Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Homeland - Season 2 [Showtime - US] **Spoilers!**

had thought that season 2 would end up being rubbish but pleasantly surprised so far. However, the first 3 episodes of the new season have been at breakneck speed - I fear that it can't continue like that - and it can't really or it would become too unbelievable. I think that this is a ploy to ensure viewer numbers - and it has no doubt worked - where will it go from here though...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

Anybody else as impressed as i was with Brody's improvised wheel jack .

Very McGyveresque.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Very McGyveresque.

I actually saw my dad do that trick in the wilds of Mayo many years back. He didn't have to address the VP afterwards though. And no, he didn't break a guys neck on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

And no, he didn't break a guys neck on the way home.

That's exactly what a sleeper agent would say...:D

Very McGyveresque.

would probably feck up the underside of the car though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Jem123

I have a bad feeling about Estes. Hope he doesn't do away with the chip :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

I thought the last episode was the most boring since Ive started watching. The acting is pretty awesome though, and Carrie plays the nutjob brilliantly. She looks so unstable, very very convincing.

It's bi-polar disorder, not nut job. Just thought I'd clear that up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,242 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Jem123 wrote: »
    I have a bad feeling about Estes. Hope he doesn't do away with the chip :rolleyes:

Wasn't it a memory card? Saul's probably got multiple copies of it now, if the incident at Beirut airport is anything to go by.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Wasn't it a memory card? Saul's probably got multiple copies of it now, if the incident at Beirut airport is anything to go by.

Yup, I'm sure the first thing he did on landing stateside was make at least one copy for his "...in the event of my untimely death" safety deposit box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,370 ✭✭✭naughto

iam gland nutjob sorry carrie found out that she was right.
    i said it back in season 1 that there boss(cant think of his name) the black guy sorry if i offend any one is the mole there is just some thing not right with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

naughto wrote: »
    i said it back in season 1 that there boss(cant think of his name) the black guy sorry if i offend any one is the mole there is just some thing not right with him.

a lot of people are of that opinion, but the main sticking point with that theory is, if estes is the mole then why did brody have to break into his safe to get the drone file, and why didnt estes tell nazir about the strike team coming for him in lebanon, he just got out of there on time,

its not estes but its deffinately someone in his office,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 cathos

The one thing that annoyed me about last nights episode was that Brody broke the Tailors neck instead of just dropping the call with his wife. Very disappointed with him for killing the guy so easily when it wasn't necessary!! Did anyone watch the trailer for next week? I did so can see where the storyline is heading - will make it very exciting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,242 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Yup, I'm sure the first thing he did on landing stateside was make at least one copy for his "...in the event of my untimely death" safety deposit box.

Rule No. 1 in the Spy rule book Trust no-one, not even yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

ejmaztec wrote: »

He should upload to iCloud so he can view it on all his iDevices.

He should upload to iCloud so we can view it on all our iDevices. Was that what you meant ?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭CivilServant

He should upload to iCloud so we can view it on all our iDevices. Was that what you meant ?:)

No, but that'll work too. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

That opening initially enraged me, I momentarily thought they were committing a massive copout where Saul would be the only one who'd see the video. To give credit to them they didn't although I was thinking, couldn't Saul have saved it to his dropbox account instead of a hidden latch. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Ha modern technology ruins classically suspenseful situations! Lost in the woods? Just take out your phone and open Google Maps, doy! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

The mole is Danny. Clear as day to me!! Found this whole episode necessary, basically Carrie knows she was right..yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

don ramo wrote: »
    a lot of people are of that opinion, but the main sticking point with that theory is, if estes is the mole then why did brody have to break into his safe to get the drone file

Maybe so that Nasir could test Brody and see if he would play ball. It Estes is working with Nasir it would explain how yer woman had Estes's safe combination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭michaelduignan

Dave! wrote: »
    Ha modern technology ruins classically suspenseful situations! Lost in the woods? Just take out your phone and open Google Maps, doy! :D
    Brody knew where he was...just said he was lost no?

