Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going it alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

glad your feeling better and back training. Glad you made a decision on the other matter and not have it annoying and stressing you all the time!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Solobally8

18th Oct - My first time going to a club turbo session in ages. I wore a heart rate monitor as I'm starting to look into using it regularly this season like all you guys on here :) Sweat buckets, enjoyed it.
    21st Oct- I've started a Fitness Instructor course which is on Friday, Sat and some Sundays so my regular tri training will be disrupted for the next 6 months. Instead I will be doing more general fitness related stuff so today was an introduction to teaching circuits. After a 20 minute tough warm up I was looking forward to a tough hour session but unfortunately the day ended abruptly when one of the lads dislocated his shoulder and the tutor had to bring him to hospital. Big lesson learned- never ever get your clients to play stuck in the mud as a warm up!!
    Home much earlier than expected so I headed out for a run. 4.15 miles with some hill repeats. First time up the hill I took off too fast and died a death in the last 100m, second time was a bit better but by the third time I really thought I might puke. Also I think the people living up there must think I'm mental. Will definitely be doing this session again and again.
    22nd Oct - Got a sneaky work out in at the gym while supervising the girls at sport. Some time on the bike, 2.4 miles on the treadmill and some upper body weights work.
    Club circuit training later on. Tough and sweaty:D
    24th Oct - Joined up with a few girls who meet in Nenagh every Wed evening for an easy run. 3.78 miles at 9:30 min mile pace. I'll definitely keep meeting up with them. It's much nicer to be able to run around the lit streets than having to go on the treadmill for the winter.
    25th Oct - Finally got myself a pool membership- the joys of being a student again! I've swam once since August so hopefully the fact I've paid out for membership will mean I get back into regular swimming again. Had a nice easy session to remind myself of how its done - 1050m
    26th Oct - Back to the pool after work- 1400m
    27th Oct - No course this weekend so I went out with the tri club for a hilly 69k loop. I have only been on the bike 3 times (including 1 turbo) since August so not suprisingly I really struggled today. It was soooo cold but a beautiful bright morning. Pity I wont be able to make any more of these sessions this year.
    28th Oct -Totally shocked myself by getting up nice and early for a 7.5 mile run with a girl from the club who lives nearby, this morning. We did a really hilly route and at times I really wanted to stop but then I warmed up into it and the hills came to an end and it turned into a very pleasant run.

Delighted to be back doing some regular training. I had planned to either swim or turbo this afternoon but I think it might be a bit of a mistake to go from less than 3 hrs training last week to over 8 this week. My achilles is a bit niggly too so I'm going to take it easy for the day instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Hey! Just checking in. :) How's your Fitness Instructor class going....and what are your goals with that?? Sounds very exciting, and I think you'd be super at instructing others. I used to be an aerobics instructor and I loved it!!! Catch me/us up. :D

Dory Dory wrote: »
    Hey! Just checking in. :) How's your Fitness Instructor class going....and what are your goals with that?? Sounds very exciting, and I think you'd be super at instructing others. I used to be an aerobics instructor and I loved it!!! Catch me/us up. :D

Hey Dory, sorry just saw this now. Things are a bit hectic at the moment between work, college and trying to get training in, not to mention spending time with my family! I'm LOVING the course. Every part of it is interesting and sooo useful. I will be a qualified fitness instructor at the end of it, so should be able to give classes in areobics, circuits, body conditioning and step. I plan on hiring out the local community hall and giving classes as soon as I'm ready.

It's also really useful for my own training. I'm learning so much about how to get a better performance out of my body so the big plan for this winter is to work on my overall body composition- get rid of the fat,build the muscle and become more lean. I love all the resistance and strength work thats what I'm going to focus on and hopefully that will help with triathlons in the future.

My log will be less of a triathlon log for the next few months as a result. But I'm still going to try fit in 2 swims, 2 runs and at least one or two turbos per week. For my course I have to attend various diffferent group fitness classes so they will take up a lot of my time, also Friday, Saturday and Sunday training with the club is out as I will be attending lectures and practicals.

All very exciting and fun stuff:)

Training since my last update...

Tues 30th Oct - Swim 1600m with 500m timed at 13:30. The club is running coached stroke work sessions of a Wednesday night from the 7th Nov and he needed a time for 500m from everyone. I bet mine is the slowest but hey that's why I'm going to the sessions- to get faster hopefully!

Wed 31st Oct - Indoor Soccer 4 a side at work. I've played for years. I still cant kick the ball straight and spend most of my time laughing and running away from the ball but all those sprints and bursts add up to a good sweat.
    Run Met up with my Wednesday group for a lovely run around Nenagh in the dark. 4 miles in 39:40, nice social run.
    Swim First club swim session since August. Wasnt as bad as I expected it to be. My lane was nice and quiet which helps. Shane was giving lots of information and help with stroke work. Excellent stuff, really helpful. 1500m

Between work and preening for a wedding I didnt manage to do anything on the 1st and 2nd Nov.

3rd Nov - Body Conditioning 3 hour lecture which included about 1.5 hrs of resistance and body conditioning work. All new to me, all tough going. Loved it.

A wedding in the afternoon ment Sunday was a total write off.

Monday 5th Nov - Total Body Workout Went to Richie Cliffords class in UL on the way home from work. Wow it was manic. I'm guessing there were about 70 people or more at it. Crazy hectic fun class. I'll be back next week. Does that man have an ounce of body fat?

Tuesday 6th Nov - Turbo I was late home, then sat down yapping to the hubby only to realise I was late for turbo so hopped around the house trying to get ready in time only to nearly forget my turbo and my bike shoes. Arrived on time, began to set up, only to realise I had the wrong scewer in my bike and there were no spares at the track. Nothing for it only to go home- boo, what a wasted journey. Normally I would use this as an excuse to sit on the couch for the rest of the evening but I'm happy to report I resisted. Instead I set the turbo up infront of the tv and happily worked away for 75 mins.

Wed 7th Nov - Indoor Soccer Made some totally flukey saves before sulking after one of my students hurt me with a flaker of a shot. Refused to be in goals anymore. Scored a lovely goal after about 50 woeful attempts.
    Coached stroke work swim session - Huge club turn out for this, great to have such interest, not so great for actually getting stuff done. 8 in our land ment a nice bit of waiting around to get space to do stuff. Still a good session getting right back to basics. Very important for me as I never really learned the basics and that is exactly where I need to go in order to get better. 600m total. Lots of water swallowed.

I predict great things for and from you!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Great to see you today missus. Just after you left I realised you should have come swim with us. It ended up being more of a who is the least hungover type of swim though! :)

Oh that's a pity, would have liked that. It would have been the only time I might have looked half decent at swimming :D

Solobally8 wrote: »
    Oh that's a pity, would have liked that. It would have been the only time I might have looked half decent at swimming :D

You'd have seen how I always manage to clear a lane. Ended up on my own, again.

That was kingQuez on the step behind you by the way. Thought it'd be a bit weird to introduce yee while there were normal people around. :pac:

Some more mixed training...

Nothing done on Thursday as we went on our maiden voyage to Ikea. My back was broken from walking around very very slowly for hours.

Fri 9th Nov - Managed to squeeze a very short run in between work and going to college. 2.35 miles almost not worth putting my runners on for.

Sat 10th Nov- Practical work in college today- 6 hours of exercise to music and step aerobics. Good fun. I learned that my left achilles hates step aerobics. That's ok though as dont think I'll be specialising in that area any time soon.

Sunday 11th Nov - Had thought about joining Pulse for their run session in Nenagh but I was crippled from the 6 hr session yesterday so I just went along to watch them instead:) Quick chat with RQ and then off home to spend some time catching up on some tv while on the turbo. 80 mins of fast spinning while moving through all the gears. Nice and sweaty :) Out to the treadmill for a 4 mile run after.

Happy with the amount of training I got in this week. Managed to fit my 2 runs, swims and cycles in even with all the fitness stuff I'm doing. Will try do the same again next week.

You'd have seen how I always manage to clear a lane. Ended up on my own, again.

That was kingQuez on the step behind you by the way. Thought it'd be a bit weird to introduce yee while there were normal people around. :pac:

Ha ha ya, I never know what the etiquatte is about mentioning boards in front of people. Hope you told him who I was and not some random Nenagh person sitting down beside ye :D

Nah when you left he asked who that weirdo was. The cheeky bugger.

I've been called a lot worse ;)

Sat 10th Nov- I forgot to put my swim from Saturday in my post above. Went to the UL arena pool for the first time after college, my first time in a 50m pool. I really liked it. Didnt get in until after 5 though so I didnt have much time. 1500 lovely metres. I'll be back as often as I can.

Mon 12th Nov - Another aerobics class for my course. Total body workout at UL. Much better workout tonight as I knew the moves better so could keep up.
    No chance to run at work today.

Mmm its been a few weeks since I've updated this. I have been doing lots of different types of training but nothing much in the line of triathlon training. Not sure if my log belongs here anymore. At the moment I'm mostly doing different exercise classes for the course. I really like them to be honest which is a suprise. Havent had much time for other stuff but I've been trying my best to get 2 swims. bikes and runs in each week too.

Im off work today with a vomiting bug that made me miss a group cycle yesterday. I'm just not getting enough time on the bike at all and dont really see how I'm going to keep it all up.

On a positive note I finally reached green in the SBR challenge for the swim. Happy to have finally made that. This time last year I could barely swim a length without stopping for a break.

Well done on the green!! :D Hope you're feeling better today (and not green around the gills ;)).

Right so I'm finally over the bug and ready for action :)

Hit the pool full of energy and ambition. This was going to be a good one. Couple lengths warm up then I decided to do 50m sprints. Realised after 2 that my arms were not full of energy and ambition any more so I changed it to 25m sprints down the pool with a recovely length back up. Fastest was 25.61 seconds. Embarrassing Im sure in comparisson to everyone else on here but I happy with that as a starting point. Gave me the kick in the backside to realise I need to go back to club sessions if I have any hope of ever getting faster.

1700m total. Last 10 minutes spent choking on perfume. I dont know why people feel the need to spray themselves with so much, especially before going into a swimming pool. Horrible

35 min interval run on the treadmill this evening. Happy to say I managed to see 8mph a good few times.

I've signed up the the Dungarven 10 miler in January, must get running more regularly.

Woo hoo!!!! Dungarven 10 miler!!?? What's the date?? That's a great distance to run! :)

Dory Dory wrote: »
    Woo hoo!!!! Dungarven 10 miler!!?? What's the date?? That's a great distance to run! :)

It's on the 27th Jan Dory. I did it 3 years ago and came 8th last I think. I'm hoping to get a big PB.

Friday 7th December
    Pool again today. After a few lengths warm up I tried the 25m sprints again. Couldnt beat yesterdays time, no biggie. I like trying to go faster and not just plodding up and down the pool. Really focused on my technique for the rest of the session. 1725m total.

Saturday 8th December
    Great day in college today. Well we had an exam first but had a great day after that :) It was all fitness assessments for the afternoon. Nice to get to use the same weights area as the Munster team. They were a bit busy playing a game tonight so couldnt join us unfortunately :D They guys were loving using the same bench press etc that the team use.

Anyways back in the studio we were practicing the skin fold test on each other which is a crap measurement of body composition- I'm obese apparently:eek:

Down in the gym though I was happy to see I had the best V02 max of all the girls on the course from doing the Astrand-Rhymig Test on the bike. Not an accurate measure of Vo2 max but it's a start. Next week's shuttle Run will separate the men from the boys and I intend on being up there with the men:D

Sunday 9th December
    North Tipp Wheeler CC All Together Cycle. A lovely idea for a cycle from my local club, bringing together lesiure, racing and new team members for a leisurely cycle from Nenagh to Ballina, stop for tea and scones and then back again. The chain came off the front ring while I was cycling in to meet up with them this morning. Luckily I have laytex gloves in my saddle bag so no horrible grease on my hands :D (i come prepared). It went again twice on the way to Ballina but I had lots of lovely gents helping me out. We decided the best bet was for me to stay in my big ring and not change gears for the rest of the cycle. Struggled a bit on some of the hills but to be honest I was delighted to find I could cycle up the hill in Newtown in my big gear. 65kms total. Lovely to be out and about.

I had planned to run 6 miles after lunch but fell asleep on the couch and woke to find my hubby had a lovely big fire blazing and I couldnt drag myself away. Finally popped into the garage for a quick resistance training session instead. Arms sore already :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Trig1

nice to see your keeping up the training, hows your course going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Luckily I have laytex gloves in my saddle bag so no horrible grease on my hands :D (i come prepared).

And i thought i carried a lot of gear with me out on the bike:)

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭banner_phoenix

Latex gloves - I love it. CSI Nenagh watch out :D

Some great training there, keep it up.

Trig1 wrote: »
    nice to see your keeping up the training, hows your course going?

Course going great Trig1. Really enjoyable. I'm lapping it up. Even if I never become a fitness instructor, I'll be able to apply a lot of what I'm learning to my own training and fitness goals.

This weeks training...
    Monday 10th Dec- Spent ages doing up a training plan for the next 7 weeks until Dungarven. Day 1 a bust- too tired after work to do anything.
    Tuesday 11th Dec- 30 min treadmill run followed by 30 mins of resistance training. I've decided to introduce regular strength work using the barbell and free weights. I cant wait to be buff :D
    Wednesday 12th Dec - Had to bring Vanessa (my bike) to the bike shop today to fix the grear problem that reared its ugly head on Sunday's spin. I thought it would involve a little tweaking of cables and wires and that would be all. Sad to say she is much sicker than that. Diagnosis isnt good. She has to stay in till at least Friday possibly Saturday. Needs a new cassette, chain and something called a sprocket. A few other things need sorting too but it all went over my head. Looking at a nice little bill. I miss her already- the hall looks too civilized without her.

40 min treadmill when I came home. I had planned to go to a club swim tonight but I'm too lazy.

Blugh...I'm sooo full:( All I've done for 3 days now is eat turkey and bread sauce twice per day with constant chocolate, crisps, cake, jellies, snowballs etc in between. I have never ate so much in my life. It's amazing how eating so much crap drains you of all energy. No training since Monday, not even walked the dog!

Back at it from tomorrow though as the pool re-opens. Still a moutain of crap to eat and lots of socialising to do so the diet isnt going to be back on track for at least another week. It's starting to look like I could have at least half a stone up by then:eek:

Have been brutal at updating my training. But in case anyone cares here is a quick run down of what I've been doing since my last update...

Friday 14th Dec - Collected my bike- €155 poorer- she better be fully functional! Went for a swim and spent a lot of time trying to bilateral breath. Starting to get a bit better at it but it's still totally alien feeling and I'm swallowing lots of water. Will stick at it. 1525 m total with some back stroke to balance things a bit. No more swimming for 2 weeks as pool closed.

6 mile hilly slow run after. Love getting the chance to run outside instead of treadmill.

Saturday 15th Dec- Fitness testing again in college- managed to get to 9.2 on beep test. Could have done much better but had a bit of a stomach bug going and had to run to the bathroom. Sucks as I ended up 2nd fittest girl. Really wanted to be best girl. Cant wait for the retest in a few weeks.

Sunday 16th Dec - Enjoyable cycle with the North Tipp Wheelers. 60.7kms

Tuesday 18th Dec - 4.31 mile run on treadmill after work followed by 30 mins resistance training.

Friday 21st Dec - 7.5 mile extremely hilly run around Portroe. Found this very tough and was much slower than the last time I did this route. Not worried though- just glad to get it done.

Saturday 22nd Dec -Tri Club cycle. Found this soooo tough. The speed of the group has gone right up and because I'm not making these cycles- or any fast cycles these days- I'm falling so far behind people I was faster than during the summer. Was very disillusioned for the first 20k or so but then warmed up and found some speed. Very happy with myself in the end- felt strong and realise that a few weeks of regular cycling will get me back on track. 56.15km total.

Monday 24th Dec - 5 mile speedy run with 5 girls from the Tri club. Much faster than I normally run but I need to be doing this more often.

As you can see my training has been very sporadic recently. I really need to get back into consistent training.

Considering the time of year we are in, you're doing some great training. It's hard for me to understand why all your pools close for the holidays. I would think they'd be packed with little fish! Keep at the bilateral breathing - it'll be automatic soon enough! :)