Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Does the success of '50 Shades Of Grey' prove that every woman loves a bastard?

• 13-07-2012 9:01pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

Because I'm struggling to explain the popularity of the humourless, controlling, manipulative, stalky, psycho :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    Because I'm struggling to explain the popularity of the humourless, controlling, manipulative, stalky, psycho :confused:

It makes women want to flick their bean therefore is popular

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

No, just rich b@stards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

I thought the books were crap, he's not what I would consider to be a bastard either, he's very needy and clingy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Pantsface

No woman wants a wet wimp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

IvaBigWun wrote: »

Nope. It just means that junk sells in huge numbers - be it food, movies, TV, music or books.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

It proves that the publisher's marketing department is a bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

He's got some serious issues after events in his childhood. She's not that comfortable with it but sees through his issues and helps him overcome them. Compromise is reached and she enjoys a bit of his world. Anyone saying the books are just sex / porn and unreal fantasy etc are frankly jumping on an ill informed band wagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Women are dirty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Treat them mean and keep them coming, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

He's got some serious issues after events in his childhood. She's not that comfortable with it but sees through his issues and helps him overcome them. Compromise is reached and she enjoys a bit of his world. Anyone saying the books are just sex / porn and unreal fantasy etc are frankly jumping on an ill informed band wagon.
    What's the word on the informed band wagon then?

If it gets more women into fisting then it's all good as far as I'm concerned.

meh, its cool to say you've read it / enjoyed it "oh look at me i'm a bit risky"

Ficheall wrote: »
    What's the word on the informed band wagon then?

Read them and see :D

It's a lot deeper than a bit of porn with a story around it (yes I said deeper before anyone gets excited ;)) For the most part the sex stuff whilst graphic enough is graphic because it needs to be to give an insight into the mind of Grey, why he is the way he is and how it impacts on those he is involved with. Granted by the end of book 2 and into book 3 it does get a bit gratuitous but you'd find a lot worse / more graphic erotic stories online easily enough.

That's my 2 cents anyway - don't want to give any spoilers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I heard the butler did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

It just reinforces the "treat her mean, keep her keen" stereotype at least that's my excuse...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

It proves that for some women a bad boy is an exciting fantasy.

Does regular porn prove that men only love fake boobed wimmin who fake orgasms every time they take it up the mum? Course not, doesn't mean it doesn't appeal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

g'em wrote: »
    Does regular porn prove that men only love fake boobed wimmin who fake orgasms every time they take it up the mum? Course not, doesn't mean it doesn't appeal.

Plenty of women love the bad boys of porn too. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

whats all this fifty shades of grey shit? ive been hearing nothing else for the last week and i still have no idea what it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

It's a lot deeper than a bit of porn with a story around it (yes I said deeper before anyone gets excited ;)) For the most part the sex stuff whilst graphic enough is graphic because it needs to be to give an insight into the mind of Grey, why he is the way he is and how it impacts on those he is involved with. Granted by the end of book 2 and into book 3 it does get a bit gratuitous but you'd find a lot worse / more graphic erotic stories online easily enough.

Please don't analyse that "book" like it's real literature. It cheapens the whole medium. Possibly all media.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

whats all this fifty shades of grey shit? ive been hearing nothing else for the last week and i still have no idea what it is

A series of books that would be porn if guys read them but they are considered "erotica" because they are aimed at women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I'm not bitching about women's tastes in popular culture or anything but I take no interest in books that become universally popular amongst women. They are after all generally the same demographic that made Big Brother, X Factor, Sex and the City and Twilight pollute our airwaves/cinema/bookshelves. And they wouldn't exactly be the epitome of entertainment!

At least us men have sport!

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭cristoir

It's now only that book that shows it. Look at the twilight saga, it is adored by teenage girls even though the relationship shown is extremely abusive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

or they're badly written Twilight fanfiction spinoffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

g'em wrote: »

Heh, I just noticed my typo. Freud would jizz himself :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 307 ✭✭CodyJarrett

Johnny Cash gets the blame for everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Doctor Who here - the follow up about a naive young woman becoming involved with a kinky unemployed guy in a bedsit in Coolock didn't sell many copies. The sex was excellent in that, ropes and rubber bands and elastoplasts n' all. Strange that.:o

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭cantankerous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

All I've been hearing is people bitching about how popular it is. Would never have heard of it if not for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

Please don't analyse that "book" like it's real literature. It cheapens the whole medium. Possibly all media.

Now that is literary snobbery. And all media is far from the quality of 'literature'. Everything has its place.

Anything that has the amount of people reading it that 50 Shades does - deserves to be analysed in some way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Pantsface wrote: »
    meh, its cool to say you've read it / enjoyed it "oh look at me i'm a bit risky"

Ehhh...I think women want to read it to have a bit of a twiddle and not to be "cool". :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

it's ****ing twilight fanfiction

twilight
    ****ing
    fanfiction

anyone who reads it needs to be shot

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭whendovescry

Irish 50 shades of grey, courtesy of voteforlee on reddit:

Give it to me, give it to me’, he roared aggressively. Some days Mary hated working at Ulster Bank.

He slipped his hand under the red silk.. “You’re so beautiful in that dress.” “Feck off, it was only a euro in Penneys!” ...

Bríd’s knees were sore and her throat was raw…This was the longest Novena she’d ever attended.

You’re so tight, he said, I’m from Cavan she replied.

Slowly he ran his finger down the middle, parting the pink softness, feeling the moist sticky centre. He loved a Mikado.

‘She Quivered as I stroked her thighs. ‘Take me in the shower Sean!’ I whispered to her ‘Wait til I turn on the immersion’

‘Her underwear was wet as he pulled the rope. There’s great drying out today she thought as the clothes line hoisted’

She wrapped her fingers around it and greedily pulled it towards her lips.20 bottles for 15 quid at Centra Mick! Bargain!

'its so long!Never seen the likes of it!' exclaimed maire, as she joined the dole queue

She widened her mouth, trying to fit it all in!! Juices ran down her face. Mary did love a kebab after coppers

She was panting as she let out one final scream of pure pleasure. There was nothing like beating Kilkenny in the hurling

She took a deep breath as the shivers rolled down her hot body... Jaysus, she thought. The vicks is kicking in now!

Come on! Pump it hard.. Real hard! But it was no use the tyre was definitely punctured!

He asked if she could handle more than one finger. She said she preferred Hob Nobs or a purple Schnack with her tea

'Spread 'em', he said gruffly. Margie looked dolefully at the bags of fertilizer destined for the back field...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Ride me sideways was another one

havent read it. heard all about it from girls who have.

poo, i believe is the general consensus!!

the popularity i would imagine is with women who;
    1. dont generally read anything!!
    2. dont watch/read porn.

if you want a story, read a book.
    if you want a racy story read a good jilly cooper novel, at least they have good story.
    if you want to get off, read porn, or maybe watch it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,134 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

biko wrote: »
    I heard the butler did it.

With a cucumber in the library.

Queen-Mise wrote: »
    Now that is literary snobbery. And all media is far from the quality of 'literature'.

Hardly snobbery. Trashy is one thing. Good, lowbrow disposable shite is great fun in any form. But bad writing is bad writing and should be treated as such.
    Everything has its place.

That's right, and rubbish goes in the bin!

*throws book in a skip*
    Anything that has the amount of people reading it that 50 Shades does - deserves to be analysed in some way.

Yes, but only in this case to determine how it got to be so inexplicably popular. Not because it has any literary merit because from what I've heard, it has none.

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Ehhh...I think women want to read it to have a bit of a twiddle and not to be "cool". :confused:

you'd be surprised....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,898 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Pantsface wrote: »

Risqué would be the word you're looking for there. If you're going to criticise then do it right:)

Classic knee jerk response.

Head over to literotica.com and read some of the absolute ****e on that site. That's the kind of crap that cheapens the medium.

Then actually read the entire story (the fact you say "book" I suspect means you haven't read it - there's three books in total)

There's no comparison at all.
    krudler wrote: »
    or they're badly written Twilight fanfiction spinoffs
    it's ****ing twilight fanfiction

twilight
    ****ing
    fanfiction

anyone who reads it needs to be shot

Again another misconception.

My understanding is that the story was originally written for / published on a message board for fans of the twilight books. It was noticed there, picked up and eventually published. However the fifty shades series has nothing to do with twilight, vampires or whatever else. It just happened to be published within a community who were fans of that series.

Lads go and read the books and then criticise them by all means but don't criticise them based on the assumptions doing the rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭AhInFairness

Queen-Mise wrote: »

So should we analyse The National Enquirer? That has over half a million people reading it every week. How about the Twilight books? Should we analyse those?

Anyone who reads this without seeing how bad the writing is needs to seriously expand their reading horizons.

Crap like this, Twilight, and fiction "written" by celebrities should not be celebrated in any way. It should be recognised for the crap that it is.

Edited to add: I have read them. They are tripe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Classic knee jerk response.

Head over to literotica.com and read some of the absolute ****e on that site. That's the kind of crap that cheapens the medium.

Then actually read the entire story (the fact you say "book" I suspect means you haven't read it - there's three books in total)

There's no comparison at all.
    The fact that there are worse novels out there doesn't make this one any better. I mean, here's an extract:
    “Let me ask you something first. Do you want a regular vanilla relationship with no kinky ****ery at all?"
    My mouth drops open. "Kinky ****ery?" I squeak.
    "Kinky ****ery."
    "I can't believe you said that.'
    "Well, I did. Answer me," he says calmly.
    I flush. My inner goddess is down on bended knee with her hands clasped in supplication begging me.
    "I like your kinky ****ery," I whisper.”

I mean for fuck's sake.

I think this might have to go on the kindle just for the craic. I've a flight next week, it might keep me entertained, but I don't want people to actually know I'm reading it!

I'm yet to be convinced that Dan Brown didn't really write it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Again another misconception.

My understanding is that the story was originally written for / published on a message board for fans of the twilight books. It was noticed there, picked up and eventually published. However the fifty shades series has nothing to do with twilight, vampires or whatever else. It just happened to be published within a community who were fans of that series.

Lads go and read the books and then criticise them by all means but don't criticise them based on the assumptions doing the rounds.

pretty sure it was twilight fanfiction but when she realised how popular it was/could be she rewrote it to remove all twilight references and got it published

The fact that there are worse novels out there doesn't make this one any better. I mean, here's an extract:

I mean for fuck's sake.

It makes it better than them ;)

The quote itself - yep not quite shakespeare quality. But it's out of context. If that was a story on literotica it would just be that. Within the context of the 50 shades storyline there is a whole exploration of why the kinky stuff was on the agenda in the first place, how it effected Ana (the lady in question) how she was at first disgusted by it and how she came to appreciate some of the world.

Anyway it's beyond ridiculous for me to be on here defending a book :D All I ask is you give it a full read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,370 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Read game of thrones instead.

pretty sure it was twilight fanfiction but when she realised how popular it was/could be she rewrote it to remove all twilight references and got it published

If that's the case I of course bow to your greater knowledge of Twilight :p

I'm not a mad fan of either series so I could well be wrong. The story I read had **** all to do with vampires etc. Actually I'd be interested to read the originals if that was the case.