Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Fifty Shades of Grey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Why are people going to see it if they're expecting it to be awful? I understand there are fans of the book and fans of Dornan etc. but if you genuinely are expecting compete rubbish why pay good money to go see it?

people make millions out of hormones and bad judgment

there is an article in today's paper interviewing people in the queue for the movie and it is quite illuminating

"we'd go to anything to see Jamie Doran" etc

basically a here, take all my money, kinda thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

None one in the film looks especially into it. They have Rita Ora in it, for about 30 seconds don't know why they bothered.

Its almost a high budget pornography film. But I've seen better dialogue in porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Brien

Why are people going to see it if they're expecting it to be awful? I understand there are fans of the book and fans of Dornan etc. but if you genuinely are expecting compete rubbish why pay good money to go see it?

Curiosity. A lot of people enjoyed that book, and have been talking about the film version ever since. I knew because of people ranting over the books that there was a chance it could be terrible but I still wanted to see what the hype was about.
    The guy I went with had read and hated the books, but his reasoning was he's not allowed insult something he hasn't seen.
    Also, it was the only English language film on where I live, but honestly that wasn't a huge factor in going.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Waiting for it to pop up on the pirate sites , was going to go see it but judging by how bad the reviews have been I think I'll pass haha.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Ditsy Dotsy

Went to the 6.30pm showing this evening, and was actually kinda looking forward to it, even after all the terrible reviews I had read! I enjoyed the books (for what they were - not exactly literary classics!) and was curious to see how they'd translate to the big screen.

I was hugely disappointed - there was absolutely NO chemistry between the leads, the humour was completely gone from the screenplay (making C. Grey sooooo dull) the "sex scenes" were tame (it could easily have been a 15 Cert) and the ending was the worst I have ever sat through!

Dakota Johnson seemed like she really tried (and wasn't too bad at all!) but Jamie Dornan is a pain in the ass - as dull as dishwater!

What I missed most was the humour - there were quite a few laughs (mostly tongue in cheek) in the books and they just weren't in the movie.

Worst of all was the cinema full of 30-something aged women (who instead of shutting up and watching!) talked/giggled and shouted like teenagers the whole way through and made the 2 hours insufferable! Why go see a movie about sex/S&M if you're embarrassed?? and worst of all - why ruin it for everyone else??

e_e wrote: »

Very good takedown of the film. Kermode so clearly knows his erotic cinema too with his wife even writing a book on it.

he just looks so vacant in that clip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Well I'm glad I had a movie on my phone at the cinema .
    Absolutely nothing to write home about .

Much preferred lars von trier's nymphomaniac vol 1&2

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

why do people support football teams that take their money. why do people buy things they dont need. this is the world

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Gatling wrote: »
    Well I'm glad I had a movie on my phone at the cinema .

No matter how awful the film - and I have little doubt Fifty Shades is appalling - staring at your phone for the entirety of a film is the height of bad cinema etiquette. Not fair on other people in the cinema, regardless of how vacuous, ridiculous or incompetent you think whatever is on screen is.

Now to be fair if anyone had said anything including my wife I would have glady put it away

But as we know that's neither here or there for the discussion at hand I'll glady open a thread

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Dornan was on Graham Norton tonight. Lots of giggles were had. Herself wasn't mentioned at all bar briefly by one of the other guests. Hmmmm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Can't believe someone would be so obnoxious as to have their phone out for the duration of a movie in the cinema. If you're not liking the movie then get up and walk out, just don't be a dick.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Now to be fair if anyone had said anything including my wife I would have glady put it away

But as we know that's neither here or there for the discussion at hand I'll glady open a thread

Nobody should have to say anything. It's just something you don't do ever, point blank.

But yes, it is off topic, so let's leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭lulu1

A friend just home from seeing 50 shades says it was a load of crap very dissapointing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

lulu1 wrote: »
    A friend just home from seeing 50 shades says it was a load of crap very dissapointing

How could you have expected anything different?

Memnoch wrote: »
    How could you have expected anything different?

Speaking from the OH's point of view there cast was all wrong with next to no chemistry .
    The lead in particular was very lacking .

Based off the books nobody would will ever be happy but it's like it was thrown to together just as a money spinner .

I mentioned a lars von trier movie in a previous post which touches on a similar theme but minus any of the sugar coating .gritty , dirty and at times out there .
    The worst part if your a 50 Shades fan is going to have to sit through 2 sequels in the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,033 ✭✭✭✭bnt

2015-02-14.jpg

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

Speaking from the OH's point of view there cast was all wrong with next to no chemistry .
    The lead in particular was very lacking .

Based off the books nobody would will ever be happy but it's like it was thrown to together just as a money spinner .

I mentioned a lars von trier movie in a previous post which touches on a similar theme but minus any of the sugar coating .gritty , dirty and at times out there .
    The worst part if your a 50 Shades fan is going to have to sit through 2 sequels in the future

I thought nyphomaniac was boring. And I'm a huge Von trier fan. But you can see that Von Trier's work, even when it isn't great shows a lot of craft. This was a poorly written book and the only reason it did well is because it is a slightly more porny and modernised version of Mills and Boon novels that manages to find that sweet spot for middle aged women where it is just provocative enough to arouse them without actually going anywhere that might raise their ample moral indignation.

It was a poor novel with weak characterisation, shoddy dialog and terrible writing. Any idiot could see that it wasn't going to make a great film.

Also just a note in case anybody's wondering that we had to delete a handful of posts that referenced an ongoing court case. While that might seem heavy-handed, there are very strict laws around the publication of content related to active Irish court cases for very good reasons!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

This reminds of some of the people that write into Simon Mayo and Mark Kermode's radio show. They'll write in with a biting critique of the latest dumb blockbuster, saying that they walked out halfway through and instead checked out some Hungarian psychological thriller that was playing in the art-house cinema across the street. I mean, what were they thinking of in the first place? I know people have those Unlimited cinema cards, but life is too short. There's not enough hours in the year to see all the films I actually want to see, without wasting my time on stuff I'm not interested in. Do people really enjoying bitching about stuff that much that they actively go looking for it?

Well sometimes it can be fun to watch awful terrible movies, just to see how bad they are. Birdemic is the prime example of this

So thats maybe why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Went to see this yesterday and tbh imho its an alright movie, definitly not the worst Ive ever seen anyway, watchable!
    But definitly extremely tame where the sex scenes/kinky stuff etc were concerned, I said (whispered) to the bf a few times during it "Is that it like, is that what most people are supposed to find shocking and different in sex?!" I was expecting a lot more from those scenes, and atad more prolonged and explicit really from all Ive been hearing about it! :eek:

It just seemed like every time he was mentioning about something sexual in the movie my hope went up, then it happened , and I was just like "oh" :rolleyes:

The very last what was meant to be the most shocking "punishment" was such a letdown, maybe twas just me but twas a bit of a "really?! WTF!!" moment in a movie lol

The ending was shoite though I have to say, think I actually said "ah here" as the credits went up, went to see "Big Hero 6" after it though and that was great craic!

Very much a mild kinda maybe a little bit different type of romantic movie, not the worst, watchable and good style to it but nothing major!
    Glad Ive seen it so, a lot of whats in it kinky - wise Ive known or done already quite a bitso that was nice to see in a mainstream movie for once , just take away the whole "badness" of it and itd be alright! :)

Watched "The Secretary" last night when we got home - not my first watching, but I say to all on here to watch it and then see what 50shades could have been , and more imho :D

It's taken $81 million in the first weekend. Biggest ever opening weekend for a woman director. So... at least that's good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Memnoch wrote: »
    I thought nyphomaniac was boring. And I'm a huge Von trier fan. But you can see that Von Trier's work, even when it isn't great shows a lot of craft. This was a poorly written book and the only reason it did well is because it is a slightly more porny and modernised version of Mills and Boon novels that manages to find that sweet spot for middle aged women where it is just provocative enough to arouse them without actually going anywhere that might raise their ample moral indignation.

It was a poor novel with weak characterisation, shoddy dialog and terrible writing. Any idiot could see that it wasn't going to make a great film.
    IMDB says that it's teenage girls that like it, not middle aged women. Maybe middle-aged women are getting a bad press.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2322441/ratings?ref_=tt_ov_rt

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

It's taken $81 million in the first weekend. Biggest ever opening weekend for a woman director. So... at least that's good.

Something really ironic about that.

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Something really ironic about that.

How?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

original.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Not sure I get that pic Adamantium, can you explain it to me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Film 4 are screening Secretary sometime this week - if you want to watch good BDSM themed drama watch that.

They're doing a whole season of sex themed films, all of which are probably more risque than 50 Shades.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,406 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I think every channel is at it, Basic Instinct has been on at least twice in the last few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Don't know any blokes who have seen this or are interested, presume its 100 per cent female audiences?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,009 ✭✭✭conorhal

That entirely depends on how you quantify success.... a woman director hasn't been this popular at the box office since Leni Riefenstahl released Triumph of the Will.........hurrah! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,847 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Don't know any blokes who have seen this or are interested, presume its 100 per cent female audiences?

Men dragged along by the other halves is very common for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Magnate

So it beat the record?.. I mean, tied the record, then beat it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭tmh106

lulu1 wrote: »

Oh! I hadn't heard that. I thought it was just BDSM that it covered, didn't realise there was scatology too. Will probably give it a miss so ;-)

tmh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭kitten_k

Seen this on Friday and I thought it was ok.

In relation to the ending - that is how the first book ends, so that is why the film ended like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭GaGa21

Plenty of men at it when i watched it yesterday-mostly with their wives/girlfriends tho. Have to say i was expecting it to be crap after reading bad reviews but i actually enjoyed it and thought it was good enough. As good as the book anyway. Won't win any Oscars but have seen worse films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Corvo

Went to see this last night with a girl I'm interested in. The part where he gives her a good rogering over the table had me in tears of laughter and I could see her visibly slink in height in the seat beside me.

I actually enjoyed it and might even watch it again before it leaves the cinema.

This is an interesting article addressing the issue of portrayal of domestic abuse, emotional abuse etc. but rather the audiences general reaction to it rather than what's actually being portrayed on screen.

http://www.hotpress.com/50-Shades-of-Grey/features/reports/Triggered-by-Reviewing-Fifty-Shades-of-Grey/13561614.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

This is an interesting article addressing the issue of portrayal of domestic abuse, emotional abuse etc. but rather the audiences general reaction to it rather than what's actually being portrayed on screen.

http://www.hotpress.com/50-Shades-of-Grey/features/reports/Triggered-by-Reviewing-Fifty-Shades-of-Grey/13561614.html

Read that earlier. Thought it was well written and offered a very interesting and personal perspective to the otherwise drab and predictable commentary on this film.

Corvo wrote: »
    Went to see this last night with a girl I'm interested in. The part where he gives her a good rogering over the table had me in tears of laughter and I could see her visibly slink in height in the seat beside me.

I actually enjoyed it and might even watch it again before it leaves the cinema.

Relax everyone!, Romance is still alive and well :pac:

Aidric wrote: »
    Read that earlier. Thought it was well written and offered a very interesting and personal perspective to the otherwise drab and predictable commentary on this film.

Indeed. Interesting to look at people's reactions to it rather than the actual content itself. Interesting to note there were similar reactions to Dornan's character in The Fall where he was actually a murderer. Lots of "Oooh I'd let him tie me to the bed" and "I wouldn't care what he did he's so hot" kinds of comments. Too attractive to be a serial killer was a favourite of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Corvo

Relax everyone!, Romance is still alive and well :pac:

Hahahaha! In fairness, she was laughing too. Just the whole scene was rather awkward!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭SaveOurLyric

"Fifty Shades of Grey had the 10th biggest opening weekend in Irish box-office history.
    It still has nothing on Harry and Hermione."

http://www.thejournal.ie

Only saw the fist couple of Harry Potter films and they were certainly aimed at kids. WTF did they get up to in the later ones ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Only saw the fist couple of Harry Potter films

I never realized that kind of thing went on in Hogworths!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

is it a nude'y type of film??

fryup wrote: »
    is it a nude'y type of film??

No, its incredibly tame. No genitals in the whole thing, only topless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Riskymove wrote: »
    I never realized that kind of thing went on in Hogworths!!

Indeed. Hogwarts: The Fisting Years is available on Pornhub.