Ahh yeah I wasn't referring to Homeland there, it's just a common scenario in TV/film! Sorry! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Dave! wrote: »

Ah yeah but when you are lost in the woods in movieland your mobile is either ringing back in your flat where they are looking for you - or else your battery is dead (pretty believable if its an iPhone;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Just once you dont use Apple Maps :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

cathos wrote: »
    The one thing that annoyed me about last nights episode was that Brody broke the Tailors neck instead of just dropping the call with his wife. Very disappointed with him for killing the guy so easily when it wasn't necessary!! Did anyone watch the trailer for next week? I did so can see where the storyline is heading - will make it very exciting

He was more than likely going to be killed anyway so Brody probably just thought it was the easier option rather than risking being caught with him in his car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭dloob

irish son wrote: »
    He was more than likely going to be killed anyway so Brody probably just thought it was the easier option rather than risking being caught with him in his car.

Yes probably, remember the airport couple's "safe house" after they were exposed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

The mole is Danny. Clear as day to me!! Found this whole episode necessary, basically Carrie knows she was right..yay!

Have to agree with you, if there is a mole its more than likely him, mostly because his scenes and his character so far are pointless so there must be a reason for showing him often.

Ill be very disapointed if it turns out Estes was a mole, just because his actions so far don't add up to this. For example in episode 2 of this season he gave Saul the power to decide if they should send in ground forces to try kill Nazir, he could have easily have said no on the grounds of Carrie's source not being reliable and it being a trap. Only for Brody sending the text Nazir would now be dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

So that's how you change a Tyre without a jack

Television it fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I'm betting he didn't.
    Knowing TV he'll probably be ambushed by sleeper agents on his trip back to the CIA , die and lose the card.
    Carrie then is the only one who knows about the SD card and no one's going to believe her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Cartman78

All Saul had to do was ring the CIA/FBI/local Garda station and tell them to arrest Brody....simples! Mystery solved, series over.

Was half-expecting the memory card to explode or become corrupted in Carrie's laptop but there's obviously a mole or some other 24-esque bullsh1t plot driver lurking in the background to keep things shuttling along for another few dozen episodes.

Will keep watching though as despite everything I said it's quite entertaining and Clare Danes is fab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

I thought it was slightly ludicrous that a US congressman could strip to the waist and powerhose himself at a car wash without drawing a crowd of onlookers and reporters but I do think in general the show is really picking up and I'm quite enjoying it!

Also, any ideas on who the mole is? I suspect Danny, partly because if I remember correctly, he was involved initially in marking off Faizel (spelling) as unimportant, plus he seems to pop up everywhere without being necessary to the storyline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Filler episode, exact same ending as last week ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Newaglish wrote: »
    I thought it was slightly ludicrous that a US congressman could strip to the waist and powerhose himself at a car wash without drawing a crowd of onlookers and reporters but I do think in general the show is really picking up and I'm quite enjoying it!
    Yes, but it's even more ludicrous that Brody had to be the one that collected the tailor. Surely there's loads of people that could do that.
    But yeah, the show would be fairly boring if they stuck to what's plausible and, in fairness, they're keeping things moving at a fair lick so that you don't quite dwell on the rather silly aspects like how it seemed to take weeks for Saul to get back from Beirut. :D

I thought the last episode was the most boring since Ive started watching. The acting is pretty awesome though, and Carrie plays the nutjob brilliantly. She looks so unstable, very very convincing.

Even though a few things happened, I found that most of the episode just bored me. Thankfully it finished on a high, so I look forward to seeing how on earth they are going to play this one out.

Is there any particular reason why Season 2 is being aired in the EU so close to the US airing? Normally a year behind. Id like to save my download limit with all these awesome HD torrents, but even a few days is too long to wait!

Limit ??

2012 and ISP's still have limits ???

jesus ... I download about 100 gig a month..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭mountain

Anyone know what happened Brody's son, i dont think we have seen him at all this series, just his daughter.

mountain wrote: »
    Anyone know what happened Brody's son, i dont think we have seen him at all this series, just his daughter.

Guess he looks too grown up, I think we saw him once ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Cartman78

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Yes, but it's even more ludicrous that Brody had to be the one that collected the tailor. Surely there's loads of people that could do that.
    But yeah, the show would be fairly boring if they stuck to what's plausible and, in fairness, they're keeping things moving at a fair lick so that you don't quite dwell on the rather silly aspects like how it seemed to take weeks for Saul to get back from Beirut. :D

Yep...Saul definitely took the scenic route back from the Middle East. it's entertaining hokum but don't think about it too much or your head will be wrecked.

