rescue

Then there's also the armed Regional Support Unit which has a similar (but more restricted) remit.

I'd say it's one of the two, most likely the ERU. The reason why members shouldn't talk about it/wear balaclavas is primarily to avoid being identified and becoming targets for your friendly local gangland mobsters.

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭Dionysius2

The policing/security situation in the country is so bad that it's no wonder ideas like this are being discussed. The public here judge the Garda largely in regard to response time, i.e. the time taken to show up when dialled. Before jumping to generalised conclusions about this or quoting individual instances to support one's point of view just note this : the Garda response time, which can be good and bad in turn, is significantly ahead of the police forces on the neighbouring island where in many force areas the police do not show up until the next day.

Private policing ? Hhhmmmm....what about a pilot project for this idea in a particular area of the country where functionality, cost issues, personnel, and above all else effectiveness can be properly assessed ? Then we could have a proper debate about what this would entail. Without doubt the Gardai will not be enamoured with the idea (turkeys & Christmas etc) but in a proper structure they may lose nothing at all in such a move. In the USA there are over legally empowered 5,500 private police forces throughout the land and therefore no national police with the FBI providing the federal overarching requirement.
    To the anti side I say this : Maybe the time come ?
    To the pro side I say this : There is a significant high risk aspect to this not least in the adaptation of laws, etc., especially in regard to our litigation obsessed society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Lads, it's here/very much coming but in a different form. Not for policing your streets or homes, but for policing big business interests - most popular hires are ex-army Ranger wing and ex MPs. Personally I think Private security will never be a "Police force", never in the sense of going getting forms stamped or prosecuting burglars, but prisons WILL be privatised, Traffic enforcement will to a greater extent, Police paperwork will and the Private Security industry will grow and grow.
    There are already some people, ahem, who provide Heavy Security to Firms who have to Transit valuable cargo - that generally involves semi-armoured SUVs with sophisticated video equipment and operatives trained and willing to excercise force. Depending on jurisdiction these may well carry licenced firearms. Not really "Police", but very much carrying out the function of police to an extent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I like the idea but fear it would be terribly difficult to regulate.

The gardai have little incentive to work.

Their pay is not related to how successful they are or to how satisfied the public is with their service. Furthermore, rapid promotion cannot be achieved by exceptional performance. Finally, it's nearly impossible to get fired.

That organisation simply cannot work, ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

No you can't privatise the police force. Because then where does it stop? Privatising the law? Privatising prisons?

I could start my police force. Make my own uniform (mine would come with a cape by the way :cool:) and make it illegal to wear trousers below the waist like some of these eejit teenagers. Then I can arrest them and put them in my private prison.

It's just not feasible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Fupping Grasshole

Money for this police force could be generated by fines or other entrepreneurial activity.

:rolleyes: That's a good idea alright, sure give them promotions and bonuses for the most fines handed out too.
    towns people could pay an annual fee of €100 a year per household

PHIL? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

nope me mate said the garda who told him wasnt suppose to know, if you get recruited by them ( bare in my he said their still the garda just more or less badass gardas with guns and were balacalvas) your not suppose to tell anyone not even your family

i find it hard to believe but i cant say its not real either
    to each their own

Is your mate Leonardo DiCaprio?

You may be thinking of ERU who's identities are protected for security reasons but they are not a private police force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,606 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

The private clampers do a wonderful job, I can't see why a private police force wouldn't be equally as delightful

humbert wrote: »
    Their pay is not related to how successful they are or to how satisfied the public is with their service..

How do you decide how successful they are? Numbers of arrests? Cue needless arrests. Numbers of suspects? Cue BS reasons to create suspects. Can't be numbers of convictions because that's really up to the DPP et al, not the gardaí. The investigating gardaí could do an outstanding job and yet a conviction might not to obtained because of a legal issue unrelated to them. So do you mark that up as a success for the gardaí or a failure? Crime rates? Crime rates in a lot of areas are apparently falling, so I am sure you'd agree now's the time to start rewarding the gardaí with pay, no?

