Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Stabbings at swedish house mafia gig in uk

• 15-07-2012 6:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭

A bit of deja-vu. Still not as bad as phoenix park.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-beds-bucks-herts-18849255
    Three people were stabbed during a fight at a concert in Buckinghamshire, police said.

A 23-year-old man sustained a punctured lung during the Swedish House Mafia concert at Milton Keynes bowl at 18:15 BST on Saturday.

Another man, aged 24, suffered a cut to his head and arm, while a 23-year-old man was treated for minor injuries.

Police said the fight appeared to have been an "isolated incident" and believe one person was responsible.

The 23-year-old and 24-year-old victims were from the West Midlands area, police said.

Officers want to speak to a white man aged in his early 20s, who wearing a blue T-shirt, black jacket and jogging bottoms, in connection with the assault.

Det Ch Insp Justin Fletcher said: "This appears to have been an isolated incident and overall we are very pleased with how the event passed off, but we would like to trace the person responsible for this assault."

Three people were also arrested on suspicion of possession with intent to supply class-A drugs at the concert.

The event was billed as the last UK concert by the dance music trio, who have announced a split.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

De booze Joe.

Disgrace Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

How has no one arrested this Swedish Mafia yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Swedish House Mafia. When you absolutely positively have to stab every motherf*cker in the room!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

De booze Joe.

Disgrace Joe.

It's the music, Joe. It makes them get all stabby so it does.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Some farewell tour this is :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

They are fairly sh1t all right.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

Who's the English equivalent of Joe Duffy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Bloody Swedish with their stabbiness.
    Lumbo wrote: »

If I had to choose I'd say Andrew Marr - he's the dancing monkey for the British establishment, ergo his talentless success in the UK media.

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭daddydick

All the lads having the Craic stabbing the **** out of each other

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Proves that certain acts attract a scumbag element.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭General Relativity

Jimmy Saville ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Keno 92 wrote: »
    How has no one arrested this Swedish Mafia yet?

Omerta

<<_>>

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Jeremy Kyle?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

The company that is organising these things are going to find their public liability insurance rates is going to become even a lot more expensive very soon.

They can't (like many other events) guarantee there will be no incidents - but insurance company's will want to cover their ass first and just hike up their prices.

Why thats important?

... Because if the insurance rates go higher - so will all ticket prices eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

Breaking News

Man listening to Swedish House Mafia on iPod stabs himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,661 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

We should set John Waters on the brits, that'd show them. For those who have no idea what/who I'm on about, feast your monds on this crap: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2012/0713/1224319961009.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Could it be that the same drug dealer scum are at all the Swedish House Mafia shows pedalling their wares ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

they dont want to look like fagg*ts over their compared to the irish so their trying to get more stabbings then us
    typical english think their always going to win
    like the world cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

there, they're :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

If you listen to Swedish House Mafia songs backwards, they tell you to bring a knife ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭68Murph68

I think Swedish House Mafia are really going to have to look at their "buy a gig ticket, get a free stabbing knife" promotion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Chris Moyles now that he's left BBC ' Radio wan ' want's to swop places with Joe so he can experience what it's like been nice to people for a change .

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

We should set John Waters on the brits, that'd show them. For those who have no idea what/who I'm on about, feast your monds on this crap: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2012/0713/1224319961009.html

I know there's a 'bit' of history there - but visiting John Waters on them???

Glanced at his diatribe - the evils/disenchantment of materialism/ consumerism - this is the same man who explained how he overcame his guilt in buying a 100e shirt (might have been pounds) and then went on to explain the validity of consumerism on some TV show.

stopped reading him during his 'denial of the roightes of Men' nonsense

he is beyond vile.

EDIT. ARGGHHHH. READ THE WHOLE ARTICLE. WHAT A FUKING CNUT TOSSER FUKHEAD HE IS. UTTER **** BAG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

This is definetly a case of satanic blackmasking.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

spankysue wrote: »
    If you listen to Swedish House Mafia songs backwards, they tell you to bring a knife ;)

Well, that was..... something.

Where's me knife?

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭sarabroderick

1) MCD's fault
    2) Not enough security my mate was there and smuggled in an entire pub incl slot machines
    3) Wouldn't get that at EP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,408 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

ArtSmart wrote: »

Glanced at his diatribe - the evils/disenchantment of materialism/ consumerism - this is the same man who explained how he overcame his guilt in buying a 100e shirt (might have been pounds) and then went on to explain the validity of consumerism on some TV show.

he is beyond vile.

EDIT. ARGGHHHH. READ THE WHOLE ARTICLE. WHAT A FUKING CNUT TOSSER FUKHEAD HE IS. UTTER **** BAG.

The knives are out for Waters.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭TheBlock

Just a game of Knifey spoony gone wrong...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

The knives are out for Waters.
    I've every confidence he will collapse under the weight of his own ego, so, no probs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Are legal system is so great they let the Irish fella out that done the Dublin stabings he likes SHMafia so much he went over to the UK gig to show them how it went down here :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

If you listen to Swedish House Mafia songs backwards, it sounds exactly the same :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭thomasj

If you listen to Swedish House Mafia songs backwards, it sounds exactly the same :P

Yep depressing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

That's what happens when you go to a concert run by the Mafia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,661 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

ArtSmart wrote: »

he is beyond vile.

If you can make it beyound the secont paragraph of Mr. Waters' Katy French eulogy, you're a braver person than I am.

The last time I was on the Late Late (before my current flirtation
    with an icy demise) was six months ago, that early summer night when
    Eoghan Harris, Eamon Dunphy and myself fought over the mind and
    meaning of Bertie, and Harris nudged history a little off course,
    writes John Waters

Sinead O'Connor sang I Don't Know How to Love Him as only she can
    sing. Dunphy and I had a bet on air that Harris helped me win, and
    Katy French flirted for charity with a python, some maggots and
    miscellaneous unthinkables as only Katy could flirt.

I was drawn to her afterwards. We shook hands, said hello and she was
    gone. It was to be the only time we would meet but it got her into my
    head. God, she was beautiful. I don't mean just physically.

She had a beauty that suggested itself as emanating from an infinity
    within. She seemed to believe anything was possible and her smile
    convinced you, for an instant, that she was right. I wanted her dreams
    to come true.

She was a child. She was my daughter and Eoghan's daughter and Eamon's
    daughter and Pat's daughter and Bertie's daughter. She was your
    daughter, your little sister. She was a child of Ireland in the time
    of its rebirth.

I am crying, writing this. How can you cry for someone you've only
    once said hello to? Katy was the daughter of our dreams, in the sense
    that it was the dreams of her people that gave birth to what is
    tritely called her celebrity. We have these words to box off the
    lucky/unlucky ones who act out our fantasies, while we stick safely to
    the grandstand. We refer to them as celebs, implying a different
    species. But they are human beings, filled like the rest of us with
    desire, distinguished only by willingness/ opportunity to rush in
    where others fear to tread.

The old saw has it wrong: those who volunteer to act out our fantasies
    in public are both fools and angels. Driven by longing beyond knowing,
    their folly arises from a failure of awareness, experience, wisdom.

Driven by angelic recall, they plod on clay feet into the mire of
    three-dimensional reality. They do not know, are not conscious, that
    their appetites are infinitely greater than the world's capacity to
    satisfy them.

Katy French was a personification of our fantasies, of our sense of
    what we were becoming, of how we might unfold ourselves. She was not
    the only one, but in the immediate past was perhaps the most
    spectacular light on the skyline, a meteorite of desire plummeting
    through the Irish zeitgeist. You may dismiss it as frivolity but only,
    with respect, if you think in cliches and fixate on the superficial.
    For most of us, it is not wisdom that keeps us from danger, but lack
    of opportunity, or fear, or a deadly piety posing as virtue. Katy had
    found a way of being that promised her it could slake all her human
    cravings. She had manoeuvred herself into a position where everything
    humanly desirable seemed to be within reach, and was careering forward
    on the path opening up in front of her.

She did not, other than literally, die of whatever it will say on her
    death certificate. She died of desire, of being utterly human.

What can I say? The dream is over.

As for lessons, I don't know. In the past decade, we have, most of us,
    conducted searches for meaning in places previously inaccessible to
    us. We acquired means and freedom beyond our wildest.

We knew that money couldn't buy us love, but still gave it a shot. We
    sensed that freedom is a complicated word, but tried to keep it
    simple. Be, for tomorrow we die.

As Pope Benedict reminds us in his new encyclical, we have no idea
    what we would really like. "We do not know this reality at all; even
    in those moments when we think we can reach out and touch it, it
    eludes us." All we know is that it is not what we have.

God is a concept by which we measure our longings.

I'll say it again.

God is a concept by which we measure our longings.

As Katy did not comprehend the limits of her human capacity to pursue
    her angelic yearnings, neither, anymore, do the rest of us. If we did,
    she might be alive. Our culture left her struggling for life, because
    we have neglected to keep it alive with the knowledge of what it means
    to be human.

Katy's death was the result not just of her foolishness, but of our
    collective helplessness. We do not know what to say to our children as
    we kiss their brows before allowing them into a world utterly,
    terribly changed, because that is what we desired. We do not
    understand the meaning of freedom.

And so, dear friends, we'll just have to think it up all over again.
    The dream is over. Our daughter Katy is dead. And so too, and not by
    the way, are our sons Kevin Doyle and John Grey. The dream is over.
    (c) 2007 The Irish Times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

This should act as a rough wake-up call for kids who think it's "cool" to smoke ecstasy tablets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Pace2008 wrote: »
    This should act as a rough wake-up call for kids who think it's "cool" to smoke ecstasy tablets.

I heard the guys who were doing the stabbing were injecting marijuana into their testicles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

If you listen to a Daniel O'Donnell song backwards it will tell you to have tea and cake.

And if ya listen to certain Daniel songs he'll tell ya to do a bit of fisting, either's good imo :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Sure weren't they the original monstah raving loony party we just imported it - Milton kenynes bowl hosted many a headbanger yet no such incidents over decades, compared to just one night.

Btw what is it with electronic acts claiming their last performance ever I take it this was the final show to end all final shows?! Some neds, the rave scene either attracted or created on these isles. I'm convinced the latter

LH Pathe wrote: »
    Sure weren't they the original monstah raving loony party we just imported it - Milton kenynes bowl hosted many a headbanger yet no such incidents over decades, compared to just one night.

Btw what is it with electronic acts claiming their last performance ever I take it this was the final show to end all final shows?! Some neds, the rave scene either attracted or created on these isles. I'm convinced the latter

Ah jaysus, are you starting this sh1te again in another thread?

The only shìte is rave 'music' n I take pride in poor taste as it is so leave it; Geebag.

I cant understand the point your trying to make due to your appaling use of the english language. You appear to be trying to impy that every one who likes electronic music is a scumbag. Therefore your insulting me and most of my friends.

I go to punk gigs, metal gigs, and I go to techno, dubstep and drum n bass (I draw the line at country and western).

So metallers/rockers are all cuddly are they? I don't think Dimebag Darrell was shot dead by a raver.

http://www.rollingstone.com/music/blogs/staff-blog/dimebag-darrells-death-five-years-after-rocks-big-tragedy-20091208

Or how about these other examples...

http://www.thegauntlet.com/article/1225/18199/Top-10-Concert-Riots.html

http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/2011/oct/31/metallica-india-concert-cancelled-riot

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Woodstock_1999

http://www.mtv.com/news/articles/1121704/pearl-jam-fans-trampled-death.jhtml

This isn't a justification of what happened in Dublin last week. The same as everyone else your free to enjoy any kind of music you want. But you can fcuk right off with your generalisations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭PeterStrauss The Second

mike65 wrote: »
    there, they're :rolleyes:
    People have been stabbed mike, maybe pick another thread to be a grammar Nazi.

Gee Bag wrote: »
    I cant understand the point your trying to make due to your appaling use of the english language. You appear to be trying to impy that every one who likes electronic music is a scumbag. Therefore your insulting me and most of my friends.

I go to punk gigs, metal gigs, and I go to techno, dubstep and drum n bass (I draw the line at country and western).

So metallers/rockers are all cuddly are they? I don't think Dimebag Darrell was shot dead by a raver.

http://www.rollingstone.com/music/blogs/staff-blog/dimebag-darrells-death-five-years-after-rocks-big-tragedy-20091208

Or how about these other examples...

http://www.thegauntlet.com/article/1225/18199/Top-10-Concert-Riots.html

http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/2011/oct/31/metallica-india-concert-cancelled-riot

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Woodstock_1999

http://www.mtv.com/news/articles/1121704/pearl-jam-fans-trampled-death.jhtml

This isn't a justification of what happened in Dublin last week. The same as everyone else your free to enjoy any kind of music you want. But you can fcuk right off with your generalisations.

if a riot didnt happen at a rock show i'd be ****ing upset. im often, left upset.. should do exactly what it says on the tin. a knife down the sock under the false premise of love and ecstasy is just a copout. its still false even without the knifes, besides you'd get more stabbings at one of these than the history of rock n roll based events combined

its pretty obvious rave and rap is doing electronic music no favours. the trickys, the richard D's drowned out by the denizens of neds and their primitive mating beat some software pre-programmed - its ruining kids' musical and intellectual potential, too easy and its taking all the potentially good ones - no wonder they pulled top of the pops who wants to watch some nerd on his pc in a boothe in the corner... lots of people; clearly thats why he became the main event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

I think they should police the remaining concerts more carefully cause people be crazy, yo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I'd rather get stabbed than read a John Waters article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I'd rather get stabbed than read a John Waters article
    He came to my primary school many years ago and made the teacher give me lines! The prick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

They should just hire the Japanese Kitana Mafia to do security at their shows.