Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The VDV enigma

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

we need to keep our best and most experienced footballers at the club, and he is without doubt one of these

he can create goals and chances out of nothing

he always puts in a shift too from what I've seen

he must stay

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

we need to keep our best and most experienced footballers at the club, and he is without doubt one of these

he can create goals and chances out of nothing

he always puts in a shift too from what I've seen
    he must stay

We must be watching a different fella ;)

p.s. I have never doubted that he is a good player..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭DubPerryman

I think this article sums up why this thread was created... there is no argument over VDV's strengths, though his weaknesses may see him not fit in to AVB's plans long-term. And yes, I'm aware AVB came out and said VDV is vital.

http://tottenhamlive.com/blog/491-avb-spurs-tactics.html?

Hatch99 wrote: »
    We must be watching a different fella ;)

p.s. I have never doubted that he is a good player..

each to their own mate

I'm not sure he always has 90mins in him in fact I'm sure he doesn't most of the time.

His fitness could be questioned but he's fully committed when he's on the flield. I think you could be confusing the two.

One of the best players in the world in "the hole" between midfeild and forward lines. Wasted anywhere else on the field.

Capt of Holland, leadership and massive experience

Gotta be one of the 1st names on the team sheet for me

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

VdV and Parker were the guts of last season's team imo. I was frustrated every time VdV was pulled off, even if his fitness was in doubt, he was the one player that would at least try to grab the game by the scruff of the neck and not go into damage limitation.

He has a winners mentality, that already puts him above Modric in my books. Add to that his technical ability and a peach of a shot and he is indispensible to the club. Systems can work or not work, but you can't ignore quality. At this stage, I think it's utter madness to want rid of one of our best players.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭Ormus

We must be watching a different player, I saw VdV be a passenger frequently last season. He is slow and unfit and the high tempo of the Premiership sometimes meant that games passed him by.

He was good up until about the end of October and then he roused himself for a flurry in April, but apart from that he was anonymous.

I don't dispute the quality he has, he has superb skill and vision and can change games, and we would miss that if he left.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SuprSi

VDV pledges future to Spurs

Dutchman aiming to win the title with Tottenham

Last Updated: July 18, 2012 6:09am

The 29-year-old Holland international has been linked with a move away from White Hart Lane following the dismissal of manager Harry Redknapp last month.

But he has played down such talk and insisted the future is bright under new boss Andre Villas-Boas.

He said in The Sun: "My place is at Spurs. I want to win the title with this club. Each summer my name appears in the transfer market.

"The race for the top four will be a total war from the very first day."

Van der Vaart, who joined the north London club two years ago from Real Madrid, added: "The new coach has good plans for me and this is important.

"I have heard excellent reports about AVB.

"We have very good attacking players and if AVB imposes an offensive system the team could be a real spectacle."

http://www1.skysports.com/football/n...uture-to-Spurs

I'm personally happy about this :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Excellent news, amazing how some people are so dismissive of a world class player, one of perhaps 3 at the club. We need to hang onto players like him if we want to make a sustained challenge for the top 4, every club above us has at least one player with a similar calibre and work-rate. He's also a leader, captained the Dutch team in the World Cup Final, albeit for only around half an hour.

THFC wrote: »
    Excellent news, amazing how some people are so dismissive of a world class player, one of perhaps 3 at the club. We need to hang onto players like him if we want to make a sustained challenge for the top 4, every club above us has at least one player with a similar calibre and work-rate. He's also a leader, captained the Dutch team in the World Cup Final, albeit for only around half an hour.

I don't think anyone has ever questioned his ability mate.

p.s. The phrase 'world class' is used far too loosely these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭yiddo59

Happy days !

And I didn't say ye questioned is ability, but ye are questioning his value to the club, which is, imo, outrageous. He has been, for the past 2 seasons, our unlocker of defences. He did what no one at Spurs did for years, he played in the hole behind the striker and linked attack with midfield, without him we looked disjointed. He was probably our best player in the 10/11 season, and one of our best players last season, and he has consistently come up with very important goals and assists. With Glyfi we have a replacement, but van der Vaart is a different gravy. He has more technical ability in his arse than half the squad do overall.

I'm not saying he will, or should, be one of our main men again next season, but to want him gone!?? When there are player like Jenas & Bentley still on the payroll? He is, at worst, an excellent squad player.

Everyone has different definitions of world class, my definition would be about the best 30/40 players in the world, players who wouldn't look out of place in the top 2/3 teams in the world. IMO, vdV, Bale and Modric are world class, and is Ade is borderline, but he's not a Spurs player (yet).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Emoran

IMO, vdV, Bale and Modric are world class, and is Ade is borderline, but he's not a Spurs player (yet).

You lost me with adebayor... world class or borderline world-class players are consistent. Ade is great one week.... next he looks like a wounded giraffe on ice in and around the box !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

Great news about VDV staying with Spurs,it's good to see that the new manager has more sense than some fellas on here.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭DubPerryman

I'm not saying he will, or should, be one of our main men again next season, but to want him gone!??

Woah - the above is blowing the whole discussion out of all proportions. What I, and a few others, have been saying is that VDV, as good as he is, may not fit in to AVB's plans. As a result of this, he may look to play elsewhere rather than sit on the bench. OR, if he is sitting on the bench, the manager may choose to sell him because he is a big personality and may disrupt things (as Mourinho did).

The rest of your argument would insinuate that we are comparing VDV to Jenas and Bentley, which is MILES from the point.

I just wanted to get the discussion back on track before the season starts because I feel it may rumble on for a while.

And I didn't say ye questioned is ability, but ye are questioning his value to the club, which is, imo, outrageous. He has been, for the past 2 seasons, our unlocker of defences. He did what no one at Spurs did for years, he played in the hole behind the striker and linked attack with midfield, without him we looked disjointed. He was probably our best player in the 10/11 season, and one of our best players last season, and he has consistently come up with very important goals and assists. With Glyfi we have a replacement, but van der Vaart is a different gravy. He has more technical ability in his arse than half the squad do overall.

I'm not saying he will, or should, be one of our main men again next season, but to want him gone!?? When there are player like Jenas & Bentley still on the payroll? He is, at worst, an excellent squad player.

Everyone has different definitions of world class, my definition would be about the best 30/40 players in the world, players who wouldn't look out of place in the top 2/3 teams in the world. IMO, vdV, Bale and Modric are world class, and is Ade is borderline, but he's not a Spurs player (yet).

:D:D pipe down chief...
    Simply what I am questioning is whether he will fit in to the new managers system, and if it's a regular 433, he may not, if it's a 4231, he quite possibly will. If he doesn't fit in, and the manager sees that, then I'd snap your hand off for 15m. Each managers have different idea's. Just because HR played him at every opportunity, doesn't mean AVB will. Jose wasn't long about turfing him out.

Your mentioning of Bentley / Jenas is pointless, has nothing to do with the topic.

Your right, we all have different opinions of world class, and if you think VDV is world class, and Adebayor is borderline world class, then our opinions are a galaxy apart.

tippspur wrote: »
    Great news about VDV staying with Spurs,it's good to see that the new manager has more sense than some fellas on here.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Leinstersqspur

Rafa was a guest last night broadcasting from London during Olympics saying he really loves Spurs and telling the Dutch people that the Arsenal are our enemy and how you’ve got to win every match you play against them...!

Is it still ok to sing "yiddo yiddo, yiddo yiddo!"

Sold.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,910 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Sold.
    No.............Sylvie!!

Sugarlumps wrote: »
    No.............Sylvie!!

:D surely dembele has a decent wan on his arm

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭Bodie Doyle

He's just as good as Hoddle
    he's better than Chris Waddle
    his mrs is a model
    he's Rafa Van Der Vaart.

Sung to the tune of "The Addams family"

ah well. Best of luck Rafa.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

A1nktu-CIAAK6Tz.jpg

Legend.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

A1nktu-CIAAK6Tz.jpg

Legend.

Na na na na na na na na Rafa Van der Vaart Van der Vaart Rafa Van der Vaart :(

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭nipps

i'm sad to see him go. absolute legend! imo his technical ability is world class.

one of my favourite rafa moments:

thanks for the memories rafa!

Said it here before, IMO he's a Tottenham legend, just a shame he couldn't have been at the lane for longer...

Good tweet today "wierd seeing Vdv being unveiled at Hamburg, kinda like seeing your ex-missus with another bloke"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

absolutely gutted.

Good player, scored some great goals.
    We'll move on though ;)

Really warmed to the guy, on top of being an exquisite footballer he seemed like such a decent bloke, I'll miss him a lot :(

He has a great attitude, a grounded individual from a background that we'd refer to a traveller/gypsy..
    Fcuk me lads, she'd suck golf balls through a hose pipe:eek:
    A1pmyoOCAAA9det.jpg