Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

So lets get ready for steam sale, lads!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

Arma II is €8.99 - Arma II: CO is €15

You need CO for DayZ is what I think he's referring to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭titan18

dan_ep82 wrote: »
    Um... but it is a game?

If you dislike COD because of its arcade feel and prefer battlefield because of its simulation,this game is definitely worth a look.

The sheer scope of the map,weapons,vehicles and variety of mods put BF3 to shame in those aspects.

Theres certain things in Arma you wont get in BF3.

Like using a Chinook to carry a M1 Abrams tank to the main battle area while dodging AA fire,jets and helicopters because it would take 20 minutes to drive it there.

Or hearing a piloted CJ130 take a nose dive above you (using JSRS sound mod) from a few thousand feet only to practically blanket a town with fire.

It has its draw backs.
    Badly optimized.
    Some elements are clunky.
    Not as populated as BF3 servers.

BF3 is a great game,I have over 200 hours in it but Arma once given a chance is a great game that can offer something that BF3 can't and it makes a nice break from it.

In a way,BF3 is to Arma as COD is to BF3

And yep,16gb

Getting Dayz?

Tbf, I find a lot of these games is made by the community. No experience of Arma but the BF3 general community is much better than CoD imo. From what I've read of DayZ, only reason I'd buy Arma tbh, the community doesn't seem too great or at least the mechanics the community play by aren't great e.g needing to be in groups otherwise someone else in the game is going to kill you.

Any big multiplayer game is defined by it's community imo, from my own experience I gave up on DOTA and WoW cos of their communities, but DOTA2 so far is grand, and stuff like SWTOR or LOTRO were much better than what I experienced in WoW. Although SWTOR was lacking in so many other ways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

dan_ep82 wrote: »
    Um... but it is a game?

If you dislike COD because of its arcade feel and prefer battlefield because of its simulation,this game is definitely worth a look.

The sheer scope of the map,weapons,vehicles and variety of mods put BF3 to shame in those aspects.

Theres certain things in Arma you wont get in BF3.

Like using a Chinook to carry a M1 Abrams tank to the main battle area while dodging AA fire,jets and helicopters because it would take 20 minutes to drive it there.

Or hearing a piloted CJ130 take a nose dive above you (using JSRS sound mod) from a few thousand feet only to practically blanket a town with fire.

It has its draw backs.
    Badly optimized.
    Some elements are clunky.
    Not as populated as BF3 servers.

BF3 is a great game,I have over 200 hours in it but Arma once given a chance is a great game that can offer something that BF3 can't and it makes a nice break from it.

In a way,BF3 is to Arma as COD is to BF3

And yep,16gb

Getting Dayz?

I said its "not a game" not to offends it, if that makes any sence. What it is, it is great, but as a package it is aimed at people who are military nerds and love simulation. For most people it's a lot more fun to play something like cod and bf3. I love bf3, but iit is far away from simulation. It's just a game, which apeals to a lot of people.
    Arma2 os for those who have patients and enjoy stuff which you listed. For some people process of getting to battle is part of experience, for some it's a lot more fun to jump in and push the trigger.

titan18 wrote: »
    Was playing it myself. There's no campaign sadly, it's just the single and multi player stuff. To increase ship supply, on the research tab, go to fleet logistics and its the 2nd row of upgrades on that. The first is for increasing the amount of capital ships you can have. Increasing ship supply increases the amount you pay so you need to increase the amount of colonies you have for it to be effective
    Yup, noticed that m8. Just back from playing 2h some random 1v1 map. Still not even near of finishing it, but now I am getting a feel for the game. Research trees are a bit overwhelming. And that's 3xraces...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Currently have steam installed on an 80GB drive and have banned myself from symlinking in games.

Sale has made me create a new partition for steam games, up to 175GB. Wonder how long that'll last before I cave again....

ED E wrote: »
    Currently have steam installed on an 80GB drive and have banned myself from symlinking in games.

Sale has made me create a new partition for steam games, up to 175GB. Wonder how long that'll last before I cave again....
    I still got 110gb left on my steam ssd. Thinking of putting arma 2 on it too now. I will fill it up to 50gb, then keep it for future. :) steam does not just eat money, it eats space too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Ape X

Gentlemen... Harley Quinn's Revenge. Yay or Nay?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Ape X wrote: »
    Gentlemen... Harley Quinn's Revenge. Yay or Nay?!

I enjoyed it. Quire short, but fun. Worth the fiver or so I paid.

chrislad wrote: »
    I enjoyed it. Quire short, but fun. Worth the fiver or so I paid.
    Nice one. For €3.39 it'd be rude not to I suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Arkham City on a Nvidia GT520MX? Anyone got any opinions?

On the subject of Arma. It is a game that deserves to be tried with an honest effort. What I mean, is put aside a day or two. Spend them learning the ropes of the game. Then, take some time online, explore the servers, not all of them will be to your liking. In fact it's a fair bet that those servers you can access almost immediately will be littered with players who play the game like its BF. Arma is not Battlefield, nor is it COD. There is no real way the game has to be played. For example, some people play it real hardcore tactical as if the game was real-life itself. I suggest you try that sometime as its one heck of a nerve racking experience. Others, treat the game a bit more arcadey. They have squad based tactics but they're more ad lib based and dedicated to ending the game quickly rather than staying alive. Sometimes depending on the server settings staying alive may be the preferable path. Others have the game optimised for insanity levels of coop. I once played on a server where one player was required to be a dedicated Air Traffic Controller. No ifs, no buts, direct the planes, tell em when to take off. Any pilot that disobeys ATC gets kicked. Next time : banned. I even played on one wehre there was no opposing force it was all about logistics and supplies. Carrying troops, supplies escorting refugees etc.

If you invest time in it, I have no doubt it will reward you. It's the one game that once you find cooperative based players your whole dynamic of the idea of online play will change for ever. To give a simple example. I played in a game once where my mini element, which was part of a larger squad was surrounded on all four. Even though two of us only got to shoot at fleeing tangos we didn't budge and trusted the others to cover us and shoot everything in their sectors. That was just awesome. The game epitomises trust. It becomes more amazing though when you become so familiar with your co-players (or their style, which becomes more and more recognisable the more you play the game. You need not even have played with that person before! The way they move will tell enough about that person.). In fact, I can't think of a more breathtaking experience than trying to flush out a sniper who's over a kilometre away by try taking turns as bait and hoping someone will spot the muzzle flash when he bites. (The more coy snipers, AI included, like to just call in artillery on your position.)

Basically what I'm trying to say is that Arma is very complicated, but it's awesome!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

Has anyone else been paying attention to the backgrounds on the Steam front page during each day? Was looking at reddit and it drew my attention to this...

Original
    Altered from reddit (Look at left of trunk of tree)

Is it just me or does that look like Gordon? Could we finally be getting some news about HL3?*

*Disclaimer: Please don't kill me if this turns out to be false!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,752 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

Anyone got any input on Warhammer 40k: Dawn of War 2. The vanilla game is €5, but there is €15 worth of DLC :eek: Is the DLC worth it? I have no bother buying the lot of it for €20 if the DLC is singleplayer worthy, or is it alot of multiplayer orientated DLC?

Or yeah, and is the game itself any good? :rolleyes:

better late than never, but yeah the game and the expansions are quality as a single player game goes. Dont expect a command and conquer clone, it is a squad based tactical rts.

A very good one, plays similar to company of heroes, and there's a levelling system and loot to be had :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

RolandIRL wrote: »
    Has anyone else been paying attention to the backgrounds on the Steam front page during each day? Was looking at reddit and it drew my attention to this...

Original
    Altered from reddit (Look at left of trunk of tree)

Is it just me or does that look like Gordon? Could we finally be getting some news about HL3?*

*Disclaimer: Please don't kill me if this turns out to be false!

Valve are trolls man....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Magill wrote: »
    Valve are trolls man....

TrollDeveloper.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭RogerWilco1982

Do you guys think Skyrim will go 50% off again on the last day?

It's at 33% off now but I'd rather hold out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Jernal wrote: »
    Arkham City on a Nvidia GT520MX? Anyone got any opinions?

