Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting in UCD in September 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 BasketCase18

adawwwwg wrote: »
    Ag science anyone ?

Well, I'm doing food science so we'll be in the same building!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭jwof2006

Is there a deadline for reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Maldesu

jwof2006 wrote: »
    Is there a deadline for reg.

Modules can be changed up to the 21st Sept and then they lock. They will open briefly for Sem 2 so you can make changes but it will lock again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 galwaygirl.

adawwwwg wrote: »
    Ag science anyone ?

me! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭gwakamoley

The next step in registration, picking a "start time", is from 8am to 2pm tomorrow. Does anyone know what this actually means and if we have to have anything prepared for it?

EDIT: Nevermind, UCD registery just posted info up on Facebook. Here is the link to the explanation of the start time for anyone that needs it.

http://www.ucd.ie/students/stimes/faq.html

I got accommodation in Merville but I cant remember who is in the apartment with me! Does anyone know if its mainly first years there or what? And do ya really not have an oven? :eek:

And do ya really not have an oven? :eek:

So I hear anyway! I think I'll get one of those counter top ovens. Apperantly they aren't that expensive and there might be a few people in the appartment willing to share the cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭dmca93

Are you guys going in everyday next week i.e Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday? Or just the days you have a specific course timetable for?

p.s anyone doing Radiography?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Mr.Fun

dmca93 wrote: »
    Are you guys going in everyday next week i.e Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday? Or just the days you have a specific course timetable for?

p.s anyone doing Radiography?:)

Im doing Radiography!!!See you wednesday!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭dmca93

Mr.Fun wrote: »
    Im doing Radiography!!!See you wednesday!!

Cool! See ya then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 lido84

Hey.aw cool,cant wait now,not long to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 lido84

Hi I will be doing veterinary nursing in September too :D
    aw cool,cant wait,not long left now

So what electives are ye picking? I'm hoping to do German but I'm not sure what I'll pick for my second one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭mhangasor

Anyone know what the story is with picking electives? Can we see a list of them or is that apparently too much to ask for!? I have no clue what to pick!

There is no list but this might help.
    You can search by program or modules though it is time consuming. It is preset to look for only Level 0 or Level 1, unless you change it yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭AlmightyDublin

Maldesu wrote: »
    There is no list but this might help.
    You can search by program or modules though it is time consuming. It is preset to look for only Level 0 or Level 1, unless you change it yourself.
    But can you take modules for your subjects over Level 1 (so 2/3) in your first year? Or do you take them in your 2nd/3rd years?? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

So confused about tomorrow - what exactly are we doing? I've already handed in a form for my course - it's International Languages so I've already picked 8 modules, and I have 3 preset ones, leaving one to pick - and I'm planning on making that one linguistics. But is that all I'm doing tomorrow?
    Can someone please explain this to me? :P

Generally, you would take your Level 2 in second year and Level 3 in third, but plenty of 2nd years have been taking L3 to avoid taking a L2 they dislike. You could take your electives in the L2 or L3 if you wanted to, but if the program have a policy against it, I don't know. Something you'd have to check.

Patchy~ wrote: »
    So confused about tomorrow - what exactly are we doing? I've already handed in a form for my course - it's International Languages so I've already picked 8 modules, and I have 3 preset ones, leaving one to pick - and I'm planning on making that one linguistics. But is that all I'm doing tomorrow?
    Apart from the modules and subjects, you have to register for Introduction to Arts (HUM....), and you can register for an elective too I think :)

Either you will be preselected for your lectures, or you will have to select them yourself including the linguistics one you are choosing. You will have to add on any tutorials associated with each lecture.
    You can read this link, which is more set up with the Arts student in mind, but the selection is the same.

Apart from the modules and subjects, you have to register for Introduction to Arts (HUM....), and you can register for an elective too I think :)
    But do I pick the modules based on different time slots, do you know? Because I think thats how HUM works but I'm so confused :o
    Either you will be preselected for your lectures, or you will have to select them yourself including the linguistics one you are choosing. You will have to add on any tutorials associated with each lecture.
    You can read this link, which is more set up with the Arts student in mind, but the selection is the same.
    Oh that's a great thread, thank you! Do we have to do 2 electives though? My understanding was that we're given 12 modules to fill - 3 were selected for me and I had to pick another 8 in languages, so I only have one left.

But do I pick the modules based on different time slots, do you know? Because I think thats how HUM works but I'm so confused :o

Oh that's a great thread, thank you! Do we have to do 2 electives though? My understanding was that we're given 12 modules to fill - 3 were selected for me and I had to pick another 8 in languages, so I only have one left.
    As far as I'm aware, HUM is pretty flexible and is on a few times a day (or week), at least thats what it says on the timetable. For example, I've a History module on at the same time as HUM, but an hour later both HUM and the same module is on, so I'd just pick which order I'd take them in. I'd say that would be similar for you?

Oh yeah I get that, it's so handy :D But are all the things like that? I mean, seeing as we can choose when to do HUM, could you also choose when you want to take your history module? Or are the times set for that stuff?

The rule is you have 60 credits per year. 50 of them must be used in your program, the other 10 can either be used in your program, or outside it.

Oh yeah I get that, it's so handy :D But are all the things like that? I mean, seeing as we can choose when to do HUM, could you also choose when you want to take your history module? Or are the times set for that stuff?
    I think some of the modules you pick the time you take them, and others you can't. You can check it in the 'Course Search' option on the UCD website, then when you view modules, when you click on the one you want, there may be a piece of info on when you can actually take the module :)
    Its under the heading 'When is this module offered?'

