Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The most shocking thing you've witnessed at your workplace?

• 11-07-2012 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Obviously without mentioning where you work and names of those involved.

What is the most shocking thing you have witnessed in your current or previous work places?

Has somebody been fired unfairly or perhaps somebody got somebody else fired by their lies?

They say if you knew half of what goes on in the kitchens of a restaurant you would never eat out again.

I recall working in a certain fast food restaurant when I was in my teens and saw lots of burgers picked up off the floor and placed back into buns! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

Electricity ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

I have to pay 15 cents for a cuppa.

No fair :mad:

A couple (in business) came to our place for a meeting.
    After they'd gone i'd found a used condom on the floor of the toilet.

What's shocking is i hate having a **** in there, letalone thinking about riding someone in there. (it stinks)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

One colleague, a sixty year old man, proceeding to batter another colleague, a late twenties female, after she goaded him about not meeting his sales targets. I worked in a retail bank. I was thankful there were no customers in at the time as it would probably would have made the news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Fritzl Funderland

Work

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭bhovaspack

One of the top hotels for weddings, entire tray of about 100 freshly made sandwiches to be served as midnight soakage fell onto the kitchen floor. They were promptly picked up, put back together, sliced into triangles and served to the guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

One colleague, a sixty year old man, proceeding to batter another colleague, a late twenties female, after she goaded him about not meeting his sales targets. I worked in a retail bank. I was thankful there were no customers in at the time as it would probably would have made the news.

I hope the bollox got the beating of a lifetime for that, ****in prick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

I didn't witness this one but the guys that work here swear it's true. The foreman was wondering where "Jimmy" was and went to look for him. He found "Jimmy" at the back of the workshop having a **** into a plastic bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

A dozen roof trusess coming crashing towards me, couldn't walk for 2 weeks. Seriously scary sight, thought i was fcuking dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 davidgrn

The stuff that comes out of the coffee machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 StevenGerrard

I have to pay 15 cents for a cuppa.

No fair :mad:

TBH id find that under the seat of a chair :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

uploading porn onto other people's computers that you don't like, then send an anonymous email to your manager telling them what you saw as you walked past.

easiest way to get someone fired

muhh aa haa hahahhaahahahahahahahahahahah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭pablohoney87

TBH id find that under the seat of a chair :)
    Who wants to drink tea you find under a chair? Sure its free bit id rather pay the 15c

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭mongdesade

The 'overpaid professional suit wearers & meeting attenders', walking around the place doing fúck all else except making the real workers lives a misery :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 StevenGerrard

bhovaspack wrote: »
    One of the top hotels for weddings, entire tray of about 100 freshly made sandwiches to be served as midnight soakage fell onto the kitchen floor. They were promptly picked up, put back together, sliced into triangles and served to the guests.

Did You Report The Hotel for a breach of Food Safety Standards ?:(

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭ukonline

-

Why isn't somebody saying "Yore Ma"?

-

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    uploading porn onto other people's computers that you don't like, then send an anonymous email to your manager telling them what you saw as you walked past.

easiest way to get someone fired

muhh aa haa hahahhaahahahahahahahahahahah

Post smells of bullsh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Used to work in a cinema.

Common ones were: used condoms, people having sex, guys getting bjs, kids getting drunk and being almost impossible to wake up.

ukonline wrote: »
    -

-

Because that's a paddlin'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Post smells of bullsh1t

odd - how can you smell a post ??
    All my posts are to be considered fact

& that's a FACT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Ever see Mr Bean where he mixes up the bathroom door and the hall door and becomes locked outside in the hall naked?

Doesn't just happen on TV, happened plently of times when I was hotel night porter

We had phones up in the corridors.
    Get the call, I'm locked out and I'm hiding in the emergency exit
    Oh well, I have to run up with my master key

One night some guy stood on the balcony while naked and started chatting away with the bridesmaids in the lobby chairs below who chatted back.
    Jaysus, he must be the most confident man in Ireland to chat to ladies like that

Ran upstairs with my key, here Sir, follow me, back to your room

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Kwack

I have seen some mad things in my time! Was working with a fella who claimed to be in the IRA. He told me he had a gun with a 300 MILE scope...I tried to explain that not only is there no gun on earth that powerful(not even close) but the curvature of the earth alone means it would be pointless...he didn't take it well. First he was telling me he had guns in his car then (after a few days of me and others laughing at him) he threatened me that he would get the RA to shoot me.
    Working in a supermarket years ago there was a Scottish guy doing security(mental b*****d) and one day when a customer asked him why is is doing cartwheels(literally) he headbutted this 50+ year old woman!
    Another time was working in a place with a bunch on animals(not literally). More than once the toilet got blocked but instead of the person unblocking it themselves or at least getting someone to do it they ignored it and the person after then took a dump on their dump and so on and so on until by the end of the day the whole toilet was full of tp and poo..... not a pretty site....
    Have loads more but needs to do some work...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The biggest dump I have ever seen lying in the bog, twas like Gary Coleman's twin!!! Must have been a week's worth of dinners in it! No way was it gonna flush and no way was I using that cubicle!

I actually felt sorry for the cleaning lady knowing what lay in store for her :(

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Grew up on a farm
    Over the years have seen a 5 legged lamb and a 6 legged lamb
    You'll call BS but I'm not lying, if you have thousands and thousands over the years then just on percentages you will see it.

One died and the other was killed but otherwise was very healthy
    You see this in newspapers every now and again, it definitely happens

Best Sunday dinners you ever had? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

ukonline wrote: »
    -

-
    That's the why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Myself and a group of students studying for a computer degree got a tour of several of the large IT companies who wanted to hire us directly after we did our exams.

One of the companies we got a tour of was IBM. At the time, they provided tech support to the US market, so our early morning visit was actually the 'out of hours' period...hence the place was fairly empty. The few staff there were a bit surprised to see us.

Anyway, this manager was showing us around, and wanted to give us a quick look at the Employee Recreation area. So, she opened the door to let us have a peek in. Cue a stunned and embarrassed look on two love birds getting down & dirty on the sofa.

Suffice to say...we all applied to work at IBM. We really liked the employee recreational services.

13 years later, I'm still there, but haven't been offered sex in that area yet. So disappointed. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭ukonline

El Weirdo wrote: »

-

Great! Down with that sort of carry on, I say.

-

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Ex-national/international footballer doing something bad and highly illegal a number of times.
    (Sorry, I'm deliberately being vague for legal reasons and no, I'm not saying who it was).

Seen employers beating staff.

Seen other shocking stuff - but outside of employment so would not be applicable to theme of thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,715 ✭✭✭Feisar

Work in construction which seems to be the last bastion of non political correctness. An older foreman got a laptop and was going trough the usual with the basics in Excel etc. One of the lads put a tube site porn video going and left it running. The foreman comes back with people for a meeting. Que much cursing and fumbling, funniest being when he closed it and the sound was going.

Other than that an acro prop, basically a large lump of metal, falling ten floors and landing beside a man.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭msbusterpuss

kfallon wrote: »
    The biggest dump I have ever seen lying in the bog, twas like Gary Coleman's twin!!! Must have been a week's worth of dinners in it! No way was it gonna flush and no way was I using that cubicle!

I actually felt sorry for the cleaning lady knowing what lay in store for her :(

I think we work in the same building:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Biggins wrote: »
    Ex-national/international footballer doing something bad and highly illegal a number of times.
    (Sorry, I'm deliberately being vague for legal reasons and no, I'm not saying who it was).

Seen other shocking stuff - but outside of employment so would not be applicable to theme of thread.

He won't sue you sure no one likes him after the Saipan thing anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I worked in an office, one friday we all went to the pub across the road. One guy went back to get his coat, and saw another member of the office, in the office, stark bollock naked, running into the fire escape, from his position at a desk that was not his own.

Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

I've worked in bars for 12 years, I've seen most of the above (except the freaky lambs) and much, much worse. :( I've mentioned some of these before:
    *HUGE girl giving a bj to a guy not only in front of the rest of the pub but in a window so everyone on the street can see too.
    *A girl passed out in the toilets an hour after closing (security got a bollocking) with her dress up around her neck and covered in píss, shít and puke.
    *Girls constantly trying to flush used tampons/pads down the toilets and soiled boxers hidden behind the toilets in the mens.
    *One student night a guy came running out of the toilets on to the dancefloor wearing the toilet seat around his neck/on his head. I wouldn't touch it with gloves on never mind your face.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

He won't sue you sure no one likes him after the Saipan thing anyway.

Nice try - not him.
    Outside of own work - but in other places where others do that I frequent, I've seen stabbings, people inside in pub corners defecating, drug taking (some by famous people, in the Homelands VIP section for a start), and some other stuff that honestly is too explicit to express here on an open forum which can be read by young eyes possibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

What's the point in posting that if you're not even going to say what this alleged person allegedly did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,715 ✭✭✭Feisar

Adyx wrote: »
    I've worked in bars for 12 years, I've seen most of the above (except the freaky lambs) and much, much worse. :( I've mentioned some of these before:
    *HUGE girl giving a bj to a guy not only in front of the rest of the pub but in a window so everyone on the street can see too.
    *A girl passed out in the toilets an hour after closing (security got a bollocking) with her dress up around her neck and covered in píss, shít and puke.
    *Girls constantly trying to flush used tampons/pads down the toilets and soiled boxers hidden behind the toilets in the mens.
    *One student night a guy came running out of the toilets on to the dancefloor wearing the toilet seat around his neck/on his head. I wouldn't touch it with gloves on never mind your face.

That was a "thing" for a while wasn't it? Used to get lads at that a bit a few years ago. Classy stuff!

A mate of mine found a nappy in the toilets in a Galway nightclub during clean up. Like a nappy! I never found out if it was an adult one or child size.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

When I worked in a repair shop the cleaning lady, who would be the first one to come into the building, stole loads of equipment, tables, chairs, stock, client's machines, etc.

When the Gardaì went to her flat they said it was like Aladdin's cave. :pac:

In the same job we got a call from a client about suspecting someone was using their work machine for porn. We remote-accessed into it and found a porn trail a mile long and they were still looking up porn as we were logged in. Someone was quite big into their German PVC bondage :P

So we had to post the results to the manager of that business. Would have loved to been there for that conversation with the porn fanatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Did you see staff being beaten at your job? And was it in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭lifelongnoob

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Ever see Mr Bean where he mixes up the bathroom door and the hall door and becomes locked outside in the hall naked?

Doesn't just happen on TV, happened plently of times when I was hotel night porter

We had phones up in the corridors.
    Get the call, I'm locked out and I'm hiding in the emergency exit
    Oh well, I have to run up with my master key

One night some guy stood on the balcony while naked and started chatting away with the bridesmaids in the lobby chairs below who chatted back.
    Jaysus, he must be the most confident man in Ireland to chat to ladies like that

Ran upstairs with my key, here Sir, follow me, back to your room

i once had to call an ambulance for a guest in a hotel i worked at who claimed he "accidently" fell on a small wine bottle while naked which was firmly lodged up his hole.

it never ceases to amaze me how people can do such stupid things to themselves in the quest for wierd perverse pleasures.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Sitting in a cubicle in the toilets at work when someone else enters the cubicle right beside mine and then proceeds to furiously masturbate. I could actually hear the slip slap of foreskin and heavy breathing. Dirty fecker even starts muttering to himself as he is going at it.

To clarify the sheer horror of the situation these are cubicle stalls that the walls do not go from floor to roof there is a good foot of empty space at the bottom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭lifelongnoob

Maguined wrote: »
    Sitting in a cubicle in the toilets at work when someone else enters the cubicle right beside mine and then proceeds to furiously masturbate. I could actually hear the slip slap of foreskin and heavy breathing. Dirty fecker even starts muttering to himself as he is going at it.

To clarify the sheer horror of the situation these are cubicle stalls that the walls do not go from floor to roof there is a good foot of empty space at the bottom!

stressful at work?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

stressful at work?

Dunno about him but I certainly was after listening to that. :mad:

I think we work in the same building:mad:

Well it wasn't fooking me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

This is pretty mild. There was a guy working with us for a few months before he got busted for doing work for other companies during his hours with us. He'd been given a work phone (basic one but did have a camera) and he had to hand it back in when he left obviously.

I used to look after the phones so it was given back to me and had the pleasure of discovering several photos of his ... I dunno, mistresses, in all sorts of obscene graphic positions. These were all older house-wife women with not-very-nice-to-look-at bits. He was married with 3 kids, feckin eejit probably nearly sh1t himself when he twigged he'd left those photos on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I didn't see it, thank god, but when I worked in a fashion store a few years ago a worker apparently smeared a message written in his own crap in the mens toilet.

Oh and some woman tried a pair on a pair of jeans and left a giant period stain, so she left the jeans in the dressing room. Also a small traveller boy once went into the mens dressing room, took a dump, removed all of his clothes and got chased out of the shopping centre by security.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Worked for a while in Washington with the Bill Clinton administration. Had to quit after 3 months such was the jaw-lock i was suffering

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭jcf

Nice try - not him.
    Outside of own work - but in other places where others do that I frequent, I've seen stabbings, people inside in pub corners defecating, drug taking (some by famous people, in the Homelands VIP section for a start), and some other stuff that honestly is too explicit to express here on an open forum which can be read by young eyes possibly.

PM me ! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

Worked in an office and an ex-colleague was arrested in the office after being caught stealing

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭nadey

i work with people with intellectual disabilities when i was a student on work experience ( i now work here ) i caught someone shower a service user in a cold shower

i also caught another hitting a service user

they are now on the dole scumbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

fullstop wrote: »
    What's the point in posting that if you're not even going to say what this alleged person allegedly did?
    Biggins like to maintain an air of mystery about him.
    Edit: Nothing to see here...