Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bringing snake from th UK

• 11-07-2012 12:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9

Is there any documentation that you need when bringing a snake from the UK to Ireland

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

I remember when I used to work in the pet-trade we would be required to apply for paperwork for the allowance of import of specific animals, down to the family/subgroup/latin name.

AFAIK that's all changed. I'm not 100% but I believe the new system is a bit of a nightmare. Are you planning on travelling with the animal itself, and are you using an airline that allows transport of animals in the hold? Make sure of that first. Then I would send an email to either revenue.ie or citizens information as they both would be involved somewhat in the laws surrounding the import of live animals.

Try and get as much advise/emails/letters from these people before you attempt to bring the snake into the country.

You will be quizzed at every stop along the way - what is the snake, where did it come from, why do you have it - all asked by people who don't really understand the idea of the husbandry of reptiles, so you'll find alot of skeptical people and raised eyebrows along the way. Just make sure you have print outs of all your emails and a contact number for someone in the relevant department if need be.

Speed is generally the issue, the last thing you want is your snake becoming ill because of being stuck in a travel bag/box in low temps.