The rule is you have 60 credits per year. 50 of them must be used in your program, the other 10 can either be used in your program, or outside it.
    Oh grand :D Looks like I'm using 55 inside and 5 outside then :)
    I think some of the modules you pick the time you take them, and others you can't. You can check it in the 'Course Search' option on the UCD website, then when you view modules, when you click on the one you want, there may be a piece of info on when you can actually take the module :)
    Its under the heading 'When is this module offered?'
    Oh whoaaaaaaa there are so many times for each module :eek: I hope they're not all snapped up while I'm trying to get my head around it :pac:

Yeah, there's tons haha, still, its good as its flexible :D

I was just looking at the UCD site and it seems that Intro to Arts is mandatory, so you may have no extra credits to play around with. On a plus side, I don't see it being to difficult to pass.

Oh no I think I'm accounting for that - assuming 12 is actually the number of modules I have to take (12x5 credits) I have 4 French, 4 Spanish, 1 Intro to Arts and 2 Shaping Europe (no idea what that entails, probably a bit of history, but it's compulsory for me). I wouldn't mind not having any extra credits though, the huge choice is a little daunting haha, I never knew I'd have to pick an elective.

So long as you were accounting for it. It was only being set up last year but I didn't have to do it so I forgot about it.
    So yeah, you have only one to pick now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 BoomCha

Hi guys !!

I'm a french girl starting in UCD in september too and I wonder if you know the examinations dates or when they'll be available ? (I have to do an important thing in december when I come back home and the sooner the better, so i'd like to know!!) :)

I'm lost about the module registration thing too :confused: I'm in a study programm where all the students have to take the same modules and aren't allowed to take other ones, so is it only about chosing the times of modules?

BoomCha wrote: »
    Hi guys !!

I'm a french girl starting in UCD in september too and I wonder if you know the examinations dates or when they'll be available ? (I have to do an important thing in december when I come back home and the sooner the better, so i'd like to know!!) :)

Term dates but the dates for exams won't be set until later.
    http://www.ucd.ie/registry/academicsecretariat/20122013term_dates.pdf
    BoomCha wrote: »
    I'm lost about the module registration thing too :confused: I'm in a study programm where all the students have to take the same modules and aren't allowed to take other ones, so is it only about chosing the times of modules?

Difficult to say, but any lectures will have a set time. Only tutorials, seminars etc will have different times for you to choose from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 vikingflowers

drbtrenier wrote: »
    That's what I gathered from the original communication with them but didn't ask! As long as I have a place to stay I'm not too bothered about where!

i got the ad astra scholarship too! i'm going to be staying in roebuck hall :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 drbtrenier

i got the ad astra scholarship too! i'm going to be staying in roebuck hall :)

Cool, me too, see you there! :) What apartment are you in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 vikingflowers

drbtrenier wrote: »
    Cool, me too, see you there! :) What apartment are you in?

apartment 17! what about you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 moo2011

guys if you dont have accomodation can you not register yet or whats the craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

I don't think first year registration begins until tomorrow does it not?

Neeson wrote: »
    I don't think first year registration begins until tomorrow does it not?

You should have already gotten a booking time, which was today. If you didn't do that, one was assigned to you, so check your email. Tomorrow is the start of registration, so log in at your start time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Paula95

Does anybody know if you have to log in at your start time tomoro or can you leave it for a few hours?

Paula95 wrote: »
    Does anybody know if you have to log in at your start time tomoro or can you leave it for a few hours?

You can leave it if you have to. It won't lock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Paula95

Ok, thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 moo2011

someone please help!! mine is at 9.30 friday morning? does this mean ill be limited in what i can choose and what not? as i was working all day i couldnt pick a start time :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭tgdaly

moo2011 wrote: »
    someone please help!! mine is at 9.30 friday morning? does this mean ill be limited in what i can choose and what not? as i was working all day i couldnt pick a start time :(

Depends how many other people have picked the ones you want to pick by the time you get around to it

tgdaly wrote: »
    Depends how many other people have picked the ones you want to pick by the time you get around to it

It will also depend on subject. Eg, English has up to 500 places, Geog about 300-350, History about 400... etc. If you applied for a subject choice via the CAO, then you will be preselected for at least two of your modules, which is enough to let you continue to the next year.

Is anyone else meant to be doing the next step of registration at 9:30 this morning? What are we actually meant to do?

gwakamoley wrote: »
    Is anyone else meant to be doing the next step of registration at 9:30 this morning? What are we actually meant to do?

Log onto SIS, and enter registration process. And then just pick youre modules!

Ok so I'm logged into SIS but where do I go to enter the registration process?

EDIT:found it! Thanks galwaygirl :)

gwakamoley wrote: »
    Ok so I'm logged into SIS but where do I go to enter the registration process?

On the very first page after you log in, theres a botton on the bottom that says enter registration, click that and a message from the president comes up. Select module registration from the top tabs.

Well that's one more step towards starting college :). When do we get a finalised version of our timetable? I think I'm on at 9am every morning :/

I'm not in at 9 any day in either semester :eek: Niceeeeee :pac:
    Only have one lecture of Spanish on Friday too. Kinda wish they'd let me take more electives to fill up some space, so I'd have extra credits and idk, wouldnt have to pass them - I took an elective in linguistics because my overall course is international languages, but I've always loved physics, though I couldn't do it for the LC in my school so I'd love to try it, but knowing I'd HAVE to pass it is too daunting.