On the subject of Arma. It is a game that deserves to be tried with an honest effort. What I mean, is put aside a day or two. Spend them learning the ropes of the game. Then, take some time online, explore the servers, not all of them will be to your liking. In fact it's a fair bet that those servers you can access almost immediately will be littered with players who play the game like its BF. Arma is not Battlefield, nor is it COD. There is no real way the game has to be played. For example, some people play it real hardcore tactical as if the game was real-life itself. I suggest you try that sometime as its one heck of a nerve racking experience. Others, treat the game a bit more arcadey. They have squad based tactics but they're more ad lib based and dedicated to ending the game quickly rather than staying alive. Sometimes depending on the server settings staying alive may be the preferable path. Others have the game optimised for insanity levels of coop. I once played on a server where one player was required to be a dedicated Air Traffic Controller. No ifs, no buts, direct the planes, tell em when to take off. Any pilot that disobeys ATC gets kicked. Next time : banned. I even played on one wehre there was no opposing force it was all about logistics and supplies. Carrying troops, supplies escorting refugees etc.

If you invest time in it, I have no doubt it will reward you. It's the one game that once you find cooperative based players your whole dynamic of the idea of online play will change for ever. To give a simple example. I played in a game once where my mini element, which was part of a larger squad was surrounded on all four. Even though two of us only got to shoot at fleeing tangos we didn't budge and trusted the others to cover us and shoot everything in their sectors. That was just awesome. The game epitomises trust. It becomes more amazing though when you become so familiar with your co-players (or their style, which becomes more and more recognisable the more you play the game. You need not even have played with that person before! The way they move will tell enough about that person.). In fact, I can't think of a more breathtaking experience than trying to flush out a sniper who's over a kilometre away by try taking turns as bait and hoping someone will spot the muzzle flash when he bites. (The more coy snipers, AI included, like to just call in artillery on your position.)

Basically what I'm trying to say is that Arma is very complicated, but it's awesome!

I bought it and will download today. COD has become very stale and there is no satisfaction in it for me when playing multiplayer. Stupid question but do I need a headset to play this game?

Do you guys think Skyrim will go 50% off again on the last day?

It's at 33% off now but I'd rather hold out...

99% it will.

lots of people bought that, so they will stick it to milk some more money on the last day.

the only 2 things i am looking forward to drop price now:

back to the future
    jagged alliance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭DeSelby83

What exactly is Garry's mod? Is it an actual game or is it a sandbox creation kit type thing?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,335 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

DeSelby83 wrote: »
    What exactly is Garry's mod? Is it an actual game or is it a sandbox creation kit type thing?
    Sandbox creation for Valve items.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Aye just a physics sandbox. There's a user I found when looking for a mate on steam that had logged 300 odd hours on just that.

I got bored after about 5 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

When does the steam sale end, I'm hoping kings bounty goes 75% off. Does anyone know if it has it been lower than 50% yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

To anyone thinking about buying ARMA 2 combined operations its a steal for 15 quid. Buy it and then download the free version of ARMA 2 from steam and you can play DayZ. Its SO worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

MadYaker wrote: »
    To anyone thinking about buying ARMA 2 combined operations its a steal for 15 quid. Buy it and then download the free version of ARMA 2 from steam and you can play DayZ. Its SO worth it.

If you buy CO then there is no need to download the free version of Arma at all. Once you get CO, you can then download DayZ for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭shane7218

Great sale all i need to do now is buy a new ssd to fit all the stuff i bought on it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Aye just a physics sandbox. There's a user I found when looking for a mate on steam that had logged 300 odd hours on just that.

I got bored after about 5 minutes.

Naw dawg!
    Naw!

Vanilla Garrys Mod can get boring quite quickly.
    But there are hundreds of different game modes, one of my favourites being SpaceBuild.
    You start on Earth and spawn in some resource containers and some generators to fill them, you create some environmental regulators to keep air and heat at liveable temperatures. Stick it all together however you want and then its time to strap some thrusters to it and head into SSSPAAAAAAAAAACCCCCEEEE!!!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

There's no denying you could have plenty of fun with it but I'm not creative and I need to be led by a story line or something to get involved in games.

I'm too old to have that much time to dick around aimlessly with stuff. Need direction.

There's no denying you could have plenty of fun with it but I'm not creative and I need to be led by a story line or something to get involved in games.

I'm too old to have that much time to dick around aimlessly with stuff. Need direction.

you should try minecraft!

*sorry, could not resist :D

So am I right in thinking there'll be no new deals at 6, but rather a rehash of deals that have already appeared in the sale?

