Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Shelbourne FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Dub XV wrote: »
    Cab2000 won't be sponsoring again.

I heard rumours that some of the sponsorship deals were in trouble, Cab2000 and Nivea iirc.

1. Trust Working Group:
    The next trust working group is scheduled for Thursday the 7th of February, 8PM in the Tolka Bar. Having reviewed the meetings so far, the steering committee would like to propose the establishment of the below two working groups.

Trust Working Group: To work on Trust Events, Fundraising and promotion of Trust membership.

Club Promotions and Volunteering Group: To help the club directly with promotion and matchday volunteering.

Working group meetings are to take place on the first Thursday of each month throughout 2013.

2. Logo Competition:
    The 1895 Trust wants a logo, and we’re looking to you to design it.

Anyone can enter, all you need to do is email shelstrust@gmail.com with your entry. The steering committee will then draw up a shortlist and hold a poll on which one fans want.

Images should reflect the tradition and history of Shelbourne FC, and contain no copyrighted or offensive material.

You can design the logo in any way you want, whether that be on a computer or with crayons, just make sure it’s sent to us at shelstrust@gmail.com by February 11th – almost one month from now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

I heard rumours that some of the sponsorship deals were in trouble, Cab2000 and Nivea iirc.
    Any possibilities of replacements?

Bayly, Ryan, Shortall, Burdon and Hanley were the 5 signed but not confirmed players I was on about.

http://shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=2372

Officially announced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,566 ✭✭✭✭CSF

The club is being run absolutely shambolically at this stage. We can talk about costcutting all you want, but we could add 2 quality players to that with the money that would have been added to our budget from not renewing Matthews' contract alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

CSF wrote: »
    The club is being run absolutely shambolically at this stage. We can talk about costcutting all you want, but we could add 2 quality players to that with the money that would have been added to our budget from not renewing Matthews' contract alone.

But the Board sticks to him, because of all his achievements in Tolka? Semi finals of the cup, not being relegated? :confused:

Lars1916 wrote: »
    But the Board sticks to him, because of all his achievements in Tolka? Semi finals of the cup, not being relegated? :confused:
    No idea why. Whatever their reasons are, they're wrong.

CSF wrote: »
    No idea why. Whatever their reasons are, they're wrong.

This will be a grand season...more new players than old players, no decent pre season matches (only two) :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Dub XV

Graham Gartland has joined.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

dfx- wrote: »
    ?

Dub XV wrote: »
    Graham Gartland has joined.

^

It is a credit to Kerrea Gilbert that he managed to be worse than Gartland last season..

^

It is a credit to Kerrea Gilbert that he managed to be worse than Gartland last season..
    That bad?

He was really really bad.

Not one of any of the other defenders for Rovers last season could claim any credit - Oman, Powell, Sives etc but Gartland was catastrophic.

He was really really bad.

Not one of any of the other defenders for Rovers last season could claim any credit - Oman, Powell, Sives etc but Gartland was catastrophic.
    What sort of offside line did you play?

There wasn't really a line, more a W shape

Mostly caused by Gartland (or Gilbert) chasing after a player infield, being slow and trying to lunge for the ball, getting turned or more often clattering into the stiker's legs.

There wasn't really a line, more a W shape

Mostly caused by either Gartland (or Gilbert) chasing after a player infield, being slow and trying to lunge for the ball, getting turned or more often clattering into the stiker's legs.
    But by and large the idea was to play a high one yeah? My hope is that he'd be less exposed playing our style of football.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Just saw on the official site that the Athlone game won't be on the 22nd as planned. With two pre season games already been called off, am i right in saying that we have only played Leixlip so far? I'm starting to wonder will we be prepared come our trip to Bray?

dan1895 wrote: »
    Just saw on the official site that the Athlone game won't be on the 22nd as planned. With two pre season games already been called off, am i right in saying that we have only played Leixlip so far? I'm starting to wonder will we be prepared come our trip to Bray?

I think, there was at least 11 in the Bar last Thursday, maybe they could play in a pre season match? I could go in goal, I'm too old to run around.

1 up against Mervue at half time. Two red cards for Bayly and Flynn. Looks like are discipline problems are going to continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

1 up against Mervue at half time. Two red cards for Bayly and Flynn. Looks like are discipline problems are going to continue.

Get worse more like it. WTF is Mathews thinking signing these people? I know we all think we would do a better job ourselves but in this case its true.

Bayly, Flynn and Gartland, is there a betting market for worst fair play record in the LOI :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Bayly, Flynn and Gartland, is there a betting market for worst fair play record in the LOI :pac:

Crowley too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭markc1184

Was Bayly sent off for mouthing off? You'd think the ref would just have a word with Mathews and get him subbed off, it's only a friendly at the end of the day.

How's Sean Brennan been getting on with you's?

The purpose of these friendlies is for the players to gain match fitness so maybe your right about the recent having a word rather than dishing out cards. According to livescore they were both straight reds. You'd wanna be saying some harsh stuff to get a straight red.
    Never has there been a squad of such filthy thugs assembled at one club, it makes me wonder what the thinking behind it all is.

Anyone insane enough to go out to the Glebe North friendly on Tuesday? Must say I'm very tempted as I'm off work.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

did i read correctly somewhere that volkswagen are the main sponsor this year???

Yes, McAllister's Motors, part of the Volkswagen Ireland Group.

Did Dave McAllisters aul lad or family member own that before they sold to Joe Duffy?

I have no idea. Would take him back tomorrow but that would probably be the end of his career as he'd spend the time watching the ball being kicked over his head.

seen the token promotion on rte earlier seems vw are sponsors for a few teams this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Are there many of you coming down to Wexford today?

I cant see us getting a win until we play UCD in Round 11

I cant see us getting a point until we play UCD in Round 11

FYP

Completely and utterly deflated. This is the worst being a Shels fan has ever been. No club should ever take Matthews on after this.

getting worse..........

Why? Shels ended the match with 11 men for the second time in a row, and...ah, balls, you are right :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Read this on a newspaper in the Jacks this morning - thought I'd post it here before I wiped:
    Love/Hate Kicks off at Tolka Park
    The gritty RTE drama Love/Hate has returned to the streets of Dublin as the fourth season continues to be filmed around the capital. The locations being used to shoot the latest instalments of the multi-IFTA award winning show are closely guarded secrets but it is suspected that the producers, Suzanne McAuley and Steve Matthews, will retain the original cast including the power-hungry Nidge, (Tom Vaughan-Lawlor), gangster Tommy (Killian Scott), Nidge’s wife Trish (Aoibhinn McGinnity), Fran (Peter Coonan), Elmo (Laurence Kinlan) and Tommy’s missus Siobhan (Charlie Murphy).

This week however, we were granted limited preview access to the production and we can now reveal that series director James Flynn has taken the radical step of enlisting the acting talents and stadium of League of Ireland Premier Division football club, Shelbourne FC in the ongoing filming.

Of course, the Drumcondra outfit are no strangers to the world of showbiz; a decade ago the club ground and personnel starred in an episode of the British football-drama, Dream Team. This time around, Shels’ commitment to the project goes much further. It seems that a number of leading figures from the famous Northside club are set to follow in the footsteps of Vinnie Jones, Eric Cantona and OJ Simpson and really make their mark as screen idols.

The cameras were rolling over the Easter weekend on location at Tolka Park, the home of the ‘Real Reds’, and despite extremely tight levels of security on the set we were able to catch up with some of the club’s budding thespians, including manager Alan Mathews, League veteran Robert Bayly, ex – Drogheda and Shamrock Rovers centre-half, Graham Gartland and new signing, Pat Flynn. They gave us a tantalising glimpse of what to expect in the new season of the award winning crime drama.

Manager Alan Mathews, although absolutely refusing to give away any plot secrets did tell us that “I can’t really reveal much but I can tell you that I’m playing the role of an IRA man turned gangland boss in the new series”. The reds coach, never one to suffer fools gladly in the world of football management, said that he was well suited to playing a no-nonsense, authoritarian mastermind: “All I have to do is act naturally, really. Before I was involved in football I worked in Ulster Bank and that really helped me with the Northern accent I needed. I was able to try it out at half time in the Directors’ box in Derry last Friday night; they all said it was very convincing”. Not so convincing however, was the performance of his team, who were hammered 4-0 in a disappointing third defeat of the new season. When asked about this Alan would only comment: “Well, for five days running before the Derry match meself and the lads were on set for 15 hours each day. It was pretty gruelling. The makeup and costumes take ages, too, and of course, there’s the open bar and the ‘dolly girls’ and groupies to help us wind down, for Jaysus’s sake, but I don’t really think it affected our performance on the pitch.”

Ex-Leeds United star Robert Bayly also spoke to us about the challenges of balancing life in front of the camera and his on-field commitments to Shelbourne. “Well, me and Garto [Graham Gartland] were having a sleepover in his gaff there a few weeks ago and we were watching a video on youtube about method acting. Method acting is where you have to live the role – you have to become the character that you’re playing, for real!”

This had bizarre ‘art-imitates-life’ consequences in subsequent matches for the player: “Of course, I can’t give any plot secrets away but in the new season I’m playing a hit-man – all I do is kill and maim. Unfortunately, I was taking my role so seriously that I was still in character out on the pitch!” Chuckling, the midfielder cum movie star went on: “It was mad! I got sent off against Mervue and booked against Bray and I got really angry at some fans at the end of that match, too! It was like I was still in Love/Hate! It’s a good job I didn’t have a baseball bat in me hand like I had in the show!”

Sitting next to Bayly, Graham Gartland agreed: “The role just kinda takes over. One minute I was in front of the camera breaking legs and wasting scumbags with me Glock. The next minute I’m supposed to shut up and take it when the ref gives out to me. You can’t just switch off like that!” he giggled, recalling his own red card in the match against Dundalk.

Pat Flynn also revealed that he, too was finding it hard to adjust when the camera stops. “I’m playing this total f***king lunatic in the series, you know, like Joe Pesci in Goodfellas? I mean, I’m supposed to be a total psychopath…how am I supposed to just ‘play football’? Do you think Robert De Niro just ‘plays football’ when he’s between shots, I mean, seriously, darling?” Indeed, so demanding has his on-screen role been that in just two pre-season starts Flynn has received two straight reds!

Another player who did not want to be named told us that training sessions in Tolka Park have taken a new direction since the cameras started rolling. “Alan [Mathews] begins each session by putting us in a circle, getting us to close our eyes, while we keep humming and visualising a piece of fruit until we become that piece of fruit. It really helped when we went 4 down in the Brandywell last week. I just retreated into my ‘Inner Banana’ and the horror of how Derry were ripping us a new asshole just faded away!”

So there you have it, folks: if you thought Nidge and Darren were terrifying, wait until the Shels hit our screens in Season 5! As Shelbourne fans are quickly discovering this year: in Tolka no-one can hear you scream.

What the absolute f*ck is this? Surely an April Fool's joke??

Is it? Shels were pumped at the Brandywell ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Matthews Out!

You are going 1:0 after a few minutes, it's always an uphill battle alright. I still think, Shels deserved a draw...but then came the red card. There is something wrong, totally wrong :confused:

yeah, Dan, I mean this to be an April fool's joke, yeah... but the real joke was tonight's latest disaster.

born2bwild wrote: »
    yeah, Dan, I mean this to be an April fool's joke, yeah... but the real joke was tonight's latest disaster.

I'm actually glad I was in work from what I heard.

Yes indeed: Even if you work as a Fluffer in the animal porn industry of HIV-ridden sub-Saharan Africa you were probably better off in work.

born2bwild wrote: »
    Yes indeed: Even if you work as a Fluffer in the animal porn industry of HIV-ridden sub-Saharan Africa you were probably better off in work.

Just for the record; I don't.

Banker of a loss in the next game away to Sligo

After that its
    Drogs (H)
    Pats (A)
    Cork (A)
    Limerick (A)
    UCD (H)

Even if we get a win or a draw against Drogs at home, the next 3 aways are going to be very difficult. We could be going into a massive game against UCD with 3 losses in a row, possibly even 7 on the trot. Also remember that with the exception of the Pats game being moved, this is our run in at the end of the season.

The team and the people running the club need to realise that we are in serious trouble. This isnt a bad run of form, we are just terrible. UCD being equally terrible are the only thing saving us from complete oblivion before the summer break.

I know the club have diverted funds towards the upkeep of the ground but we wont even need a ground if we continue on the pitch like this. We need players in during the window and we need to put Mathews on gardening leave or whatever and bring somebody else in or promote from within.

Every time I go to a match or read reports, i see or read something along the lines of "A great shift by Philly Hughes". He's not a "great shift" type of player. He isnt Dirk Kuyt/Carlos Tevez/Wayne Rooney type of player. He's a Berbatov/Zlatan type of player. You wouldnt ask Zlatan or Berbatov to do all the doggy work up front because it would just be a waste of talent talents.

I can see Philly Hughes when he is playing, he is pissed off. Its a complete waste of his talent, he deserves better. He is the only decent attacking player we have retained this season and he is playing in a role that any semi-decent LOI player can do.

More Bollox last night from what I read. We are truly f**ked.

May I quote from another thread? Thanks, Bohs :(

http://www.redsindependent.com/a-statement-from-reds-independent-13-may-2013/
    Reds Independent today calls for Shelbourne FC manager Alan Mathews to tender his resignation to the Board of Management forthwith.
    It seems apparent- and has been for some time- that the manager is in no position to preserve our Premier Division status, and this along with the terrible style of football employed, his poor results record, an obvious lack of discipline, his inability to get the best out of players and his barely-disguised contempt for both supporters and volunteers renders his exit from the club a necessity at this juncture.
    As a group, Reds Independent expressed our concern and reservation during the off season regarding the re-appointment of Alan Mathews, and since then our suspicions have been confirmed to the extent that we believe his position to be untenable. In particular, we have always questioned the logic of re-appointing a manager, who has already failed to produce adequate returns on much greater resources, to operate on the necessity of a reduced budget. A forewarning was evident all last season, a campaign which saw the Reds finish with just 2 wins from our last 13 league fixtures. In this regard, the Board of Management must shoulder the burden of responsibility in making such an unsuitable appointment, and it would be interesting to hear exactly what their managerial selection policy was during the winter.
    We now find ourselves languishing at the very foot of the table, adrift from safety continuing last season’s end of year slide and making a mockery of the manager’s suggestion that he had put together a side capable of finishing fourth. The league position, the wanton indiscipline within the squad and the dreadful predictable style of football are not only unacceptable and driving supporters away, but pose a serious threat to both the club’s Premier Division status and more worryingly, our long-term future as a senior football club.
    Reds Independent also reject the recent assertion by the manager in the media that the supporters of the club crave success. While no doubt there may be a small few who are of this mindset, the vast majority of the fans are far more realistic and have far more modest ambitions and expectations. No, what we as supporters crave is stability not success.
    On this basis, we call on Alan Mathews to do the honourable thing and what is best for Shelbourne Football Club by tendering his resignation with immediate effect.
    Reds Independent