Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The most shocking thing you've witnessed at your workplace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Nope

So the meat had been frozen for 18 years and was being sold as fresh??

Maybe they just reused old boxes?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I used to work in the civil service in Dublin and a couple of the older lads who were what are called Service Officers, used to go for 4 pints or so before work, and another 4 or so at lunchtime. They kind of turned a blind eye to it for some reason. All these guys did was push trolleys around and do internal mail and stuff. 1 killed himself, the other 2 are dead from lung cancer, heavy smokers. Sad really, but it's funny how these SOs are f*ck ups so often, my dad worked for Revenue and similar stories there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

mongdesade wrote: »
    The 'overpaid professional suit wearers & meeting attenders', walking around the place doing fúck all else except making the real workers lives a misery :mad:

Haha, I love these. I remember having an identical view as this when I thought that hard graft counted for so much more.

Then I became of those who ran and organised the meetings, nevermind attended them, and quickly learned what hard work is.

On the surface, it often appears to be easier work but goodness me, what I wouldn't do to go back to working shift and shoveling ****.

What's the saying, it's what you know, not what you do? Or is it, it's not what you do, it's what you can do? ;)

Either way, in my experience anyway, and I am in a remarkably dysfunctional job, those earning the bigger (60k plus) salaries are very much earning them.

In a place I used to work in I went upstairs to go to the toilet but was met with ****ty footprints coming from the door leading into the toilet. I followed them to the warehouse where this guy (who's personal hygiene was (is) the worst I'd ever come across, breath AND body odour wise) was sitting. I asked him to show me the bottom of his shoes as someone had walked ****e all over the place and it led to him. He lifted his shoe and of course it was obvious it was him. All he could say was "It wasn't me" in the most unconvincing voice ever. Awful awful awful fúcking place to work, even without the ****e on the floor.

He still works there now and I've no idea how customers don't reel away in horror when he speaks to them because he'd melt a wheelie bin at 10 feet with the bang that comes off him. He is the only person I've met that has managed to miss the toilet while taking a shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

One time one of the girls was told to clean the ladies in the pub i work in. She got a lovely surprise when she found that some toerag had written sex from the blood on her sanitry towel on the back on the cubicle door.

Real Turner prize material right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I used to work in the civil service in Dublin and a couple of the older lads who were what are called Service Officers, used to go for 4 pints or so before work, and another 4 or so at lunchtime. They kind of turned a blind eye to it for some reason. All these guys did was push trolleys around and do internal mail and stuff. 1 killed himself, the other 2 are dead from lung cancer, heavy smokers. Sad really, but it's funny how these SOs are f*ck ups so often, my dad worked for Revenue and similar stories there.

The stories of lads pissing themselves after lunch back the P&T days are similar. Used to get weeks off to dry out a few times before really getting into trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

About €2,000,000 was stolen/fraud from the company, about two years later they closed down the company. Neither incident made the papers/tv

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

The stories of lads pissing themselves after lunch back the P&T days are similar. Used to get weeks off to dry out a few times before really getting into trouble.

Hi! What does P&T mean? Pin and tonic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Hi! What does P&T mean? Pin and tonic?

I'm guessing he means Eircom, before it was called Telecom Eireann, it was the Posts & Telegraphs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Worked in a call centre a few years ago.

A week before Christmas 20 people were let go because of unsatisfactory customer satisfaction surveys. These weren't bad people, just unlucky with the customers they had to deal with on the phone.

I thought it was a pretty horrible thing to do, the company could have waited until after Christmas/New Year.

chughes wrote: »

A week before Christmas 20 people were let go because of unsatisfactory customer satisfaction surveys. These weren't bad people, just unlucky with the customers they had to deal with on the phone.

I thought it was a pretty horrible thing to do, the company could have waited until after Christmas/New Year.

Call centre jobs are always temporary. Even the managers don't know where they will be next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Borderfox wrote: »
    About €2,000,000 was stolen/fraud from the company, about two years later they closed down the company. Neither incident made the papers/tv

That story has Biggins written all over it! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6 garciaanon

I worked for a very large well-known company in sales. Oh, the stories!!

We had an Area Manager who made everyone's lives a misery. Literally, a misery. Daily figures came out around 8:30am, stores opened at 9; he'd be on the phone at 9:30 asking what your figures were so far, what you were going to be doing that day to improve; and then call and text every half hour for updates. All the managers were terrified of him because he just kept on and on and on, 7 days a week. I was left running a store once and the calls would start at 7:30 in the morning, and end about 9ish, latest was 11:30 at night. All the managers suffered from burnout and stress, one manager almost lost his partner over it because he became unbearable to live with, a lot of managers quit over him. He was also a Grade A pervert, and was accused of sexual harrassment before he left..

garciaanon wrote: »
    I worked for a very large well-known company in sales. Oh, the stories!!

What sector was that? Are they still trading?

yup!!

You worked there too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭Dartz

When the door buzzer goes off. Every single ****ing time I ****e a little.

Also. Getting an internship after 2 years on the scratcher. Small company, but varied and interesting.... and better than being stuffed off into a quiet single-project team in a conglomerate.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,592 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

You worked there too?

I still work for them. This company has over 40 stores all over the country, this behaviour was centralised to 5 stores, none of the rest of us in the other branches knew anything about it until the suspensions and investigations started.

Mobile phone company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Worked in a store, in the stock room there was a big metal box that held all the cardboard, some staff would push the box measuring 3 meters x 2 to the drop under the the first floor ( a forklift would lift pallets up and down ) when a manager wasn't around they used yo jump from the first floor into the soft landings of the cardboard in the big metal box, never did it myself but looked like great fun, this lasted for a few months until CCTV was fitted.....

• Registered Users Posts: 6 garciaanon

antodeco wrote: »
    Mobile phone company?

Nope!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

To Alcohol wrote: »
    Back in my college days I worked in a bar in Torremolinos as a barman for a summer job. It was a Wednesday night, we worked split shifts and I was coming back to the bar to work the 2nd half of my shift. I was having a chat with one of the bouncers at the door, just having a bit of banter as I'd 10 minutes to spare before I was due to start my 2nd shift. I remember the bouncer well, a Russian guy, a big burly lad perfect for bouncing. Used to have a chat with him regularly as he'd very good English and was a really nice guy.

Chatting away for a couple of minutes when two guys on a motorbike pull up. The passenger hops off and walks straight up to the guy I was chatting to, pulls a handgun from his jacket pocket and shoots him 5 times in the chest from a yard away. He has a quick look at me and the other bouncer, puts his finger to his mouth as if to say sshhh and then with the same finger runs it across his throat and walks back to the bike and off they went.

The bouncer stumbled a few steps and collapsed against a wall. Carnage ensued as people nearby and from the pub inside screamed and ran. Cops and an ambulance were called. The 10 minutes or so before the ambulance arrived were the worst 10 minutes of my life. I remember shaking from the shock as we tried to comfort and stem the blood loss from the guy who'd been shot.

Thankfully the guy survived and the rumour went around that it was a Russian mafia hit and that the bouncer was drug running for them and had stolen some of the drugs to sell for himself. The two hitmen were wearing helmets so there was no way to identify them so unfortunately they got away scot free.

Meh

(only joking - great story!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Not that shocking but worked selling mobile phones door to door in Australia. Had lads just straight out lie and tell the customers to lie if they got a call about the credit check. Creating fake jobs for them and giving other lads number so they could verify employment. Youd know the houses youd get away with it. Offer them a free xbox and galaxy tab for 80 a month. No way they can afford it but want a yab and xbox so its win win. Once it got through credit check we got paid. Some seriously dodgey stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Probably the rampant favoritism that goes on every day at my job. You have managers who lord it over new guys and try to order them around, getting as much out of them as possible, and yet if any of the senior lads slack off or are too loud or get bad results, there is not a squeak out of them, no reprimands or chats etc. I know that goes on in almost every job but whats really shocking is when the bosses laugh along with some of the insults the senior lads spout about the new guys, there is just no professionalism there whatsoever, they are cowards who will bully new people but back off from the long termers, makes me sick :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I have loads of stories from working in hotels such as this one. I was working in England as a food and beverage manager in a hotel in 2003. It was was Christmas day and the hotel was full (39 rooms) except for one room. In the evening there was a casino night and Christmas dinner organised. A guy comes into the hotel and needs a room, so we book him into the last room which is in a separate building across the road.