Ape X wrote: »
    So am I right in thinking there'll be no new deals at 6, but rather a rehash of deals that have already appeared in the sale?

sort of yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

shane7218 wrote: »
    Great sale all i need to do now is buy a new ssd to fit all the stuff i bought on it :D

If you can fit what you bought on an SSD, you've done it wrong. Hell, if you can afford your weeks shopping, let alone an SSD, you've done it wrong.

well, by steam rules it is wrong, but ssd for steam is a good thing.

on my ssd now:

Batman arkhma city
    Skyrim with hd mod
    Fallout new vegas + dlc
    Gotham city imposters
    red orchestra 2
    Saints row 3
    Sanctum
    Shift 2
    Civ 5
    Sins of solar empire
    Terraria
    TDU 2
    Shogun 2 + expansion
    Trine
    Tropico 4
    The walking dead
    Setlers 7 gold

downloading:

Arma 2
    arma 2 arrowhead
    driver san francisko

after all this ( when downloads finished ) i will still have 80gb free. prices of ssd droped nicely and having one for games makes more and more sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

Hope the Witcher 2 enhanced edition is back this evening, need to get my hands on it!!

Heres what I bought:

Deus Ex HR
    L.A Noire
    GTA IV
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent
    Borderlands
    FEAR 3
    Fallout New Vegas
    Just Cause 2
    Mafia 2
    Metro 2033
    STALKER Call Of Pripyat
    STALKER Clear Sky
    STALKER Shadow of Chernobyl
    Total War Shogun 2
    Edit: just bought Dead Island in a flash sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Arma II: Combined Operations (ROW)
    Quantum Conundrum Season Pass
    FEAR 1
    FEAR 2
    FEAR 3
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent
    S.T.A.L.K.E.R I
    S.T.A.L.K.E.R II
    S.T.A.L.K.E.R III
    SimCity 4 Deluxe
    Super Meatboy Soundtrack
    Super Meat Boy
    Thief Gold
    Thief II
    Thief Deathly Shadows
    Limbo
    Max Payne 3 (ROW)
    Summer Sale Indie Bundle Day Two
    From Dust
    Bioshock 2

my wallet has disintegrated...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Alan Wake
    Alan Wake's American Nightmare
    Amnesia
    Borderlands
    Braid
    Cave Story+
    Dear Esther
    Dragon Age : Origins Ultimate Edition
    E.Y.E Divine Cybermancy
    Just Cause 2
    Killing Floor
    PAYDAY : The Heist
    Red Faction : Guerrilla
    Sim City 4 Deluxe
    Super Street Fighter IV : Arcade Edition
    Toy Soliders
    Trine
    Trine 2
    The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings Enhanced Edition
    Worms Reloaded

I also gifted my younger brother Garry's Mod earlier on.
    He gifted me Secret of the Magic Crystals. ಠ_ಠ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Opinicus

Oh jaysus. All I had before the sale was Skyrim.

p5HXl.png

DeSelby83 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Nollog

Aw the sale ends tomorrow? :(

Was having fun with Splinter Cell conviction until the game decided to forget where I was. Instead of starting in, what I presume was the final level,
    White house.
    . I started in the fourth one :
    Iraq
    . At that one was my least favourite by far. Anyone know a quick way to skip levels? Because this level is incredibly lame by Splinter Cell's standards.

What time do the daily deals change at and how often are flash sales? The only thing im still looking for is Saints ro the third, if it goes cheap again I want it. Im flying back to ireland tomorrow so buying stuff might be difficult... I have the app for my phone but I cant use it to buy stuff over here.

If you buy CO then there is no need to download the free version of Arma at all. Once you get CO, you can then download DayZ for it.

Not true as far as i know, you need arma 2 because the mod and the CO expansion pack both use the chernauras map which is only in the Arma 2 game files.

MadYaker wrote: »
    Not true as far as i know, you need arma 2 because the mod and the CO expansion pack both use the chernauras map which is only in the Arma 2 game files.
    What he's saying though (I think), is that CO already contains ArmA 2.

Combined Operations = ArmA 2 + Operation Arrowhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭wayne040576

I think if you get the private military add odd, it gives your higher res models in Day z. But it's optional.

no new deals today?

Saw a few up there a second ago, and now they've disappeared. All repeats though - Bioshock, Double Fine Adventure, Splinter Cell etc.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

They were late updating. Just showing now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Took a while, updated now

Poor enough last day, nothing at all that interests me there. Was hoping the GTA pack would come back up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Not great, ah well

JA back in action thank you very much!