Satisfied public? Yeah, that sounds like a recipe for success right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

1/10

Poor effort, weak fundamentals, lacks grasp of basic trolling.
    Must try harder.

Oh no, it's not trolling. This is what libertarians actually believe.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

€100 a year for rentacop ? how much does a plumber charger for a callout ? Don't forget a private company has to make a profit after advertising and costs.

Price how much Group 4 or A1 Alarms or other existing organisations currently charge for their services.

Also it will be staffed by people the Guards and more expensive security firms rejected

If you are talking about generating revenue from fines remember where you live. The Guards don't get income from penalty points. If they did they could nail about 80% of all motorists for speeding before anyone realise what was happening.

Anyone got a link to that US judge who sent thousands of juveniles to a correction facility - thereby destroying lots of lives - that he got a kickback from ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

You are talking about every guard in the country, I'm sure there are some competent ones out there.
    Under worked and overpaid, I'm sure some are same as any organisation.
    There is no way you can have an immediate response there has to be some time allowed to get to the scene.
    Back to the drawing board and come up with something workable next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,238 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

If you want an immediate response when someone breaks in to your home:

1) Live somewhere that firearms or 'castle doctrine' is legal

2) take care of it yourself

How do you decide how successful they are? Numbers of arrests? Cue needless arrests. Numbers of suspects? Cue BS reasons to create suspects. Can't be numbers of convictions because that's really up to the DPP et al, not the gardaí. The investigating gardaí could do an outstanding job and yet a conviction might not to obtained because of a legal issue unrelated to them. So do you mark that up as a success for the gardaí or a failure? Crime rates? Crime rates in a lot of areas are apparently falling, so I am sure you'd agree now's the time to start rewarding the gardaí with pay, no?

Actually in speaking with some officers over here there is a certain slant on what you want to ticket and arrest for because the money from fines does end up back in the department. More ticketing means a bigger budget and that means better equipment and staffing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

there is a HUGGGGGGGGGE gap in the market so ya a private police force could fill it no bother i would say..

theres not enough gards on the beat,and they cut the budget so the numbers are wayyy down..

there is a HUGGGGGGGGGE gap in the market so ya a private police force could fill it no bother i would say..

theres not enough gards on the beat,and they cut the budget so the numbers are wayyy down..
    yeah speaking of budgets who funds a kickstart for a private police force? nevermind the huge uphill legal concerns.

whoever has the money to set it up would do it,obviously it would be a police force like beverly hills,it would be paid for police force,the community that can afford it,(usually upscale ones)would be where some of the funding comes from..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

€100 a year for rentacop ? how much does a plumber charger for a callout ? Don't forget a private company has to make a profit after advertising and costs.

Price how much Group 4 or A1 Alarms or other existing organisations currently charge for their services.

Also it will be staffed by people the Guards and more expensive security firms rejected

If you are talking about generating revenue from fines remember where you live. The Guards don't get income from penalty points. If they did they could nail about 80% of all motorists for speeding before anyone realise what was happening.

Anyone got a link to that US judge who sent thousands of juveniles to a correction facility - thereby destroying lots of lives - that he got a kickback from ?

The kids for cash scandal.

How are numbers down ?

they have a lot of gards that had to go for early retirement and they have recruitment freezes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

So I'm understanding you want to go with U2 and rant about how the police force aren't good enough, just like trash collection?

they have a lot of gards that had to go for early retirement and they have recruitment freezes..

Any guard that retired was not walking the beat. They lost valuable members at the top which they cannot replace.
    The recruitment freeze will go on for a few years yet.

I have an uncle that used to work there he was basically forced to take early retirement..
    Its all due to the budget cuts,and its doing no good,where i am i never see any beat guards around the place,and a neighbour got hijacked in his car by a druggie pretending he had a wife in labour,he stopped him and said can i have a lift to limerick maternity hospital my wifes in labour,anyway as it goes he put a knife to him and ordered him to drive to an atm machine,and draw out as much as he could,and then drive to brannigans pub..there was another girl who was threatened at knife point on her way to work and mugged..
    there have been a spate muggings as well recently near the centre of town and out around the flats..
    weve never seen any patrol cars or gards on the beat just walking or driving having a look,theres no point in turning up after the crime has been done,youre there just static taking statements,im not saying it doesnt catch them,but you have more of a chance of catching them when you are out on the beat,catching crime on the minute..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I'm all for this , but I do have a number of concerns :

'Adjusts favourite AH monocle'

In the event of a burglary at my nine bed mansion how do I contact the new Goafer Police Force ? (GPF) .. Do I phone 888 or should I call 113 ?

What am to do in the event to do in the event of the Gardai and the GPF arriving simultaneously ? will both parties share said burglar ?

Has anyone considered the possiblity of a Gardai GPF turf war ?

Should I not be satisfied with the GPF , who then can I complain to ? and will there be a need for third police force ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Why not just arm the homeless.

• Creating jobs
    • Equally as psychologically stable as the type that would be attracted to a private police force
    • who knows the streets better than the homeless
    • Like the SOPA law it confirms Irish innovation in the fight against crime

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

There are already some private estates in Dublin who have hired a private security firm to patrol there area after a spate of house break ins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Found the link http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=private%20estates%20in%20dublin%20who%20have%20hired%20a%20private%20security%20firm%20to%20patrol%20there%20area%20after%20a%20spate&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CFAQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.herald.ie%2Fnews%2Ffoxrock-families-hire-private-security-after-spate-of-burglaries-3152868.html&ei=4qv1T-zHMcrJhAeKnJjcBg&usg=AFQjCNHP_qytOcThN6RqGsiex9n-tVU1-w

RESIDENTS in an exclusive neighbourhood have been forced to hire a private security firm as they battle a burglary epidemic.
    Homeowners in one estate are living in an "air of fear and anger" following a spate of incidents where thieves have used jammers to disable alarm systems and phones and rob houses.
    There have been at least 11 burglaries in the Carrickmines Wood estate in Foxrock in the past two months with four occurring this month so far.

Angry
    Residents of the estate are so concerned that they have held what is described as "a very angry" public meeting which was attended by local gardai.
    Sources say there is an "air of fear and anger" in the estate which was described as '"probably the most expensive new homes development under construction in Dublin'' when the first homes in it were released for sale in 1999.
    The residents have now hired a private security company to patrol Carrickmines Wood at night as gardai struggle to battle the burglary epidemic.
    Like elsewhere in the country, in many of the burglaries in the estate, criminal gangs have been using GSM jammers which emit a powerful signal that blocks intruder alerts sent by alarm systems to monitoring stations as well as phone signals.
    A previous Herald investigation revealed that these sophisticated jamming devices can be bought for just €20 on the internet and some of these have the capacity to block monitored alarm systems throughout an entire estate.

Terrified
    A source explained: "Like in lots of estates all over Ireland, people in Carrickmines Wood are terrified to stay in their own homes.
    "These gangs are also just busting in doors of houses -- tens of thousands of euro worth of goods and cars have been stolen from homes there in the past few weeks.
    "The situation is so bad that this week residents employed a private security guard to patrol the estate because gardai can't be there all the time -- people are at their wits' end.
    "Cabinteely Garda Station is the local station and there are fears that the situation is going to get even worse. At the moment there are plans to downgrade the station so how the hell are gardai going to be able to respond to this crisis in the future?"
    Derek Mooney is managing director of Alarm Control 24, a company that has developed a long-range radio-based alarm monitoring system to counter these jamming devices.
    He told the Herald that jamming devices could be defeated by alarm systems that rely on radio signals, rather than GSM, to communicate with monitoring stations.
    "Jammers cannot block radio signals which do not use the cellular network to send and receive messages," Mr Mooney pointed out.
    kfoy@herald.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

You seem to have deliberately misinterpreted my post so that you could go off on that rant.

I simply described the reasons why, in my opinion, the gardai are as lazy and useless as they are. I.e., that they lack the incentives available in private industry.

Not being able to propose a simple fix does not mean that one shouldn't acknowledge the problem.

Also, I believe the gardai are rewarded with pay :confused: