Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

All the rage

• 10-07-2012 9:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

from Steroids, fuarrrkkkk.
    Not really.

When you were young do you remember things used to become all the rage for a while before leaving just as fast as they came. But for few months they were in, everyone became obsessed.

For example it was yo-yos at one stage.
    Companies like Coca Cola had ever kid in the country back to basics with yo-yos. I even remember a yo-yo man coming to our school and doing things with his on stage.
    Another time it was all about tamagotchies. The little feckers were some work.
    Pogs - how can you leave out pogs.
    Then I remember one year every kid wanted a tele tubby doll for Christmas. Parents were freaking out because little Johnny wasn't going to have his doll in time for Christmas.

There were so many throughout the various decades. But has it stopped now. I never really hear of things taking over in the same way. It might be a good time for something like yo-yos to take over again seeing as everyone is broke and can't afford to buy expensive toys for their kids.

What else do people remember being really big as a kid.

This should be a bit of pun :)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

Don't push me! Push a push-pop!

Also a weird craze for eating Vicks cough drops. And xworx jeans. And fancy paper. Fancy paper was a weird one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Thought this was going to be an Argh, fury, rage thread.

Thread disappoints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Playing piggy :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

They were called Spinners, not common yo-yos actually.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Totally forgot about the yo yo craze until you mentioned it! I also remember our school getting box loads of cheese strings for promotion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

. But has it stopped now. I never really hear of things taking over in the same way.

I phone is all the rage.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

Pokemon
    Yu-Gi-OH
    Beyblades.

Pokemon in particular though.

Oh and Pogs. Never quite got them.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

And Tamagotchis. Jaysus they were stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

hondasam wrote: »
    I phone is all the rage.
    Tell me about it:(

Onwards and upwards though, I have a new Samsung S3:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Cabbage Patch Kids
    Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
    Transformers (the only thing thats come back from the dead, sort of)
    Moving statues, one of the weirdest crazes....none of them move now, unless they're made of non-ferrous metal...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Prank calls like...

I want a manta hug and kiss.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

When I was a chap a different item was the in thing every christmas, BMX bikes one year, then skateboards then rollerblades the commodore 64 another year.

Parka jackets were cool for about 2 years, and also padded check shirts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

Joe Bloggs Jeans and L.A. Gear runners

What was the football on a dog leash thing I used to always see on TV. It was supposed to get you better at doing volleys :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Wearing an onion on your belt, which was the style at the time.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Philately grabbed me for a brief while.

Had to get that Stanley Gibbons monkey off my back. Then my stamp book had entire pages full of Hungarian stamps and SFA else. Apart from that cool zig and zag one.

So I packed it in and started drinking heavily instead.

Fúck you stamps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Does anyone remember, Putting a coke can in the spokes of your bike to make it sound like a motorbike? :o I thought I was the cats pjs with my motorbike sound effect. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

from Steroids, fuarrrkkkk.
    Not really.

When you were young do you remember things used to become all the rage for a while before leaving just as fast as they came. But for few months they were in, everyone became obsessed.

For example it was yo-yos at one stage.
    Companies like Coca Cola had ever kid in the country back to basics with yo-yos. I even remember a yo-yo man coming to our school and doing things with his on stage.
    Another time it was all about tamagotchies. The little feckers were some work.
    Pogs - how can you leave out pogs.
    Then I remember one year every kid wanted a tele tubby doll for Christmas. Parents were freaking out because little Johnny wasn't going to have his doll in time for Christmas.

There were so many throughout the various decades. But has it stopped now. I never really hear of things taking over in the same way. It might be a good time for something like yo-yos to take over again seeing as everyone is broke and can't afford to buy expensive toys for their kids.

What else do people remember being really big as a kid.

This should be a bit of pun :)

Christian Bros school?!

White Guinness (think it was Breo or something)
    Guinness Light
    Blue Nun

• Registered Users Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Suas11 wrote: »
    Trini and Kimberly, they jump started my puberty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Tommy Dillon

anyone remember playing marbles with monster in my pocket?

and of course marbles....

the coca cola bugs also, spent a summer collecting labels for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Art Attack was another one.

The yoyos were something like: collect X amount of labels from cola bottles (or skittle packs) and get a free one.

The yoke to make briquettes out of squished up wet newspapers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

anyone remember playing marbles with monster in my pocket?

and of course marbles....

the coca cola bugs also, spent a summer collecting labels for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Philately grabbed me for a brief while.

Had to get that Stanley Gibbons monkey off my back. Then my stamp book had entire pages full of Hungarian stamps and SFA else. Apart from that cool zig and zag one.

So I packed it in and started drinking heavily instead.

Fúck you stamps.

Is that your way of saying you have a tramp stamp doc? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

doc martins. The more holes the better.... and padded lumberjack shirts wore as a jacket :rolleyes:

crew cuts.... and 'the step' ..... you know like someone shoved a pot on your head and cut around it.... cringe central

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Furbys.

Never got the appeal of the little hairy ****ers myself though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Damokc

Crash test dummies were a must have one Christmas. I didnt get em though so I just broke what figures I had so their hands and legs would fall off!
    crash_dummies_group.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Collecting call cards. Myself and my friend used to do the rounds of the phone boxes after school :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Tommy Dillon

Ghandee wrote: »

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,064 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Those dog leads that made it look like you were walking an invisible dog.

Funny for a couple of minutes at most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭bluecherry74

Fluorescent shoelaces.

Jeans with a zip at the ankle.

Care bear sticker albums!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Naff jackets, the reflectors for your bike out of cornflakes boxes and butter vouchers.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭captainjack

Kick-bags had their day

Ghandee wrote: »
    Jesus yea. I remember some of my brothers and sisters bikes being covered with them.

And one of those bouncy things in the garden too.
    Also stilts, that I recently used for more leverage when taking my punctured tire off my car.

Those plastic hoop things too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,064 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Top Trump cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Furbys, they're coming back though they updated them , be out this christmas

These things, the more you had the cooler you were. They came in loads of sizes. I only had a few :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

A lad I know has a wife who looks like that :D:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

I even remember a yo-yo man coming to our school and doing things with his on stage.

Really...interesting...was it a priest?

• Registered Users Posts: 43 Skiup

The slinky

Hours of fun on the stairs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I remember people sniffing sherbert in primary school because they thought they were deadly. F*cking morons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Don't push me! Push a push-pop!

Also a weird craze for eating Vicks cough drops
    . And xworx jeans. And fancy paper. Fancy paper was a weird one.

Ahahahaha....how in the love of jaysus did you remember that?? I did that! Mmmm.
    Does anyone remember, Putting a coke can in the spokes of your bike to make it sound like a motorbike? :o I thought I was the cats pjs with my motorbike sound effect. :cool:

Nope.

Marbles in a bumbag.

Bits of gravel stuck in cuts in your knees.

Luminous stuff.

Bermuda shorts.

Fido Dido.

Soap on a rope.

Hand-me-downs.

Ordering chips in the chipper and running away.

Chomps.

Trobolgan.

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Chomps.

Smiley bars!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Fido Dido

He was a prick