Half an hour later the restaurant manager calls me and says the guy has worked up £200 tab in the bar. I approach the guy and all apologetic tell him that he must pay as we have a £100 room charge limit per guest (I made it up) and he needs to go to reception to pay, he's fine about it and he was telling me about his work for customs and couldn't make it home (we weren't too far from the sea). The guy comes to reception to pay but the card is declined. He says his mate can pay, I ring his mate and he says yeah OK, I was still suspicious and asked the guy at the end of the phone how he knew the guest, he said he'd met him two night ago and I was still very suspicious about taking a payment over the phone. I asked the guest if he had any money on him, he didn't.

This is where it went from bad to weird. He showed the receptionist a coin with an engraving of his dad and a watch which are priceless. The receptionist tells him that we can't accept the coin, he shows it to me, I explain that I'm not a horologist and I've no idea if the watch is valuable or the coin of Sir Winston Churchill. He started to shout about the coin being of his dad Churchill and his mum is Sarah Miles and he was working for the secret service, the receptionist asks him to calm down and he fires the coin at the receptionist. I decide to call the police. He could of done a legger at any time.

The police eventually come, the guy's being a dick about his dad being Churchill and his mum being Sarah Miles, the police tell me he's known to them and is sectioned under the mental health act (or whatever the wording is). We go across to the room and he starts to pack, the police told me that they can't remove him from the hotel until I physically try to move him, they tell me to try and grab him by the arm and if he pulls back they'll intervene, this conversation was had in front of the guest. So I guy over, grab him and he pulls back, the cop intervenes and the guy starts to wrestle him, the other comes over and pepper sprays him in the eyes, he's pulled up onto the bed and he's shouting, "fantastic, give me more, give me more". The cops haul him off and I spent the rest of the night in the cop shop giving a statement until my next shift started in the morning.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I witnessed a lad drinking coffee on his tea break

• Registered Users Posts: 20 ischia

The canteen in work always had an odd smell. In fact, so bad it used to put me off my lunch so I would just eat at my desk.

I had things I kept in the fridge and would go in to make the odd coffee and that. And one hot day with the sun coming in the window the smell was really overpowering and I mentioned it to the old man who just walked in. He was almost retired and said in the most natural way possible "this was the male toilet about 8 years ago and this (point to where I am making my coffee) was where the urinal was." I felt sick. Its true the smell was worse near the kettle. I checked it out and it was true.. was hoping he was taking the p.ss!

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

In one job, one employee frequently dipped into the till, stole cigarettes and other merch and allowed other employees to take the fall for the cash minuses. This went on for months.

After she got caught stealing, no Gardaí were involved. Instead she was "encouraged to hand in her notice", was never reprimanded and quickly got a new job involving money (which we heard she was later fired from because of similar events) all because the manager of the place was family and didn't want hassle at get togethers. But that's only one story, have heard horror stories from other branches too.

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭horsebox1977

I worked in a large multi national company with about 1500 people working in the building when somebody managed to take a dump in one of the corridors.

Some time later whilst chatting about particular incident it turned out that somebody else in the building use to take dump and then he use to wipe his arse with the toilet paper and then roll the soiled paper back into the toilet roll holder.

In work now - the toilets are constantly blocked and closed, so after weeks or plumbers trying to find out why it turns out that the main pipes outside the building are blocked up with used condoms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Used to work in a yoplait factory. I was the man who put the p in yop.

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭EdanHewittt

I work in the web design industry.

I was a temp at one of those trendy design outfits in The Digital Hub. (Not saying which one)

Anyways I turned up with my Ultrabook, placed it on a desk, only to witness the 16 members of staff all had Macbooks on their desk.

I got chatting with a fellow designer about my unconventional looking Ultrabook (Basically a high-end laptop).

I said: "Ah this thing is great, lots of RAM etc"

He says: "But it's not a Mac. We all use Macs around here"

I turn it on, takes 3 seconds to boot up. (It has a SSD drive)

It boots into Windows 7.

I fire up Two Virtual Machines with OSX (The Mac OS) running in them.

"Eat on that", I said.

He didn't take it the right way, I said it jokingly.

And then he has the cheek to ask me how much it cost.

600 Euro I said.

"Half the price you paid for these lowly Macbooks that take days to boot up, and only lets you run one Operating system, and doesn't even have an SSD, or an NVIDIA Graphics card like mine"

Found out later he wasn't a lowly worker at the place, but the CEO of the startup. I was told off, on my first day. All for being the Black Sheep of Ireland's booming tech industry.

Case in point: Don't bring an Ultrabook that runs OSX to a web design agency, you will only be cast off as pond scum.

Sad, but true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I used work in maintenance in a large chain of whorehouses on the continent-saw an aul lad try to bate a prostitute when security arrived to the room and literally blasted him with 50,000V right in the gonads,bollock naked! He passed out and was thrown out onto the footpath out the back no clothes on.
    Timed a good looking whore one day she went through 6 different men in the hour,as soon as she'd be finished with one she'd wash her fanny at the basin and give it a massaging rub to ease the pain,as soon as she opened the door of the bedroom she'd have another client in.

Ahhhh happy days:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

Very boring really........... Pre beef tribunal worked in a meat factory reboxing boxes of meat with labels that stated it was just slaughtered. I remember taking labels off boxes that were dated 18 years previously :eek:

I have to ask; was there a foreman called Honky in this place?

The stuff that went on in those places was mental. Reboxing old beef was the least of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Some bird bent over the desk today with a short skirt she didn't have the figure for, Christ you could have played handball off her arse :(

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

staker wrote: »
    .... in a large chain of whorehouses .....

Which one? was it CrackHo-Warehouse, Tesho's or Dom/Subway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Working behind a meat counter serving a customer when another one came over and asked if anyone was serving in the deli across the shop floor.
    The girl had gone on a toilet break without saying anything so i said i'd try get someone. A new lad (Oldschool butcher) had just started that week and hygiene was the least of his worries lets say.
    Anyways whilst i went looking for staff off the deli, i came back down to find the butcher making the customer a roll, still in his uniforn from the butchers with little bloodied hands and all! And i mean full on splashes of meat residue!
    Shocking is not the word he was an absolute animal! Customer took the roll and all! The same lad used to walk by the salad bar a few times a day dipping his filthy hands into the fresh fruit bowl and taking a couple of slices of fruit :eek:
    Needless to say he didn't last long and was sacked for robbing a breakfast roll for his break!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

mr.jingle wrote: »
    Working behind a meat counter serving a customer when another one came over and asked if anyone was serving in the deli across the shop floor.
    The girl had gone on a toilet break without saying anything so i said i'd try get someone. A new lad (Oldschool butcher) had just started that week and hygiene was the least of his worries lets say.
    Anyways whilst i went looking for staff off the deli, i came back down to find the butcher making the customer a roll, still in his uniforn from the butchers with little bloodied hands and all! And i mean full on splashes of meat residue!
    Shocking is not the word he was an absolute animal! Customer took the roll and all! The same lad used to walk by the salad bar a few times a day dipping his filthy hands into the fresh fruit bowl and taking a couple of slices of fruit :eek:
    Needless to say he didn't last long and was sacked for robbing a breakfast roll for his break!

I think I just got sick in my mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 gorugeen

I was I.T. manager for a company and wanted to give this guy(accounts type) a pc and give his laptop to a rep. Fugger wouldn't give it up no matter how many times I asked/told him. Eventually did it when he was off. The day after he stated on his shiny new pc. Following day I was had to logon on to his pc. Fug me, but your man had spent from 5 minutes after he arrived to one minute before he left on several swingers websites posting photos of his knob and talking dirty. Best bit was when I told the boss, he didnt believe me so I showed him. He went white when I showed him the knob photos:D
    Your man was sacked, obviously, but turned out the accounts were in an awful state!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,520 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I once worked in a cleanroom, was told that some guys doing maintenance found a ****e in a sealed box under the raised floor.

Someone must have been caught short, climbed out of their suit, went in the box, sealed back on the door (they're more pods than boxes) and then needed to hide the evidence.

You can't just walk out with one of these things, so they unbolted the floor, lowered it in and closed it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

kowloon wrote: »
    I once worked in a cleanroom, was told that some guys doing maintenance found a ****e in a sealed box under the raised floor.

Someone must have been caught short, climbed out of their suit, went in the box, sealed back on the door (they're more pods than boxes) and then needed to hide the evidence.

You can't just walk out with one of these things, so they unbolted the floor, lowered it in and closed it up.

That doesn't sound like a "clean room"

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭EdanHewittt

Saw an over the hill (Irish) Dubliner posting to his hi5 account at work, instead of Facebook. :shocked:
    http://www.hi5.com/

<< A place for foreigners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

staker wrote: »
    I used work in maintenance in a large chain of whorehouses on the continent

Whores 'r' Us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

The most shocking thing I witnessed at the workplace was 5 men walking into my workplace each carrying sports bags and shouting, wheres the cabbage wheres the cabbage and i just started laughing thinking they were on drugs or something until they each pulled out a shotgun and a handgun and continued shouting looking for the cabbage, but myself and the other two workers finally copped on what they were looking for and got a bit nervous then as it was northern Irish blokes looking for the money so sh1t hit the fan and they were going to shoot this other guy in the leg so we gave them the cabbage/money and they tied us up and left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Squaredude

Walked into the toilet at work one day to find the toilet seat covered in blood and a bloody catheter on the floor.
    Had a kid drop his pants and take a sh*t right in the middle of the floor while people were walking past him.
    Most shocking thing I've seen is a woman getting down to eye level with her daughter who was only about 4 or 5 and roaring at her that she was a f*cking retard and that she should just f*ck off.Later on the same woman dropped something out of her hand and turned to the same daughter and said "now look what you made me f*cking do,your always getting in my f*cking way",the child had done nothing wrong and the sad thing is she looked like she was well used to getting roared at like this.I can only imagine what's happening behind closed doors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

A man.. caught his arm in the machinery as i was tryin to catch his attention; shorn clean off.. I didn't eat for weeks after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭Felexicon

chughes wrote: »

Or the people in question could have done thier job properly, I doubt they were unlucky and got the wrong customers, they were probably just shíte at the job.

And at least they got to spend Christmas relaxing on front of thier Xbox or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Just remembered a perk a shop used to have for the staff; €1.50 for a lunch roll with whatever you could fit into the roll. Used to be great, as you'd have chicken and cheese and ketchup and stuffing for €1.50

This ended when someone was caught putting a full chicken between to halves of a roll, and paying only €1.50 for it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭Avatarr

A colleague packing up his personal items from his desk into a plastic bag before being escorted offsite, as his boss sat nearby asking other workmates about their weekend plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

One place I worked used to take the fillings out of unsold sanwiches and reuse them the next day.

In another place I saw the manager having a stand-up row with a client. She was yelling "I'm a business woman! I know what I'm doing! Get out!". She also wouldn't let a group of parents in to collect their children, but she wouldn't let the staff bring the children out to the parents either; the Gardai were called and everything. Seriously messed up woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭thefishone

Very boring really........... Pre beef tribunal worked in a meat factory reboxing boxes of meat with labels that stated it was just slaughtered. I remember taking labels off boxes that were dated 18 years previously :eek:

Years ago at work,was in the kitchen and noticed the beef was marked "not fit for human consumption,animals and soldiers only",never heard of anyone getting food poisoning though:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    uploading porn onto other people's computers that you don't like, then send an anonymous email to your manager telling them what you saw as you walked past.

easiest way to get someone fired

muhh aa haa hahahhaahahahahahahahahahahah

Very appropriate username

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Big schit stain on work mates trousers 2 days in a row and nobody said a word,