24 (esp. in latter series) was full or dumb plot holes that you could drive a fleet of buses through. I hope this doesn't go the same way tbh...there's a decent programme in there somewhere but they'll probably balls it all up with moles popping up all over the place and key witnesses/evidence being killed/destroyed at the last minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,239 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Wasn't there some quip made about his Facebook friends... then he disappeared! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

Is there any particular reason why Season 2 is being aired in the EU so close to the US airing? Normally a year behind. Id like to save my download limit with all these awesome HD torrents, but even a few days is too long to wait!

Not quite sure why or what you are complaining about. If the network took the regular path and waited months (ala Revenge, greys etc) then you'd still have to download It. Personally i think it is great RTE have fast tracked it and i can wait 2 days to see it. In Oz, they are two weeks behind and the network is complaining they have lost 500,000 viwers....ummm i wonder why.
    the_monkey wrote: »
    Limit ??

2012 and ISP's still have limits ???

jesus ... I download about 100 gig a month..
    Some of us are still on things like mobile broadband. I only get 15g a month until my contract expires :( at least the speed is good for downloading

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I think Brody's son is played by a different actor this season too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

I think Brody's son is played by a different actor this season too?

Don't think so . He just got bigger and older if my memory serves me right ?

Maybe so that Nasir could test Brody and see if he would play ball. It Estes is working with Nasir it would explain how yer woman had Estes's safe combination.

he already tested him by asking him to break into the safe, and also he was seconds away from getting his head blown off, what if brody wasnt asked to come into the room where the operation was being broadcast live,

i cant see it being estes,
    Jax Teller wrote: »
    Don't think so . He just got bigger and older if my memory serves me right ?

this season has jumped forward a few months, hes about 12-13 in the show and in real life, so i dont see any reason for the recast, kids have growth spurts all the time, he couldnt have jump so dramatically that he would have to be recast,

also it says on his IMDB page hes still playing that role
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2093138/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

h

this season has jumped forward a few months, hes about 12-13 in the show and in real life, so i dont see any reason for the recast, kids have growth spurts all the time, he couldnt have jump so dramatically that he would have to be recast,

also it says on his IMDB page hes still playing that role
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2093138/

Its still him yeah but hes grown a lot imo . Look at this picture he looks way older in that . That's from ep 1 season 2 .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Nothing to do with the son looking older - I'd say they've just kept him out of it because there's no need for him. Why stick him in scenes just to stand there like a spare part when he's not needed?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Nothing to do with the son looking older - I'd say they've just kept him out of it because there's no need for him. Why stick him in scenes just to stand there like a spare part when he's not needed?
    yeah even last year he just seemed to hang around, maybe he might do more is season 4 when hes about 15-16 and his father is VP:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭michaelduignan

yeah even last year he just seemed to hang around, maybe he might do more is season 4 when hes about 15-16 and his father is VP:D

Yeah and Dana is working for Abu Nazir too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

he is about 12 now right??? when i was 12 i spent alot of time in my room:D

nice to see someone show how similar carrie matheson in homeland and annie walker from covert affairs are :D:D

http://www.buddytv.com/slideshows/covert-affairs/dynamic-cia-women-annie-of-covert-affairs-and-carrie-of-homeland-43379.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

I'm loving this series. I quite like the attention to detail too.

Like Brody's visible boner when he pulled away from his wife when Dana walked in.

And Jessica wearing the same jacket with distressed trim for two posh events. Seeing a woman in the same item of clothing twice is very rare on US tv shows but if you have a nice outfit and you're not made of money of course you'd get more than one wear out of it.

I'm loving this series. I quite like the attention to detail too.

Like Brody's visible boner when he pulled away from his wife when Dana walked in.

And Jessica wearing the same jacket with distressed trim for two posh events. Seeing a woman in the same item of clothing twice is very rare on US tv shows but if you have a nice outfit and you're not made of money of course you'd get more than one wear out of it.

Noticed that too, didn't wanna lower the tone by bringing it up though :p

I'd say it was more of a semi tbh :p