Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How much will ya do for cash?

• 06-07-2012 7:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭

Chatting about this line earlier on and came up with some mixed opinions.

I run a small business and regularly ring up large totals on the register, present the total to the customer, to be met with the ol' chestnut that is, "what'll ya do for cash?".

What is the person thinking when they're asking this?

Is it:

a) they're doing me a favour by giving me cash wish is presumably cheaper for me to lodge with the bank (which it isn't, if the total was €500, it costs eight times more to lodge cash than Laser).

b) they assume you'll give them a good deal because they assume all businesses who deal in cash don't put it through the books and by even agreeing to a better deal you are admitting you are a shady bastard.

c) figure of speech and they just want a discount (which we usually accomodate)

My answer is always politely with a smile "makes no difference to me how you pay", which it doesn't (unless its a huge amount and they're paying with credit card).

Thoughts? Personally I wouldn't have the nerve to walk into a shop and present that line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Tried this in the Ulsterbank today, they said they would do anything that I wanted them to do ( as long as it did not involve computers ).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I run a small business and regularly ring up large totals on the register, present the total to the customer, to be met with the ol' chestnut that is, "what'll ya do for cash?".

Not a country music fan I take it......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Mixture of em all probably. Its basically just saying "Can ya knock a bit off ?" Assuming you wont be taking the hit on the full amount you knock off dealing in cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Is it:

a) they're doing me a favour by giving me cash wish is presumably cheaper for me to lodge with the bank (which it isn't, if the total was €500, it costs eight times more to lodge cash than Laser).

b) they assume you'll give them a good deal because they assume all businesses who deal in cash don't put it through the books and by even agreeing to a better deal you are admitting you are a shady bastard.

My answer is always politely with a smile "makes no difference to me how you pay", which it doesn't (unless its a huge amount and they're paying with credit card).

Thoughts? Personally I wouldn't have the nerve to walk into a shop and present that line.

they are hoping you wont charge vat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Really? On a business to customer over the counter transaction? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

Most of the time it's juat an expression looking for a discount.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

That phrase is only going to get more commmon,thanks to Enda Kenny and his bunch of merry gombeens (very polite verson of what I really want to post) running this country into the ground.

100,000 jobs ME HOLE.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

What do you mean "really"???? VAT is a government imposed tax, which, although legal, is morally wrong, which pays for Enda Kenny's make-up and Leo Varadker's merc and Angela Merkel's interest. Do you think you should be paying it? I wouldn't mind if it was put to good use, but as long as there is a single homeless person on the streets, or a single special needs child not getting what they need, I protest to the payment of my hard earned money towards any government luxuries. In fact, far from making a business look like "shady ba$tards", it makes you look like sound people who I'd gladly do business with again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,197 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Whom ever pays for Ednas makeup lets hope they continue as this is what he really looks like without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

I guess in some businesses, a transaction can't be discounted when paying by card because it's all hard-wired together, whereas technically with a cash sale you could take in less (even though your own books wouldn't balance then).
    More likely it's just that most people haven't worked in retail and have no clue how it works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

In my own retail experience people just don't know how a business works.
    Some lads seem to think you just made up the price that morning for the craic. They tended to be Celtic tiger types with their wads of fifties who more than likely used said method to charge people themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I was expecting this thread to be similar to the 'should I get into porn' thread.

I was not disappointed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭RHarrow

Some people genuinely believe that them paying cash will amount to you not putting it through the books and thus not paying VAT on it yourself, others just use it as a way of asking for a discount.

It most often really just amounts to "look, I have cash on me and I'm ready to spend it here but I would like to leave here believing I got something that other people didn't, make me feel special" so it's not really an issue to humour them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Is it:

Cash is king and people assume that if you pay cash that a bit might be knocked off. I don't think it's much to do with VAT or taxes and most wouldn't know what the business has to pay to lodge it in.

It's what my drug dealer tells me anyway.

Mick Wallace would be a great person to give a "1st hand experience" view of this matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,631 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Is it:

Does if their looking to pay with monopoly money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Is it:

It basically implies that you are offering to do an off the books transaction.
    If a person conducts a normal, straight transaction with someone they will want a receipt and may want to claim the VAT back at a later stage.
    "Doing it for cash" means they will pay in cash and don't have any need to make the transaction official.
    It was/is fairly common in the construction industry and people could expect to get a reasonable discount for making such a deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Well personally I wouldn't get out of bed for anything less than a grand. Yes my standards are that high.. so I let my dole accumulate to over a month before I have to - but even gettin up for a grand before dinnertime is hard slog, lumme tell ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

As my mammy used to say,

'You don't ask, you don't get'

I don't see the problem with asking for a discount, end of the day consumer is king. Wouldn't try it in Tesco though!

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    As my mammy used to say,

I don't see the problem with asking for a discount, end of the day consumer is king. Wouldn't try it in Tesco though!

And then ask for some more.;):D

Haggle hard and haggle fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    As my mammy used to say,

Did it today and haggled over the price of 4 tyres for my car. Never did it before and it lo and behold it worked with a bit of persuasion.

Very happy :D.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭nimrod86

EGAR wrote: »
    Did it today and haggled over the price of 4 tyres for my car. Never did it before and it lo and behold it worked with a bit of persuasion.

The whole country needs to start doing this!

No point talking about how much were being ripped off if the next day we'll walk back out and buy the same things again!

You got to show the Government and big companies, that if they want to screw us around, we can go elsewhere, they got to earn our business!

nim

EGAR wrote: »

No problem with haggling (except the customers who want to haggle over €19.99), just wondering what everyone thought about the whole cash thing.

I often ask for small bit off on high value purchases, you rarely walk away disappointed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

No problem with haggling (except the customers who want to haggle over €19.99), just wondering what everyone thought about the whole cash thing.

I often ask for small bit off on high value purchases, you rarely walk away disappointed.

Changing your tune a bit there:rolleyes:

I got 10 cents of my 2 litre of milk this morning.

Asked the shop keeper would he do the milk for 1 euro 30 and he says......."yeah sure go on".

See.....It pays to ask and haggle.

Result indeed.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Shouldn't you be asking this in "I run a business" forum?
    I always pay cash on everything in shops so never ask that question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

You haggled with your landlord, your accountant fees, your suppliers, your rates and pretty much everything you pay

Your customers want to haggle too

You clearly don't run a farm supplies shop as you'd be haggling from opening to close every day :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,134 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Is it:

There are no bank charges when you lodge the cash to your "Rainy-day Mattress Account".

..of course, there may be different "charges" when the Revenue Commissioners find out later on.:(

newmug wrote: »
    Changing your tune a bit there:rolleyes:

Re-read the first post. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

Do you mind me asking how long you are in business?
    This shouldnt come as a shock to you, people regularly offer cash in the hope of getting the vat knocked off. What a lot of people don't realise is that it's getting more difficult to do business like that.

5 years. Its a retail store so it baffles me why people would expect this, unless they're a bit shady themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

5 years. Its a retail store so it baffles me why people would expect this, unless they're a bit shady themselves.
    Ah sure that explains it so, everyone knows the mark up in retail is huge so they have to look for a cash deal :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

whole concept is dead and buried in my business, I pay for everything electronically/card and have to get a VAT receipt and I get paid electronically, usually from abroad with all Vat etc included. I never see cash from one end of the year to the other. I miss cash. There's somthing nicer about getting handed a wad of crinkly fifties - numbers going up and down on a screen doesn't have the same appeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,439 ✭✭✭weemcd

I wouldn't like myself if I haggled. If I want an item or a service, I buy it for the price listed, or I realise that nobody is making me buy the fúckin thing in the first place, so I can take it or leave it.

I'm fookin mad that way like.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭DELTATIP

Retailors - In my humble opinion

Im coming to a store near you with my readies i will be asking for a price reduction in all my transactions I do

It s not because of some celtic tiger bull or some feel good buxxxxit
    It s because i need to save my hard earned cash for me /family benefit

I do it today as Ive alway done ...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

weemcd wrote: »
    I wouldn't like myself if I haggled. If I want an item or a service, I buy it for the price listed, or I realise that nobody is making me buy the fúckin thing in the first place, so I can take it or leave it.

I'm fookin mad that way like.
    ^I'm the same, I ask a person for a price, they give me a price. I then either decide to pay it or not. I don't haggle. I also never argue with a persons price - if thats their price so be it, I don't beat them down. I either agree to pay it or say thanks but no.
    On the flip side, I expect the same in return. Wanna haggle? Feck off and find a souk. My price is my price. If someone can drop their price it means they were riding you in the first place anyway. I also learnt early on if someone does a job for me and then overcharges me, I smile and pay it in full. I then never deal with them again. But I never whinge and I never try and beat them down. It's a long game, but eventually, people cop on and start dealing with you straight up, ie no overcharging and no arguing about my prices.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Salt001

My husband is a dab hand at asking that question but in his case it is simply a means of asking for a discount.
    He totally believes in haggling ( in a nice way ) and often does get a reduction.
    I mean he wouldn't do it in Tescos or Sainbury's ,it all depends on the type of shop.
    We go to a lot of farmer markets and Antique fairs and its nearly expected there.