Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The most shocking thing you've witnessed at your workplace?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭shuridunno

Afer a few months of snide remarks and escalating bullying I reported my supervisor to HR for being a prick.

I got transferred to another store, he became shop manager and I know of 3 girls that left because of him or started taking anti-depressants he was making their lives such hell.

He has since been promoted again and became manager of the store I was transfered to..thankfully I had left by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Has anyone not found sh#t in their workplace?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

A "lady" once decided to have her period all over the chair in an open-plan office. When asked privately and quietly if she'd like to go and clean up, she started shouting about how she was fine, she was just on the rag.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Some lad turned up one day for an interview wearing jeans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Pdfile wrote: »
    most everyone ive done I.T work for has asked me how to delete history completely from their pc's & is their a means of downloading porn that isn't filled with viruses; management sorts generally...

ahh the wonders of being 40s under paid and over the hill :pac:

Really? That's an absolute disgrace.

Suppose you were doing that deleting history thingy, how EXACTLY would you go about it..... just out of curiosity like......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭jcf

One time working late in an office, we were in an industrial estate , ground floor,
    one way glass.

Around 11PM a car pulls into the car park - a nice car, a well dressed guy gets out and has a **** there right in the car park - one way glass and the time
    he assumed he was alone .

Bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

When working in my local for a birthday party i had the misfortune of nipping to the loo for a **** and as i was relieving myself i heard a womans voice and the undoing of a belt buckle. As i listened closer it became very VERY apparent that she was getting a good hard ramming from someone. oh how i laughed and finished dropping the kids off. It was when i came out to the bar again that i realised what was going on.

The girl in question was the girl celebtaring her 21st with her entire family and her boyfreind and their friends. however seeing that her boyfriend was still out here a quick head count meant that she had taken the guy that 5 minutes before had been sleeping at the bar.

Oh oh

it was only a matter of time before someone she knew went for a ****, heard the commotion and told the family ( i had just told the locals, we wanted some fun that night so we sat back and relaxed) The father went ape**** trying to kick down the door, the boyfrind was i tears, people were trying to console the hysterical mother, friends were fighting eachother and blaming everyone else and she refused to come out cause "all you f*ckers don't understand" it carried on for another 5 mins or so by this time the hallway was packed before the guy made a run for it got caught and had to be grabbed by myself an 2 other staff as the family wanted blood. we put him into the back room got most of the troublemakers out (inc the girls who you could hear crying the whole way up the road. oh how we laughed until we came back into the back bar to see loverboy asleep again and a smell wafting from his direction. Yes ladies and gents this romeo who the birthday girl had chosen was better than her current boyfriend was now lying asleep in a chair having both shat himself and pissed his pants. Classy. i do feel sorry for the mate who had to give him a lift home.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭Steven81

800kg fall on a fellas foot and hearing him scream, another person getting the top of his finger cut by a rotating blade.

God i work in dangerous places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭bren2001

Didn't happen to me but a friend who worked in the cinema.

For a few weeks it was happening. A woman was going into a cinema screen when no movie was being shown and just smearing sh*t everywhere. It was happening every Wednesday at 1 p.m. or so and the staff would find out when

a) people went into the screen for the movie.
    b) when somebody put their hand on the banister of the stairs and it was covered in sh*t.

They ended up catching the woman a few weeks later coming out of one of the cubicles in the toilet, he handbag was full of sh*t.

bren2001 wrote: »

For a few weeks it was happening. A woman was going into a cinema screen when no movie was being shown and just smearing sh*t everywhere. It was happening every Wednesday at 1 p.m. or so and the staff would find out when

b) when somebody put their hand on the banister of the stairs and it was covered in sh*t.

They ended up catching the woman a few weeks later coming out of one of the cubicles in the toilet, he handbag was full of sh*t.

