Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

You have a gun pointed at your head

• 16-07-2012 2:46pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

You just won the lotto 2million euro
    the ticket is in your wallet as your going to collect it that morning
    you go into a petrol station to fill up your car to go to collect your winnings
    then
    You have a gun pointed at your head from a person robbing the place, point blank range asking you to hand over your wallet and your other valuables
    what do you do?

i can smell chuck norris all over this thread ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Give them the wallet, a winning lotto ticket is feck all use to me if I am dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Realistically: p!ss myself and hand over my wallet.

Fantasy-land scenario: p!ss myself and while the guy is distracted by that disarm him using some mad kung fu sh!t I saw in this movie once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

I'd ask him to hold on while i youtube "how to disarm a gunman" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

reach for me wallet,
    smack the gun out of his hand,
    run away screaming like a girl hoping I dont get shot.
    ????
    profit!

In Ireland, chances are its just a pellet gun anyway

Honestly if I had a lotto ticket I'd be putting it directly in my pocket or somewhere not my wallet where it could be robbed

but really:
    chin_grin wrote: »
    Realistically: p!ss myself and hand over my wallet.

Fantasy-land scenario: p!ss myself and while the guy is distracted by that disarm him using some mad kung fu sh!t I saw in this movie once.

i know there's a reflex you can hit someone's hand and no matter what they're holding or how tight, it goes flying across the room
    but it'd be a tad bit different when they have a gun, to doing it in a training room on mats with a rubber knife that they don't want to hurt you with :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭crazy cabbage

do the whole matrix thing and douge bullets and stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Tell him it's the winning ticket, alert the Gardai after it so if the ticket is claimed he'll be nabbed and you know the thick c*nt will prob try claim it at some stage!

I'm sure that there must be some process of collecting a Lotto jackpot even tho you've lost a ticket so I doubt you'll lose out on your jackpot. There is one for the bookies anyway!

Id hand him the fake wallet I have always carried in case of mugging.

What?

No one else carries a fake wallet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Risk it for biscuit....

...Or fake a heart attack or some kind of fit or something and stumble out the door or fall over some shelving. He'd probably just think 'ah fcuk it'. Otherwise he'd be wasting get away time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

It would be in my bra :)

I wouldn't give it, unless I was sure I would be killed if I didn't. I've been held with a knife to my neck before and they got shìt all from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Let him have the ticket, report it to the guards and national lottery. They organise an elaborate sting operation, he gets arrested when he attempts to claim the winnings. My finger prints or DNA on the ticket or the backup photocopy or picture I took or the shop CCTV will help prove it was my ticket. Pick up winnings. Be happy another scumbag os off the street.

kfallon wrote: »
    Tell him it's the winning ticket, alert the Gardai after it so if the ticket is claimed he'll be nabbed and you know the thick c*nt will prob try claim it at some stage!

I'm sure that there must be some process of collecting a Lotto jackpot even tho you've lost a ticket so I doubt you'll lose out on your jackpot. There is one for the bookies anyway!

that's clever actually

but knowing the guards it'd still be "oh we cant do anything"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

cry like a bitch and hopefully he will leave me be in disgust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

I would ignore the gunman and go about my business as usual.

Tell him to f**k off, some small time thief wouldn't have the bottle to pull the trigger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭WolfgangWeisen

People who rob petrol stations don't have real guns as they're generally junkies, so I'd call his bluff.

The people with the guns rob banks up North and sit in opposition in the Dail :)

If I were in the position that someone was threatening me and I had the winning ticket, I'd ask him could I empty the wallet and keep it itself as it's sentimental but of no actual worth, and then attempt to thumb the ticket while emptying it.

bluewolf wrote: »
    i know there's a reflex you can hit someone's hand and no matter what they're holding or how tight, it goes flying across the room
    but it'd be a tad bit different when they have a gun, to doing it in a training room on mats with a rubber knife that they don't want to hurt you with :P

Well it's all about the point of less resistance from the joint and the way it's going. If the attacker was holding the gun in the usual pointing-directly-from-body way you could (all theory) use one arm to "block" and hit away and the other to subdue (probably grab throat). Y'know the usual movie BS.

But this is all after p*ssing oneself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Id hand him the fake wallet I have always carried in case of mugging.

What?

No one else carries a fake wallet?

Robbed from Stephen Merchant

Have absolutely no idea who that is or what relevance it has to my post sorry! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

heh stopping for petrol,

if i won 2 million quid i think i'd be at my local garda station asking for a few to escort me to the head office or whereever i claim it.

You only have to pay their wages too so not as expensive as a private security firm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

this is why I keep all my winning lotto tickets in my bra

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

saiint wrote: »
    You just won the lotto 2million euro
    the ticket is in your wallet as your going to collect it that morning
    you go into a petrol station to fill up your car to go to collect your winnings
    then
    You have a gun pointed at your head from a person robbing the place, point blank range asking you to hand over your wallet and your other valuables
    what do you do?

i can smell chuck norris all over this thread ;)

Depends on the position of the person holding the gun.
    Are they behind, to the side or front?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Pretend I was deaf or something....

Gunman : Hand over you wallet !

Me : Mallet? I don't have a mallet.

Gunman : I said your wallet you dumb shít?

Me : Dump it? Dump it where? I told you I don't have one.

Gunman : Give me your fúckin wallet or I'll kill you !!!

Me : Fuzzy wuzzy was a woman ??? Jesus Christ !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I would not worry too much, ever since The 12th of June 1997 the illuminati have inserted GPS tags onto lottery tickets, therefore I would hand over the wallet and the ticket within.

Since I had signed the ticket with a pen my DNA would be in the ink, as since July 13th 2012 the illuminati have ensured that all pens soak the users DNA into the ink.

As a result, the BPOL would be able to initially track the lottery ticket, they would also be able to track me as they have my DNA on their databases ( which they collected during the last two referendums ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I'd tell him his safety is on and when he looks down to check, I would take the gun off him and shoot him in the leg, then take a bite out of an apple and stroll out of the shop. That's precisely how I roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

I always carry 2 wallets with me, one has small notes in it and old bank cards, I would hand that over to a thief...

they would not ask if you had another one would they :D

Have absolutely no idea who that is or what relevance it has to my post sorry! :)

Stephen Merchant is a writer, well known for The Office, when he was in university you used to carry around a fake wallet in case he got robbed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

bluewolf wrote: »
    that's clever actually

but knowing the guards it'd still be "oh we cant do anything"
    Not a bad idea, even if you weren't robbed at gunpoint.
    'Garda, I swear that man who claims to have won the lotto robbed the ticket off me at gunpoint! ....so it's my money!'

Plazaman wrote: »
    Pretend I was deaf or something....

Gunman : Hand over you wallet !

Me : Mallet? I don't have a mallet.

Gunman : I said your wallet you dumb shít?

Me : Dump it? Dump it where? I told you I don't have one.

Gunman : Give me your fúckin wallet or I'll kill you !!!

Me : Fuzzy wuzzy was a woman ??? Jesus Christ !!!

Nice nod from See No Evil, Hear No Evil. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

Alot of people do this, My dad carries a wallet full of 15euro notes

Stephen Merchant is a writer, well known for The Office, when he was in university you used to carry around a fake wallet in case he got robbed

What's a 'fake wallet'? You mean he was too tight to buy a proper wallet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

We're assuming the gunman is..well...a man!

What if it was a woman? Chat her up then deck her when her guard is down? :D

Bad Panda wrote: »

Head butt her when she thinks you're about to snog her?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Head butt her when she thinks you're about to snog her?
    for all you know it could be a fat man with man boobs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

I'd take a chance and refuse. Really .... do you think someone who robs petrol stations would shoot someone point blank range in the head for not handing over their wallet ??

I also think the fact that I have some scumbag trying to steal my winning lotto ticket would just be so enraging that you'd at least try to get out of it.

juan.kerr wrote: »
    What's a 'fake wallet'? You mean he was too tight to buy a proper wallet?

A decoy wallet with old library cards in it and maybe just a fiver in it

saiint wrote: »
    for all you know it could be a fat man with man boobs

Does it matter, once you head butt him / her successfully without having to kiss?

Plus he'd have to be taking estrogen supplements and be dressed as a woman to be that confusing. But then again maybe it's all part of his disguise to throw the cops off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Open the wallet, take out the cash and hand that over, keep the wallet and remaining contents.
    It'd probably be an acceptable compromise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Sure once they collect the winnings they'd be caught anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

i'd say you can have the wallet if i can take my pictures of my kids out of it, take the pictures and lotto ticket out and hand him the wallet, in this scenario i have already shít myself by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

if it was a women.. she probably wouldn't know how to knock the safety off

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

I wouldn't worry, it's just the wallet inspector. He'll give it back once everything is in order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

CamperMan wrote: »

if it was a women.. she probably wouldn't know how to knock the safety off

That gave me a giggle :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

I'd open my wallet and hand him every bank note that was in it, plus the cards. Hopefully that would keep him happy.

When he was in university.... I used to carry around a fake walled.... in case HE got robbed?

Not sure when he was in university but I have always carried around a fake wallet. Long before the Office I think. But in case I got robbed. Not him. I don't even know the guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭Angeles

Take out the wallet
    Open it
    Hand him all remaining cash in wallet.
    Advise him that i have money in bank account and am willing to remove and give to him.
    Go to atm
    Take out remaining cash
    Watch him run off happily
    Quote line - Not a single F**k given.
    Stroll into lotto money giving place with smirk.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

al28283 wrote: »
    Alot of people do this, My dad carries a wallet full of 15euro notes

15 euro notes? did he make them himself?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Ha - I would turn my wallet upsidedown emptying everything onto the floor.

My pinky would be slyly holding back the ticket though.

Then I'd say, take it bitch

once he bends down to pick up my pennys a swift knee to his upper teeth should sort out that problem.

then I would bend down & steal all his ****, even his clothes, I would go out to the forecourt and also steal his getaway vehicle

muhahahahah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Depends where I am, If I'm in Clonakilty I'd tell him to fcuk off, On the other hand If I where in south central L.A I'd piss myself, tell him I had a wife and kids and hand it over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

kfallon wrote: »
    I'm sure that there must be some process of collecting a Lotto jackpot even tho you've lost a ticket

You have to confirm the time approx that you bought the ticket.
    You have to confirm which shop and (if you can remember) a description of actual seller.

Get the shop wrong - your done.
    Get the seller description wrong and/or the time their shift was, your done.
    Get the approx time wrong, your done.

Additionally, some shops have security cameras so its possible in this digital age that there is a back-up of you purchasing the ticket.
    ...Even if thats not the case other street or shop cameras might show you in the locality that you claim you were around, at the time of purchase.

...Plus while the shop seller won't remember your particular numbers, they might also remember that you were in that day too.

If you use the same numbers repeatedly, there will be a traceable show of that too (short version).