Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland's worst or most pointless 'visitor attractions'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Terryglass, Co. Tipperary has two holy wells popular with visitors: "The Eye Well", and "The Headache well".

I can personally testify that the latter, in particular, appears to be completely banjaxed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Bunratty Castle, overpriced and boring.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭Prometheus

Have to agree with the Giants causeway. After 5 minutes there, was bored out of my treeHow they have got away with this as a " major" attraction I,ll never know.
    Not that they have much up there anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I really like the causeway :(:( . I think it's pretty, and the story that goes along with it is awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

Who cares if a visitor attraction is pointless. If it brings tourists who are willing to pay money to see it and spend money in local economy then i would say we need more pointless visitor attractions :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Colmustard wrote: »
    O Connell street, its meant to be or number one street, but it is a junky loaded disgrace.

They have at least improved the aesthetics of it of late, but its all full of congealed disgusting chewing gum now, (dirty bastards).

Does anyone remember a certain piece of naive nationislism that national school (aka Primary) teachers use to trot out - namely that O'Connell St was the widest street in Europe (I mean wtf - its hardly gargantuan or anything :confused: ) If I had a penny in those days everytime some dim witted teacher told me that I could have afforded to emigrate.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 598 ✭✭✭ncdadam

gozunda wrote: »
    Does anyone remember a certain piece of naive nationislism that national school (aka Primary) teachers use to trot out - namely that O'Connell St was the widest street in Europe (I mean wtf - its hardly gargantuan or anything :confused: ) If I had a penny in those days everytime some dim witted teacher told me that I could have afforded to emigrate.....

I think they now teach 'O'Connell St. has the biggest amount of fast food takeaways, druggies, skangers and muggings in Europe'

My, how we've progressed as a nation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭A Disgrace

Yeah, I think though when it was lined with Georgian Houses it was the widest residential street in the world. It certainly isn't narrow, even nowadays, but I know of many streets (in Budapest and Paris for example) that are wider (or at least appear to be)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭Colmustard

I was taught O Connell bridge is the widest bridge in Europe, I doubt it, I doubt it the widest in Ireland. I think the west link is wider.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

I was taught O Connell bridge is the widest bridge in Europe, I doubt it, I doubt it the widest in Ireland. I think the west link is wider.
    It might have been the widest of certain type of style of bridge or somesuch in the past. I definitely heard the same thing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

I always feel sorry when i see tourists slowly wandering down Tablet street with their camera out. What a horrible part of town!

The thing about the tourist experience in Ireland it seems to be largely positive. I don't get that. I think Dublin is an ugly city all it seems to me is a traffic mess and narrow pavements. While the countryside is beautiful which is great but what if you want more then scenery. I also find Ireland very expensive.

But any tourist I talk to love the place. I remember talking to an Israeli, he said "every square inch of it is fertile even the verges on your motorways, its gorgeous", he kind of said it with a jealous tone.

The thing about the tourist experience in Ireland it seems to be largely positive. I don't get that. I think Dublin is an ugly city all it seems to me is a traffic mess and narrow pavements. While the countryside is beautiful which is great but what if you want more then scenery. I also find Ireland very expensive.

But any tourist I talk to love the place. I remember talking to an Israeli, he said "every square inch of it is fertile even the verges on your motorways, its gorgeous", he kind of said it with a jealous tone.

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭The Maverick

It might have been the widest of certain type of style of bridge or somesuch in the past. I definitely heard the same thing though.

In school we were told it's one of the few/ only bridges that is as wide as it is long. No idea if that's true though.

I heard something about the engineering of the halfpenny bridge as in its a bit of a mystery as its structure is unique, so I googled it and nothing.

But it's name is actually the Ha'penny bridge.

Dublin is far from an ugly city, neglected and badly treated yes, but ugly, no.

College Green is a wonderful space surrounded by great architecture, but ruined by traffic and trees. Dame St, Thomas St, Capel St and Camden St are great examples of early trading areas that largely retain their original building stock and streetlines, in some cases the buildings are as old as 300 (and maybe 400) years old and yet still in use. The Georgian core areas of Merrion Sq, Fitzwilliam Sq and Stephens Green are unique in scale on a worldwide basis (whatever about the destruction of many parts of Stephens Gn for the shopping centre and the ESB building on Fitzwilliam St). Nth Gt Georges St and Henrietta st are two of the finest streets in Europe, whilst Mountjoy Sq still retains enough of its former glory to be worthwhile. Temple Bar, despite being badly handled by Temple Bar Properties, is in essence a medieval centre, full of narrow, twisty lanes that survived centuries of redevelopment.

It has immense public buildings like the Customs House, City Hall, The old Parliament (BOI College Gn), Royal Hospital Kilmainham and the Four Courts (all buildings in the top tier of European Architecture). It has Cathedrals like St Patricks and Christchurch. It has the spectacular Long Room at Trinity, Marsh’s Library, the medieval palace (currently a Garda Station) on Kevin St and numerous fantastic Harry Clarke windows dotted about the place.

It has grand transport hubs. Hueston station, the facade of Connolly and even Busaras (which has won many design awards)

It has the largest public park in Europe, many times the size of Central Park and much bigger than the combined total of all major parks in London. It has the Mansion House, the Rotunda, Dr Stevens Hospital, Kilmainham Gaol, The Zoo, Johns Lane Church and the fantastic St Audeons and St Michams.

There's also the bridges. Classically spaced and elegant. And there's always a surprise of an old building, dripping with history, hanging on in there amongst the new.

Yes, it could (and should) be better. In the 50's and 60's approx 60% of the old buildings were swept away, and had they been retained, we'd have an historic attraction that Edinburgh could only dream of. But there is enough remaining (just) to be proud of. And we should be.

Just don't call it ugly.

• Registered Users Posts: 159 ✭✭breffni666

Fore, with its stupid tree. What a ridiculous place!!

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭working fool

Mosney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

A Disgrace wrote: »

College Green is a wonderful space surrounded by great architecture, but ruined by traffic and trees. Dame St, Thomas St, Capel St and Camden St are great examples of early trading areas that largely retain their original building stock and streetlines, in some cases the buildings are as old as 300 (and maybe 400) years old and yet still in use. The Georgian core areas of Merrion Sq, Fitzwilliam Sq and Stephens Green are unique in scale on a worldwide basis (whatever about the destruction of many parts of Stephens Gn for the shopping centre and the ESB building on Fitzwilliam St). Nth Gt Georges St and Henrietta st are two of the finest streets in Europe, whilst Mountjoy Sq still retains enough of its former glory to be worthwhile. Temple Bar, despite being badly handled by Temple Bar Properties, is in essence a medieval centre, full of narrow, twisty lanes that survived centuries of redevelopment.

It has immense public buildings like the Customs House, City Hall, The old Parliament (BOI College Gn), Royal Hospital Kilmainham and the Four Courts (all buildings in the top tier of European Architecture). It has Cathedrals like St Patricks and Christchurch. It has the spectacular Long Room at Trinity, Marsh’s Library, the medieval palace (currently a Garda Station) on Kevin St and numerous fantastic Harry Clarke windows dotted about the place.

It has grand transport hubs. Hueston station, the facade of Connolly and even Busaras (which has won many design awards)

It has the largest public park in Europe, many times the size of Central Park and much bigger than the combined total of all major parks in London. It has the Mansion House, the Rotunda, Dr Stevens Hospital, Kilmainham Gaol, The Zoo, Johns Lane Church and the fantastic St Audeons and St Michams.

There's also the bridges. Classically spaced and elegant. And there's always a surprise of an old building, dripping with history, hanging on in there amongst the new.

Yes, it could (and should) be better. In the 50's and 60's approx 60% of the old buildings were swept away, and had they been retained, we'd have an historic attraction that Edinburgh could only dream of. But there is enough remaining (just) to be proud of. And we should be.

Just don't call it ugly.

Richmond Park in London (2360 acres) is far bigger than the Phoenix Park, so not sure where you get this nonsense I keep hearing that it's the "biggest in Europe". It's not even close to being the biggest. Even Sutton Park in Birmingham is bigger (2400 acres), along with parks in France, Spain, Portugal and Russia.

It's not "many times" bigger than Central Park, it's twice the size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

+1 for The Spire. They should have just made a massive cage in the middle of O'Connell Street where the junkies could be locked up and free to shoot up whenever they felt like it and kick the face off each other instead of doing it in the middle of the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

summerskin wrote: »
    Richmond Park in London (2360 acres) is far bigger than the Phoenix Park, so not sure where you get this nonsense I keep hearing that it's the "biggest in Europe". It's not even close to being the biggest. Even Sutton Park in Birmingham is bigger (2400 acres), along with parks in France, Spain, Portugal and Russia.

I think its the biggest 'walled' park in Europe. :confused: Not sure why that makes it special but there you go. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,881 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

The thing about the tourist experience in Ireland it seems to be largely positive. I don't get that.

It's most likely that the tourists you meet have probably seen and done a lot more of the country than you have done and will ever do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I heard something about the engineering of the halfpenny bridge as in its a bit of a mystery as its structure is unique, so I googled it and nothing.

But it's name is actually the Ha'penny bridge.
    I've never heard anyone call it the halfpenny bridge. It's always been the Ha'Penny Bridge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

He lives in a desert, surrounded by people who want to kill him. Might have had something to do with his jealousy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,721 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Red Hand wrote: »
    Cork Butter Museum.

(Google it, it is a genuine museum)

I love the butter museum. I have great fun bringing visiting friends there. I pretend Ive never been there but always wanted to and then I pretend to find it fascinating and turn into an overly proud Corkman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

Just don't call it ugly.

I have to say that I find the majority of it is very very ugly. Did the open top bus and yes there are some great buildings in and around the city centre but it is also clear that there are a lot of rundown 1960s-1990s buildings that are grubby and often covered with graffiti. There is a general feeling of dirt and decay. A lot of the reason for this is neglect and carelessness. There should be an obligation on people to maintain and repair their properties. But another element is that often the wonderful buildings are hidden between lines of trees and/or high walls and fences. You can see them from the top deck of a bus but walking along the street you get a very restricted view. If you wanted to improve the whole experience of Dublin then there needs to be an opening up of the view of many of these buildings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

The moving statues in Ballinspiddal :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭liogairmhordain

MadsL wrote: »
    Wellington sorry, I always get them two arseholes mixed up

You think Nelson was an arsehole? On what grounds?
    Oaklilly wrote: »
    The Bushmills distillery in County Antrim, hardly anything in the distillery apart from bottles of whiskey to buy and small glasses to drink.

What were you expecting in whisky distillery, hand made life-sized teddy bear replicas of Graham Norton??? :confused:
    eth0 wrote: »
    If they also built that massive outsourcing to China centre then you should spare the casino because thats the only way you'll get a few bob back out of the Chinese

Sure they'll love the 2 hour round trip to Two Mile Borris.
    SocSocPol wrote: »
    Actually it was commissioned for the Millenium, but as usual it cost more than expected , was finished late , and is a waste of money

And has "Made in England" stamped on the bottom, just like the Ha'penny Bridge.

it was built in co waterford afaik

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

fryup wrote: »
    you got the hopstore for that

Privately owned/operated. I am assuming that you are also talking about the Guinness Storehouse? If so that was a Fermentation plant, not hop store

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

dear god i thought you were joking

I thought that he meant the the Spire was the Clinton "Statue/Monument"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Celtworld in Tramore was the biggest waste of time ever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Rhand wrote: »
    The Spire in Dublin.
    Duffff-Man wrote: »
    Definitely the spire
    Oh yea and the Spire,
    cocoshovel wrote: »
    The Spire.
    saiint wrote: »
    the spire
    kyub wrote: »
    +1 for The Spire.

How could you possibly call the Spire 'pointless'? :)

it was built in co waterford afaik

Twas, but it was designed by a London firm of Architects.

I'm not a fan of it myself by the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭navigator

I'd say...
    kylemore abbey
    alliwee cave
    a sort of 'grotto' on valentia island
    blarney stone
    garnish island 'exotic' gardens

(to be sincere, some of these I haven't visited... but I'm not looking forward...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

navigator wrote: »
    I'd say...
    kylemore abbey

... is really beautiful and peaceful, and there is plenty there to keep you entertained for an afternoon. Great food too :)

I'm surprised no-one's said the Treaty Stone. Yes, it's historic etc and I know the significance, but it's just a stone. Obv they could make more of it too, it's pretty out the way. Most other countries would have it in a museum and not on a street where it could be damaged with just a crappy 1990s billboard explaining what it is...

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭Jelly2

I'd say...
    kylemore abbey
    alliwee cave
    a sort of 'grotto' on valentia island
    blarney stone
    garnish island 'exotic' gardens

(to be sincere, some of these I haven't visited... but I'm not looking forward...)

Yet you express an opinion on them. Therefore, you overrate your own opinion.:D

Roisy7 wrote: »
    ... is really beautiful and peaceful, and there is plenty there to keep you entertained for an afternoon. Great food too :)

well, maybe I was superficial in my visit there... the reason I mentioned the abbey, I think, is that... in all the gorgeous and fantastic natural treasures that Connemara offers... mountains, lakes, fjiords... that 19th century castle was to me a bit disappointing... above all I find it... how to say... superfluous.
    I haven't tasted their food, so I should next time... :)

Jelly2 wrote: »
    Yet you express an opinion on them. Therefore, you overrate your own opinion.:D

you're right... maybe sometimes I tend to overrate my own opinon... I shouldn't, I know! :)

well, maybe I was superficial in my visit there... the reason I mentioned the abbey, I think, is that... in all the gorgeous and fantastic natural treasures that Connemara offers... mountains, lakes, fjiords... that 19th century castle was to me a bit disappointing... above all I find it... how to say... superfluous.
    I haven't tasted their food, so I should next time... :)

I really liked it, loved the story behind it (the man building it for his wife etc) and I think it looks gorgeous tucked away in the hills. Each to their own :)

It is a pity that you can't explore much of the abbey itself beyond the few rooms but that can't be helped I suppose.

you're right... maybe sometimes I tend to overrate my own opinon... I shouldn't, I know! :)

Ah, I was only messing, you're alright!:) Have to say though that it was Kylemore that stood out for me in your list. I wasn't that impressed with the Blarney stone for example, but I thought Kylemore was fantastic - amazing location, great history, beautiful gardens and woodland. The interior of the abbey itself is probably the least interesting thing about it all. I've brought foreign visitors there a few times, and they have been enchanted by the whole site.

And Garinish island! How could you put that on your list?! It's beautiful - from the boat trip over, with seal sightings, to the exotic gardens with their unusual plants and layout.... Each to their own though, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

eth0 wrote: »
    The Cliffs of Moher visitor centre. A thing that looks like the teletubby house and cost 30 million to build. All the arsin about they done at that site was completely unnecessary.

The worst is now they want, or have installed (i don't know) a paywall around the whole Cliffs of moher area just to force people to pay an entry fee so they can reclaim the money they should never have spent on the visitor centre that nobody wants to go into.
    You have to pay for parking per person so just let everyone off up the road and drive in yourself to park :D. I refused to pay before as they were charging like €4 each. Reversed out and drove down the road took the first right and parked at the end of that road which a lot of people tend to do. From there you can walk the whole length of the cliffs and walk around the watch tower you can see at the very end from O'Brien's tower. The walk is really cool but should not be done in high wind. You can then walk right into the new section of it which is kinda crap.

For the purpose of balance one of the best tourist attractions i've ever done in this country is renting a bike on the aran islands and camping in summer and getting locked in Watty's pub with live music and watching the stars on the way home. And also that rectangular pool thing that was in the red bull cliff dive, that was impressive. I like geography ok.....

Roisy7 wrote: »
    I'm surprised no-one's said the Treaty Stone. Yes, it's historic etc and I know the significance, but it's just a stone. Obv they could make more of it too,........................

they should build an interpretative centre next to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

The Richard Harris statue in Limerick is shockingly badly scupted and is an insult to the man.

summerskin wrote: »

Well, the facts don't lie - and you are correct - but there has always been debate about Richmond (Not a public park, but lands belonging to the Queen that are OPEN to the public. It's also a 'suburban' park, and not an urban one like the Phoenix. And Sutton is nearly 7 miles from Birmingham city so not sure if it qualifies as an urban park. Anyway, lets just call it 'one of the biggest walled/urban parks in Europe' and be proud of it for what it is

Some discussion here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭Priori

Ladies and Gentleman, start your brickbats....

REAL ones, the Stump Of St. Kevin or The Holy Stone Of Clonricard don't count :)

Before I even entered the thread they were the ones I was thinking of... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,338 ✭✭✭Archeron

The Phil Lynott statue in Dublin looks uncannilly like Willie Wonka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Peatland World. I don't know if it's still open, but I was brought there on school tours twice - twice! - and it's exactly what it sounds like. You drive through a load of bog, to get to a museum about bog, full of photos of the bog you just drove through.

Purgatory is real. Let none tell you otherwise.

Well, the facts don't lie - and you are correct - but there has always been debate about Richmond (Not a public park, but lands belonging to the Queen that are OPEN to the public. It's also a 'suburban' park, and not an urban one like the Phoenix. And Sutton is nearly 7 miles from Birmingham city so not sure if it qualifies as an urban park. Anyway, lets just call it 'one of the biggest walled/urban parks in Europe' and be proud of it for what it is

Some discussion here

But how big is it compared to Munster?

Boombastic wrote: »
    they should build an interpretative centre next to it

Haha.... YES :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Archeron wrote: »
    The Phil Lynott statue in Dublin looks uncannilly like Willie Wonka.

Phil

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSJQ7mwDBlgooqZvZpJTRcdT-Iu9k47o_lzxpSf-NxKYp5NSorNpwWilliehttp://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRYTevhvBUkYYVpaaYSvUGt56zZ7rOKxDiJn3ErdS0latlZ0Ad_

Really ?

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQxcPuxkM_NiE8GjUeIcSnzpy3FXbedxJUlpf73hMs-zPALg5qGZw