How was she getting in to the theatre without a ticket?
    ****ting in her handbag?
    Perhaps she thought she was a dog.......and was pissed the theatre was never showing Beethoven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭bren2001

RVP 11 wrote: »
    How was she getting in to the theatre without a ticket?
    ****ting in her handbag?
    Perhaps she thought she was a dog.......and was pissed the theatre was never showing Beethoven

She would buy a ticket, go watch whatever film she wanted, then go to the toilet, sh*t in her handbag, go to one of the empty screens and just start smearing. It's one of the largest cinemas in town, took them a while to catch her on CCTV.

Dirty ****ing bitch.:o

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Are you not meant to do that? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

RVP 11 wrote: »
    A couple (in business) came to our place for a meeting.
    After they'd gone i'd found a used condom on the floor of the toilet.

They came, and did the business.

Or vice versa

robbie7730 wrote: »
    They came, and did the business.

Or vice versa

The job was a horse......:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

xzanti wrote: »
    Some lad turned up one day for an interview wearing jeans.

i wear jeans to interviews
    and i normaly get the job

like last year
    i went casual to a formal wearing interview
    i got the job were as everyone else was wearing a suit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

saiint wrote: »
    i wear jeans to interviews
    and i normaly get the job

like last year
    i went casual to a formal wearing interview
    i got the job were as everyone else was wearing a suit

Yea, nothing too shocking about that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

Ive been responsible for pushing a girl out of her job(unbeknowst to me)i was one of three free labour fas workers that replaced a full time paid worker..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,380 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

gamgsam wrote: »
    I work in a back packer hostel.

We don't usually let in Irish people, beecause they usually aren't backpackers and dont have ID. We let some in at the weekend of the Red Hot Chilli Peppers gig. Chatted away to most of them before the gig while I was eating dinner, all sound, well spoken, grand people. I thought thered be no hassle.

Next morning there was beer everywhere. Girls knickers in the corridoors, every room ful of vodka bottles.

**** in the showers! but worst of all

Some complete c*nt pood in the cisttern of the toilet. I only noticed because he knocked the flush column so the toilet was in free flow after he replaced the lid. What dirty little scrotes these people were. I had to wrap my hand up in bags and lift his poo out. I did see the funny side, but that is one of the most horrible things i've done.

So yeah, no more irish in there!

Ah, a classic Upper Decker. Good times.

We really are a bunch of loveable cheeky chappies, us Irish. Aint we? Yeah?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

that is revolting..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Ive been responsible for pushing a girl out of her job(unbeknowst to me)i was one of three free labour fas workers that replaced a full time paid worker..

That's the employer's fault, not yours.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,592 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

In a building I used to work in, all managers had an office. They were doing year end reviews so naturally they were all in private. Some of the smaller meetings room were used as '121' rooms for some of these.

Anyway, I was waiting outside one room I had booked and one of the older female managers was in there with one of the younger staff. They were running late (my room was booked for a call) so I started knocking and just shouting at the door that I needed the room (it was locked) 2 minutes later the door opened and the younger lad came out, looking kind of flustered but happy. The other manager was also on the call (didn't know at the time) so she stayed in the room. There was a weird smell in the room. Slightly familiar.

Anyway, about 10 minutes into the call I noticed, what I can only believe to be, was a large blob of semen on the managers top (she was sat next to me). I found out later that year when she left, that she was well known for sucking guys off in the building and used it as a means of power! I'm so annoyed that she thought I couldn't have been manipulated like that! Wouldn't have stopped her :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I have to pay 15 cents for a cuppa.

No fair :mad:

I pay 40 cents.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I am close friends with an office worker in the HSE. She works in a hospital. The waste and corruption we get to hear about is only the tip of a very very large ice berg. She knows of highly paid managers with offices which lie empty as they literally have no function, managers who clock their mates and fellow managers in on days when they dont turn up, managers who simply deligate all of their daily jobs and then go home etc etc. And you cannot report any of this as the first folk in the complaints procedure are those who are doing it and they will make your life hell.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Diapason

I once saw somebody change an Excel spreadsheet without making a back-up first.

Diapason wrote: »
    I once saw somebody change an Excel spreadsheet without making a back-up first.

Such is life at the Ulster Bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

I worked as an agency worker at a fairly well-known delivery company a few years ago driving forklifts on the nightshift during my summers off from college. Started with two black lads.

The first evening I was pulled to the side by one of the lads that worked there and was told the following:

Him: "Listen Phlegmy, don't get too close to those lads. They'll be gone inside a week. You'll be kept, though. ;)"

Me: "Why? Are they rubbish at the job? Have they not got their forklift license?"

Him: "Sure they're all rubbish at the job. We won't be having any of those coloured fellas working here. Lazy as sin and they cause nothing but trouble."

Me: "..."

He went on to explain that the last black guy that worked there had issued proceedings against the company for racism, completely failing to understand the irony in this statement in light of the conversation we had just had.

At 19 years old, I hadn't really experienced anything like that and in a fit of pique, was very close to resigning in solidarity with my black brothers as though I was a modern-day, white Rosa Parks. Eventually, I realised that i needed the money. Don't judge me.

Anyway, he was right, they both eventually were let go, not after a week, but a month. One was an awful worker, the other was decent.

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭To Alcohol

Back in my college days I worked in a bar in Torremolinos as a barman for a summer job. It was a Wednesday night, we worked split shifts and I was coming back to the bar to work the 2nd half of my shift. I was having a chat with one of the bouncers at the door, just having a bit of banter as I'd 10 minutes to spare before I was due to start my 2nd shift. I remember the bouncer well, a Russian guy, a big burly lad perfect for bouncing. Used to have a chat with him regularly as he'd very good English and was a really nice guy.

Chatting away for a couple of minutes when two guys on a motorbike pull up. The passenger hops off and walks straight up to the guy I was chatting to, pulls a handgun from his jacket pocket and shoots him 5 times in the chest from a yard away. He has a quick look at me and the other bouncer, puts his finger to his mouth as if to say sshhh and then with the same finger runs it across his throat and walks back to the bike and off they went.

The bouncer stumbled a few steps and collapsed against a wall. Carnage ensued as people nearby and from the pub inside screamed and ran. Cops and an ambulance were called. The 10 minutes or so before the ambulance arrived were the worst 10 minutes of my life. I remember shaking from the shock as we tried to comfort and stem the blood loss from the guy who'd been shot.

Thankfully the guy survived and the rumour went around that it was a Russian mafia hit and that the bouncer was drug running for them and had stolen some of the drugs to sell for himself. The two hitmen were wearing helmets so there was no way to identify them so unfortunately they got away scot free.

To Alcohol wrote: »
    Back in my college days I worked in a bar in Torremolinos as a barman for a summer job. It was a Wednesday night, we worked split shifts and I was coming back to the bar to work the 2nd half of my shift. I was having a chat with one of the bouncers at the door, just having a bit of banter as I'd 10 minutes to spare before I was due to start my 2nd shift. I remember the bouncer well, a Russian guy, a big burly lad perfect for bouncing. Used to have a chat with him regularly as he'd very good English and was a really nice guy.

Chatting away for a couple of minutes when two guys on a motorbike pull up. The passenger hops off and walks straight up to the guy I was chatting to, pulls a handgun from his jacket pocket and shoots him 5 times in the chest from a yard away. He has a quick look at me and the other bouncer, puts his finger to his mouth as if to say sshhh and then with the same finger runs it across his throat and walks back to the bike and off they went.

The bouncer stumbled a few steps and collapsed against a wall. Carnage ensued as people nearby and from the pub inside screamed and ran. Cops and an ambulance were called. The 10 minutes or so before the ambulance arrived were the worst 10 minutes of my life. I remember shaking from the shock as we tried to comfort and stem the blood loss from the guy who'd been shot.

Thankfully the guy survived and the rumour went around that it was a Russian mafia hit and that the bouncer was drug running for them and had stolen some of the drugs to sell for himself. The two hitmen were wearing helmets so there was no way to identify them so unfortunately they got away scot free.
    I think we have a winner.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭BigFatGiant

I work in the department of agriculture and I once witnessed a co-worker arrive in work at 8:55 am work straight through until lunch at 1. He come back to the office at 2pm and worked straight through until 5pm. We never seen the likes of it before and I don't think we will ever see it again. It was amazing. Needless to say he got fired the following week but we still remember his "marathon day" every so often.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Dire poverty.

People killed, shot & blown to bits.

Air raids & artillery barrages.

Mine fields & victims of mines.

Orphans.

And people who didn't give a tuppennies f*ck about any of it..

Insert thousand yard stare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

antodeco wrote: »
    In a building I used to work in, all managers had an office. They were doing year end reviews so naturally they were all in private. Some of the smaller meetings room were used as '121' rooms for some of these.

Anyway, I was waiting outside one room I had booked and one of the older female managers was in there with one of the younger staff. They were running late (my room was booked for a call) so I started knocking and just shouting at the door that I needed the room (it was locked) 2 minutes later the door opened and the younger lad came out, looking kind of flustered but happy. The other manager was also on the call (didn't know at the time) so she stayed in the room. There was a weird smell in the room. Slightly familiar.

Anyway, about 10 minutes into the call I noticed, what I can only believe to be, was a large blob of semen on the managers top (she was sat next to me). I found out later that year when she left, that she was well known for sucking guys off in the building and used it as a means of power! I'm so annoyed that she thought I couldn't have been manipulated like that! Wouldn't have stopped her :D[/QUOTE

Is she hiring? Where can I send CV?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

frag420 wrote: »
    antodeco wrote: »

Anyway, about 10 minutes into the call I noticed, what I can only believe to be, was a large blob of semen on the managers top (she was sat next to me). I found out later that year when she left, that she was well known for sucking guys off in the building and used it as a means of power! I'm so annoyed that she thought I couldn't have been manipulated like that! Wouldn't have stopped her :D[/QUOTE

Is she hiring? Where can I send CV?

Hey Ma!!! I got a JOB!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

i once saw someone drown a tractor in mud. Just left it there as it was too much hassle to get it out. ah the good old pre recession days

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

allibastor wrote: »
    i once saw someone drown a tractor in mud. Just left it there as it was too much hassle to get it out. ah the good old pre recession days

Did they say that the Social Welfare would provide a new tractor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I used work in a bar/restuarant type thing.

The bosslady once made me take a potato out of a rubbish bag and put it back with the others as there was nothing wrong with it. The smell out of the bag made me feel ill. I put the spud into the bucket with the others, but took it back out once she turned her back.

Same please routinely poured slops and re used bread if it came back in uneaten, sometimes even going to the bother of buttering fresh bread, if the uneaten bread was already buttered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Lumbo wrote: »
    Did they say that the Social Welfare would provide a new tractor?

no kid, in the semi state game. plant is just left to rot in some places, though i did point a few scrap friends of mine to a few gold mines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

A place I was doing some work in a few years ago , one of the biggest pharmaceutical plants in the country had an isolated area in the factory where you were fully gowned up in a spacesuit type of uniform , the lads in there used to roll up packing material and make a football.
    As there was no manager ever bothered going in this went on all the time. Games of football in spacesuits in the middle of a pharma factory, great craic

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

once someone said "thank you" to me.

i nearly dropped with the shock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭ceannair06

A "lady" once decided to have her period all over the chair in an open-plan office. When asked privately and quietly if she'd like to go and clean up, she started shouting about how she was fine, she was just on the rag.

As a female lady person, I vouch that those two statements are not to be taken together.

gimmick wrote: »
    I used work in a bar/restuarant type thing.

The bosslady once made me take a potato out of a rubbish bag and put it back with the others as there was nothing wrong with it. The smell out of the bag made me feel ill. I put the spud into the bucket with the others, but took it back out once she turned her back.

Same please routinely poured slops and re used bread if it came back in uneaten, sometimes even going to the bother of buttering fresh bread, if the uneaten bread was already buttered.

Please tell me they are under new management or closed down since?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Working in a local pub, and a bride and groom came in. They looked a bit touched. A ten or twenty of their friends cam in, and they all sat down next tot he bride and groom. One went to the bar, and used the word "boss" after every few words.

Off duty bouncer having dinner suddenly multiplied to 30 bouncers at the bar, from every pub and nightclub nearby. Three squad cars, two riot vans, and a load of police turned up, and waited outside for the fun to kick off.

Everyone sitting near them moved out of the area they were in.

The best man slapped the bride on her arse, in front of the groom, and all hell broke loose.

Weapons gathered by the Gardai at the end of the night; stanley knives, steak knives, and other knives. Also a slash hook.

I had to mop up pools of blood that were left, as one of them got sliced from hip to shoulder with a satnley blade. The excitement took place in 30 minutes, and took a while to clean up.

Never saw a traveller wedding in the place since.
    gaf1983 wrote: »
    All of the janitors in our school were from poorer Arabic / Subcontinent countries, and they all wore green overalls.
    Google it, and you'll find that they're seen as sub-human, and probably not paid that much. In some countries their passport is taken, and they are effectively slaves.

the_syco wrote: »

The best man slapped the bride on her arse, in front of the groom, and all hell broke loose.

Was probably her brother, too.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

was working in a well known hotel years ago... hag of a woman in the back making sandwiches, had a large open wound on her finger, which was bleeding. she licked the blood, and continued making the sandwiches. i'll never have a sandwich from any hotel again!

the_syco wrote: »
    Working in a local pub, and a bride and groom came in. They looked a bit touched. A ten or twenty of their friends cam in, and they all sat down next tot he bride and groom. One went to the bar, and used the word "boss" after every few words.

Off duty bouncer having dinner suddenly multiplied to 30 bouncers at the bar, from every pub and nightclub nearby. Three squad cars, two riot vans, and a load of police turned up, and waited outside for the fun to kick off.

Everyone sitting near them moved out of the area they were in.

Weapons gathered by the Gardai at the end of the night; stanley knives, steak knives, and other knives. Also a slash hook.

I had to mop up pools of blood that were left, as one of them got sliced from hip to shoulder with a satnley blade. The excitement took place in 30 minutes, and took a while to clean up.

Never saw a traveller wedding in the place since.

Google it, and you'll find that they're seen as sub-human, and probably not paid that much. In some countries their passport is taken, and they are effectively slaves.

A pub I know had just reopened under new owners who hosted a traveller wedding. It closed again after the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Very boring really........... Pre beef tribunal worked in a meat factory reboxing boxes of meat with labels that stated it was just slaughtered. I remember taking labels off boxes that were dated 18 years previously :eek:

18 years?? surely you mean 18 days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Most 'unshocking' thing - people thinking they can haggle with the price thats printed on the box.
    Most shocking thing, when some scumbag came in and tried and nick one of the ipads on display, either unaware or stupid enough not to know that it would make a loud alarm go off. Bloody frightened the life out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

18 years?? surely you mean 18 days?

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

shuridunno wrote: »
    Afer a few months of snide remarks and escalating bullying I reported my supervisor to HR for being a prick.

I got transferred to another store, he became shop manager and I know of 3 girls that left because of him or started taking anti-depressants he was making their lives such hell.

He has since been promoted again and became manager of the store I was transfered to..thankfully I had left by then.

I know of a "Manager" who unrelentingly bullied every of member of their staff, was reported, investigated, found to have been a bully on all counts and was maintained in their job where they continued to bully all and sundry....staff left and yet they were maintained by the company as a "valued employee" - unbelievable :confused: