Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parent & Child Parking Spaces - A Poll

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭bigjohn66

stimpson wrote: »
    Isn't that what the thread is all about?

First this is not what the thread is about. That is just your single mindedness.

Isn’t it funny how you reply to this part of what I posted and not about you causing damage to someone else's property, why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭stimpson

bigjohn66 wrote: »
    First this is not what the thread is about.

I beg to differ. From the OP:
    The question: Do you park in the parent and child spaces at the supermarket/shopping centre?

I am childless and have no qualms about parking in these myself and from looking at other people parking, it appears most don't either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ddad

Dear Wolfgangweisen; please allow me to explain why I have needed these spaces in the past. I have three children and at one point they were all under five. So I had to get them to the entrance to the supermarket to get a trolley so I could load two in the trolley. Now Wolfgang, (I hope you don't mind me shortening your name) as you are no doubt a person overflowing with the milk of human kindness and empathy, I would like you to envision carrying two small children and trying to hold hands with a preschool child. If your trying hard to imagine this scenario you'll know it isn't easy as the two children in your arms are wriggling and the wee child is trying to break free (whoops I forgot the shopping bags). Oh, and your sleep deprived (that's important because that means your judgement isn't as good and patience is hard to find).

Next step in our game is to imagine trying to guide this little party through a car park which is full of the usual reverse without looking and drive like Mondello brigade. Now lets add in rain or frost and just for the craic the child holding hands is having a minor tantrum. I know it's at these times I rejoice in my lifestyle choice!:)

One day your going to need someones empathy. One day you'll be glad of someones consideration and kindness. You might start off by showing some to others.

BTW my kids can all walk now and I don't need or use these spaces because I recognise the need to show consideration to others to have a decent society.:cool:

BTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

No no, he's a big man and he showed them who's boss ;) His kids are going to be sooo impressed at what a big man he is and it was him being such an utter hard man won the heart of their lovely mother.

To be fair, you seem to be able to brag about how much you spend on your shopping, then go on the net to spread your good word that you can park where ever you want. you then go on to say that twice in the last six years someone has given out to you about the space, but that you made them feel stupid over it. does that make you feel like a big man, or how about when someone shows a bit of emotion to your obvious trolling thread, you then try and use bigger language and your mastery over the situation to say"wow look at you, there rutting in the mud with your stick, making threatening gestures at me"

to eb fair, if you don't like the shop and how they allocate parking spaces, go else where. It is not your shop, you do not own it, you only shop there. they made the business choice to put those spaces there to encourage shoppers with children. If they put on special offers would you chose to ignore them, or would you decide to pay a price for something that you want to. you are using something which is not owned by you, therefore you must play by their rules, if you don't like it, go and start up your own shop.

OH, and in case you missed it before, you started a thread on a public opinion site, about how being a big man you are that you can park where you like cause you don't think that rule apples to you. then when people respond in a way that you don't like you try and sound all high and mighty on the subject. Seriously get over yourself and walk the few extra feet, you might find a 50 euro note on the floor if your lucky, then your 30 second walk would be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Wow, what a strange thread to draw such anger from both sides of the "debate".
    All the reasonable points have been made already, but the childish name calling and taunting will go on for days.

I have a small baby and require that I have space to open the door fully. As a result I have to pass up many normal spaces and find one beside a pillar or at the end of a row or something, or a parent and child space, should I be lucky enough to find one.

To all the people asking would I park in the P&C spaces if they were the furthest from the store? Yes I would as it would mean I am guaranteed the space i require and also I don't need to be beside the door as thankfully I am a healthy adult who can walk that far.

I don't feel the world owes me anything, but there are certain things that I require and as others have said I will shop where they provide the requisite space.
    I also stand on buses so that others can sit and hold the door for people etc, I'm not selfish, I believe that is a cold, horrible world if all we can do is grab all we can for ourselves.
    By the way, I was the same way before I had a child, I believed that as a young healthy man I was lucky enough to be in a position to put others before myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Great, so you are also a coward, congratulations.

Like half the people on this thread would repeat what they type to a living example of the people they're talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

dub_skav wrote: »
    Wow, what a strange thread to draw such anger from both sides of the "debate".
    All the reasonable points have been made already, but the childish name calling and taunting will go on for days.

I have a small baby and require that I have space to open the door fully. As a result I have to pass up many normal spaces and find one beside a pillar or at the end of a row or something, or a parent and child space, should I be lucky enough to find one.

To all the people asking would I park in the P&C spaces if they were the furthest from the store? Yes I would as it would mean I am guaranteed the space i require and also I don't need to be beside the door as thankfully I am a healthy adult who can walk that far.

I don't feel the world owes me anything, but there are certain things that I require and as others have said I will shop where they provide the requisite space.
    I also stand on buses so that others can sit and hold the door for people etc, I'm not selfish, I believe that is a cold, horrible world if all we can do is grab all we can for ourselves.
    By the way, I was the same way before I had a child, I believed that as a young healthy man I was lucky enough to be in a position to put others before myself.

fair play to you sir! same idea as myself. god gave you legs for a reason and the good luck that they still work! good man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

Where is the "sometimes - I have older children" option? ;)

I don't usually bother but if it's raining I do on occasion though haven't in a long time now that my child is a good bit older and has road sense.

And I do so because "back in my day" I managed perfectly well with small child, car and opening doors etc without a special car parking space to do it in.
    A child isn't a disability.

ETA: I did get shouted at by someone for parking in one when she was 4. Apparently she was too old.

I beg to differ. From the OP:

This kind of just proves my point. I ask you two questions, You reply to one, supply a quote from the OP that has nothing to do with what I said. At no point in what you quoted has the OP said that this thread is about “I am right and fcuk everyone else”

As for the second question you just ignore it because you are wrong and won’t admit it which would show you up for the type of person you really are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Can pregnant ladies park in these spaces?

If yes; if a woman is fat enough to look pregnant, can she park her oversized rear end in the P&C section? (In this case P&C meaning Pizza & Chips)

At no point in what you quoted has the OP said that this thread is about “I am right and fcuk everyone else”

He says he parks in spaces reserved for parents with small children and "I am childless and have no qualms about parking in these myself". That's pretty much an “I am right and fcuk everyone else” attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

He says he parks in spaces reserved for parents with small children and "I am childless and have no qualms about parking in these myself". That's pretty much an “I am right and fcuk everyone else” attitude.

Unless you're trolling (likely), your comment about bashing other peoples cars "accidentally" makes you equally prickish.

You still have not answered my questions.

Give up you are wrong and everyone else can see it.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 cbrlover

Just to help give some incite into this debate.

My sister in law manages a supermarket in Liverpool. At the request of parents, they changed 5 parking spots from standard spots to 3 P&C spots. They put up signs saying people would be clamped if the used them without having children with them. They paid for in extra surveillance for security but here is the crunch, they were on the far side of the car park with a path, with railings leading to the shop door.

Guess what after 6 months they were put back to being 5 standard spots because people didn’t use them.

This goes a little way to answering the question about the reason people use them. Parents would rather struggle with tight spots and be close to the door rather than have space to load and unload but have to walk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

chin_grin wrote: »
    No. Thread needs actual poll.

Also do you park in handicapped places, while handicapped people make handicapped faces?

I'm just a regular joe, with a
    regular job, an average white suburbinite slob
    I like football, & porno and books about war
    I got an average house, with a nice hardwood floor.

My job, my keys, ym house and my car, my feet on the table
    and a cuban cigar

Yes, and do you know why......

coz I'm an asshole, a big f****g asshole

Also my name is Paul and my wifes name is Clare, I thought the supermarkets were simply making custom car spaces for us and so this is where we park. is this not the case ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

I'm reading all of the OP's posts with Frank Rottweiller's voice in my head - I can't stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    I'm just a regular joe, with a
    regular job, an average white suburbinite slob
    I like football, & porno and books about war
    I got an average house, with a nice hardwood floor.

Choose life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

It's gas watching people actually complain over this. I've seen plenty of families parking at the back and walking their kids all the way up the carpark. Isn't really that hard unless you're a lazy, whiny muppet.

I hope to park in a P&C space in front one of you just for the rise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Choose life.

Huh - ?
    What ?

I don't even und....d

meh

it's a Dennis Leary song btw, I was quoting a previous poster, think of it as a private joke

hmmm-kay..

You still have not answered my questions.

What questions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

MaxSteele wrote: »
    I hope to park in a P&C space in front one of you just for the rise.

I thought this kind of posting was against forum charter? Yet there's a lot of it in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭SocSocPol

smash wrote: »
    I thought this kind of posting was against forum character? Yet there's a lot of it in this thread.
    Should be renamed Parent and Child Parking spaces- a Troll:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,631 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

hardCopy wrote: »
    Would the extra walk really kill you?

If I go to the supermarket 3 times per week and walk an extra 30 seconds to/from my car, that means I take an unnecessary 159 minutes or 2 hours 39 minutes per year out of my life to accomodate somebody else's life choices.

I don't really see a reason why I would do that.

If kids start being hurt/killed en mass in carparks then by all means, go for it, but as far as I'm aware there isn't a problem with this happening these days.

hey genius, the main reason for the designated spaces is that they are wider to allow parents open the door enough to get a car seat in and out.
    the next time you get your car door scraped in a car park you might blame the arrogant assholes who parked in the parent & child spot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

smash wrote: »
    I thought this kind of posting was against forum charter? Yet there's a lot of it in this thread.

:rolleyes: .... because I don't sympathize with a minority of able bodied people complaining about having to walk 30 seconds through a carpark with a child ??

I suppose stimpson "accidentally" vandalizing cars is against the forum character too ? Or am I just not dull enough for this thread ??

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I've no issue with them. I am currently heavily pregnant and actually in a good bit of pain when I walk, but I don't park in them.
    I don't know if I'd be entitled to? Although extra room when you're 9 months gone would be good, only last week I was nearly in tears trying to get into my car, both drivers had parked over the line and I was considering climbing through the boot.
    I don't understand why people without children would purposely go out of the way to park in them? Some of them are only 3-4 spaces away from other spaces and are only P&C as they are at the end of the row.
    Although there are some fair eejits out there who seem to think having an empty car seat or kids of 10+ with them entitles them to park in the spaces. Actually I'll be out with my mum tomorrow, we should park in a P&C space, technically we qualify.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,982 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Why, of course I see the need for disabled but why for lazy parents?
    safety you don't want toddlers crossing traffic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,492 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Feisar wrote: »
    A money making venture decided to put special car parking spaces in for parents and children in a bid to attract families, so what it's hardly something to take umbrage with.

I don't see it any different than the 10 Items or Less check out queues.

We need another thread explaining these shoud say "10 items or fewer".

Ginny wrote: »
    I've no issue with them. I am currently heavily pregnant and actually in a good bit of pain when I walk, but I don't park in them.
    I don't know if I'd be entitled to? Although extra room when you're 9 months gone would be good, only last week I was nearly in tears trying to get into my car, both drivers had parked over the line and I was considering climbing through the boot.
    I don't understand why people without children would purposely go out of the way to park in them? Some of them are only 3-4 spaces away from other spaces and are only P&C as they are at the end of the row.
    Although there are some fair eejits out there who seem to think having an empty car seat or kids of 10+ with them entitles them to park in the spaces. Actually I'll be out with my mum tomorrow, we should park in a P&C space, technically we qualify.

The unborn child has an equal right to life and thus you shoud ave an equal right of access to these spaces!

Marcusm wrote: »
    We need another thread explaining these shoud say "10 items or fewer".

I've seen one or two that really do say "fewer" instead of "less". I swooned.

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭emmiou

With 3 kids under 4 I try to do most of my shopping online for delivery, but unfortunately sometimes items are missing and we have to go to the local supermarket where the carpark is huge. I use the designated parent and child spaces when available. These spaces are closest to the toilets and changing facilities. There is extra space on either side of the car so I don't have to worry about not being able to get the door open enough to get the babyseat back in, and that the older kids won't knock a neighbouring car door.

Many of the supermarkets that provide these P&C spaces also provide trollies for use with twin infants, baby and toddler, infant carrier etc, these are located beside the P&C parking spaces - there are usually a limited number of each type - if they are spread all over the car park because the people who needed them couldn't park nearby it is very difficult to track them down with the babies in tow - should I leave them unattended in the car while I go get one of the few twin trollies? And when I return it to the designated trolley stand after loading up the boot? Likewise, the trollies for use with wheelchairs are located beside the designated disabled spaces.

The supermarket has provided those P&C spaces and specialist trollies nearby for both the convenience of those customers and the safety of their children. I choose to shop at certain supermarkets (Superquinn, Tesco) because they provide that facility and not others closer by (Dunnes) .

I don't try to shove my giant baby and nappy laden trolley through the express or self serve tills even if I only have a few items as I see these as a convenience provided for people in a hurry... probably the same people who park in the P&C spaces without having kids with them. I wouldn't dream of using one of those spaces on an occasion that I am there without kids and I certainly wouldn't ever use a disabled space. The P&C space can mean a lot more to a parent than just a parking space close to the supermarket entrance, and it really doesn't take much of an effort from a decent rational able-bodied adult to do the right thing and drive on by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

MaxSteele wrote: »
    :rolleyes: .... because I don't sympathize with a minority of able bodied people complaining about having to walk 30 seconds through a carpark with a child ??

How about able bodied people complaining about having to walk 30 seconds through a car park without a child?

The wider spaces are designed for ease when using car seats and prams. Not all these spaces are closer to the entrance.

Shops will continue to pander to families. A single person buying a weekly shop is not going to spend nearly as much in their store as someone shopping for a family of five.

You've never seen my shopping trolley!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

I'm a parking space predator myself. I'm quite good at swooping in on bewildered women with zero spatial awareness or driving capability. Recently I moved into a child spot ahead of some Southerners. A woman, and old women and two girls. I can tell you, the mother was raging. The veins standing in her neck shouting abuse. I just walked into the supermarket and told her to stay back (Looked like she was going to leap on me).

Anyway when I came back out, they were waiting with a PSNI officer. She protested that the 'rude boy' (I'm 27) had stolen her space. She said I had no children. When I told her that well, she was from the 'free state' (Which I just said to wind her up, I think Northern Ireland is an abomination) her and the old one went berserk and took massive offense. The cop told me to just move on. When I left they still hadn't even entered the shop.

Border-Rat wrote: »
    I'm a parking space predator myself. I'm quite good at swooping in on bewildered women with zero spatial awareness or driving capability. Recently I moved into a child spot ahead of some Southerners. A woman, and old women and two girls. I can tell you, the mother was raging. The veins standing in her neck shouting abuse. I just walked into the supermarket and told her to stay back (Looked like she was going to leap on me).

Anyway when I came back out, they were waiting with a PSNI officer. She protested that the 'rude boy' (I'm 27) had stolen her space. She said I had no children. When I told her that well, she was from the 'free state' (Which I just said to wind her up, I think Northern Ireland is an abomination) her and the old one went berserk and took massive offense. The cop told me to just move on. When I left they still hadn't even entered the shop.

Some man yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

The OP is a classic example of someone who doesn't have children and who somehow resents people who do for some reason. As has been explained before several times in this thread. The spaces are larger and more convenient because of buggies and such like.

I have two small boys and I always park in a Parent and child space if possible but don't get all knocked about if there isn't one available. If they're not with me I don't, no more than I would park in a handicapped space.

But I would back up dDad's post. That's the reality of why they're a good idea and why the likes of Wolfgang is selfish. These spaces are as much for the safety of children as anything else.

Try and consider that reality next time Mr Wolfgang and you other rats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

I wouldn't park in them. It's not just for parents benefit - they are for everyones benefit as it prevents parents bashing a dent in the side if your car trying to life their kids out of the back seat.

Shops will continue to pander to families. A single person buying a weekly shop is not going to spend nearly as much in their store as someone shopping for a family of five.

You've never seen my shopping trolley!!

Your gluttony is your own concern.

What questions?

I will rephrase and ask as simply as possible.

1.Where in the OP dose it say this thread is about “I am right and fcuk everyone else” I ask you to show me where it says it, as you did beg to differ.

I didn't say happily, I said "accidentally". Maybe I'm just too lazy to avoid them. It's hardly illegal.

What makes you think it is not illegal?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Border-Rat

Some man yourself.

It was nothing really :P

No need to say there wasn't any men in the car. That goes without saying.

safety you don't want toddlers crossing traffic

Should it not be the parent’s responsibility to control their children?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

bluecode wrote: »
    The OP is a classic example of someone who doesn't have children and who somehow resents people who do for some reason.

no he seems to resent parents who try made their kids someone elses problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

My mate did the exact same thing and when he got back to his car it was keyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    Huh - ?
    What ?

I don't even und....d

meh

it's a Dennis Leary song btw, I was quoting a previous poster, think of it as a private joke

hmmm-kay..

As was I. Maybe you are a bit young for the reference.

stovelid wrote: »
    Your gluttony is your own concern.

Not just an issue of quantity but quality and profit margin! Family based items are generally more keenly priced and less profitable.

Woud never park in a P&C personally, only in a disabled with a relevant adage holder when necessary (ie when can't simply drop off, park in ordinary space and walk back).

I have as much need for wider door opening as any parent but will generally avoid parking beside any car whose owner or occupier is likely to be trigger happy with doors. Have experienced this any times; my favourite (which 've recounted here previously) being 7 bashes from the same man while sitting in my car at a kids GAA event. Decided anyone that unaware of his surroundings wasn't worth dealing with. His wife eventually noticed and went apoplectic! Their nice new 12 reg car with dings!

no he seems to resent parents who try made their kids someone elses problem

Who else's problem are they trying to make it?

He resents parents for having specially designated spaces provided by a private company and parks in them to make a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

My reasoning: Having kids is a personal choice and good for you if you do it, however I'm not going to let someone else's personal choices infringe on me where possible. I look at the P&C spaces as being the same as a space marked for Porsche drivers i.e they can f*ck right off if they think I'm not going to park in a space near to the door that isn't allotted to those with disabilities.

Before someone brings it up, they're not the same as disabled spaces so don't go there. In fact, if you feel you having kids is a disability then you'd really want to take a long hard look at yourself.
    You don't deserve special treatment for merely having done something that every living thing on this planet can do, to be honest. The enormous sense of entitlement on display from parent's these days is remarkable, to say the least. A completely undeserved sense of entitlement, I will add.

What a moaning minnie! I bet when there's a thread about obese kids you're right in there about them being pampered and not getting enough exercise and yet you wouldn't walk the extra few steps to the supermarket.

Next time I'm trying to take out a child car seat carefully without either digging my car door into the side of your car and avoiding scratching your paintwork I'll think of you and maybe won't bother my arse to go the extra mile in being considerate.

These spaces are not about entitlement but about consideration and good sense.
    Rabies wrote: »
    A shopping centre near me has installed elderly parking spots. I think that is a step too far. If they're mobile they can park in a normal spot or get a disabled sticker.

More whining. You may not have or want children, but it's more than likely that some day you will get old and hopefully still be mobile but not as chipper as you were at 60 and you'll be glad not to have cross what feels like miles of car park while hanging onto to your shopping and avoiding cars pulling in and out of parking spaces. There are lots of infirmities that come with age which make walking a bit of chore but don't come under the heading of disablement. If car park management want to pamper their older customers that is their right and who are you to complain about it.

If you want privileged parking spots get out there and campaign for them.

Not just an issue of quantity but quality and profit margin! Family based items are generally more keenly priced and less profitable.

I was only teasing :)

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Nipper Man

As the father of two small children & sometimes have homebody's child as well, I get pretty annoyed when I see cars parked in the spot's that are reserved for Parent's of children to park in.

Liffey Valley is one of the worst places for this problem that I have encountered so far.

I have seen a woman putting up a sign for being handicapped and walking very smartly away, I challenged her and told her she was a bad person and she had to move out of the spot, she was pretty annoyed with me, so what.

I wonder if very many of those people that park in specially dedicated spots even think what they are doing is wrong, or know what they are doing and just give a damm.

I went into the Security Office in Liffey Valley and complained, no use it is still the same as always here in Ireland. When will drivers get some cop on and do the right thing.

I will rephrase and ask as simply as possible.

1.Where in the OP dose it say this thread is about “I am right and fcuk everyone else” I ask you to show me where it says it, as you did beg to differ.

I'm not sure I can explain it to you any more than I already have. If spaces are allocated for parents with small children and someone without a child wilfully parks there, surely that an "I'm right and fcuk everyone else" attitude.
    2. What makes you think it is not illegal?

The concept of Plausible deniability.