Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

If you could meet your 16 year old self

• 13-07-2012 8:47pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

What piece of advice would you give yourself? Id tell me to invest in Apple shares!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Don't eat yellow snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

'less tongue'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

sunscreen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

Don't ever start smoking!

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭Smeggy

Pick a different college course and career path :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I'd just punch me in the gut for being such a fool. Then tell him don't be such a fool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭LoYL

Stop listening to your parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Stop masturbating or else your testicle will explode!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

I'd tell my 16 year old self to have sex with me cos let's face it you're not going to get it for many a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Say no when someone offers you a banana. Break up with that idiot you're going out with and don't piss about when you leave school.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭Syllabus

go to college

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭RaRaRasputin

Kill your parents and never pack away that lego in your room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Follow your Heart and Dreams, be Happy and ignore the begrudgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Thats 2 years old? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭gufnork

Create a site called 'boards.ie' then sit back and wait for dosh to roll in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Sports Almanac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

Get a proper education
    Invest in apple shares
    Keep fit as Irish women are amazingly superficial
    SAVE MAN SAVE!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭gufnork

IvaBigWun wrote: »

Thats 2 years old? ;)

Damm it! I was just enjoying the warm glow that comes with the knowledge that I'm a massively powerful psychic only to discover... that I'm actually not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭neemish

Do it right the first time around and save yourself the misery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭davetherave

benwavner wrote: »
    Stop masturbating or else your testicle will explode!

The left one or the right one?

I'd tell my younger that he should probably pay more attention and make more of an effort in school and college.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Megglet

Delete your browsing history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Tell him to enjoy every second!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

Explain what the "friend zone" is and how to avoid it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Relax a bit. You pull it out of the bag in the end. Don't wait another two years to stop taking sh/t from people. They fold like cheap deck chairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Nothing because I wouldnt listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

1. Slap him across the face
    2. Tell him to never start smoking
    3. Tell him to never sweat the small stuff
    4. Tell him to hide his nudie mags somewhere better :D
    5. Tell him to study and go to college
    6. Give him lotto numbers for two years time
    7. Slap him in the face......just for the craic :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Buy land, invest in property, it can only go up, become a developer son, life is great when you're a developer. Borrow big, some other schmuk will bail you out if you feck up, and buy gold, lots of gold, while it's still cheap. Also, marry yer wan, she's nice looking, but she's also nice, and that's important. Luckily, I managed the second bit without advice from my timetravveling self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

This song is so true. 16 year old me was only 5-6 years ago and already there is a massive, massive amount I would love to be able to go back and advise myself on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Stop fapping, you'll go blind.

[Spoken with my iPhone]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Enjoy any of the good times you have then, and know that life will just keep getting better in lots of ways once you leave school.

Enjoy living in the area your living in now, youll think back on it fondly when your living in a not so great area.

Fcuk the brgrudgers/bullies, believe me theres bullies everywhere no matter how old you get, just ignore and get on with your own life, its the best way!

Save you where you can, even a little bit, its always a good thing to have.

Lay off on all the makeup your wearing now, you dont need that much, youll only realise this in your 20s though.

Believe me, you will become the person youve always wanted to be and actually were inside, it just takes time, little bit of cash, getting your head around things in life and letting your true self shine! it will happen though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Stay away from your cousin's knicker drawer because your mother will find a pair you have hidden under your bed and you will feel awkward as fck when they are not there one day and then two weeks later when you least expect it your mother will make some passing remark about it and you will feel embarrassed and awkward for a while because you don't know who else knows about it.

Hahaha, imagine if that story was true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

If I could meet my 16 year old self I think we would both walk away disappointed.

Wow, what a downer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Don't bottle things up, talk about things more!
    Dump him, he is cheating on you!
    Walk more and get into some serious exercise
    work your ass off for the LC
    pick something decent for the CAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭The Jammy dodger

Don't swallow that lump of hash, you'll end up in hospital and spew a lot of blood and have to be resusciated and nearly die.

Sorry but that really is what I'd say to meself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

If I really met my 16 year old self, he'd probably mug me, shag my wife and take my car. He was a bit of a cnut tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

All the stuff they told you about drugs in school is bull.
    Don't be afraid of girls.
    Cut down on the ****. You'll be doing that for years to come

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭Bane

Delete ur feckin hard drive before u hand over ur computer for repair!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭woof im a dog

itll all work out

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Salt001

Don't take things to heart so much.
    You are thinner than you think you are.
    That girl that used to bully you will end up looking 7 years older than you and still won't have a sense of humour.
    Have faith in the Cork hurling team.
    Never ever go blond.
    The guy you think is THE ONE isn't.
    Never drink a green drink.
    :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Get used to your limits you dozy cant.

It might've spared me a lot of hassle when over-indulging..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

I look back on the way I was then: a young, stupid kid who committed that terrible crime. I want to talk to him. I want to try and talk some sense to him, tell him the way things are. But I can't. That kid's long gone and this old man is all that's left. I got to live with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Keep doing what you're doing, still no real regrets at 23

fuck never really thought too much into that :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

It may seem utterly hopeless now, but you will get off this feckin' island very soon. So enjoy it while it lasts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Get yourself a road bike and also hit the gym...I'd be on this years tour de france now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

I'd have to timetravel a year into the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Trust your instincts and first impressions regarding people you meet. They're actually usually right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,661 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Put on some pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    I'd have to timetravel a year into the future.

Forget the junior cert, AH will educate you, BOOM!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,006 ✭✭✭Autumn Moon

Believe in yourself, push yourself and make the most of your time.