Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Building a website for a friend

• 05-07-2012 3:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭

One of my mates needs a website built and because I work with computers he figured that I'd obviously be the person to talk too (I work in support ffs)

Anyway, he only needs a small, low maintenance site for fitness classes that he runs, this shouldn't be a problem but I'm a total novice when it comes to web design so any advice/help would be very much appreciated.

The plan is that he tells me exactly what he needs and I set it up for him. I've been looking around online and Register365's Site Maker seems to be one of the better options out there and it costs €5 per month with a free domain name (hosting would be extra I presume).

Could this be easier then trying my hand at HTML/Dreamweaver and just registering a domain and getting hosting separately?

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭cormee

I'm not being a smart-arse, but I think the best advice for you is to tell him you're not a web designer, and to find someone who is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

I'd send him to wordpress.com and wash my hands of it.
    What you don't want is someone coming running to you every time they want to update/change something, and since you set up the site, it's your job to support them forever and give them free advice.
    It seems like he's looking to get it done on the cheap, so you have to wonder how that's going to play out down the road.